We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sanctuary At Tissawewa

Save
Share
Old Puttalam Road, Old Town, Anuradhapura 50000 Sri Lanka
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (246)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (17)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
Updated 21/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 55 hotels in Anuradhapura
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Charming Colonial hotel dating back to 1907, Built with luxury, the only hotel within the Sacred city of Anuradhapura. nestled in a 14 acre block of land which is a home to many species of birds and not forgetting the monkeys.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Foot massage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Secured parking
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Picnic area
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
321Reviews0Q+A65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 114
  • 110
  • 48
  • 22
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
BenhamParty wrote a review Jan 2020
Wokingham, United Kingdom191 contributions76 helpful votes
We only stayed for one night after visiting the various temples and religious sites of the sacred city. The entrance to the hotel is fantastic and your first thought is that you are going to be staying in a beautiful old colonial style hotel, however, once you enter the hotel you realise that internally it is run down and in need of refurbishment. It was also disappointing that their was no swimming pool ( I never checked beforehand, so my fault) but in high temperatures and humidity it was exactly what you needed to cool off. I was told by the manager that as the hotel is situated in the sacred city no swimming pools are allowed, however our driver/guide claimed this was untrue. As the front garden was well beautiful and well maintained I thought I could find a nice shady at
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotels Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, We are sad to read your review of our hotel and whilst apologizing for what you found wanting, would like give some background information which we believe is relevant. Refurbishment of the hotel is certainly over due and our plans last year had to be put on hold after the poor season post Easter bombing. However we do hope to revive them this year, but must point out that all our facilities are well maintained and in good working order. The need for a pool in a hot climate was obvious to us and we did apply to build a swimming pool many years ago but could not get the necessary approval from Government agencies. Our hotel which we have cared for with much affection for more than half a century, is Government property and as the hotel is more than 100 years old, falls into the Heritage Property list and hence subject to a host of strict regulations, part which arise from being within the Sacred Area of Anuradhapura. For us, alas at the last hurdle, one of the many Government Departments that decide our fate, rejected our application and so, the much needed swimming pool could not be built. No doubt there maybe hotels within the sacred city that do have swimming pools, but as this is Government property, our hands are tied. Being within the Sacred city also means we are not permitted to sell any alcoholic beverage. We are sorry you did not enjoy the use of our front garden, for our patch of cultivated wilderness with the many species of native trees that flourish on it which is home and sanctuary to assorted fauna and is also importantly for our guests. The rear space is not meant to be so but as you point out could be tidier and we shall attend to this immediately. Thank you. Best regards,
Read more
ThePuba wrote a review Jan 2020
San Diego, California328 contributions86 helpful votes
+1
Upon entry, you can easily think that you have stepped back in time to the early 20th Century colonial period. This lovely hotel has sweeping verandas overlooking a tranquil garden replete with jungle sounds. We had a spacious room upstairs that was most comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly. The pork chops were really good, although a bit tough. Great breakfast. Would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotels Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest, We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay at this hotel . Our team takes note of your satisfaction on our service and meals . We all welcome you back to spend a few more nights on your next visit to Anuradhapura . Thank you. Best regards,
Read more
Udari Perera wrote a review Jan 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka12 contributions4 helpful votes
The staff was so friendly and supportive. showed their willingness to help at any time. Also the surrounded area was really peaceful. all religious places in Anuradhapura are easily accessible.but better if the hotel and utilize their space more. It was a very large area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotels Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest, We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay at this hotel . Our team takes note of your satisfaction on our service and meals . We all welcome you back to spend a few more nights on your next visit to Anuradhapura . Thank you. Best regards,
Read more
Buddhika Jayakody wrote a review Jan 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka53 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Stayed at this hotel during the last weekend of December 2019 with some friends. It's a beautiful colonial style place with lot of space and simplicity which I admired the most. Situated quite close to the pooja city which is very convenient for tourists and I recommend it for anyone who comes on pilgrimage to Anuradhapura.Excellent service and the staff is friendly and very helpful. Rooms were in excellent condition as it was very clean and comfortable. However their food was not so great. Their lunch and dinner menus need serious consideration as they were not tasty. Limited choices would have been great if the food was tasty. But their Sri Lankan breakfast was great and everyone of us enjoyed it very much. I hope the management will take a note and improve the quality of
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Destination610436 wrote a review Jan 2020
12 contributions2 helpful votes
We had high expectations of this property after reading recent reviews. We stayed here for one night. Our main issue was with the service. We have stayed at numerous hotels and guest houses across Sri Lanka and this was by far the worst service we have received. The property itself is set in lovely grounds and the rooms are clean and reasonably maintained. On arrival we found the receptionist to be very smug, almost arrogant. Service for drinks was slow ie I had to twice ask for a drinks menu when the reception staff refused to go to a drawer to take out a menu! Half of the drinks on the menu were unavailable. We dined there in the evening, food came quickly as we were asked to preorder when we reserved our table. However the quality of food was sub standard and we left our
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tissawewa resthouse anuradhapura
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tissawewa Resthouse
LOCATION
Sri LankaNorth Central ProvinceAnuradhapura
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing