We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

eKhaya Bush Villa

374 Kierrie Klapper Street Hoedspruit Wildlife Estate, Hoedspruit, Maruleng 1380 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (92)
Dining (14)
Room & Suite (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#30 of 71 lodges in Hoedspruit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
eKhaya – Zulu (Noun) at Home, from Home or Home Welcome to eKhaya Bush Villa in the heart of South Africa’s beautiful lowveld region, close to the world-renowned Kruger National Park. Launched in June 2017, this boutique guest villa is located on the 680ha Hoedspruit Wildlife Estate private residential wildlife reserve just outside the bustling safari town of Hoedspruit in Limpopo province. This estate is home to a variety of iconic wildlife species and a dedicated wilderness area which is part of the extended Greater Kruger eco-system. With six double en-suite bedrooms, eKhaya – which means “home” in the Zulu vernacular – offers you the perfect base from which to explore this fascinating and beautiful area of the Rainbow Nation, rich in its cultural and environmental diversity. So come “home” to eKhaya Bush Villa and begin your love affair with the African bush…Book now for Exclusive use on a self catering basis and bring your friends and family in your home away from home
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Hiking
Horseback riding
Airport transportation
Massage
Outdoor fireplace
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
98Reviews2Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 8
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
micaela i wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
The place is perfect, it has a perfect architecture and its really clean. I went alone and didnt how it was going to be, fortunately, i have Met Isabela, she is the house keeper who made me breakfast and dinner. She is extramately good cooking and kind 🤍
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AB wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Ekhaya is a beautiful and very comfortable villa located in a charming wildlife estate. We were lucky enough to see some impalas and warthogs near the villa. It is a very secure area, well managed and well maintained with everything needed for a pleasant stay. Regina took very good care of us, prepared the most delicious dinners and breakfasts for us. We recommend this experience for everyone with the sweetest and most helpful people. Thank you so much, we hope to be back with you soon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
deryckv2017 wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Great peaceful location and tasteful setting. Rooms and premises nicely decorated and very friendly, competent staff. Would definitely use this as a base for exploring the area and game parks. Close to shops and restaurants yet tucked away in secure gated community.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sbiyel840252 wrote a review Apr 2023
Polokwane, South Africa1 contribution
The name is honestly fitting. The ladies in that house make you feel at home and their food is worth every cent and more. I'll book again for longer than 2 nights and just disappear into the wild. Just peace and quietness. However, I wish the fence did not barrier the animals... I did not see any, but you could hear them from a distance.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tjmakwala wrote a review Oct 2022
Middelburg, South Africa1 contribution
The Villa is beautiful and in a very tranquil area.. Staff was very kind and they make lovely breakfast my visit was made extra special with the requests I asked for in our room..they nailed it 100%. Definitely going back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Karen F wrote a review Jun 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa131 contributions108 helpful votes
Ekhaya is a beautiful, large, very comfortable villa situated in a lovely wildlife estate. The Villa is secure, well run and well maintained. I booked Ekhaya for a group of cyclists and we opted to have breakfast. It was ideal, with each bedroom having a private bathroom en-suite. Adronica and Virginia cooked us the most delicious breakfasts and took excellent care of us all. Thank you Debbie, we all hope to be back with you again soon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Wheeldon, General Manager at eKhaya Bush Villa
Responded 8 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us. We hope to see you again soon. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tomy Baudouin wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions
We've rent the whole house for our whole family and it was a fantastic stay here at the Ekhaya. Each room is big. Each members of our family found the beds very confortable. Some little things was missing in the rooms but when we asked the 2 persons in charge of the house, we've get it very quickly. (for example Some hangers was missing in my room but when I asked for it I got it very quickly) The staff to make our stay more easier was incredible. I've asked something special for the birthday of my mom and Tanja and Clare managed to get it. But I particularly would like to thank Adronica and Viggy (the housekeeper and kitcheners) who were so kind with us. Thanks to her, we felt like in an hôtel but in a private home. To be honest, I was with my wife in Hoedspruit 5 years ago in a more luxury place (and way more expensive) where everything was perfect but we felt uncomfortable. Everything was perfect but without warmth. With the Ekhaya, by the way the house is built and the kindness of the staff you can feel that the human relationship are the most important things. So in my opinion, if you're in honey moon and you would like to be alone in a very exclusive place, I don't think the Ekhaya is suitable for you. But if you're looking for a house in a very good location and where you can feel like in a friend home so don't hesitate this is the place to be !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Wheeldon, General Manager at eKhaya Bush Villa
Responded 20 May 2022
Dear Tomy Thank you so much for the review - finally after many months you were able to travel to South Africa with your family and we are thrilled you and your family enjoyed Ekhaya Bush Villa. We look forward to your next visit with us Kind regards Tanja
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nhhhhhh11 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
We were very disappointed with the amount of money we paid for our stay and the quality we received. I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone. The cleanliness is extremely poor. The kitchen was in a horrendous state, not sure how we were given such a filthy kitchen. There were spiderwebs EVERYWHERE! Some of the rooms weren’t cleaned thoroughly before we were given the property. The self catering equipment is not in a good state. Too much grime build up has accumulated on them because they aren’t properly cleaned. Beautiful Villa to accommodate a big family but needs lots of work on cleanliness especially for the price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Greg wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Angeles, California9 contributions7 helpful votes
This place is South Africa's best kept secret. I have never raved about a lodge like I will about this one. Everything was great and I highly, highly recommend you stay here. Before I get to my own experience, I would advise you to forgo, at least in part, the fancy schmancy safari lodges that cost up to $1,000 a night and stay here instead because it's just as nice if not nicer and you get WAY more value for your money and can still book guided safaris from here and see all of the animals your heart desires. What's more, you are near the world's third largest canyon here with a breathtakingly beautiful boat ride. Use eKhaya Bush Villa as your base to then explore both Kruger National Park and the canyon area. Now to my individual experience. To put it mildly, my trip to both Cape Town and Johannesburg did not go well and I was at the end of my rope. I had intended to stay at eKhaya Bush Villa two nights. Those two nights turned into four because it became my oasis of tranquility and beauty. I don't know how old the place is but everything looks BRAND NEW. Claire, the owner, is a hospitality goddess. Truly. Hearing of my unpleasant experiences in Cape Town and Johannesburg, she bent over backwards to make me - and all other guests - feel at home and she helped me salvage my vacation (my experiences in Cape Town and Johannesburg were so bad I was thinking of flying home to the U.S. early). I am a HUGE fan of Claire and eKhaya and you will be too. The rooms are very spacious, the beds very comfortable, the bathrooms are very spacious, the grounds are beautiful, the food is good and the staff friendly and helpful. AND it's in a secured estate so you are 100% safe!! This was important to me after my travails elsewhere. Whether you are a single traveler like me or part of a larger group, you should know you will be both safe and at home here. I can't recommend this place enough. My only regret is that Claire and eKhaya aren't closer to me in Los Angeles. I'd stay here as often as I could! Lucky you that you will get the chance to. Enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ClareGirardin, Manager at eKhaya Bush Villa
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear Greg, Thank you for your amazing review! It's such a pity that the beginning of your trip did not live upto your expectations, we are just happy that this part of your journey went well! I hope the rest of your week in the Cape does not throw you any unexpected curve balls and that you have a fabulous trip in Franschoek! All best, Clare and the eKhaya team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LJay_99 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Hi Tanja, I looked at the pictures of your villa and though, wow, I need to stay there. But I was disaponted in every way. I changed my booking the day before my arrival and not sure who I spoke to, but the lady said she will give it through to the lodge.When I arrived the lady that received me and my mother did not know of the change. After the room was sorted, we went down to have something to drink. The patio was not guest ready and realy made us feel uncomfortable. The glasses that was provided was chipped. and the Head lady in the kitchen just seemed very unprepared for everything. We had to ask for things that should be ready when the day start. There seem to be a lot of finer detail that would enjoy some attention. Like the mosquito net in room 6 is a bit broken. There was no coffee in the room. So in all. not a pleasant stay. I expected more from a 4star stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ClareGirardin, Manager at eKhaya Bush Villa
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Dear Lindie, Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us, and we are sorry to hear we did not deliver up to your expectations. With regards your booking, we only had a booking for 1 single person in a standard room, so yes were unaware and unprepared for the additional person, which required a room move. The fact that you were made to feel uncomforatable, is certainly unacceptable and not what we strive for at eKhaya. We want all our guests to feel at home and to be treated to a warm and friendly experience. Indeed our mosquito nets need attention, and we are in the process of replacing all of them. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to host you again to show you what the eKhaya true hospitality is about. Once again, thank you for your feedback, it's always an invaluable tool for us in order to strive for better service. Kind regards, Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hoedspruit area.
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceMarulengHoedspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EKHAYA BUSH VILLA - Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Hoedspruit, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about eKhaya Bush Villa
Which popular attractions are close to eKhaya Bush Villa?
Nearby attractions include Siyafunda Wildlife & Conservation (1.7 km), High Tea With Elephants (2.3 km), and Benedictions (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at eKhaya Bush Villa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at eKhaya Bush Villa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at eKhaya Bush Villa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to eKhaya Bush Villa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit, Sleepers Restaurant, and The Thirsty Giraffe Pub And Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at eKhaya Bush Villa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does eKhaya Bush Villa have airport transportation?
Yes, eKhaya Bush Villa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at eKhaya Bush Villa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.