We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
37 Hazra Road Richie Road crossing, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700029 India
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (36)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#77 of 1,017 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Hotel Swagath is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Kolkata (Calcutta), offering a budget friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Close to some of Kolkata (Calcutta)'s most popular landmarks, such as ISKCON Kolkata, Sri Sri Radha Govind Temple (1.3 mi) and St. Paul's Cathedral (1.3 mi), Hotel Swagath is a great destination for tourists.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a refrigerator and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Hotel Swagath features a concierge and room service, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts free breakfast. If you are driving to Hotel Swagath, free parking is available.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Raj Spanish Cafe and The Innside Story, which are some Spanish restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular architectural buildings, such as Jorasanko Thakur Bari, St. John's Church, and General Post Office.

Enjoy your stay in Kolkata (Calcutta)!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
87Good for walkers
Grade: 87 out of 100
45Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
5Attractionswithin 0.5 km
50Reviews3Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 19
  • 10
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Subhabrata Das wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
During my recent stay at Hotel Swagath, Kolkata I have experienced a very comfortable ambience and excellent service by the attending staff. The food quality is also good. We enjoyed their food and service in the Restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwagathGroups7, Owner at Hotel Swagath
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thanks.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.. Looking forward to your future stays at our property.
Read more
Avishek Bose wrote a review Apr 2019
Kolkata (Calcutta), India43 contributions410 helpful votes
Few days back I visited this Place, This place is very easily accessible from the nearest metro station There Rooms are really good and coming to the food it's really good. There staffs are really helpful Must try them out if you are in Kolkata.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
26 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SwagathGroups7, Owner at Hotel Swagath
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thanks.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.. Looking forward to your future stays at our property.
Read more
Supriyo 96 wrote a review Mar 2019
Kolkata (Calcutta), India12 contributions
Hotel Swagath is located at Hazra area 10 minutes walking distance from Hazra crossing. The restaurant is placed in the ground floor. Very simply decorated place but this gives you very homely feeling. It's a pure veg Restaurant which serves delicious foods of different cuisines . Pocket pinch 800 for two people. Rooms are very clean and they are offering every facilities which we need . Beds are so soft.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwagathGroups7, General Manager at Hotel Swagath
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thanks.. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at our Hotel.. Looking forward to your future stays at our property.
Read more
Chandra Mohan Agarwala wrote a review Jun 2018
Kolkata (Calcutta), India114 contributions31 helpful votes
In the heart of City. Well maintained and within a persons budget. Different cusines are available like, South Indian, North Indian, Chineese etc. Thali is also available. Food quality is good and one can enjoy the food of his choice. Not expensive also.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwagathGroups7, General Manager at Hotel Swagath
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thanks.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.. Looking forward to your future stays at our property.
Read more
Ranjai B wrote a review Mar 2018
Mumbai, India152 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel is centrally located, but the service was quite indifferent. One room had a bathroom leaking. Another room would tear out your clothes because of protrusions. They close the gate at night, and take forever to open when a guest arrives, even when notified in advance. Takes them forever to send blankets. They mess up transport arrangements. The list goes on... Back then, the hotel was newly opened, so there may have been teething issues. It is possible that the hotel has improved since. Wifi was there, but of poor quality.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwagathGroups7, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Swagath
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Hello sir.. Sorry for the inconvenience. We will look into all the matters that you mentioned. But it's hard to digest that we had any teething issues because this property is more than 35years old.
Read more
Vikashyap wrote a review Sep 2017
Mumbai, India61 contributions5 helpful votes
Good food, good hospitality, only check which room you are getting because there are few compact and congested rooms with split beds and 4 bed rooms with on washroom. Rest everything is fine. Location is convenient, staff is cooperative, food menu can be customized if you are in conference or staying for some days.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwagathGroups7, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Swagath
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thanks.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.. Looking forward to your future stays at our property.
Read more
Raj P wrote a review Aug 2017
Bengaluru, India49 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed there for four days. Budget hotel for family. Location was good. Arranged sightseeing trips. Felt like home as south Indian food was available all the time. It is famous for its south Indian cuisine.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwagathGroups7, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Swagath
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thanks.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.. Looking forward to your future stays at our property.
Read more
vsr74 wrote a review Jan 2017
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India48 contributions23 helpful votes
Recently I stayed in this hotel for a week's time. Check In & check out was good. Reception Staff was very quick & courteous. Room was spacious. Hotel provides a complimentary breakfast at their restaurant but it is limited to some amount & beyond the limit it will be charged. House keeping was average. Vegetarian Restaurant is located at the Ground floor & the Food is tasty & priced reasonable. Both South & North Indian food items are available. Restaurant Staffs were very courteous & quick in service. Renovation is going on in the hotel on the some of the rooms. Had a Good Stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwagathGroups7, Owner at Hotel Swagath
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thanks.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.. Looking forward to your future stays at our property.
Read more
Manoj K wrote a review Dec 2016
Kerala, India21 contributions20 helpful votes
Hotel Swagath is situated on the side of Hazra Road in the southern part of the city. Speciality is availability of all south Indian veg menu in the restaurant of the hotel. In fact this was the reason to select this hotel when searched for hotels in Kolkata thru tripadvisor for our stay. The food is very sumptuous and tasty, one must agree. Staff & management are very cordial and helping. The manager Mr.Ravi Nair is from Pattambi, Kerala who is a familiar friend among the football players & movie stars from Kerala, visiting Kolkatta. He easily arranged the conveyance for our Shantiniketan & Belur Math trips at economic rates. You would get southern dishes like Idly, Dosa, Upma, etc for the complementary breakfast in addition to all north Indian items. The serving is also timely & pleasant. Mr.Kamraj from Andhra, the senior in food & beverages deserves special mentioning for his sincere services. Room service also good, wifi is available. Though the hotel is a bit away from the city centre, the metro rail is available nearby, the nearest station being Jathin Das Park, one km from the hotel, from which frequent trains are available to Esplanade and other major spots towards Dumdum. Auto rickshaws continuously ply to JD Park from Hajra road in front of the hotel for a trivial fare of Rs.7/head. Hence moving is not a problem. The area needs improvement is maintenance of the property. The hotel is very old and rooms, toilets, etc all require immediate maintenance & beautification which would enhance the rating of the hotel. Also room cleaning is not seen done as a routine matter, this is also to be taken care of by the management. Nearby attractions are Kalighat Temple, Birla Mandir and Gariahat Market. Booking can be done either directly or thru travel sites with 10% advance.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Confirm working of AC & hot water
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwagathGroups7, General Manager at Hotel Swagath
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thanks.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.. Looking forward to your future stays at our property.
Read more
Nirupam123 wrote a review Dec 2016
8 contributions2 helpful votes
I have visited there so many times for my official stay. Its location is not so great but its ok. Food is good, and people are polite and cooperative. Rooms are clean, but bathrooms of some room are not so big. Overall a good hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwagathGroups7, General Manager at Hotel Swagath
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thanks.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.. Looking forward to your future stays at our property.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$41 - US$41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalKolkata DistrictKolkata (Calcutta)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Swagath
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Swagath?
Nearby attractions include Kalighat Kali Temple (1.1 km), Sienna (1.2 km), and Lake Mall (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Swagath?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Swagath?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Swagath?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Swagath?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Saffron Tree, Spice Kraft, and Banana Leaf.
Does Hotel Swagath have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Swagath offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Swagath?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Swagath offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Swagath?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ramakrishna Mission Swami Vivekananda's Ancestral House and Cultural Centre (6.9 km), General Post Office (5.3 km), and Fort William (4.0 km).
Is Hotel Swagath accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.