Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kuru Club

Pool with a view
Traveller (65)
little outside area
Room & Suite (27)
The beach, six inch deep water and no crystal clear water.
Pool & Beach (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 small hotels in Aitutaki
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Kuru Club is an eco-friendly, sustainable hotel - we are 100% solar powered, recycle irrigation water, and have a fleet of electric vehicles available for daily hire, available exclusively to Kuru Club guests. Kuru Club's stylish rooms are decorated in a modern contemporary style, and feature a private terrace with family sized dining tables, king-sized solid wood beds, full tea and coffee making facilities, ensuites, WiFi, and 40” flat screen TV’s. Laundry services are also available onsite. Included in your stay are complimentary airport meet and greet services, round trip transfers, flower garland, and tropical juice on arrival. A range of watersports equipment, sun-loungers and beach towels are available exclusively, and free of charge to Kuru Club guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Airport transportation
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
58Reviews4Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 11
  • 6
  • 6
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Diane M wrote a review Oct 2018
4 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely hotel with excellent staff. Rupe, the caretaker manager is helpful as is all the staff. The biggest issue is the hotel is about 2 km from any restaurant or beach, so you need a scooter, a ride from Rupe or a bike. Also, the lagoon is lovely, but there is no beach. The fabulous beach is about 1.5 k away, a bit too far to walk, unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryce G wrote a review May 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand34 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Kuru is handy to the airport but relatively isolated from amenities food etc. You definitely need transport l to get to the better beaches, shops etc. The food shopping generally requires visiting multiple stores and the market on Aitutaki so transport is a must.
The units are about two years old but are poorly finished and various quirks make it a hassle to stay, a shame because it could easily be better.
My top suggestions for improving the place are
1/ Add wardrobe rails into one of the freestanding cupboards. Not being able to hang even a shirt is a pain. You are welcome to the coat hangers we bought.
2/ Create some bench top space, in a self contained unit not having anywhere flat to put stuff other than the top of the bar fridge is a pain.
3/ Fix the generator
4/Finish the bathroom tiling etc.
5/ Service the rooms every second day. Make dry towels easily accessible.
The staff were very friendly and helpful when they could help
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If an end unit is available choose that, walls are thin...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katherine S wrote a review Oct 2019
Whitianga, New Zealand8 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great staff,easy going, always pleased to help.Good communal kitchen, with all the facilities, including a large fridge. Fun fishing off the jetty, good pool. Handy location, close to airport, and our favourite restaurant, "The Boatshed"!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All the same really.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We did our own booking on line, The Kuru club has a 4 star rating. I don't know how they got 4 stars. We thought our deal included breakfast, however it did not. The manager Charles is a nice guy and was really helpful which we were thankful for. He met us at the airport with leis, and drove us through the town centre before taking us to hotel.
The accommodation was more 2 star then 4, our room wasn't serviced at all during our 4 night stay, there was no wifi. The room have had water damage, the floor a the back door was lifting, couldn't open the back door, the tiles in bathroom lifting and swollen from water damage, the roof was terribly rusted, no spouting, grout or no gap filler coming out of bathroom. Our ranch slider door needed new rollers, very hard to open. Kitchen outside on a deck had only a huge bbq or electric fry pan for cooking, no elements, but you could boil eggs in the kettle if you used your imagination. The pool was nice, but the 3 plastic deck chairs looked like they'd never been cleaned. The rubbish bin smelled so bad when you opened it, it was full and not emptied.
The hotel quite isolated, the nearest amenities a 15min walk to cafe and bar down the road.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deby W wrote a review Jun 2022
Waikanae, New Zealand13 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked this place out as we had previously booked to stay but read the reviews and luckily changed our minds . There's no way we would have stayed here very run down don't do it you'll be so disappointed. Miles from town and yuk. Only good points were the pool and nice manager
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rueben S wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This property is badly misrepresented online. The building is literally falling apart with three of the 10 units not rented having no walls or roof. The remaining units have a variety of problems (ie failing power, plumbing, doors not opening or locking and more) but in particular they were not watertight. We experienced water coming through the roof, the walls, and the floor wetting our belongings and bedding. There is no wifi, adequate laundry, or kitchen facilities. The local manager was lovely, very help and apologetic but she was directed by foreign owners. The lack of available accommodation on the island meant we had no other option but to stay on and endure. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PROPERTY.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NachoMama wrote a review Mar 2018
Auckland, New Zealand162 contributions209 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Onsite manager Rupee and housekeeper Helen did their level best to make our stay enjoyable but do yourself a favour and find another place. Upon arrival (less than 2 minutes from airport) you approach a structure that looks like a prison or FEMA trailer. The workmanship on the rooms and the furnishings was just plain sloppy and cheap. There is no beach, it’s sitting on a reserve with a small pier jutting into the lagoon. To think we went all the way to Aitutaki and were so disappointed really riles me up.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OceanLove3 wrote a review Aug 2017
Wayne, New Jersey369 contributions263 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked our hotel for 3 nights and were told by someone named Paul that we will be picked up at the airport when we land and provided him the itinerary. We land, everyone is picked up except us. Waited for over an hour, and nothing. Now this is Aitutaki and our cell phones didn't work so we had no way to contact them. We finally found a local who helped us, and came to find out that the hotel had us down for checking in the following day and kept arguing with us that we are wrong! Despite us having the hotel booking with the correct dates AND an email from Paul, assuring he will pick us up the day we landed.

We were picked up by the wife, who basically didn't care that they were wrong. The "hotel" is basically in the worst place on the island. You are directly across from the runway and the area around it is a dump. You know how on their site says they have free beach shuttles? Yea, the wife once again told us that is not true. Neither is the breakfast available, she said we can walk (at least 30 minutes) or use a bike (with our small child) to get to any kind of food. You are literally stuck in the middle of nowhere with a crappy pool and no usable beach.

Do yourself a favor and look for other accommodations. We are able to at the last minute book the Aretai Beach Villas, which have 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms a huge living room, kitchen and dining area. And a deck overlooking the usable ocean! The staff here is wonderful and there are actually restaurants you can walk to. The staff at Kuru is awful and will blame the guest when they make a mistake. Nothing like starting off our vacation by sitting at the airport all alone with a small child!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
davealexander2017 wrote a review Aug 2017
San Diego, California1 contribution7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Take note of the other reviews and do not stay here.
-They state there are beach shuttles. There is no such thing here, they tell you to use bikes. With small children somehow strapped to your body.
-Pool is nasty, green slime all over.
-Not a usable beach.
-Construction equipment everywhere, not safe for young kids.
-No lobby, even though they state there is free wifi in the lobby.
-Management has no personality, not sure how they expect to succeed in this business with so much competition.
-Website says breakfast is included. Yes, maybe if you walk 2 miles to the nearest restaurant. There is no restaurant on site.
-Website also states a bar is on site, there is no such thing.

Basically, their site is a bunch of lies and you will be lucky if they even pick you up at the airport. Awful location, awful staff. Stay on the main road near the nice hotels. This place is a dump!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 20 Aug 2017
Hi Dave Thank you for your review. If you could refer to the photos that fellow guest “Peter W” who stayed at the same time as you has uploaded, they show that there is no construction equipment onsite. They also show that there was a small patch of green in the pool (which to put the patch is context is approx 55,000 litres), and we apologise for that. More chemicals have been added, the pool tested and is sparkling. Your comment says that it had green slime all over, which the photo shows is not true. We do not advertise beach shuttles on our website or any listing that we are aware of. If you could please refer us to where this has been uploaded we will ask for that to be corrected immediately. Kuru Club is situated on the lagoon (as advertised) and a lagoon is not the same as a beach. The photos on all our listings also clearly show the lagoon. The website does not say breakfast is included in the room rate, however breakfast is available should people wish to order room service and that a service that many people take advantage of. We also unequivocally advise guests that have booked the cost of breakfast, and it is clearly shown as having a surcharge on all channel managers (Online Travel Agents). Its difficult to respond to your comments about the listing being a bunch of lies as I have commented on your points above. Im truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We are a family owned business that takes a great deal of pride in Kuru Club, and I hope that other travellers interpret your review as being one that is an unkind and premeditated exaggeration.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andyH8443DQ wrote a review Jan 2018
Auckland, New Zealand10 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Advertisement and reality for this place are radically different. Rupe (manager) bent over backwards to make the stay as enjoyable as possible but the 'resort' itself is little more than a dorm room in the middle of nowhere with a LOT of build/electrical problems.

Among the issues were:

- Frequent (3-5 times per day) power interruption which reset TV's, air cond etc.
- Water outage for 12 hours (11.30pm to 6.30am). Due to a pump circuit failing. No management onsite to fix,
- Hot water outage on 3 of the 10 apartments for 3 days. I had to show the manager how to reset an on-demand gas hot water system which fixed the issue.
- No cleaning or fresh towels/linen in 9 days. We had to ask for a broom to clean the room ourselves.
- Bicycles etc are broken and the scooters are rarely charged due to the off grid power system. Location is a long walk from anywhere. Resort manager is very accommodating and gave us frequent lifts to town, but you do have to rent a car/bike to get around. Electric bikes were charged for 3 out of 9 days and lasted around 2 hours on a charge.
- There are no beach towels provided, bring your own.

Simply put, if you get this place for $50 then it may be an option, anything above that then there are MUCH better option nearer town and a swim'able beach.

I find it hard to believe that anyone who has stayed here would rate it over 2 stars, 5 stars is just comical.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Search harder, there are much cheaper and better options.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul W, Owner at Kuru Club
Responded 17 Jan 2018
We have never had a registered guest called Andy who stayed in December and were unsure who this guest was, however after some light research we learned that "Andy" is Odi_oz's husband. She also gave Kuru Club a 1/5. To all those reading this review we invite you to read our other Trip Advisor and Bookings.com reviews. We have an 83% positive review rate on Bookings.com and 4/5 star rating on Trip Advisor. This is a difficult couple. Hoteliers beware. To say that a hotel in Aitutaki should be $50 is just not a reality anywhere on the island... There was no power outage for 3 days. There was no water outage for 3 days. There were 2 broken mountain bikes (that are provided free of charge) however there were other mountain bikes available and we also provided the guests with free motor scooters! We also provided free shuttle services to the couple to various restaurants and other attractions free of charge. Our staff as they mentioned bent over backwards. We note with interest that this couple has been dissatisfied with most hotels they have stayed in (Medina, the Mantra) however very satisfied with other hotels that cost over $1,000 per night. Kuru Club is offering guests value for money, and comparing Kuru Club with other top end hotels is not comparing "apples with apples". We want all our guests to have a happy, positive enriching experience and have fantastic staff, and great facilities. We welcome all constructive feed back and always look to improve any aspect of a guest experience. Brenda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Bryce235
Waiuku, New Zealand1 contribution
For kitesurfing you will need to go out to the lagoon probably around honeymoon island for the best kitesurfing, you will have to look up the guides on the islands who will take u out there as it's not recommended to kitesurf straight off shore. :)
virginiaw835 asked a question Jun 2017
Empire Bay, Australia13 contributions8 helpful votes
Do the rooms have air conditioning ?
Answer from Paul W
6 contributions
Yes all the rooms have air conditioning
Katherine S wrote a tip Oct 2019
Whitianga, New Zealand8 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the same really."
Read full review
Tourist823491 wrote a tip Oct 2018
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All great rooms!"
Read full review
Bryce G wrote a tip May 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand34 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If an end unit is available choose that, walls are thin..."
Read full review
andyH8443DQ wrote a tip Jan 2018
Auckland, New Zealand10 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Search harder, there are much cheaper and better options."
Read full review
Odi_oz wrote a tip Jan 2018
Canberra, Australia35 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"They are all the same."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Aitutaki area.
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsAitutaki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KURU CLUB - Hotel Reviews (Aitutaki, Cook Islands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kuru Club
Which popular attractions are close to Kuru Club?
Nearby attractions include Aitutaki Lagoon (1.8 km), O'otu Beach (1.5 km), and Mount Maungapu (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kuru Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and airport transportation.
Is parking available at Kuru Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kuru Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Avatea Cafe, Koru Cafe, and Rapae Bay Restaurant and Blackrock Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kuru Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Kuru Club have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kuru Club offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Kuru Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Kuru Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
All Aitutaki HotelsAitutaki Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AitutakiHotels near Kuru Club
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire