We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aspen On King

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 19 hotels in Timaru
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Aspen on King their hotel of choice when visiting Timaru. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Aspen on King offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The hotel offers baggage storage and newspaper, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features barbeque facilities. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the steakhouses, including Bullock Restaurant and Bar and Custom Steak House, all of which are a short distance from Aspen on King.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Te Ana Maori Rock Art (0.7 mi), Sacred Heart Basilica (0.2 mi), and York Street Gallery of Fine Art (0.9 mi), which are some popular Timaru attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Aspen on King as you experience all of the things Timaru has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
232Reviews3Q+A52Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 122
  • 71
  • 20
  • 8
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
SharonHLondon wrote a review Feb 2024
London56 contributions27 helpful votes
We arrived early and were warmly greeted . The manager was so helpful and showed us where our accommodation was and allowing us early entry . Spacious and scrupulously clean , chairs and table directly outside and across from our accommodation, Were well kept gardens and large chess area- beautiful! So far in our trip we stayed at 5 motels and hands down this was far and away the best !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We were on the ground floor - recommended!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mike P wrote a review Jun 2023
Auckland, New Zealand284 contributions201 helpful votes
The price was reasonable however with small touches the stay would have been more comfortable. The beds need a replacement as too soft, showers dated and joinery a bit tired. However, the rooms made up for this with nice furniture and fittings. The manager was very nice and welcoming. The place was close to everything but isn’t everything in timaru. Recommend ground floor units. Overall if you have to stay in timaru and I have many times it’s ok.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Georgina I wrote a review Jan 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand27 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed at Aspen on King for 4 nights with my Ma and we absolutely loved it. Just a hop into the village and such a great unit too. We had one of the wheelchair access units which meant it had a big open wet floor shower, it was great for Ma that it wasn't a shower over bath situation. The wee kitchen was perfect for cooking a meal at night and the amenities were ample. Hosts were great also, very obliging 👍. Beds were very comfy and pillows very soft. Full size fridge and had a front and back door which created a nice breezy flow through. Television with DVD built in and tones of great DVDs to borrow from the reception.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
susy44 wrote a review Nov 2022
Sydney, Australia8 contributions9 helpful votes
If you want friendly service, comfortable accommodation, daily cleaning, in a quiet area of Timaru, close to the botanic Gardens and walking distance to town, then I would highly recommend Aspen on King. I recently spent 6 nights here ,as my husband was in the local hospital for 4 nights, and the help I received from Sandra and Aiden was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and they managed to make a very stressful time bearable. Loved the spa bath to relax at the end of each day!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
eenski wrote a review Oct 2022
Melbourne, Australia94 contributions126 helpful votes
Stayed for only 1 night, nice living area but shower and toilet in one minuscule room, never seen a room so small, had to step up to get into shower, which had steel base, water pressure so strong it was actually hurting to shower (couldn't turn pressure down), shoulders hitting walls when sitting on toilet, loud fouled mouthed builders everywhere cursing, swearing etc, try to get downstairs room as upstairs pretty ordinary, like the outdoor seating area outside unit
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
becca b wrote a review Aug 2022
23 contributions5 helpful votes
So I travel a lot for work and I've stayed lots of motels, but this was great. Super clean (and I'm fussy), tidy. Netflix. Sky. Spa Bath. Quality toiletries. Lazy boy sofa and all I needed. Did I say tidy!? Great service and awesome stay. Whatever people were complaining about years ago, it's fixed now. Stayed in back lodge. 100% coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anwil51 wrote a review Jul 2021
Queenstown, New Zealand552 contributions306 helpful votes
We just needed an overnight stop and the choice was made based on being easy to find and off the main highway so it would be quiet. While we had booked "bigger" room than the standard ones, the space was still very limited and the bathroom very very small. That said - the room - while a bit old and tired - was clean and quiet and served the purpose for an overnighter.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Molly317 wrote a review Jun 2021
Riverton, New Zealand75 contributions30 helpful votes
Stayed here for two nights with around 10 other family members (5 rooms) for two nights on rally weekend. Managers were very quick at check in, which is always a plus. Rooms were perfect, spa bath, fridge/freezer, two TVs, quiet heat pump, nice outdoor chairs with cushions. Throughlly enjoyed this motel & thought it was a great size. Only down note I would have to write is definitely carpet needs cleaning or replacing & fix up scuffs in the wall when needed. Would definitely not stop me from staying here again. Until next time, Thank You
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book a room down the back, so quiet & private... 22,23 & 24..
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wilbur61 wrote a review Nov 2020
Dunedin, New Zealand50 contributions28 helpful votes
We booked this motel because we have stayed at this place many times before and been happy. However after this visit and the response from the owners we will not stay again. We paid $172 for a studio room ( this was more than we have paid previously) that was substandard in quality. It would barely rate two stars, see photos of the bathroom. Had trouble sleeping because there was a very bright light outside our room that we couldn’t turn off, it was still on at 11pm. The condition of the bathroom was terrible with a shower over the bath with poor water pressure and and old curtain. In the morning we found the fridge wasn’t working and our milk was warm. I spoke to the man on reception about the fridge and he said they would need to replace it. No apology for our spoilt food. I also spoke to him about the state of the room and he said we got an old room because we booked via booking.com and not directly with the motel! That our room was only worth $130 a night. If motels want to use Booking.com then they shouldn’t discriminate against the guest. Very poor service from this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King
Responded 25 Nov 2020
Thank you for taking the time to place your review we appreciate all feed back. Unfortunately as you booked your stay on the day you arrived we were unable to offer you any off our superior back quieter units as we were full. The fridge had not been bought to our attention and has now been replaced. Booking online through a 3rd party agency like booking.com is alway more expensive than booking direct with the motel as you incur commission charges.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Arina V wrote a review Oct 2020
Rotorua, New Zealand15 contributions2 helpful votes
Best value for money ! Modern, clean, has everything you need and want away from home - spa bath, 2 tvs. Excellent customer service - Owners go out of their way to supply what you need. You can't go wrong if you choose to stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King
Responded 25 Nov 2020
Thank you for taking the time to place a lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Timaru area.
PRICE RANGE
$160 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aspen on king timaru
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionTimaru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ASPEN ON KING - Now $155 (Was $̶1̶6̶5̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Timaru, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aspen On King
Which popular attractions are close to Aspen On King?
Nearby attractions include Te Ana Māori Rock Art (1.1 km), South Canterbury Museum (1.1 km), and Timaru Botanic Gardens (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aspen On King?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Aspen On King?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Aspen On King?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Aspen On King?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aspen On King?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Oxford, The Speight’s Ale House, and Street Food Kitchen.
Does Aspen On King have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Aspen On King offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Aspen On King have airport transportation?
Yes, Aspen On King offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Aspen On King accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.