We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Indlovu RIVER LODGE

Karongwe Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit, Maruleng 1380 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (151)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#38 of 71 lodges in Hoedspruit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Greater Kruger National Park - Indlovu River Lodge is situated near Hoedspruit, in the Karongwe Private Game Reserve (part of an area called the greater Kruger National Park). The richly diverse 9000ha reserve hosts all of the Big Five species of Africa in a free-roaming environment. With an abundance of general game species as well as extraordinary birdlife you can expect to encounter a wide range of species on the game drives. Situated on the banks of the Kuvjenami river, lies 2 separate self-catering villas. The villas are hidden under towering Jackalberry trees, with the magnificent northern escarpment of the Drakensberg mountains as a backdrop. Each villa is fully equipped for self-catering and has its own private pool and boma, guaranteeing exclusivity and a private sense of being at home. We are a privately owned, family-run lodge with over 15 years of experience in meeting the individual needs of families and small groups. Indlovu River Lodge prides itself as one of only a handful of lodge's in the whole of Africa which can boast unique, sunken photographic hides. These exceptional hides create the opportunity for photographers to capture close up images, taken from the water level of the waterholes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Kids stay free
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shuttle bus service
Photo copier / fax In business centre
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Oven
Stovetop
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Karongwe Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit, Maruleng 1380 South Africa
Indlovu RIVER LODGE
Getting there
Hoedspruit Airport
51.3 km
See all flights
Phalaborwa Airport
82Reviews4Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 7
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Momza wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
* The place is not in Mpumalang but its in Limpopo..false advertising * No covid 19 regulations were followed by the owner or the staff * Owner is patronising, unfriendly and very rude! * Hygiene in the rooms is very poor
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Venter, General Manager at Indlovu RIVER LODGE
Responded 20 May 2021
Part of the same group as the previous review and as stated we are not a party destination.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zama wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Visited the place over the weekend and it was the worst stay ever !!! Mpumalanga No lights Bundus the place is in Tzaneen not Mpumalanga Owner unfriendly Place is creepy(1 of own was bitten by a scorpion) Rooms are stuffy hygiene not up to standard there’s spider webs Dstv not working (didn’t bother fixing it ) Covid regulations not followed (no sanitiser and no temperature was taken ) No lights at the braai area and just around the lodge We booked the house but where put separate rooms Don’t tel the advert fool you about a private pool that’s only available if you booked a 8 sleeper For a Ndlovu lodge you won’t even see that Indlovu 🤣
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Venter, General Manager at Indlovu RIVER LODGE
Responded 20 May 2021
You booked via Booking.com for a 10 sleeper unit, which is clearly described as free-standing rooms. The location of the lodge is indicated with a Google maps pin drop, so I'm not sure how there can be any confusion as to where we are located. We are definitely not a party destination and have a very strict noise policy. I had to repeatedly ask you to keep the noise down until 2 o'clock in the morning. If anyone wants to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of nature, they are welcome to read the rest of our reviews.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Masego M wrote a review Jan 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
2020 had been a weird year, and we were very happy to have had the opportunity to visit South Africa and stay in this amazing lodge. Louisa welcomed our party and escorted us to our lodge which did not disappoint! Lovely views of the river and animals. She also provided us with great recommendations of places to go within the area. Overall a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DeeR S wrote a review Dec 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa302 contributions117 helpful votes
A spectacular stay with the most wonderful people & in the most beautiful place! Thank you so much Louisa & Craig for your exceptional hospitality, generosity & kindness afforded Gavin & I, something rare in this day & age. Please thank both of your lovely ladies, Zelina & Elisha for the unbelievable meals & snacks. Thank you again to both yourself & Billy for keeping the photography hides so immaculate! To all the behind the scenes team for the stunning accommodation & amazing grounds, truly food for the soul. It was wonderful to finally get to meet & stay with you & we cannot wait to return in 2021! For anyone that is keen on bird & wildlife photography, this incredible place HAS to be on your "to do" list! For those not really into the photography side it still HAS to be on your "to do list" as it is such a special restorative & peaceful place it can only do your soul good! My advice, book your stay now for when you are in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JASON M wrote a review Nov 2019
27 contributions
+1
I spent months researching lodges for the safari part of our South African vacation and we couldn't have been happier than choosing Indlovu. From the moment we got off the plane in Hoedspruit, we were cheerfully welcomed by Stefan, our game drive ranger for our stay. He started immediately telling us about the area and the game reserve on our way to the lodge. He is very knowledgeable and definitely got us excited. Upon arrival at Indlovu, it was nice to be greeted by Lousia who runs the lodge with her husband Craig. I had been conversing with her while booking and planning our stay. We stayed in Villa Shingwedzi which was a great place for the three of us with a nice kitchen and living area and our own private pool and boma. The fun began right away as Stefan and Billy (our tracker) took us out for our first game drive the afternoon of our arrival. The game reserve is 21,000 acres and this the bush, so sightings are never guaranteed. We had some great luck though and saw all the big five by the end of our three days. We were also lucky to see the 3 cheetah brothers all together (which Billy tracked on foot for 30 mins), a 10 day baby elephant, the elusive leopard and a great sight, the lion pride walking together on our last day. Stefan's knowledge and time he spent with us made the game drives even more interesting and interactive. One of my favorite things about the lodge is the way it makes you feel like family. There is never more than 20ish guests and it make the experience more personal. I came to the bush for a safari, not a spa and this place has a bush experience while also being updated and a provides a great and educational safari vacation. I would highly recommend anyone going on their first safari and worried about traveling across the world, Indlovu for sure will not disappoint!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Families or groups of friends will definitely enjoy the villas.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sidraphotography wrote a review Jan 2019
Boulder, Colorado161 contributions30 helpful votes
We enjoyed a lovely stay at Indlovu River Lodge in early November, with a few complaints. The primary reason for our visit was the two photography hides, and they did not disappoint! This opportunity to get ground-level shots from the comfort of a hide is very unique, and there are only several properties around Africa that offer this. As such, I highly recommend a visit here for photographers! It really is worth it and I would recommend visiting the hide every morning and evening. My only qualms with the hides were that the chairs provided are incredibly squeaky and it is difficult not to frighten the wildlife away with the slightest movement. I would highly suggest that these be replaced. I also wish that the sides of the reflecting pool looked a bit more natural, rather than having visible cement. That being said, I would definitely return to Indlovu in order to visit these hides. We were blessed with an abundance of fun birdlife, including a flock of green pigeons, hornbills, helmeted guinea fowl, waxbills, ox peckers, as well as wildebeest, nyala, impala, and a herd of zebra beautifully reflected. One day when we opted for a game drive instead, we missed a lion near the hide! Don't make our mistake :) The property and rooms were nice, if nothing terribly special. The room was very big and well laid out- the kind of place you could be comfortable settling into for a while. However, our room was absolutely infested with giant spiders. We've stayed all over southern Africa at a variety of lodges, including many that are more rugged than Indlovu & we are not at all fussy or jumpy people, however I have never encountered this number of spiders. If this is a regular issue, I would suggest that the property add mosquito netting to the beds for ease of sleep, as I found it quite difficult. The food was absolutely delicious, especially the night we ate outdoors in the boma, and I was very pleased with the vegetarian options I was provided. Service was not particularly great, and lunch felt a little desolate. It would be nice to have some kind of greeting upon arriving to lunch, rather than entering a room with no food or staff and not quite knowing what to do on your first day. We had several good sightings on our game drives, including 5 young male lions and a rhino mom with her young baby, however the game drives for me were sub par compared to what I've experienced at almost every other lodge, which is the primary reason for my 3 star rating. I felt that the guides were so focused on getting guests to see the Big Five that they *completely* ignored all of the other life in the bush. We've thankfully been on several safaris, but I felt badly for our fellow guests on the vehicle whose first time it was in Africa who didn't even know what they were missing. The best thing about game drives for me (at other lodges) is the level of detail provided by knowledgeable, enthusiastic guides–information on the land, the vegetation, the little animals, the birds, and also about the every day animals like impala. While I understand that some visitors to Africa do only care about checking the Big 5 off their list, I think it is the guide's job to show visitors all of the other wonders of the bush beyond this. The guide and driver spent so much time on their radios communicating with other vehicles in order to get us to elephants and lions, that this narrative was completely missing and I left our game drives feeling quite let down, especially for the sake of the other guests who received no interesting information about this wonderful place. I do want to call out a couple of people who provided excellent service. First, the manager was very nice and friendly, and I really enjoyed chatting with her on our drives out to the photography hide. Second, the chef who prepared our outdoor meal in the boma really made some exceptional food! In summary, we loved Indlovu for the photography hides, but hope the lodge will take in our suggestions for improvements. This place really has potential to be special!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
debjanim2016 wrote a review Nov 2018
Hyderabad, India7 contributions1 helpful vote
Spent two nights in this beautiful lodge and would rate it as the best experience we have had staying in a game lodge. The property is very beautiful and one can see animals while sitting on the deck and sipping a drink. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff extremely courteous. Our guide Jonty was very knowledgeable and we were thrilled to see all of the BIG FIVE! The food was excellent and we loved sitting around the braai in the evenings while hearing all the animal noises around us. Would love to go back again and spend more time in this outstanding place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
M1018KXrob wrote a review Sept 2018
1 contribution
The room (Shawu 1) is excellent and inspirational if by chance you're looking for an "african' touch. Food very very good - I must have gained some weight. My drive was photography so I didn't really concentrate on the lodge site itself but I'm sure you would love to stay here and just enjoy. It has however re-inspired me to bring Afr home & lifestyle items back to home.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nicole S wrote a review Aug 2018
Surfers Paradise, Australia442 contributions234 helpful votes
+1
My partner and I spent an amazing week at Indlovu River Lodge. Louisa is by far one of the best Managers I have ever met (I worked in Hospitality for many years) and perfectly managed our stay. Louisa also organised our transfers. Although we didn't have as much face to face with her husband Craig (aka Greg), he was also great. I would be nit picking to the point of ridiculous to comment on any fault with this place. The suites were amazing and ours had a balcony looking over the dry river bed. Between breakfast and lunch we would see elephant, zebra, impala, Nyala, monkeys, giraffe and more. Just incredible and so relaxing. The all inclusive rate of wine, beer and soft drink/water was a lovely bonus. Food was great and plentiful. Cooked breakfast, light lunch (excellent salads!) and 3 course dinner around the BOMA. We chose Indlovu (after much research) due to the hides. For photography, it can't be beaten. Specially located hides (one morning and one afternoon hide) with no scrub to get in the way of your bird shots, perfect light, reflection shots. I'm not sure how I'll ever get better bird shots. We had 9 hide sessions (booked months in advance) and 3 game drives, so you can mix it up. At the hides we saw plenty of birds, zebras, a rino, impala, Nyala, baboons.....and you watch all that in the comfort of your hide with your afternoon snack plate and drink. Very nice! On the drives we saw leopard, lions, elephants, giraffe...to name a few. The absolute highlight was getting out on foot and traipsing in the bush to be within 10 metres of 3 male cheetah! Incredible! All the staff we encountered were very friendly. Special thanks our guide and trackers Stefan and Billy, Jonti and John. I tried to write down some names, but apologies to all I missed - Selina, Thomas, Tiny, Liza. This lodge has achieved the very difficult task of feeling relaxed yet professional. I would not hesitate to say that the management style of Louisa and Craig is the reason for this. We were very lucky with near perfect day weather (August) - clear and sunny (cold mornings though so bring your winter gear for that). We will be reliving our experience at Indlovu for years (probably decades!) to come. Thanks so much for the amazing memories!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
B1242DQmicheller wrote a review May 2018
Manila, Philippines6 contributions
Our family of three had a wonderful experience at the Karongwe Game Reserve at the Indlovu River Lodge last May 9-13,2018. We were only expecting to find the Big 5 during our game drives which was easily accomplished in just 2 out of 5 game drives we had during our stay. Our game driver Jonty & his tracker John & Billy are simply the best at what they do and make the drives so much fun! After a long drive, Alesha the lodge cook extraordinaire whiffs up the best meals that keep us craving for more each day! Louisa the lodge manager makes sure we always have everything we need. Indlovu River Lodge is so much more than the Big 5 because we left it feeling that we needed to come back to it someday. It was our home away from home! This special place will surely exceed all your expectations. Can’t wait to get back one day to our little haven in the middle of the Karongwe jungle.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hoedspruit area.
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceMarulengHoedspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INDLOVU RIVER LODGE - Reviews (Hoedspruit, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Indlovu RIVER LODGE
What are some of the property amenities at Indlovu RIVER LODGE?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Indlovu RIVER LODGE?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, an oven, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Indlovu RIVER LODGE?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Indlovu RIVER LODGE?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Indlovu RIVER LODGE?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Indlovu RIVER LODGE have airport transportation?
Yes, Indlovu RIVER LODGE offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Indlovu RIVER LODGE?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.