We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kuname Lodge

R36 Highway Karongwe Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit, Maruleng 1360 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (378)
Dining (67)
Room & Suite (57)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#10 of 71 lodges in Hoedspruit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Kuname River Lodge is an exclusive 5 star, 5 bed game lodge situated in the Karongwe Private Game Reserve in the Limpopo Province. Kuname which is 4.5 hours drive from Johannesburg and 45km from the Kruger National Park is easily accessible by both air and by road and offers some of the best big 5 game viewing and bird watching opportunities in Southern Africa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Spa
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Internet
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Outdoor fireplace
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa

Location

R36 Highway Karongwe Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit, Maruleng 1360 South Africa
Kuname Lodge
Getting there
Hoedspruit Airport
51.5 km
See all flights
Phalaborwa Airport
66.3 km
See all flights
388Reviews10Q+A29Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 349
  • 33
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Max R wrote a review Nov 2023
Munich, Germany13 contributions9 helpful votes
Staff, Adolphe, Lucky, Silma, Philipp, Steven it was a great pleasure to stay at Kuname, excellent service, food, gane drives, sunsets, sunrises, wine, water and the magnificent frinedlyness. Fifth btime at Karongwe, first time at lovely Kuname
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge
Responded 8 Nov 2023
Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Remedios C wrote a review Sept 2023
54 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
I have been to this wonderful place a few days ago, in the month of August. I would like to emphasise all the staff who work there because they are wonderful. The place is wonderful, the houses are beautiful and the food is great, I have nothing negative. I would especially like to emphasise our guide in Adolf Park, who put everything every day so that we were happy in the car watching animals and our watcher. Also to Robert, the person in charge of all the guests. Thank you for everything, it has been really wonderful. We'll Be Back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Wear comfortable clothes for safaris
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge
Responded 18 Sept 2023
Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
531mish61 wrote a review Aug 2023
3 contributions
Kuname offered us an excellent experience. We had the Manor House as we travelled with our two adult children. The additional beds in the attic were a real bonus. The watering hole outside the fence attracted a number of animals. The foods was excellent as were all the services. Guide and driver (Forget and Eddie) were fantastic.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge
Responded 27 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kanemm2023 wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
Great vacation with great service, accommodations and activities. The safari guide was great, we had Adolph and Lucky. They were very knowledgeable and were able to identify everything and answer all our questions. They also were very hospitable and gracious when dealing with our loud group.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
steveb013 wrote a review Jul 2023
Sydney, Australia14 contributions
We spent 3 nights here in July and what a fabulous place! Our lodge (The Manor) was brilliant, lots of space for a family of 4, a pool, and a deck to watch the animals wonder past or drink from the waterhole outside. Rooms were spacious and the whole Manor was excellent. Food here is terrific, you will be well fed! One night spent outside by campfire on the open deck which was lovely. The wildlife viewing was brilliant, it is a Big 5 reserve and we managed to see all 5 a couple of times over the drives, including all 5 in one day. Guides are constantly on the radio so there are lots of eyes spotting things making it a little easier to find the big target animals. Our guide was Happy and our tracker Michael, both were great, Happy’s knowledge of literally everything was amazing, from astronomy to botany, biology to literally everything.. a very learned man! We had some very memorable encounters we won’t forget and our children were well looked after. Thanks again for a fabulous stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matt D wrote a review Jun 2023
Perth, Australia29 contributions31 helpful votes
From the warm welcome at the airport to the sad farewell, our stay at Kuname was incredible. We stayed 4 nights for our honeymoon, in the honeymoon suite, and we were treated like royalty the entire time. Housekeeping were wonderful and the bed was super comfortable. We had animals right outside our room most days. The food was great and plentiful. We brought snacks with us that remained untouched because the volume and quality of food on offer was outstanding. The wait staff were lovely and made each meal enjoyable. The boma braii was a highlight. Almost every meal had a different location and table setting which was lovely. The game drives were superb. Our guide was Adolph and our tracker was Solomon. We experienced 8 game drives in total and each one was unique and unforgettable. We saw the big 5, learned about the African bush, and spent a good amount of time with each animal. Both Adolph and Solomon went the extra mile to ensure we had the best experience. We can’t wait to return to Kuname with friends and family to experience it all again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge
Responded 19 Jun 2023
Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nefer14 wrote a review May 2023
Brisbane, Australia215 contributions132 helpful votes
Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every moment whilst we were there. The dinning room staff were great fun and Gladys tried on my sarong as she had seen me wearing it. The meals we had were 5 star and the kitchen staff should be congratelated. The game drives were a lot of fun and we saw the most of the big 5.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge
Responded 31 May 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tarynlisamolle wrote a review Apr 2023
Shifnal, United Kingdom206 contributions83 helpful votes
Text: This was the most incredible experience. From the minute we arrived till we were dropped off at the airport. We were spoiled and our every need was met. Kuname's staff goes out of their way to make the experience unforgettable. Patrick and Aldoloph did an excellent job tracking the game and ensuring that we not only had our fill of the big five, but that the entire experience was rich, memorable, and informative. Regina and her team of Emily and Suzan prepared amazing cuisine and provided excellent service. Philip and Christa are invaluable in keeping the ship running smoothly and paying attention to every tiny detail to ensure perfection. Robert, Steve and Sam, as well as the rest of the security crew, were wonderful in taking us to our cottage and guaranteeing our safety. We stayed in the manor house complete with its own plunge pool, kitchen, lounge, verandah and two ensuite bedrooms. It was superb! We were well looked after by the chamber maids with five star turn downs every night! What an exceptional location! Make a reservation!!! You will not be let disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge
Responded 18 Apr 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wanderer08443297512 wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
A beautiful lodge in a magnificent setting. Wonderful rooms with great outdoor bathrooms. Attention to detail was superb. After reading reviews and staying at another lodge prior I decided to book Kuname to celebrate my 60th with my 2 children who live overseas with their new partners who had never experienced the bush before. We were unfortunate to be allocated a game ranger who wasn’t interested in giving us the best experience in the bush. We went around in circles trying to spot a leopard - which I think was more for cataloguing purposes. Due to this we missed out on so much more in the bush. No information or facts. was given on other animals. We are huge bush travels and enjoy seeing everything from small to large and know that it is a gamble. Sightings were being called in but clearly weren’t of interest to our range. Having been to other lodges before we were most disappointed as I really wanted to give my family an amazing experience. The food was delicious but service not so great, white wine was hot, had to pour our own wine. Plates not removed. The rooms were very comfortable and beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge
Responded 31 May 2023
Thank you so much for your honest and helpful feedback and it has been taken to heart and will be looked into.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
thorpethorpe wrote a review Feb 2023
Marrakech, Morocco11 contributions
We had an absolutely wonderful time at Kuname! We had a lovely warm welcome and things continued to be great throughout our four night stay. Our room was attractive and comfortable with an inside bathroom (and also an outside bath and shower) and a peaceful deck area complete with fridge. The room was very well-serviced every day. The delicious biscuits provided in the room were a real temptation. The dining area, lounge and outside deck area overlooking the river were beautifully and stylishly decorated. The food (beginning with 5.30 a.m. coffee and snacks before the morning game drive through to a superb dinner at night after the second game drive) was absolutely superb. There is lots of food during the day, and the quality and presentation is a credit to the excellent chefs and the rest of the wonderful staff. The varied places to eat were always beautifully arranged and the stylish crockery and linen had been carefully chosen making each meal an absolute treat. Our drivers and trackers were fantastic. Jurie and Freddie and Adolph and Mosco were skilled, patient, determined, knowledgeable and great fun (though bear in mind there is absolutely no compulsion to eat any of the strange things they suggest you can eat whilst out on drives . . .!) The game reserve is very well-run with a limited number of vehicles operating in a vast area. Only two vehicles are allowed at major sightings and there is a limit of staying for five minutes if other vehicles arrive - no limit on time until then. This prevents what can happen on some game drives where a dozen vehicles surround one sighting. We were really impressed by this aspect of the Karongwe portfolio. We saw the Big Five several times and had a fantastic experience. We would very happily return and may well do so.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge
Responded 31 May 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hoedspruit area.
PRICE RANGE
$1,089 - $1,489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kuname river hotel tzaneen
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceMarulengHoedspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KUNAME LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Hoedspruit, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kuname Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Kuname Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Kuname Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kuname Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kuname Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Kuname Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Kuname Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kuname Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kuname Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.