We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tongariro Suites at The Rocks

Share
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (66)
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (2)
Overview
27 Hutiwai Road Horopito, Ohakune 4696 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Wheelchair Access
4 Star accommodation
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
148
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
148
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bath salts free standing bath new zealand huge shower national park village cedar hot tub modern facility beautiful apartment muesli friendly welcome continental breakfast fresh bread fresh mountain air gas fire mt ruapehu our honeymoon central plateau
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hands down the best hotel near Tongariro National Park! We stayed here in Nov 2018. The hotel is modern, clean, the rooms very well appointed and breakfast in room in the morning is wonderful! We thoroughly enjoyed the bathtub with views of the mountains in...More

Thank NorthStar102054
Response from Tongariro-Suites, Owner at Tongariro Suites at The RocksResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really please you enjoyed what we have on offer. We feel very privileged to continue to share our location and property with our guests.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is beautiful as are the views of the mountain. The room was very comfy and we enjoyed the hot tub outside our room. Our only complaint is that the breakfast was just ok. There is a tray in your room with some cereal,...More

Thank Jillnt6772
Response from Tongariro-Suites, Owner at Tongariro Suites at The RocksResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jill Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry that you were not happy with our breakfast offerings. We clearly advertise that we offer continental breakfast only and we feel we offer a great variety of options. The fresh...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were not expecting much from this hotel, since we haven’t seen lots of pictures and it was located in the middle of nowhere. At the end, this was simply the best overnight stay on our North Island road trip. Located 20min by car from...More

Thank Tobias1893
Response from Tongariro-Suites, Owner at Tongariro Suites at The RocksResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tobias We are really pleased that you were pleasantly surprised and delighted about our accommodation.We are the best the region has to offer and you can now understand why. Yes the rabbits are cute but the gardens don't love it as much as our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on 22nd & 23rd October and this was probably the best b&b we have ever stayed in. We did the Tongariro Crossing on 23rd October which was a very challenging walk but made easier by knowing we had the...More

Thank Alan W
Response from Tongariro-Suites, Owner at Tongariro Suites at The RocksResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Alan Thank you for your review. It was a delight to host you. Yes that hot tub takes care of all the hardship of the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. It is certainly not a simple walk in the park but the experience of walking near...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had the most wonderful stay at the rocks. Incredible scenery, beautiful room, comfortable bed, privacy and amazing amenities. Hot tub and communal lounge on offer and only a quick drive to ohakune for dinner.. We wished we could’ve stayed longer - will definitely be...More

Thank Gemma-Deariam
Response from Tongariro-Suites, Owner at Tongariro Suites at The RocksResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gemma Thank you so much for the great review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the room, the location and ofcourse the wonderful mountain views. See you next time. Regards Elsbeth and Carel

View more reviews
About
Description
Tongariro Suites Premium Boutique accommodation business in the Ohakune region. Located equal distance from both Turoa and Whakapapa skifield. Several mountain bike tracks accessable from our front door, More including the Mountain to Sea and Old Coach Road tracks. All our four suites have breath taking views from Mt Ruapehu ( weather permitting ofcourse). Although it is operated as a homestay business, guests have their private entrance, use of guest lounge and guest laundry which is all seperate from the owners section of the house. Each suite has a deck opening up from their rooms. There is also a 49sq m sheltered deck for guests to mix and mingle and enjoy a BBQ on while seeing the sun go down over the mountain. Breakfast basket is provided in your room upon arrival so you can enjoy your breakfast at a time suitable to you. Located 25 minute drive from the start of the Tongariro Crossing walk. 10 Minute drive to Ohakune and 15 minute drive to National Park Village We are very eco friendly and almost self sufficient with regards to water and electricity. We are located on one hectare of land next to native bush line. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Hot Tub
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$145 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$145 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Photos
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
351 reviews
7.35 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
121 reviews
7.47 km away
The Peaks Motor Inn
217 reviews
7.91 km away
Ohakune Court Motel
172 reviews
7.94 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 37 nearby restaurants
Powderkeg Restaurant
348 reviews
7.33 km away
OCR Cafe
173 reviews
7.35 km away
La Pizzeria & Cafe
56 reviews
7.36 km away
The Kitchen Ohakune
45 reviews
7.36 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 20 nearby attractions
Ruapehu Homestead
7 reviews
11.85 km away
Whanganui River Canoes
64 reviews
11.99 km away
Adrift Tongariro
342 reviews
19.47 km away
My Kiwi Adventure
108 reviews
2.70 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tiannacollison
19 May 2017|
Answer
Response from skatecreekrd | Reviewed this property |
I am not the B&B owner. I stayed there during the summer so cannot help. I can say it is one of the nicest B&B I have stayed in.
1
Vote
Divasu
31 August 2014|
Answer
Response from Tongariro-Suites | Property representative |
it depends what days you would like to stay we can drop you off in the village of Ohakune. yoy will catch a shuttle ftom there to the ski slopes. ring us when you are back in the village and can pick you up.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Different room types & different amenities (free standing baths in some rooms) and some rooms larger..."
katerayment23
12 Aug 2018
Read review
"Any room ( only 4 to choose from) same fabulous view from all rooms"
jasminelangdon79
20 Mar 2018
Read review
"This is the biggest suite and on a corner so ore privacy and less noise from neigbours"
nipitinthebud
2 Feb 2018
Read review
"All of the rooms are good!"
natalie8120
29 Dec 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing