We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno

150 Meters From Playa Hermosa Beach, Playa Hermosa 39-5019 Costa Rica
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (274)
Panoramas (22)
Room & Suite (283)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#4 of 13 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Travellers' Choice
Location: A 25 minutes drive from Liberia International Airport. Playa Hermosa: A 1.2 km. sandy bay protected by volcanic rock formations on either end. Ideal for swimming, kayaking, snorkelling and diving enthusiasts. Hotel Description: 43 rooms set amidst tropical gardens, nestled in the heart of Playa Hermosa. 150 meters from beach. Mediterranean style buildings surround freshwater pools (2), thatched bar, open-air gourmet restaurant . Restaurant Villa del Sueno: Romantic open-air setting, restaurant or garden seating available. Features Mediterranean inspired gourmet cuisine. Noted for excellent service and live dinner music presentations. Serving breakfast and dinner.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Horseback riding
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish


Full view
65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
378Reviews19Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 197
  • 114
  • 41
  • 18
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ciburg wrote a review Nov 2020
Rosemount, Minnesota139 contributions69 helpful votes
From the time you arrive, the receptionist is so friendly and helpful . The beds are nice , the bedrooms large, the outside of this hotel is cozy. Every worker that we encounter was nice and friendly and made us feel so welcome I will stay there again I loved it
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
3 Helpful votes
Kathy H wrote a review Oct 2020
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts5 contributions
I booked this through Booking.com. We got a very good price for a small room $102 for 2 nights. It is very close to Liberia airport where I was going on the day of check out. When we got to the hotel the receptionist who was very pleasant gave us the key etc. We started to bring stuff up to the room and we noticed the bathroom was not clean. There was toothpaste stuck on the toothpaste holder. So I went down to reception and she said I can move you to the next room which is the same price or upgrade you to a larger room. So we went and looked and decided to upgrade for extra $10 a day. I think they should have upgraded us free considering our room was dirty but for the low price I didn't say anything. I would be very disappointed if I had paid the price on their website. It was over double of what I booked on booking. The breakfast was awful. No fruits (we were told by waiter because of low season and low prices right now.) There were only 2 choices typical CR breakfast or crepes with fruit. The 1st day I got the crepes and it was ok. The 2nd day I got the crepes again and it was cold so I sent it back and it was microwaved. Very surprised the kitchen didn't take 5 minutes to make another one considering the hotel was so quiet. Orange juice was brought to our table when we sat down and not offered anything else but coffee. My husband is a chef in a restaurant in Costa Rica and could not understand why they did not give fresh fruit considering they had fresh papaya and pineapple on the crepes. The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. Dinner/bar was not open because of covid/low season when we were there. The 2 pools are very clean and we enjoyed the big pool. I liked that they had plenty of beach towels. We did not know they closed the office I think about 7. Our room was above the office and I noticed going by that peoples personal information and keys were just left at the counter for the people checking in late. A bit surprised by that. I was told there were 2 guards. I did not see either of them the 2 nights we stayed however we did feel safe in the area. It is very close to many other beaches to which we took advantage off visiting. If you can get a good price I say good but not worth $100 a night. No fridge in small rooms. The garden is beautiful especially at night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were above the office in a king room. In morning you can smell breakfast and hear noise in...
See more room tips
Mike M wrote a review Sep 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom247 contributions80 helpful votes
Fabulous warm welcome from Leo with advice on local restaurants and other ideas. Excellent big room with comfortable bed, AC and ceiling fan. Cracking pool area. Location is a few minutes (5 or less to the beach and some nice restaurants being another 5-20 minutes' walk. I would go back without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the larger rooms
See more room tips
Response from HOTEL VILLA DEL SUEÑO, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Dear Mike Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate it. It was really a real pleasure to serve you at our hotel
Read more
fisher_eye_lens wrote a review Mar 2020
Campbell River, Canada496 contributions148 helpful votes
We returned to Sueno because it (Hermosa) is a pleasant, simple place to end a trip, that is near enough to the airport. The pleasant staff has remained consistent from before and there is a low-key friendliness to the 'villa'. The landscaping and gardens remain tenderly cared for here and the birds enjoy it as well as there are several species nesting in the trees, as well as parrots in the canopy and a mot mot on the fence. All is kept clean. There is no access to a mini-mart as such and in the pool side rooms, no mini fridge. But there are breakfasts and dinners here and reasonably priced snacks from the thatched bar/lounge area. The resort has been updated for its 25th anniversary. The pool is quiet and has shade in the latter afternoon and there is a little groto behind the public bookshelf for solitude in the shade. Exiting the property, it is just minutes continuing along the road to the right, past Bosque Villa to the beach entrance, and what a nice, uncrowded beach it is. In fact, it seems to have been cleaned up. Like many others, we go up a third of the way to be at the upscaled 'aquasport' to watch the sunset, grab a drink and some food. and music too this time. We had an incident, the owners were sympathetic and the staff was helpful, particularly the manager. We were able to attend the tuesday jazz, last of the season, and new since we last visited.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: you must be in the main building if you want more amenities, such as a fridge.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
sandraatthelake wrote a review Feb 2020
Verona, Canada51 contributions5 helpful votes
I have struggled with review since the 14th. Our experience was less than positive after hearing from others how great the food was. The opening course were what you would expect from a high quality restaurant. Unfortunately the surf and turf lack the lobster and shrimp while our fish was not cool. All in all, food wise, very disappointing. On the other hand the ambiance was wonderful. The entertainment was of the highest caliber. I do understand the kitchen was over whelmed with orders but what I still struggle with is feeling like an uninvited guest.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Restaurante Villa del Sueño Restaurante Villa del Sueño, Director General at Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno
Responded 29 Feb 2020
We work as a team and do our best to deliver memorable experiences, be sure your comments have been subject of conversation in all departments concerned and have triggered positive ideas and growth on our part. We are so sorry we did not feel your disappointment and have this conversation the day of, if you are still in country, we'de love the opportunity to make it up to you. Please call 2672-0026 or send us an e-mail : info@villadelsueno.com
Read more
US$62 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hotel del sueno, del sueno hotel
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlaya Hermosa
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno?
Nearby attractions include Playa Hermosa (0.5 km) and Embassy Club de Artes (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ginger Restaurant Bar, La Casita del Marisco, and Roberto's Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Is Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Playa Hermosa.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Hotel and Restaurant Villa del Sueno accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.