We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shikwari Nature Reserve

R36 J G Strydom Tunnel Road Valley of Olifants, Hoedspruit, Maruleng 1380 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 10 inns in Hoedspruit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shikwari Nature Reserve Offers 6 lovely Suites tuck in the natural bush & connected to the main area by pathways; where there is a lounge with satellite chanel, a shady veranda & pool with amazing views. Offering either B&B or Halfboard The lodge is licenced. Enjoy the wildlife especially the Zebra & Giraffe. Trips may be arranged with a guide or self drive to Kruger Park & the Panorama Route. We suggest a 2 or more night trip to fully enjoy the surrounding area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool with view
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Boating
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Car hire
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

R36 J G Strydom Tunnel Road Valley of Olifants, Hoedspruit, Maruleng 1380 South Africa
Shikwari Nature Reserve
89Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 20
  • 12
  • 10
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Daleen wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Definitely not the same standard as advertised on all platforms. Lodge is very unkept, swimming pools not clean & hygienic. Fish pond full of green mucus. Aircons not working. Rooms not cleaned, spiderwebs everywhere, even in basins (and definitely not acceptable because it is in the bushveld and normal for spiderwebs, as per of the hostess's feedback!). HOSTESS HAS A SARCASTIC REPLY FOR EACH COMPLAINT! SHE IS VERY RUDE WITH NO PEOPLE SKILLS.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CG-nelspruit wrote a review Nov 2022
18 contributions6 helpful votes
As the owner used to be very prompt in corresponding with me via mail before our stay,I gave her a chance to react to my concerns before this review - but no feedback received. We feel we need a partial refund.Completely overpriced and skimpy dinner (which was billed more than I was also originally quoted for, and also the reason why I did not pay our small drinks bill as yet), did not cater for any of our special dietry needs which they confirmed they will do on two occasions before our stay, rooms fairly clean but with MANY faults that we had to report ( blocked water pipes, not enough towels, bedlamps broken, aircon not working,etc). Overall not a great experience considering the rediculous price we paid for this “budget” but substandard accomodation. Would not recommend. Regret the fact that we paid the full amount in advance.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Other at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 14 Nov 2022
This Guest booked through Booking.com. Booking.com have already said that there would be no refund. The rate was the normal Booking.com rate. 1 The meal was done by my chef in accordance with normal upmarket restaurants for normal portions. It was a 2 course dinner. The rate did go up while this guest decided if they wanted dinner. With regard to the child's "diet" it was an oversight on my part. We did offer to do some pasta etc for her, but the mom said don't bother! The child actually ate the food that had been place in front of her with no problem. There were no other dietary needs. 2. With regard to the bedside light, is was just unplugged and fixed before they returned to their room as I advised her. The water in the shower was blocked by lime which is a problem in our area but was also fixed while they were out and they were advised. Unfortunately the aircon did break probably due to trying to have it on 16deg C this causes it to freeze up and blows the gauge. I tried to get our tech in be they were not answering. and as I explained; we would not get a technician on a weekend in this area. I did apoligise profusely. There was also a ceiling fan in the room and it was hot that night. This is not advertised in our rooms. 3. When something is missing in a room, I personally don't go into another guests room and take towels. A simple call would have been enough to bring extra towels that my housekeeper had not place in the rooms. She has been disciplined about this oversight. 4. I told Booking.com com to say that she didn't need to pay the bar bill. Which was R246. 5. I might also add I stopped answering this guest once I had replied and after the same message was sent 4 times. It felt like harassment and because it had been sorted through Booking.com I didn't feel I should keep answering.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
moyanamatsie wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
The place is so refreshing. Good value for money. The breakfast was on point. The staff is so friendly. I loved taking a walk in the morning right inside the bush and the view was perfect. So peaceful we enjoyed my stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Other at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 31 Dec 2021
We enjoyed having you stay & hope to see you visit again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mpumza M wrote a review Nov 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
The place is all good when u need to relax with Nature but the room and common tv and kitchen had spider webs all over and not clean love the idea of outdoor shower but they must make an alternative for rainy and thunderstorm weather. They must give guest remote for the gate because when u get in or out u need to buzz the reception always what if we want to go out n come back round about 2am we have to wake them up to open the gate for us. The host was very nice
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Other at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 8 Dec 2021
Thank you for your review 1.At the budget Pangolin Camp no TV or WiFi is offered.Yhat is why it is budget. There is Premium DSTV & WiFi at our luxury lodge,as was explained to you and offered for your use at our main lounge. This is on all info on all websites and not hidden. 2 Remotes will never be given to guests, this is for our security & your. We do not run a 24hr reception due to the nature of our business.Most guests are going to bed early to go on game drive into Kruger an other amazing sightseeing options. Nature reserves are for Nature lovers not for those looking for a party. 3.Spiders & web are a fact of living in the bush and a much as we chase the away they will be back. As you can see a stay at a Nature Reserve is Very different to staying in a hotel in town. There is no entertainment in the area, no clubs & most restaurants close by 10:30.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tryphord M wrote a review Oct 2021
Midrand, South Africa4 contributions
No TV and WIFI and you have to get WiFi and TV at the reception and to me a lodge like that need proper WiFi and also the room need to be properly cleaned before individuals check in. It is a nice place
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Other at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Hi Tryphord, I am wondering why you are giving a review 3 weeks after your stay. Maybe you forgot that you said you enjoyed your stay ! When you booked I pacifically explained that the budget Pangolin Rondavels had No TV's & No WiFi but that you could come to the ShikwariSuites lounge to watch TV & get WiFi. Saying it's in "Reception" is totally incorrect. We don't have a reception only a lounge, bar & inside dining area. All room are personally checked by us. your room was spotless and was cleaned daily and we personally checked you in and I checked again. Not sure why you would say that. I also check with all guests at breakfast that they are happy with their room. I had no complaints from yourself. If a guest it not happy we would prefer to have the opportunity to fix the problem rather than they keep quiet.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Explore13991390683 wrote a review Jun 2021
Sandton, South Africa1 contribution
Sue and her small team made our trip very favourable! From the communication leading up to the trip and the experience itself, it was lovely! Attention to detail was a big plus. The room was clean and made up everyday, which was appreciated. Breakfast and dinner were included, and I liked the options of both English and continental breakfasts. The location is about 35kms from the nearest town, not too bad. The outside shower was a treat! The kids enjoyed the pool. My best memory was Sue personally making my son a birthday cake on the Sunday of his birthday!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Other at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 25 Jun 2021
Thankyou for your valued review.We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope the you will visit again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tshilidzi Motau wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
What a great place. Great souls. A place to let down all and feel selfless. Both be and my fiance were reminded and agreed that we are all just animals. Thank you Sue (Its amazing how food taste different when you put in a little of your love) Thank you Anne (Hospitality with more artistic TLC custom to client) Thanks to the caring stuff (Quick respons, patience and on point hygiene) Thanks to Sue's husband (how did he get all those wild animals to like him?) God bless You
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Other at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 15 Jun 2021
The much for your valued review. It so appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Be safe & keep well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Phindi wrote a review Mar 2021
Pretoria, South Africa3 contributions
Booked for my husband and I for a weekend away for 2 night paid R4200 . Checked in at the lodge at 15h05 to my disappointment the place was not what I expected it was filthy and smelly the pool very murky was not happy due to the conditions nothing seemed to off the standard advertised....asked for refund and the owner Sue refused her daughter Anne said shes struggling to pay her Bill's nd can forget about refund. False advertising,bad treatment was offered an upgrade with an extra fee refused as the standard and conditions were not satisfactory.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Other at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 21 Mar 2021
HI, I am totally not OK with your review. We have very good reviews and have been in business for 11 yrs and we have never scammed anyone. 1. When you complained the room was dirty I had my manager come and check the room, she asked you what was wrong, you couldn't tell her. Then you admitted that you had asthma and could use the pillow we offered you a brand new pillow, you refused. If you had let me know BEFORE arrival I would have suggested you bring you own special pillow. I also had my husband check the room there was no smell and dirt. You continued to swear at Ann and we have witnesses to prove it and photo of the room when you left. 2. Ann was not speaking about the lodge, she was saying that in general she & everyone is struggling that is not the reason for the forfeit of the payment. I was also shocked when you phoned and said I was because "a privileged white person that wanted all the money" I said you were being racist you know nothing about who I am and where I come from. Running a lodge is hard work. I would never think of doing that in reverse!! Our guests , especially in these time are really special. 3.The pool was slightly murky with products that clean the pool and not harmful to anyone and photos have been taken for proof, it was definitely not dirty as it had be vacuumed the day before. 4. We offered you a fee upgrade and surprisingly your refused our offer, I don't why anybody would do that, you wouldn't even look. 5. When one starts a company one has to have rules. One of the rule is our terms and conditions as shown below THE FOLLOWING BOOKING & CANCELLATION RULE APPLY: • Bookings made 8 or more days before arrival require a 50% deposit • Bookings made 7 or less days before arrival require a 100% deposit • Must be paid within 3 days or the booking will be cancelled automatically • There is a 24hr cooling period with no cost to guest.. • The guest can cancel free of charge 8 eight days before arrival. • Guest cancelling 7 or less day will be charged the 50% deposit. • The guest must pay the balance of the total price at the lodge • A No Show will be charged the 50% Deposit. • The guest will forfeit 100% of the booking early departure. • The ONLY exception is medical proof of a Covid- 19 infections. • We encourage guest to postpone rather than cancel at the same rate. Strangely enough we have very happy guest in the SAME room today I am sorry you feel this way but we did try to help and you refused it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paula F F wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions
We had such a lekker weekend. Staff and owners are super friendly and very welcoming. Dinners were delicious and we definitely did not go hungry. The suite was neat and clean and very spacious. We did not get a chance to swim but the other kids there had a blast. It;s so relaxing we even had a zebra come look what was for dinner. It was awesome. It was hot but our room had a fan and aircon so it was very comfortable. The best part was the outside shower.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Owner at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 27 Oct 2020
HI, So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NkheNsaNie wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa186 contributions155 helpful votes
+1
My friends and I were booked at this establishment for NYE. The staff is extremely friendly however there are several things the game reserve needs to improve on especially given that they are a 4 star establishment. 1. The managing ‘directors’ who happen to also handle the admin are old. Our bill was 6,4K and on 2 occasions swiped the wrong amounts with the first one being (R64,80c). Similar mistake the second time around I then offered to help her. Imagine if I wasn’t Christian! 2. The premises are dirty (sorry, had to put it like it is). The floors by the pool and dinning area look like they haven’t been mopped in days. The mirror and the basins by the outside bathrooms near the pool unclean. The towel basket by the mirror outside was not Even emptied for the duration of our stay. Is there anyone ensuring the outside showers are also clean? The rooms were however clean. 3. Pool is dirty and slimy. 4. Breakfast is beyond basic! There’s a great need of improvement here. It’s almost as though the premises aren’t being maintained. Please look into how you can make the lodge great again. Highlights: Friendly staff Animals roaming around
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shikwari, Manager at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Thank you Kensani for your review. I suggest that you don't go around calling people old, I am definitely NOT Old but I was in great pain with a sprained ankle. it is rude and uncalled for and anybody can make a mistake. I don't think anybody mops around a pool and the veranda was cleaned that morning.. The pool wasn't dirty and not sure why you thought is slimy. It wasn't green! Breakfast consisted of a choice of 3 cereals, choice of 2 yogurts, cold meats, cheeses and fresh fruit. They you had the option of also having 2 rashers of bacon, mushroom, tomato and 2 eggs to order. Is this basis?? I can't believe behind the lovely smiling face you were actually thinking of writing this. And you say you are Christian!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hoedspruit area.
PRICE RANGE
$78 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shikwari Game Reserve
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceMarulengHoedspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHIKWARI NATURE RESERVE - Inn Reviews & Price Comparison (Hoedspruit, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shikwari Nature Reserve
Which popular attractions are close to Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Nearby attractions include Abel Erasmus Pass (7.1 km) and JG Strijdom Tunnel (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Shikwari Nature Reserve have airport transportation?
Yes, Shikwari Nature Reserve offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.