We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mali Mali Safari Lodge

R527 Camp 45 Ndlovumzi Nature Reserve, Hoedspruit, Maruleng 1380 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (7)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 7 limited service properties in Hoedspruit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mali Mali Safari Lodge is situated in the Ndlovumzi Nature Reserve about 35km outside the small town of Hoedspruit. Stretching over a 1000ha with all the beauty that nature offers this wonderful reserve borders with the great Olifants River. Due to the size of the reserve, one can truly enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the Lowveld bush.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Golf course
Hiking
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air purifier
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

R527 Camp 45 Ndlovumzi Nature Reserve, Hoedspruit, Maruleng 1380 South Africa
Mali Mali Safari Lodge
20Reviews0Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 7
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
thobejanelethabolt wrote a review Apr 2023
Midrand, South Africa1 contribution
We didn't receive our game drive as promised but the place is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and sound of appealing and made me look foward to the game drive unfortunately it didn't happen and no means or efforts were made for us to receive the game drive
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
b0nganix wrote a review Mar 2023
Gauteng, South Africa1 contribution
It felt like home.amazing hospitality and great view.peace and quiet,great food and I can’t finish this without mentioning the staff and the owner for their selfless help when you need one.I’m definitely going back there in the future with family.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Roenee wrote a review Jan 2023
Durbanville, South Africa17 contributions6 helpful votes
Rustic bush lodge with very comfortable amenities Our stay was more than expected! Awesome food and stunning views. Real African hot days and sundowner evenings with great conversations around the fire. Staff really goes the extra mile. Worth a visit at the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Secure with lovely pool and lapa available
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
dreyeramanda wrote a review Jan 2023
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
My husband and I spent 4 days at Mali Mali in December as part of our trip to Kruger. We wanted a "get away from the hustle and bustle" experience. We enjoyed the tranquility of Mali Mali. The host, Eric, went out of his way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We were not expecting 5 star luxury accommodation, but all the facilities were comfortable and clean. The themed rooms had a real bush feeling. The meals we had there, were pleasant and well-presented. Evenings around the campfire was very nice. The other guests provided much entertainment!! We had a very nice crowd. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Although it was very hot, lounging by the pool and cooling off, made it bearable. I can recommend Mali Mali to anyone wanting to stay at a bush lodge, at BnB prices.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Angela W wrote a review Jan 2023
MALI MALI - FALSE ADVERTISING // VERY DISAPPOINTED Stayed at Mali Mali from the 4th Jan - 7th Jan They state game viewing available, yet the only vehicle available is broken and needs repairs. There is nothing to do at Mali Mali other than sit by a dirty pool. Rooms: Mattress is a thin foam on a cement base VERY VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. Pictures on the website is clearly false/old.. ARC OLD! The paint has faded and looks old. So many Stairs, not suitable for old people or people with Back/knee problems NOT A LODGE, More like a B&B advertising false, none of below available directly from the lodge, have to drive far distances to get any of the below services. Rooms really of poor standard, broken table/dressers. Decking outside the room broken/lose, lose stones, i personally fell and injured myself, i have photos, and videos Limited packing space,not worthy of R2000 per night stay, I wouldnt even give Mali Mali a 1 Star. Breakfast portions are very small, cannot even offer a filter coffee ONLY a packet of coffee milk/sugar/coffee this coffee is full of preservatives. What about the people who do not take sugar or milk? Stayed 3 Nights ONLY.. instead of the 7 night stay! Malaria Area, yet they have a pond & 3x non-working water fountains full of stagnant water that is a maleria mosquito breeding ground! The Activities are as follows: (NOT AVAILABLE DIRECTLY FROM "LODGE" Bush Walk (Ndlovumzi Nature Reserve) Game Drive (Ndlovumzi Nature Reserve) Big 5 Game Drive Moholoholo Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre Blyde Canyon Boat Safari Wildlife Quad Bike Ride (approximately 80min) Wildlife Quad Bike Ride Passenger Graskop Gorge Package 1 Graskop Gorge Package 2 Graskop Gorge Big Swing Add On Elephant Interaction Kruger Park Day Drive (1 to 7 People) Flying Safari 10min Flying Safari 20min Flying Safari 30min Flying Safari 60min Flying Safari Blyde Canyon 60min Flying Safari Hoedspruit, Blyde, Graskop & Back Helicopter Ride (1 to 4 people) Hot Air Balloon Ride Spa Treatments For The Ladies: Swedish Massage 60 min Deep Tissue Massage 60min Aromatherapy Massage 60min Destress Back, Neck & Shoulder Massage Hot Stone Massage Couples Massage Face Treatment 45min African Head Massage 30min Hand & Foot Massage 30min The only good thing about the stay was the couple/Hosts whom had only been at the lodge in a working capacity for less than a week, they went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as they could. "lodge" didnt even have tupperware for a picnic breakfast takeaway! Thank You Chantelle & Sinjin for your hospitality! Please also note that i have been charged R210 for dinner, Desert was supposed to be included yet we didnt even receive a desert on either 2 occasions of making use of your restaurant! They advertise a 5* Mali ali Safari Lodge on Trip Adviser/Bookings.com its all false! Flat Screen TV - Ummm thats a NO NO .. no TV in any rooms! Security? Ummm the doors dont even lock! NOT SAFE! Air Purifier - haha if you consider a R120 air purifier any good!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
fisabi358796 wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
The hosts were amazing, went out if their way to make us comfortable, the supper by the bonfire a highlight for me, best mushroom sauce I've ever had! Definitely a place to check out and just relax and unwind.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Marcél wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We had a great experience on our family weekend away. The staff were so friendly and the food was amazing! Such a relaxing atmosphere with wild life and nature around us. During the day we went for walks, nature drives and cooled of with n nice swim in the pool and at night we sat around the fire and listened to the hyena and night owl noises. We will definitely be going back to this lovely bushvelt lodge!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wes wrote a review Aug 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands3 contributions
Wonderful idyllic place in the bush. At night sitting at the campfire you here the hyena's call. In the morning the monkeys play in the trees. The art of Anton Smit makes the place very very special. The owner Eric is very enthousiastic, helpful and a true cook and host. He really let you feel at home.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Visit Moholoholo Rehab Center. Ask Eric for an evening tour.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wynand B wrote a review Jan 2022
Thabazimbi, South Africa7 contributions
Mali Mali is in serious need of some TLC. The toilet seat in our unit was broken, the "shower" was anything but a shower. The towel rail also fell off a few times. One of the windows in the kitchen nearly fell out when we tried to open it, all rusted. Also a few open light bulbs, no insect screens. The entire unit is in serious need of a good, deep clean! Very friendly staff!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KarlienF82 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We were really disappointed in the facilities of the lodge. The pool was like a dam when we got there. The mattresses on the beds in the self-catering units were terrible, pensioner and a pregnant lady had to sleep on it, it was a disgrace. The one self-catering unit was not even equipped for making food or washing dishes. This was a holiday planned for a 65th birthday, we were looking forward to our time away as a family. We were really disappointed. On the website, it says fresh rusks and coffee at the self-catering units.....LOL, there was no coffee or rusks insight only 2 sachets of sugar in each unit. This is false advertising!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Prins, Owner at Mali Mali Safari Lodge
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Dear Karlien Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Mali Mali Safari Lodge. We are very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations during your time with us. The pool was affected by the heavy rains we had a day before you arrived at the lodge and It was attended to and cleaned as soon as possible. We sincerely apologies for all the discomfort in the rooms/beds / and the unit which was not fully equipped, we, however, offered you an open kitchen to use which had all that you required, once more we apologies that the 65th birthday was not enjoyable due the mentioned above. We will certainly assure you that the 2 units are maintained and equipped fully to avoid another bad experience. We would also like to mention that this is our first bad review with regards to the 2 self-catering units. We value your feedback as through remarks such as yours we can improve on our standards and service to all guests. Bushveld Greetings Mali Mali Safari Lodge Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hoedspruit area.
PRICE RANGE
$104 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceMarulengHoedspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MALI MALI SAFARI LODGE - Lodging Reviews & Price Comparison (Hoedspruit, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mali Mali Safari Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Mali Mali Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mali Mali Safari Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mali Mali Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mali Mali Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mali Mali Safari Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mali Mali Safari Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Mali Mali Safari Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mali Mali Safari Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mali Mali Safari Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.