We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aspen On King

Save
Share
51 King Street, Timaru 7910 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 19 hotels in Timaru
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Aspen on King their hotel of choice when visiting Timaru. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Aspen on King offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The hotel offers baggage storage and newspaper, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features barbeque facilities. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the steakhouses, including Bullock Restaurant and Bar and Custom Steak House, all of which are a short distance from Aspen on King.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Te Ana Maori Rock Art (0.7 mi), Sacred Heart Basilica (0.2 mi), and York Street Gallery of Fine Art (0.9 mi), which are some popular Timaru attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Aspen on King as you experience all of the things Timaru has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
226Reviews3Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 118
  • 71
  • 18
  • 8
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anwil51 wrote a review Jul 2021
Queenstown, New Zealand477 contributions267 helpful votes
We just needed an overnight stop and the choice was made based on being easy to find and off the main highway so it would be quiet. While we had booked "bigger" room than the standard ones, the space was still very limited and the bathroom very very small. That said - the room - while a bit old and tired - was clean and quiet and served the purpose for an overnighter.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Molly317 wrote a review Jun 2021
Riverton, New Zealand71 contributions28 helpful votes
Stayed here for two nights with around 10 other family members (5 rooms) for two nights on rally weekend. Managers were very quick at check in, which is always a plus. Rooms were perfect, spa bath, fridge/freezer, two TVs, quiet heat pump, nice outdoor chairs with cushions. Throughlly enjoyed this motel & thought it was a great size. Only down note I would have to write is definitely carpet needs cleaning or replacing & fix up scuffs in the wall when needed. Would definitely not stop me from staying here again. Until next time, Thank You
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book a room down the back, so quiet & private... 22,23 & 24..
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Wilbur61 wrote a review Nov 2020
Dunedin, New Zealand19 contributions15 helpful votes
We booked this motel because we have stayed at this place many times before and been happy. However after this visit and the response from the owners we will not stay again. We paid $172 for a studio room ( this was more than we have paid previously) that was substandard in quality. It would barely rate two stars, see photos of the bathroom. Had trouble sleeping because there was a very bright light outside our room that we couldn’t turn off, it was still on at 11pm. The condition of the bathroom was terrible with a shower over the bath with poor water pressure and and old curtain. In the morning we found the fridge wasn’t working and our milk was warm. I spoke to the man on reception about the fridge and he said they would need to replace it. No apology for our spoilt food. I also spoke to him about the state of the room and he said we got an old room because we booked via booking.com and not directly with the motel! That our room was only worth $130 a night. If motels want to use Booking.com then they shouldn’t discriminate against the guest. Very poor service from this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King
Responded 25 Nov 2020
Thank you for taking the time to place your review we appreciate all feed back. Unfortunately as you booked your stay on the day you arrived we were unable to offer you any off our superior back quieter units as we were full. The fridge had not been bought to our attention and has now been replaced. Booking online through a 3rd party agency like booking.com is alway more expensive than booking direct with the motel as you incur commission charges.
Read more
Arina V wrote a review Oct 2020
Rotorua, New Zealand15 contributions
Best value for money ! Modern, clean, has everything you need and want away from home - spa bath, 2 tvs. Excellent customer service - Owners go out of their way to supply what you need. You can't go wrong if you choose to stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King
Responded 25 Nov 2020
Thank you for taking the time to place a lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Read more
HR22263 wrote a review Sep 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand10 contributions2 helpful votes
This motel is quiet - handily placed- clean warm and quite luxurious. A lovely place to spend 3 weeks here on business. Managers are friendly and helpful. Will make sure to stay here in future. Rooms are modern - bathroom is very big with spa bath - big TVs in lounge and bedroom - free wireless internet is very good speed and connectivity.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King
Responded 25 Nov 2020
thanks for a lovely review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could accommodate you with your change in plans
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aspen on king timaru
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionTimaru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aspen On King
Which popular attractions are close to Aspen On King?
Nearby attractions include Te Ana Māori Rock Art (1.1 km), South Canterbury Museum (1.1 km), and Timaru Botanic Gardens (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aspen On King?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Aspen On King?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Aspen On King?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Aspen On King?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aspen On King?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Oxford, The Speight’s Ale House, and Street Food Kitchen.
Does Aspen On King have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Aspen On King offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Aspen On King accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.