We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grosvenor Hotel

Save
Share
26 Cains Terrace, Timaru 7910 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$98
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (120)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 19 hotels in Timaru
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites.
Read more

Location

Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
26 Cains Terrace, Timaru 7910 New Zealand
Getting there
Timaru Airport11 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
348Reviews2Q+A67Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 138
  • 73
  • 40
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mumma&Co wrote a review Jun 2021
Timaru, New Zealand3392 contributions509 helpful votes
+1
Dinner with friends. Only one waitress on most of the time & whilst she was really friendly it took ages to get a menu, then drinks then the food. Still waiting to hear what's in the vege medley, she had no idea & kept saying would ask chef but never did. The meals were very good, so much meat with roast & hardly any veges, I do enjoy my veges! Would return for the food.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
David wrote a review Mar 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand3 contributions
I’d have to agree with most of the reviews on here. Stayed two nights and is up there with the worst hotel/Motel I have stayed in the only one that was worse was the Godley in Tekapo. The only reason it got a 2 and not a 1 is due to the pleasant stuff unfortunately they are in dire need of training especially in the restaurant. The rooms are small and dated and the new wall coverings don’t hide the dilapidated and run down feel of the place, especially the furry wall paper, WTF! Next time they do a Reno they should spend some money on an interior designer, instead of getting inspired by the local kindy. Dripping taps and no main light in the claustrophobic bathroom, no desk or anywhere to set up a lap top in the rooms, only 3 channels on the TV, paint chips on the doors and frames, holes in the bathroom walls from where old fixings have been removed, a bottle opener screwed on the wall by the toilet....classy. Also a slot in the vanity for your disposable razors....who normally stays here, coke heads? I was almost thinking that, hey, its dated but at least its clean. That was before I noticed the buildup of thick black gunge around the taps and oozing out from under the cracked Formica, probably about the same age as the disposable razor slot. Eventually I went to bed after nearly throwing up and adding to the gunge around the taps, luckily I had bought ear plugs as the street noise coming through the old single glazed metal framed window that pretended to be closed tight was quite loud but at least it was drowned out by the dripping tap. If you need a completely dark room to sleep in you’re out of luck the gap under the door is so large the hallway light illuminates the room. The dripping tap and broken light was fixed the next day so 5 stars to the staff for making that happen so fast. The food was what I wood expect in a back country pub, it was nice enough but not hotel standard and was backed up by the packet hollandaise sauce on the eggs Bene. They should also think about using plates that actually fit the food, it’s bloody annoying when you have to put half your meal on the table just so you can cut your steak. If you are going to offer table service then do so having to go up to the bar and get your own menu and and wave frantically to get attention so that you get service isn’t acceptable in any restaurant, this obviously down to lack of training as mentioned before. Well that’s my rant and obviously I nor anyone else I work with will stay here again and at $150 per night there are other options in Timaru. I’ll also be recommending to our booking agents that they remove Grosvenor Hotel from the options for Timaru
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don”t stay here its rubbish
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 19 Mar 2021
This reminds me of either a Stephen King's novella or a Meghan/Harry-ish rant on Oprah's. Let's dissect the points backwards, shall we? We find it condescending that you define the food here as a back country pub food. Are you trying to say that Timaru is a back country? Our Head Chef originated from Sheraton Hotel in South Africa and we have hosted major functions here on a regular basis. We didn't know that you sneak into our kitchen and spotted the so-called packet hollandaise sauce?! It's been only two weeks that we have changed our so-called back country large plates into the fancy pancy black plates and guess what, you complained that it's too small for you to cut your steak?! Did you care to mention that the Pub was very busy doing your visit and that, all our staff were off their feet trying to look after all our guests? This is not about training but about self-entitlement, that the world revolves around you. From your description, you seemed to be staying in our standard room. If the price point is $150 per night, that would mean our hotel is either fully or almost fully booked. Accommodation in Timaru is finite and $150 these days ain't going to take you far noting that standard of living in NZ is one of the highest in the world, and soon enough, minimum wage is going to be increased too. Sorry to disappoint you, the Grosvenor has been around since 1875 and it will still be here after you and I are gone. We are spending millions at the moment getting itself ready for the next generation. For gullible readers, before you book your accommodation here, kindly look at Booking.com and you shall see the cleanliness is one of the high points of the Grosvenor. We have and are gradually replacing single glazed windows to double glazed windows. Being a light sleeper, we think that it is best you get yourself a lodging in the farm in the future. We can't figure out if you have issues re noise, why would you book yourself to stay in the middle of CBD at the first place? Oopsy, we forgot, you are not a back country person. We can't stress enough that the Grosvenor has been around since 1875 and you won't expect timber floor to be even steven. It is all about willing buyer, willing seller. If you weren't happy staying here then, why didn't you look for an alternative accommodation? The furry covering that you were mocking, it is a building material used to provide guests with better warmth and better sound insulation. It is manufactured by Autex (the same company that owns NZ Warriors League team). Ignorance is a bliss indeed. Another thing that you mocked about, interior inspired by the local kindy, you may never have heard about Piet Mondrian, correct? So, is there any point of us trying to justify ourselves to the uninformed? As for the Standard Room that you stayed in, bottle opener and vanity with disposable razors are something that you would find in the 1970s hotels in New Zealand. From your book, apparently, in the 1970s, NZ is a nation of coke heads then?! We have done our assessments here, that almost all the guests who ranted on Tripadvisor were all staying in Standard Rooms. To put things into perspective, The Grosvenor is a 3 stars hotel, and we are not a motel because we don't have a cooking facility. This adage holds true to these days: you get what you pay for. For you to get bang for buck at the Grosvenor in the future, kindly book yourself at least a Superior Room or Suite. The Grosvenor has 50 rooms. The hotel is constantly busy. Put us in your shoes, if the hotel is constantly full, how would we be able to revamp the hotel interior without having to let go of our staff who has been with us for over a decade and more? It is one thing to be a brazen keyboard warrior, being mean without consequences but we are dealing with the practicality of keeping the guests happy without affecting our bottomline in the COVID environment, and keeping our staff employed. I think readers here can see that in spite of our Prime Minister's urging for Kiwis to be compassionate and "to be kind" at this challenging time to support local business, hospitality business needs to constantly deal with the demands of guests -whether it be reasonable or not. When you are under our roof, as hosts, we shall do our best to take good care of you. However, there is also this expectation that if you aren't pleased with something, you let us know in person and on the spot so that we could rectify the issues to make your stay more pleasant. The whole thing about not saying anything but venting online afterwards is not doing anyone any favours and it's not constructive as well. Life is too short. Be kind, be there for one another. Being mean is not necessary. Team Grosvenor
Read more
Rebecca N wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
Rooms do not replicate photos online. The hotel is very very run down. Room felt very unclean- old carpet, curtains and bathroom felt like we were at a campsite with communal showers. Room smelt like a smoker had been in here. The whole “hotel” gave us a vibe we were in a backpackers accommodation. Defiantly not worth the stay and would not recommend to anyone. Very disappointed as this is out honeymoon and the accommodation did look quite okay for a one nighter online. UPDATE YOUR WEBSITE. PHOTOS ARE FROM 2016!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 22 Feb 2021
Hello, Thank you for your second review. We would have appreciated being made aware of this upon check in and we would have tried to accommodate you further. Kind regards,
Read more
Sam wrote a review Feb 2021
4 contributions
Paint peeling everywhere. Restaurant extractor fan outside my window smelled gross so couldn’t open the window. Tiny room. Very old decor. No fridge. Great location though and clean sheets. 2/5 for those.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 22 Feb 2021
Hello, Thank you for your review. Kind regards,
Read more
Hugh Foster wrote a review Jan 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
This place is seriously the worst Hotel Room experience I have ever had, & I have stayed in 40-50 Hotels & Motels thru NZ & Australia for work! The staff are exceptional(considering what a dump the Rooms are), The Bar Meals are excellent for a Pub Meal, BUT! Room cleanliness, Room Quality, Bed quality, quality of the so called modernized Ensuites & the quality of the flooring, furnishings & maintenance of the Room & Windows is diabolical when you look at their Website photographs & Room Descriptions! No Compendium so you dont know how to contact Front Desk! Find out how to ring front desk after hours & after hours service will not 'pick up'! No phone list! No Cable or Sky TV as advertised! AND the list goes on & on & on! This 'Reality Experience' makes their pricing at least 30% too high compared to the other 3 Timaru Motels I have stayed at! Two of them for months! I have an 18 point list of Complaints listing all the defects & inconsistencies for the room, & compared to their Website! They have deleted my poor review from their website, & you will only see unbelievably positive reviews.... Very Fishy!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2021
Hello Hugh, Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to see your comments here on TripAdvisor, with no mention of the refund that was issued to you after expressing that you were not impressed with the hotel. All issues mentioned have been, or are in the process of being rectified. We would, however, like to make it aware that we are not able to delete any reviews made. Kind regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionTimaru
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grosvenor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Grosvenor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Te Ana Māori Rock Art (0.2 km), South Canterbury Museum (0.3 km), and Serendipity Antiques (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grosvenor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Grosvenor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grosvenor Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grosvenor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Oxford, Zest, and The Speight’s Ale House.
Is Grosvenor Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Timaru.
Does Grosvenor Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Is Grosvenor Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.