We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort

Save
Share
Motu Akitua Cook Islands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$424
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$425
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/03/22
Booking.comUS$424
eDreamsUS$424
CheapTicketsUS$425
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1258)
Room & Suite (293)
Pool & Beach (254)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 10 hotels in Aitutaki
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The only private island, adults only resort in the Cook Islands. It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics - the Overwater Bungalow. And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Free airport transportation
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1012Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 447
  • 266
  • 135
  • 87
  • 77
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Maire F wrote a review 1 Oct
1 contribution1 helpful vote
From our pick up at the Aitutaki airport to the ride on the boat from the main island to our own private island at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Resort, service was amazing! Our 2 over water bungalows were beautifully appointed, clean and the view was amazing!! Snorkeling equipment, hand sanitizer, all the personal hygiene amenities and coffee/tea amenities were provided in our room. Clean crisp white bedding and towels were also a welcome treat. The room has a small fridge to keep some beers and left over meals cold… bonus! Air con was bliss to retreat to when you had been on the deck for a while with the sun blazing down. Staff took such great care of my family of 4, from the room service on our private deck for breakfast, lunch and dinner with full table setup and great food, to catering to our needs whether it be making an appointment for our massages or organizing kayaks to be delivered to our bungalow water pontoon …..A+ Jason and your team of many who looked after us, Thank you so much for an amazing 2 night stay 😊
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tata Crocombe, Owner at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Kia Orana Maire, thank you for your kind review! It is heart warming for our staff to have their dedication to guest service appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back to Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort.
Read more
Diego G wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very bad response when canceling a booking even though you are entitled to it. We had a reservation in the resort but the Covid 19 came and we had to cancel it. Every other hotel or thing that we had booked has come back with a refund but this Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Napa, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Kia Orana, if you indeed had purchased a refundable rate and wished for it to be refunded, it would have been. And in this instance we confirm your refund has been actioned back to your nominated account. If you need further assistance, please contact us directly.
Read more
Ana C wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel didn't refund me the deposit of a REFUNDABLE fare. I have been contacting them and they are ignoring me. They are responding my emails to give me MY MONEY BACK! DON'T GO THERE! (SUPER EXPENSIVE AND NOT WORTH IT!!!!!!)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tata Crocombe, Owner at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Responded 2 Sep 2021
Kia Orana, if you indeed had purchased a refundable rate and wished for it to be refunded, it would have been. If you have purchased a non-refundable rate, which I suspect is the case, you can rebook at no cost to 31 March 2023. If you need further assistance, please contact us directly.
Read more
Rina Thompson wrote a review Jul 2021
Te Kauwhata, New Zealand3 contributions2 helpful votes
The natural beauty of the resort is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! The logoon is the most beautiful I've ever seen. with the clearest, turquoise water imaginable!! The resort and staff are also amazing. The villas have outdoor showers only and our water only ran hot for about a minute before getting cold. The other negative, is that there is only one, outdoor, very exposed to the elements restaurant on the resort. The night before we left a HUGE storm hit the island, which very clearly exposed the absolute inadequacies of not having an indoor restaurant option!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware that the villas offer outdoor shower only and our water only stayed warm for a short...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Napa, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the natural beauty of our amazing Private Island location that overlooks the best views of Aitutaki Lagoon from your Premium Beachfront Bungalow and not forgetting. You would be pleased to know our staff take a lot of pride in looking after all our guests ensuring they receive the best possible service throughout their stay with us and I would be delighted to pass on your compliments to the team. Our resort bungalows have Polynesian-style outdoor showers for that quintessential feeling of freedom in the tropics. Very sorry that the hot water in your bungalow only ran briefly for you, the resort has a Duty Manager available from 7am-10pm who would have been more than happy to address any concerns during your stay, and I would have also welcomed the opportunity to meet with you personally. We are weeks away in getting the extensions completed on the existing kitchen as we wait on supplies to arrive from overseas by ship. Our architects are currently designing an exciting new restaurant and bar that will complement the very best location on the island. We have new kitchen staff and equipment arriving shortly which will assist with our aim of continually improving our restaurant and bar. Thank you again for visiting our “Island Paradise” and we look forward to welcoming you back to our private island resort. Kia Manuia, Jason Napa Resort Manager
Read more
wonderboy wrote a review Jul 2021
Auckland, New Zealand35 contributions54 helpful votes
Aitutaki is a very special place and the Lagoon Resort on its own little private island is beautiful. We had premium beachfront bures which were steps away from the water with a lovely deep channel for swimming. The rooms looked like they were recently spruced up with comfortable beds and all the things you would expect to have in a quality resort. The decks with both loungers and table and chairs were great. I actually think the premium rooms are in the best location although you can "splash out" on overwater bungalows. The activities hut had stand up paddle boards, kayaks and some beach games you could help yourself to, but lying in the hammocks under the coconut trees was the best. The grounds are all manicured and you can walk or cycle around. There is a well kept fresh water swimming pool as well. All the staff are super friendly and take pride in what they do and are great in remembering your name. We stayed for a week and really enjoyed the Vaka cruise, sailing on a Hobie Cat with Sail Aitutaki and some exploring in a taxi with Auntie Rema (what a character). Close by is the Koru Cafe and The Boatshed for meals outside the resort. You do need to remember that Aitutaki is in the middle of nowhere with only a supply ship every two weeks so don't expect an amazing culinary experience and wide choice of wines. This is where the resort is struggling at the moment to cope but they do have plans for refurbishment of the restaurant and eventually a new one - just don't have too high expectations at the moment and I wish them well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Napa, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us including our amazing Private Island location, the comfortable bed in your Premium Beachfront Bungalow with best views of Aitutaki Lagoon, easy access to hammocks, beach chess, kayaks & SUPs from the Activities Hut and the hospitality of the staff. Really appreciate your kind feedback with regards to our manicured resort grounds and easy cycle around Akitua. You would be pleased to know our staff take a lot of pride in looking after all our guests ensuring they receive the best possible service throughout their stay with us even if it means remembering your name, and I’m sure to pass on your compliments to the team. We are weeks away in getting the extensions completed on the existing kitchen as we wait on supplies to arrive from overseas by ship. Our architects are currently designing an exciting new restaurant and bar that will complement the very best location on the island. We have new kitchen staff and equipment arriving shortly which will assist with our aim of continually improving our restaurant and bar. Thank you again for visiting our “Island Paradise” and we look forward to welcoming you back to our private island resort. Kia Manuia, Jason Napa Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$280 - US$410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aitutaki lagoon hotel aitutaki, aitutaki lagoon resort and spa, aitutaki lagoon resort spa, lagoon resort aitutaki
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsAitutaki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Nearby attractions include Aitutaki Lagoon (1.7 km), O'otu Beach (0.3 km), and Mount Maungapu (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Koru Cafe, Rapae Bay, and Tamanu Beach Resort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.