We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Grosvenor Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (130)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 19 hotels in Timaru
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
356Reviews2Q+A67Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 86
  • 141
  • 73
  • 40
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
FushNChips wrote a review Mar 2024
Christchurch, New Zealand236 contributions29 helpful votes
First time staying here and it was a bit of a mixed bag, I’d probably give 3.5 stars but upped it to 4 because of the very large spacious room (#101). That was definitely a good first impression when I opened the door. Other plus points were a large and comfortable bed, a crazy powerful shower that rivalled a jet plane taking off and ample free parking. The receptionist was also very friendly and accommodating. The negatives were an awful strong chlorine-type smell from the bathroom/toilet and painfully slow wifi; it wasn’t fast enough for me to watch anything on YouTube or Netflix. All in all though, pretty good and I would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much. 101 was the very room Her Majesty the Queen stayed during her NZ tours. By the time you come back, it would be revamped as the Suites on the 2nd floor. It is timely to bring the hotel to the 21st century and beyond. Team Grosvenor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thefamilytraveller wrote a review Feb 2024
Whangarei, New Zealand159 contributions58 helpful votes
I stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms, a very comfortable bed in a decent size room, the only complaint would be the shower, whilst a large shower, there is nowhere to put soap, shower gel or shampoo which was a minor inconvenience. I didn’t have breakfast but the mixed grill for dinner was fantastic, food cooked to perfection and tonnes of flavour. There are a few shockers in Timaru but this hotel is well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2024
Thank you very much. We will do better for the next wing that's due for completion this side of winter. Team Grosvenor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sharon D wrote a review Feb 2024
Christchurch, New Zealand55 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
Photos are very deceiving. The access to the rooms is via stairs or a very very old lift that i am surprised passed a health and safety inspection. The room was incredibly dirty, the hall way very dirty with peeling paint and mould. The restaurant is average in food and service. The only positive is the location right in the town centre.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2024
Apology to have not met your expectations. Like any accommodation facilities in New Zealand, we are audited by the local Council on an annual basis. The lift at the Grosvenor is the oldest lift in South Canterbury, and for historical enthusiasts, they were thrilled to take it for free. It's the same age as the Santa Justa lift at Lisbon, Portugal designed by Eiffel, the same engineer who designed the Eiffel Tower in Paris, and people need to queue up and pay for a lift ride! Picture how grand the Grosvenor must be a century ago when guests didn't have to take stairs but straight to their floor?! We are in the midst of renovation; the new Suites are at the top floor, and by the time it is completed, it will be the Grand Hotel that you love to stay in. The Grosvenor is a very busy hotel, and our housekeepers have been keeping themselves busy. The Grosvenor is also known for its food, and local people frequent the restaurant on a weekly basis. Shall we agree to disagree at this point? Team Grosvenor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
shopoholic75 wrote a review Jan 2024
Auckland, New Zealand33 contributions43 helpful votes
Good location, shame hotel facilities weren’t up to scratch, newly upgraded room but shower crap, took ages to get TV sorted, unable to access freeview tv and apps wouldn’t open on the tv due to no log in details to include tvnz. Restaurant shut for duration of stay despite it being peak season and not included in the price of the booking so had to search for breakfast options !!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Do your research
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2024
Apology to have not met your expectations. It is difficult to get quality hospitality staff to keep up with the demands. We have advertised for staff for a very long period of time but nobody sees hospitality as a career option. Our core staff is like our family, and they have burnt themselves out. Don't you think that it is a humane thing to do to let them have a break, to enjoy quality time with their families? If you are unsure how to operate the entertainment system, do communicate with our staff, and they are there to assist. We are not making excuses here, and we will most certainly do our best to rectify the issues that you have raised. Team Grosvenor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TKAGirl wrote a review Dec 2023
Temuka7 contributions2 helpful votes
Check in was super easy, even though reception was unattended there was a phone on the counter which I just had to pick up and tell them we were there. A friendly staff member came straight away to give us our room key. We stayed in room 206, it is nice and big with a huge bed, couch, chair and tv . The room had floor to ceiling windows with a view to the sea (you just have to look past the containers and dock). The bathroom was clean, modern and a great size. Only downside was the shower did not drain away but I notified a staff member and they were going to repair it. We found the room amazingly quiet and the black out curtains worked perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2024
Thanking you. Please do come again. Team Grosvenor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Margaret M wrote a review May 2023
Oamaru, New Zealand94 contributions10 helpful votes
We had one of the Queen rooms on the top floor and was most impressed! Everything was so totally modern and the bed was big and comfy. Smart television which gave you a heap of options and took me a little while to work out but I did. We had dinner down on at the restaurant and it was the best steak I have tasted in a long while. Moderately priced and service was tops!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2024
Thanking you. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Team Grosvenor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sonja B wrote a review May 2023
Kiama, Australia131 contributions20 helpful votes
A lovely older style hotel in the centre of Timaru. We liked our room - older style comfort, and enjoyed our meal in the restaurant. The staff were lovely, parking was free across the road, and overall, it was quiet and good value for money. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2024
Thanking you. Our aim is ultimately transform the hotel fused with old world charm but with all the latest mod coms. Look forward to serve you again in the future. Team Grosvenor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anthony W wrote a review Jan 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand91 contributions23 helpful votes
I wrote a review in 2015. We've just stayed there again. It's quite deceiving. From the outside, there's scaffolding (they're obviously doing the place up) and initially inside, it looks like the same old hotel. However, the rooms have been done up and ours was excellent. Good size, great bathroom, large TV, comfy new bed - a really good room. And very good value considering the price. We were very happy. It may still be a 3-star hotel, but the room was much better value than that.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2024
Thank you for your kind words. We have taken major leaps this year. By the time the whole hotel is completed, it will be the destination that Timaru is proud of. Her Majesty the Queen stopped over at the Grosvenor three times in Her prime and we wish to honour her by being the best that we can be. Team Grosvenor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
aw682018 wrote a review Oct 2022
Masterton, New Zealand25 contributions7 helpful votes
Booked last minute for our road trip. Excellent place to stay. Friendly reception staff. Our room was beautiful and value for money. Unfortunately we were not able to have a meal here due to staff shortages. This place will look amazing once the renovations are complete.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2022
Blessed. Thanking you. Team Grosvenor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tania and Pete M wrote a review Aug 2022
Silverdale, New Zealand58 contributions13 helpful votes
First of all, I'm from Timaru so I have every right to call it a hole. But it wasn't, we had a great time. We booked the Grosvenor because we wanted to show the kids how it was back in the day. We all enjoyed our stay, comfortable beds, big rooms, friendly helpful staff. Yeah it was a bit shabby but times are tough, support places like this before they disappear. Good coffee down the road, market was great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2024
Thank you for your kind words. NZ has gone through its rough patches within the past few years. One needs to remain optimistic and compassionate guests like yourself give us hope that they are good people out there that are rooting for us to do and get better, which we will. Thank you for being an inspiration, and until we serve you again, we wish you a pleasant day. Team Grosvenor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Timaru area.
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionTimaru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GROSVENOR HOTEL - Now $133 (Was $̶1̶6̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Timaru, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grosvenor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Grosvenor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Te Ana Māori Rock Art (0.2 km), South Canterbury Museum (0.3 km), and HOSS - House of Sports Simulation (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grosvenor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Grosvenor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grosvenor Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grosvenor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Oxford, The Speight’s Ale House, and Zest.
Is Grosvenor Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Timaru.
Does Grosvenor Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Is Grosvenor Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.