We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kings Ohakune

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (44)
Dining (2)
View from Room (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 8 lodges in Ohakune
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Historic Kings sits proudly overlooking the railway line in the Junction of Ohakune, only 250 metres from the start of the Ohakune Mountain Road. Established in 1913, this grand building houses a variety of accommodation options from Queens, Queens plus single, Queen plus 2 x singles and triple rooms. Breakfast is available for an additional cost and can be booked on site with staff the night before. Our restaurant is renown throughout the area for hearty meals and a range of dietary specific dishes. Open year round and with a well stocked bar and friendly staff, Kings is a prime choice for your stay in Ohakune.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Wifi
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Skiing
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Darts
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
87Reviews0Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 28
  • 8
  • 9
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Trek60112024331 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Had a fantastic stay at the Kings. Rooms were clean, cosy and smelt great. We had dinner on-site - definitely recommend the Chicken Burger - huge, great value and tasted amazing. Would happily stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chris W wrote a review Nov 2023
Auckland, New Zealand9 contributions4 helpful votes
Had another fantastic stay at Kings for the weekend. Lots of good food, drink at the bar and very comfortable lodgings. Thanks to Stu and the crew there for making us feel very welcome. They’re always happy to put the sports on the big screen and they opened up for the RWC! :) Great all round stay. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Make sure you request a breakfast bagel the night before. They are most excellent. Also try the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BNorthwood wrote a review Oct 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand33 contributions11 helpful votes
Our stay was fine in all respects until the second of two nights, If you’re staying check what they have planned for the bar. Turns out that if theres a DJ playing, and pounding the place until 2 am then the paying guests staying take second best. Sleep for them is not something to be bothered with. Two phone calls to the bar achieved very little. The management need to decide what they’re running- accommodation of a night club. The two don’t mix. Aside from that, value for money and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid nights when there’s loud live music unless that doesn’t worry you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stu Robinson, General Manager at Kings Ohakune
Responded 23 Oct 2023
First and foremost we owe an apology for the late night on Sunday. As it was Public Holiday On Monday we did let it go a bit later than planned. We weren’t anticipating all other bars to close early and the large influx caught us out. There was a great atmosphere of workers and guests who all were so happy we had a great season, as even in June it was unknown if the town would survive with no Ski-field operating . With government intervention and great snowfall, all season, people were just so happy with how the season turned out and wanted to celebrate it. We are sorry again for the late night and have refunded your nights stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Aaron wrote a review May 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand15 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel was better than expected! The warmth and welcoming from the owner and staff were incredible, they turned a cold camping night into the best hotel night. The room was so clean you could smell it! It was warm and cosy and that beats a cold camoing night up the mountain. The staff went the extra mile to make us feel accommodated, we cant wait to stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mike Clinch wrote a review Mar 2023
Swansea, United Kingdom38 contributions54 helpful votes
We were reallocated to this hotel by our travel agent when our original accommodation was closed just before we were due to travel. We have stayed in some good hotels during our trip around NZ but this isn’t one of them. Check in was swift and friendly but the outside lodge allocated to us left a lot to be desired. It was small and dark with nowhere to store clothes. There were two bunk beds in the corner half blocking the front door. This was supposed to be a disabled access room - no way would a wheelchair get through the door. Four people in a room this size would be cramped for space. However, the room was clean and the bed, surprisingly, was very comfortable. The shower was also very good. The restaurant was closed due to staff shortages and no breakfast was available other than a pre ordered breakfast bagel. There is however a friendly pub within walking distance serving good food. The whole place seems to be struggling and could do with a good dose of TLC.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only stay here if there is no alternative.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
beulahdoc wrote a review Jan 2023
Whakatāne, New Zealand83 contributions55 helpful votes
I have wanted to stay at kings ever since I first saw the majestic old lady perched up on the hill looking up at Ruapehu. my wife and I got our chance to spend 3 nights there recently and were very happy with the experience. this is NOT a 5 star hotel. it is an old hotel with clean, simple rooms, an amazing location, friendly staff, a fun bar/restaurant and a really good vibe. we will happily stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jacynda R wrote a review Aug 2022
Napier, New Zealand33 contributions4 helpful votes
The Hotel itself is pretty bland and doesn't look like much from the outside. The Room was small and cozy but was comfortable and reasonable pricing. It was really good we were able to bring our Dog. The location was really good, lovely view, service was great
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Daniel A wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland, New Zealand30 contributions3 helpful votes
Great spot. Beautiful views of the mountain. Management and team are super friendly and helpful. Great food and beer. Was really cool to have a beer and some food on the deck viewing the mountain with people playing card games and kids running around enjoying themselves. Great vibe!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
NZExpat wrote a review Aug 2021
Shanghai10 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed Wednesday night, happy enough with the room the problem was Wednesday night was karaoke night at the bar, so music blasting well past midnight. Basically got very little sleep, I wouldn't have booked if I'd known about karaoke night, I recommend you check before booking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stu Robinson, General Manager at Kings Ohakune
Responded 15 Sept 2021
Hi we have also responded to the same complaint on another social media platform: We do have a calander of events and promotions running every day of the week and alternitive Wednesdays is Karaoke, we did additionally inform all guests of this and despite a 3am licence made sure it was finished at midnight, upsetting 150 patrons enjoying the night. Our managers inforced this so definately all done by then. We are trying to get a balance right with hotel guests and our popular bar and restaurant and for you this wasn't achieved so we will continue to work on getting it right.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew and Nicole wrote a review Jul 2021
5 contributions
Hsd a fabulous two days here. Stu and his team cannot be faulted - delicious bagel for breakfast, yum lunch and dinner both nights divine. Spa an added bonus after long day in wilderness! Highly recommend to all!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ohakune area.
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionOhakune
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KINGS OHAKUNE - Now $126 (Was $̶1̶4̶3̶) - UPDATED 2023 Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kings Ohakune
Which popular attractions are close to Kings Ohakune?
Nearby attractions include Ohakune Old Coach Road (2.9 km), Ohakune Carrot Adventure Park (2.1 km), and Tangiwai Rail Disaster Memorial (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kings Ohakune?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Kings Ohakune?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kings Ohakune?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kings Ohakune?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria Ohakune, The Cyprus Tree, and Powderkeg Restaurant.
Does Kings Ohakune offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Kings Ohakune?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tangiwai Rail Disaster Memorial (2.1 km).
Is Kings Ohakune accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.