We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Windsor Excelsior Copacabana

Avenida Atlantica 1800 Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001 Brazil
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1080)
Room & Suite (614)
Pool & Beach (209)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#61 of 306 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in front of the famous Copacabana beach, Windsor Excelsior offers panoramic views of the ocean, the Corcovado and the Sugarloaf Mountains. Our rooftop has an open swimming pool, saunas, an exercise room and a bar. It is the preferred area of our guests! Windsor Excelsior features tasteful rooms with contemporary décor. Spacious and bright, including air conditioning, cable TV, Free Wi-Fi and mini-bar, while some also offer sea views and a hot tub. Room service is available 24 hours a day. At the restaurant, our guests can enjoy a delicious tropical breakfast with various items, including fruits and typical dishes of Brazilian cuisine, as well as low calorie options, natural juices and whole grain breads made in our hotel. While admiring stunning sea view of Avenida Atlântica. Lunch and dinner options are provided as well, featuring Brazilian and international specialties. Amenities and personal hygiene items are included in the rooms, as well as daily cleaning service by our efficient Governance team. Cardeal Arcoverde metro station is 5 minutes away from Windsor Excelsior. Ipanema and Leblon 10 minutes, International Airport 30 minutes and Santos Dumont Airport is at a distance of 5.8 mi. We are close to the main tourist spots in Rio! This is our guests' favorite part of Rio de Janeiro, according to independent reviews. Couples in particular like the location – they rated it 9.6 for a two-person trip. We look forward to seeing you in Rio!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Hiking
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

Avenida Atlantica 1800 Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001 Brazil
Name/address in local language
Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
1,945Review86Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 817
  • 793
  • 234
  • 62
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Amanda J wrote a review Yesterday
Los Alcazares, Spain15 contributions9 helpful votes
Just stayed for three nights and am very happy with the hotel. From check-in onwards all the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location across the road from Copacabana beach, with an Italian Restaurant and other restaurants very close by. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. Toiletries and towels are provided and all areas of the hotel, including the pool on the roof were spotless. Buffet breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and attentive staff. I don’t hesitate to recommend the hotel and am pleased to have stopped there during my stay in Rio.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mark&Nic wrote a review 13 Apr
Nottingham, United Kingdom439 contributions343 helpful votes
We stopped here for a couple of nights at the beginning of a tour. We did not book the hotel, it came in the package. Generally speaking, the hotel is OK. Not luxurious and in need of a bit of TLC, but it did the job and has a great location in the middle of the beach, with a stunning view from the pool on the roof. Room was fairly large, decent bed, clean but not spotless. Breakfast was plentiful and well prepared, with decent coffee. Check in staff were a little grumpy but not unpleasant, bar staff were great. I will probably never go to Rio again, but if I did, I would consider the Windsor.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heitor Cruz, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit in our city. We are glad to receive your comments detaching our location, the nice Copacabana beach view from the rooftop area, breakfast and rooms. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and looking forward to welcome you again soon! Best Regards, Heitor Cruz General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Travelcat_8 wrote a review 10 Apr
Nottinghamshire UK3 contributions
To start this is NOT a four-star hotel! The communal areas are four star but the rooms are no better than three star. Location is great. Breakfast OK. Roof top pool and bar excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was mediocre. It was badly equipped, the bathroom in a very sad state of repair, a/c very noisy and the temperature control didn't work leading to an extremely poor two night's sleep. Furniture probably dates back twenty years or more, showed its age and was not very well laid out for two people to stay in for more than a day. Not a room to relax in sad to say. Assuming this is typical of this hotel's rooms, as it seemed to be when I looked around, then a serious revamp/upgrade of the rooms is required.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want to stay for more than a night, and to have room to relax in after a great day in Rio...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heitor Cruz, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location, breakfast service, rooftop area and the service provided by our staff. All the guests comments are very important to our improvment. We hope to have de opportunity to welcome you again. Best Regards, Heitor Cruz General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bernhard H wrote a review Mar 2024
Graz, Austria1 contribution
I have no idea why this hotel is so good rated. On my visit in march 2024 I can tell you my point of view: - unfriendly staff at reception - they lie that there is no late checkout possible because the hotel is full - was definatly wrong because you were allowed to book rooms on their homepage and booking.com - room cleaning is insufficient - the air condition is defect, so that you cannot regulate the temperature higher - the room was a refrigirator or you switch it of - the safe door is defect - the standard room we had has old furniture Thank you windsor for nothing - never again!!!!! Regards Bernhard Haister
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heitor Cruz, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Bernhard Haister, We would like to thank you for the time dedicated to this evaluation and we really sorry that your experience with us was not good as you expected. Rest assured that our hotel has a good rating due to our incessant search for the best possible customer service. Unfortunately, the possibility of late check-out depends on our occupancy in the room category reserved by the guest. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Windsor Excelsior Hotel and hopefully change the impression you had about your recent stay. Best Regards, Heitor Cruz General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DorsetLarry wrote a review Mar 2024
Tiverton, United Kingdom186 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for four nights and enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was nice with good choices and I thought the coffee was the best on our whole trip. Check out is not until midday which is handy for a later flight. Although go a little earlier as at 11.55am everyone is at reception. Room could have been a little bigger but hardly a place you use other than to sleep. Try the pool top bar as the views of the beach are really good. All in all would recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check out 15 mins early if leaving later in the day to avoid delays
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heitor Cruz, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing our Windsor Excelsior Hotel and also for take time to rate us. We are very pleased to such a nice comment about our products and services and see that we were able to meet your expectations. Hopefully we will be honored to welcome you once again shortly. Best Regards, Heitor Cruz. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Holly Munn wrote a review Feb 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom194 contributions127 helpful votes
Hotel is excellently placed on Copacabana Beach. Within walking distance of a number of cafes, bars and restaurant. Also close to a main shopping street. Hotel rooms are a tad old fashioned but are very spacious, clean and serviceable. Quick, reliable WiFi and powerful air conditioning. Roof top bar is a highlight. Situated by the pool it has excellent views of Copacabana Beach and Christ the Redeemer. Drinks are reasonably priced and there is an excellent selection on offer. Staff are so friendly and very accommodating. They went above and beyond to make our stay special.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heitor Cruz, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
Responded 5 Mar 2024
Dear Mrs. Holly Munn, It´s a great honor to receive so nice review on Tripadvisor. We are really gratefull that you chose our Windsor Excelsior Hotel for your recent stay and for recommending us to others travallers. Our team wishes to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Heitor Cruz General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bernie wrote a review Oct 2023
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom20 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We chose this hotel as a little bit of luxury after 5 weeks of travelling in South America. The website looked fabulous……but sadly this seemed to have been photographed some years ago. We had a pretty average room, despite thinking we had booked something more special and, frankly, for the money we paid, we can honestly say that other hotels in the past 5 weeks have ranked better value for money. The first impression is that the male-dominated (if not exclusive front of house staff) defines this as a business rather than a hospitality service. This impression didn’t change over the week. They were very officious and reminded us of army or police in their manner. Hotels should, above all,ensure good sleep. Not here! There was a very obvious waterproof sheet in the bed, which rucked up under the sheets every time we turned in bed. The walls were paper thin- we lay there counting the toilet flushes and chair scrapes in nearby rooms and, almost every single night a siren alarm went off on the floor. In the mornings, staff let their phones rung long and loudly and then shouted to each other from one end of the corridor to the other. Breakfast meant the three small lifts (totally inadequate for the 12 floors of guests) left us waiting for 5-10 minutes each morning. They also broke down while we were there, with one full of guests in pitch dark! The bedroom was not cleaned at all on the first day and, given that toilet paper cannot be flushed (and there was no lid on the toilet bin), we had to endure the embarrassment of taking our tied bag to reception for disposal. There was mould on the ceiling of the bedroom and I developed a cough that may have been related to this and for which I needed medical advice for cough mixture. We chose to pay-as -we-ate for breakfast. We gave it three goes but each was really dull and disappointing. I asked for a gluten free breakfast (also asked at the other 8 hotels we had visited, without a problem and with plenty of variety offered). Here, I was given 2 very small slices of gluten free bread (still frozen!) and a couple of slices of dense chocolate cake - the same cake across the whole week, I am sure, judging by the taste. The cost of breakfast is £15 a time and we certainly overpaid! The pool area was a potential saviour for this sad impression. However, I snagged my wrap on the dirty and rough-metal sunbed frame on the first night. Thereafter, there were dirty mattresses provided if you requested them. I tried out the sauna but couldn’t get it to work. On asking why, staff flicked a switch and told me I had half an hour. I have given this hotel 2 stars because of its central location and the pool staff, who we felt did the best hospitality job of any others in the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Earplugs Go out to eat
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heitor Cruz, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
Responded 30 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing our Windsor Excelsior Hotel and for sharing your impressions about your recent stay with us. We are surprised that this is the opposite feedback from what we normally receive, but It is very important for us to know the opinion of our guests in order to improve, even more, the quality of our services. Make sure that we will work on the mentioned and we do hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Heitor Cruz General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
UpperCapeResident wrote a review Oct 2023
Boston, Massachusetts251 contributions101 helpful votes
This a tourist plus hotel with luxurious touch yet reasonably priced. Staff was friendly and attentive. Very good breakfast with spectacular views of Atlantic Ocean. Enjoyed three days of great stay. Great water pressure and hot shower replenish energy. Soft and fluffy towels in a decent size bathroom. Clean and comfortable hotel at great location. Wouldn’t hesitate to come back if I am in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heitor Cruz, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
Responded 30 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing our Windsor Excelsior Hotel and for your kind review about our products and services . We are glad you had an enjoyable stay. It is always a pleasure to our staff providing an unique experience for our guests. Hopefully we will be honored to welcome you once again shortly. Best Regards, Heitor Cruz. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sohini B wrote a review Jul 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom54 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
Excellent location and fantastic view of the Copacabana beach from the side view sea facing room we had booked. Room size is also good. Rooms however need a big uplifting. Bathroom is very dated specially the shower and bathtub. It is disappointing to not even find a complementary bottle of water at least on the day you arrive for a hotel of this reputation. We have travelled the world but very very few have a coffee machine in the room where coffee is not even complementary 😳. Seriously you pay R$9 if you want to make yourself a coffee in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heitor Cruz, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
Responded 24 Jul 2023
Dear Mrs Sohini B, We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Excelsior Hotel on your recent trip to Rio. For us , it´s very important to receive feedbacks like yours, showing how we can improve our services to provide better experiences to our guests. We are glad to receive your comments detaching our location and we are already expecting the next oportunity to welcome you! Best Regards, Heitor Cruz General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
92OB107 wrote a review Jun 2023
San Diego, California278 contributions120 helpful votes
The hotel is a great location. Just steps from Copacabana beach and fun beachside restaurants. The rooms are a little tired. We were given an accessible room even though we didn’t need it which meant flooded bathroom floors after showering. We did have the three twin beds we requested since we were traveling with a teenage granddaughter, so we couldn’t ask to be moved. Reception was very accommodating, but there is no concierge.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heitor Cruz, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
Responded 25 Jun 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay at Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We are happy to see that you had a great experience with us and you appreciated the location and the service provided by our reception, wich also do the concierge. We will always be waiting to welcome you back again! Best Regards, Heitor Cruz General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rio de Janeiro area.
PRICE RANGE
$166 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel windsor excelsior
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroRio de JaneiroZona Sul (South Zone) / Copacabana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
233
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WINDSOR EXCELSIOR COPACABANA - Now $193 (Was $̶2̶4̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Windsor Excelsior Copacabana
Which popular attractions are close to Windsor Excelsior Copacabana?
Nearby attractions include Avenida Atlantica (0.1 km), Copacabana Fair (0.2 km), and Beco das Garrafas (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Windsor Excelsior Copacabana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Galeto & Cia, Restaurante Pérgula, and Alfaia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Windsor Excelsior Copacabana have airport transportation?
Yes, Windsor Excelsior Copacabana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Windsor Excelsior Copacabana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Windsor Excelsior Copacabana?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Windsor Excelsior Copacabana?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fortaleza de Santa Cruz da Barra (5.9 km), Museu Historico Nacional (7.0 km), and Forte de Copacabana (2.3 km).