We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Ashburton

11-35 Racecourse Road, Ashburton 7700 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (84)
Dining (34)
Room & Suite (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#7 of 7 hotels in Ashburton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our staff take great pride in providing our guests with warm sincere South Island hospitality. Hotel Ashburton boasts a variety of excellent facilities for our guests including; A total of 54 rooms in 3 room types (Standard, Superior & Deluxe) 250 free off-street car parks 8 conference rooms Free WiFi facilities for guests Clearwater Restaurant Turf Bar Heated outdoor swimming pool (November to March) Over 4 hectares of gardens for relaxing, wedding ceremonies, photo shoots, etc
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
158Reviews0Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 58
  • 39
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Andrew and Kate H wrote a review Feb 2024
Tahunanui, New Zealand11 contributions
Very basic. We were in the superior room for $140 a night. Room furniture was tired and worn. Beds comfortable. Carpet worn, could hear lots of noise from neighbours and corridor. Bathroom had products available and shower over bath. Would look elsewhere if passing through again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It’s not obvious when arriving late at night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
taber wrote a review Feb 2023
Vancouver, Canada317 contributions154 helpful votes
We only stayed one night at the Hotel Ashburton. I had picked this hotel because on it's website it offered a laundry room. There was no laundry room to use as it was under repairs or something?? Our basic room was big enough and OK. There was a patio door that went out into very ugly closed in courtyard which was strange. There a good size pool and I gratefully used it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fergierc wrote a review Jan 2023
Perth, Australia123 contributions40 helpful votes
Was checked in at reception and given the room key, I drove around whilst my partner walked to the room, when she entered the housekeeper was still making the room up, finally left after 5-10 min. The room was basic and needs renovation. Had a shower and grabbed a towel off the rail, and was drying off and the towel reeked of nicotine smoke, I had grabbed it off the dial whilst other towels were folded on a shelf, I called out to my partner and asked her to smell it and she dry gagged, it must have been hung there by the previous guests and not changed, I reshowed and used a folded towel whilst my partner went and informed housekeeping, who did not seem to care or understand the flaw in room and/or guest hygiene. We went to use the laundry and what a site, dirty, old, unmaintained equipment, shocking and barely useable. The overall experience was poor and won’t return or recommend
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
422iana wrote a review Dec 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand3123 contributions262 helpful votes
+1
Travelling from Dunedin to Blenheim and stopped with both of my daughters. Last minute deal for a large room. It was just over $100. Decent, room, had everything we needed. I had to slam the door to close. Happy with the stay, and I would do it again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Wilson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Ashburton
Responded 2 Jan 2022
Thank you for taking time to place feedback We are happy to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us and would return.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
We stayed two nights in Room 405 - the room had plenty of space for our requirements, the bed and pillows were comfortable, the room was absolutely spotless. It was very hot in our room the second day and we could not get the air conditioning working so we asked for assistance from housekeeping, the lady was very helpful at diagnosing the issue but said she would have to send someone that was able to fix it and in the meantime brought us a portable fan to use, we didn't end up needing it as the second person arrived and fixed the problem so quickly! On our first night we arrived quite late so didn't get down to the Clearwater restaurant until 8.35pm, even though they close at 9pm they made us feel very welcome and even rearranged some tables so our group could sit together - the food was lovely. Our fairly large group had various rooms and we were all happy, the only little things that were mentioned were - hard to get the electric jug under the tap to fill (not all rooms had this problem) and one room had some mould and a rip in the sheer curtain. All the staff we came across were really friendly and helpful and the gardener has done an amazing job with the main gardens.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Wilson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Ashburton
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Thank you so much for your comments We are pleased to hear that your room was comfortable and that our staff were there to help immediately with your heat pump issues. We have new sheer curtains so I will get the housekeeping team to look out for this and replace.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Raymond Faulkner wrote a review Oct 2021
Wellington, New Zealand35 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Very good hotel and accomodation for the price. We paid $87 for a room and got a good room, very clean, with a balcony and could drive up to balcony. An older hotel but the wifi was really good, amenities and bathroom very good. Good F&B selection, 2 choices on site. Slept really well so beds comfortable for us as a couple (personal thing really). Only downside had to move the bed to get to a plug for phone charger. But would recommend this place for holidaying couples amd families if the price is under $120 a night. Checkin and checkout staff really friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get an outside facing room to drive your car up to room for conveniance. Great location to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Wilson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Ashburton
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Thank you Raymond We appreciate your lovely feedback and pleased you enjoyed your room upgrade.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LouieRPS wrote a review Jun 2021
Oamaru, New Zealand37 contributions12 helpful votes
Room was large and very clean, bathroom had a heated tile floor which was a nice surprise! Room also had it’s own heat pump. Had a comfortable stay and had everything I needed. Breakfast was included in my package and there was a good selection of fresh and cooked food available
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Wilson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Ashburton
Responded 27 Jun 2021
Hi LouieRPS Thank you for taking time to review the Hotel. The heated tiles are definately a plus especially during the winter months. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast also. We hope to see you return in the future. Regards Reservation
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
gourmand958 wrote a review Apr 2021
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand9 contributions3 helpful votes
Lowpoints: Reception advised almost sneeringly that we could not check in before 2pm. Uniform seemed to consist of fruppy jacket, very unprofessional Looks like Expedia guests placed in back rooms with no view. Rubbish bins in room not emptied. Bathroom vanity light not working. Sports bar terrible, very old fash and unwelcoming. Generally tired and under maintained Highpoint: Restaurant great food and service Overall: Don't bother unless desperate
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Wilson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Ashburton
Responded 4 Apr 2021
I am sorry you could not check in early, we do try to have rooms ready if we are advised for early check in. On your case we had a full house the night before and could not check you in as your room was not ready. 2 pm is standard for check ins. I will pass on your comments to our management team for them to view. Sorry the Hotel was not what you were expecting.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tashdevil wrote a review Nov 2020
Mosgiel, New Zealand21 contributions13 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious, with Sky TV available. There is plenty of parking and the staff were very friendly. We really enjoyed our meal in the bar as well. 4.5* from us.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Aaron T wrote a review Aug 2020
11 contributions
Thank you for our stay it was incredibly comfortable in our room and nice and warm. Room service was awesome and the food was great. Reception staff made us feel welcome and were always friendly. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ashburton area.
PRICE RANGE
$112 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionAshburton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ASHBURTON - Now $125 (Was $̶1̶3̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Ashburton
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Ashburton?
Nearby attractions include Ashburton Aviation Museum (3.7 km), Trott's Garden (3.4 km), and EA Networks Centre (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Ashburton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Ashburton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Ashburton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Ashburton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Ashburton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Formosa Restaurant, Speights Ale House, and The Somerset Grocer Cafe and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Ashburton?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Ashburton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Ashburton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Is Hotel Ashburton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.