We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

W Shanghai - The Bund

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (3778)
Room & Suite (1020)
Dining (391)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#35 of 2,564 hotels in Shanghai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
W Shanghai – The Bund is a lifestyle hotel located at North Bund. Pairing with the stunning bund view, 374 rooms & suites offer ultimate relaxation. Endless fun-filled experience awaits at five restaurants & bars, a spa, and indoor and outdoor pools.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, German

Location

No.66 Lvshun Road, Shanghai 200080 China
Name/address in local language
W Shanghai - The Bund
1,847Review12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,672
  • 93
  • 29
  • 23
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jun Sen P wrote a review 12 Apr
Singapore, Singapore6 contributions
+1
Upon arriving late at night we were received with warm and friendly greeting by the staff at the counter who helped us checked in. Jaw dropping view facing the river! Room was clean and everything worked properly. Staffs greet you every time they see you which is very welcoming. Loved the free orange card holder! Memorable experience for sure. Tried the morning breakfast for 1 day and everything was great.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerry John, General Manager at W Shanghai - The Bund
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Jun Sen P, Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience at W Shanghai. It's great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how our staff were able to make you feel welcome with their whatever/whenever service. You're quite right about the view from the room....it can be jaw dropping! 😊 We look forward to having you as our guest again real soon, and to having you experience even more about W Shanghai that we believe makes us unique in this electrifying city! Safe travels Jerry
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
EdMotion wrote a review Mar 2024
Singapore499 contributions150 helpful votes
The view of the mighty Huang pu river and the Pudong skyline from this hotel rooms are stunning, the rooms are top-class and the staff are first class! A shoutout to Wayne Zheng who gave me a first class check in experience, making me feel comfortable, lots of empathy and he has the ability to read customers right!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerry John, General Manager at W Shanghai - The Bund
Responded 13 Mar 2024
Hey EdMotion, Thanks for choosing W Shanghai for your recent visit to our electrifying city! We are glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how Wayne was able to make it even more special with his intuitive "whatever/whenever" service. We look forward to having you return in the near future. Cheers
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam T wrote a review Mar 2024
San Jose, California5 contributions
I celebrated my birthday in Shanghai, and it was totally worth it to stay at the W. Claire was outstanding in helping facilitate everything before my arrival and throughout my stay. The views of the Bund are incredible! It is one of the most impressive skylines I have ever seen, and I was so blessed to have a stunning view from my room during my whole stay. This was my first trip to China, and I was so impressed with every aspect of the hospitality and care of the team. I can not wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerry John, General Manager at W Shanghai - The Bund
Responded 11 Mar 2024
Hi Saam T, Thank you for choosing W Shanghai for your recent celebration and for taking the time to share your experience. We are always thrilled to read when we are able to create memorable moments of WOW, and even more when we learn how our talent were able to curate your stay with their whatever/whenever service. We will be sure to celebrate Claire for her dedication in making sure every aspect was taken care of. Thank you for highlighting the spectacular views of the Pudong skyline, which can be experienced from many of our rooms as well as many other areas within the hotel, as it is in fact a key aspect of a stay at W Shanghai. We too look forward to your return and to creating even more memorable moments in the future. Cheers
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Seng100 wrote a review Mar 2024
Boston, Massachusetts206 contributions254 helpful votes
Stayed 6 nights for a company-sponsored venue. Arrival at hotel was efficiently met by greeters who directed me to the lobby on the 4th (W) floor. Staff were pleasant but I am not sure about the grunge/casual appearance of their attire - prefer them to be smarter and more professionally dressed. But I get it - this is associated with the W's branding of their premises (younger clients). Assigned room was as expected of the chain - decor is modern with a lot of plastic that is an acquired taste. Most things worked fine but a few were a little off, re: the stand next to the bed was too far away to reach comfortably, the sink did not drain unless set to a weak volume and the toilet door was designed to interfere with someone standing next to the adjacent sink. Worst was the temperature control; the room did not drop below 21.5 C for my entire stay despite visits by the engineer that made it very uncomfortable for this guest to sleep. In fact throughout the hotel, the temperature was set at too high a level. Bed was very comfortable and the wifi signal was reliable and robust. Food at the Kitchen Table (breakfast and dinner) and room service (supper) provided a good selection of choices of moderately tasteful food - that could be much better for the prices. Support for the conference was very good - everything worked well (besides the temperature of the rooms). Partook one session at the spa that provided good service but the walk between the changing room and the treatment room required some exposure to the public that made me uncomfortable given my state of undress - a design flaw. But the staff throughout provided excellent service - they were attentive, polite and helpful. Overall, a nice hotel but with attendant flaws - at least to this traveller.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerry John, General Manager at W Shanghai - The Bund
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Hi Seng100, Thank you for taking the time to share your time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us at W Shanghai. I am glad to read that for most part you had an enjoyable stay but want to extend my personal apologies for the issues you experienced with the temperature controls in your room which could not be rectified to your satisfaction. We do understand that every guest has their own preference, and we do have a variety of settings that allow for rooms to be kept at a cooler temperature if required. We wanted to let you know that we are looking into the cause of this issue in your room to ensure it does not recur. Your comments regarding the spa experience have also been noted and we are looking into ways of avoiding this in future. We are however thrilled to read that our talent were able to make a difference with their whatever/whenever service and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future and to delivering a more enjoyable experience. Cheers
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zhe R wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Very enjoyable and impressive trip to W Shanghai- a desirable landmark with world-class view. Claire from loyalty team treated us very well with lovely gifts. Room design is also super considerate and chic, breakfast is also best ever, worth coming back again !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerry John, General Manager at W Shanghai - The Bund
Responded 21 Feb 2024
Hey zher2024, Thank you for your review and for your recommendation of W Shanghai as one of the best hotels you have experienced. We are especially thrilled to read how Claire was able to bring the WOW to your stay with her Whatever/Whenever service, and the whole team at W look forward to having you return real soon! Cheers
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amy X wrote a review Feb 2024
New York City, New York1 contribution
I visited the W Hotel in Shanghai with my family in Feb. Our experience has been fantastic! In particular, I’d like to thank Miss Peri Wang for her warm and welcoming service to make our stay so memorable and pleasant. We booked 4 rooms with a large family. Peri and her team were very patient and paid attention to details to make sure everything ran smoothly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerry John, General Manager at W Shanghai - The Bund
Responded 12 Feb 2024
Hi 686amyx, Thank you for your review and for choosing W Shanghai for your recent family holiday. We are thrilled to read how our talent, especially Peri, was able to make your stay both pleasant and memorable. We look forward to having you return in the near future and to creating even more WOW moments for you and your family. Cheers
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leon G wrote a review Feb 2024
Auckland, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Best view ,Centre location, Great customer service,especially Fela who works at repection, she told us many history for the hotel and the bond. I got the corner view room which I can see the bond and the Tower together. The best hotel breakfast in Shanghai ,you could have chance to attend very later around 10am,still pretty much everything there. Hope to visit the hotel very soon and say hello to Fela and her colleagues.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerry John, General Manager at W Shanghai - The Bund
Responded 6 Feb 2024
Hey LihuanG1, Thank you for your review and for your kind acknowledgement of Fela's whatever/whenever service! We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, in particular your Cool Corner on The Bund Room, as well as our great spread at breakfast, that as you correctly pointed out goes until 10:30 during the week and 11:00 on weekends allowing for that extra sleep in the mornings! We look forward to your return real soon! Cheers.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wenlong J wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Thanks very much Lily. The check-in procedures were processed quickly and met my check-in requirements,the magnificent room type. And I was guided into the guest room elevator after processing. The check-in experience is very nice. The floor is very high and the scenery is very beautiful. The geographical position of Shanghai Bund W is very good, with the scenery facing the river and Oriental Pearl TV Tower. The service experience I enjoy here is very good. I came here at least three times a month, which is why I chose Shanghai as my vacation destination. I will continue to stay here regularly in the future. In addition, on the night of check-in, there was a complimentary cocktail time, with unlimited options for drinks and snacks to choose. When I remember the day I live here earlier, the breakfast was very abundant, and I have already started looking forward to tomorrow's breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerry John, General Manager at W Shanghai - The Bund
Responded 26 Jan 2024
Dear wenlongj2024, Thank you for your review and for your continued loyalty to both W Shanghai and Marriott International. It's awesome to read that you continue to experience new elements of our hotel despite your regularity, and in this case our cocktail hour in Woobar. It's always a thrill to read how our talent are able to create WOW moments for our guests with their thoughtful and intuitive whatever/whenever service, and we will be sure to celebrate Lily for her personal efforts during your stay. We look forward to you return and to creating even more memorable moments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Louis M wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Had an unforgettable stay at W Shanghai - The Bund while on a recent work trip. A HUGE thank you to Amy, Jerry and the team for taking such good care of us. I would highly recommend the Fantastic Suite - it's spacious and comfortable, with absolutely breathtaking views. Food and drinks were great, and the service was exceptional. I look forward to returning soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerry John, General Manager at W Shanghai - The Bund
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Hi M8423OTlouism, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent W Shanghai experience. We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay, especially our spacious Fantastic Suites with it's incredible views of the Pudong skyline. We look forward to your return and to creating even more WOW moments in the near future. Safe travels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hao H wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
The best hotel in Shanghai, great location, facility and services. The view of the room is not just beautiful, but actually quite spectacular shocking! The loyalty team, especially Lily at the front desk, is super friendly! Thanks for the hospitality. Will definitely come back again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerry John, General Manager at W Shanghai - The Bund
Responded 7 Jan 2024
Hey Hao H, Great to hear that you had a great stay with us and thank you for your recommendation of W Shanghai as the best hotel in Shanghai 😍 We are pleased to read how Lily and the Loyalty team were able to ensure you had a great stay with their whatever/whenever service, and we all look forward to your return in the near future. Cheers
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Shanghai area.
PRICE RANGE
$542 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChinaShanghai RegionShanghaiTilanqiao / Puxi (Downtown Shanghai) / Hongkou
NUMBER OF ROOMS
374
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

W SHANGHAI - THE BUND - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (China) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about W Shanghai - The Bund
Which popular attractions are close to W Shanghai - The Bund?
Nearby attractions include The Bund (Wai Tan) (1.1 km), Shanghai Development Exhibition Hall (1.1 km), and Oriental Pearl Tower (Dongfang Mingzhu) (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at W Shanghai - The Bund?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a swimup bar, and a rooftop bar.
Which room amenities are available at W Shanghai - The Bund?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at W Shanghai - The Bund?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at W Shanghai - The Bund?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to W Shanghai - The Bund?
Conveniently located restaurants include WOOBAR at W Shanghai - The Bund, Oceans, and 8 1/2 Otto e Mezzo BOMBANA.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W Shanghai - The Bund?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does W Shanghai - The Bund have airport transportation?
Yes, W Shanghai - The Bund offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at W Shanghai - The Bund?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does W Shanghai - The Bund offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at W Shanghai - The Bund?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Chinese.