We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (1375)
Room & Suite (327)
Pool & Beach (262)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Discover the Tambau Hotel, beach resort located in Joao Pessoa, Paraiba's state capital city, and 'the second greenest city in the world'. A picture-perfect family beach resort and tropical vacation destination, Tambau Hotel offers 173 guest accommodations, each with a lovely ocean or lush tropical garden view. Since the beach resort is right on the beach, superior rooms with veranda at Tambau Hotel feature unique and magnificent seashore or cruise feel with ocean breezes and smooth waves.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Adult pool
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Sauna
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
1,882Reviews
1,472Photos
36Q+A
17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 518
  • 779
  • 384
  • 119
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+4
I cannot say that I agree with the recent reviews shown on my right; I quite liked this hotel. The room was small but okay. I didn't really understand the floorplan of the bathroom, however– The door swung inward and could barely clear the shower or toilet cramped beyond it. The
Read more
Response from Gerencia T, Diretor de vendas at Tambau Hotel
Responded 6 Sep 2018
Olá! Agradecemos por nos avaliar. Buscamos constantemente aprimorar a qualidade de nossos serviços, por isso os seus comentários são de extrema importância para nós. Pedimos desculpa pelo transtorno relatado quanto à acomodação, e esperamos em breve recebê-la novamente em nosso hotel. Atenciosamente, Equipe Tambaú Hotel.
Read more
Maybe this was a 4 Star Hotel decades ago but it is in desperate needed of modernisation. Rooms were extremely basic. Ours had a few small ants in, and the toilet continuously smelled of urine. We asked this to be rectified a couple of times but the smell wouldn’t disappear.
Read more
+5
I stayed here a while ago and my stay was so bad, that after complaining to the management, they offered me a free stay. When I wanted to arrange the stay, the current manager, Vanessa, returned my call after leaving many messages, one month later! She had me contact the
Read more
Great location, at the beach in a good district of Joao Pessoa. It is a dated structure, the air conditioner is under-dimensioned, the bathroom could be cleaner, cheap bath products and towels. Staff is very kind and works hard to overcome hotel limitations.
Read more
Response from Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tambau Hotel
Responded 20 Mar 2017
Dear Mr. Ivan T, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Hotel. We are constantly seeking to improve our quality, therefore, feedback from our guests is very valuable to us. We inform that, currently, our Hotel is undergoing a gradual restauration of its facilities, due to our proximity to the ocean, which imposes special care. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed, and approximately 75% of our rooms have already been completely renewed. We hope for the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon, in your next visit to João Pessoa. Kind regards, Fernando Souza General Manager Tropical Hotel Tambaú Tropical Hotel & Resorts Brasil
Read more
+32
It was not at all like a 4* star hotel, maximum 2 or 3*, I was really upset for choosing this hotel and why in all internet it is mentioned as best hotel in Joao pessoa, it was really old, not reconstructed or refurnished since 1964, I think. the rooms was not clean and in the
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
PreviousNext
12345666
A piscina realmente fechas as 18:00 h?
Sim a piscina fecha as 18:00 hs
0 votes
Show all answers
Pontos negativos: prédio antigo, os banheiros dos quartos não tem ventilação. As 18 horas a piscina está fechada. Pontos positivos: Excelente localização. O café da manhã é bom. Utilizei o restaurante no jantar, o serviço a La carte e fui super bem atendida com os garçons extremamente gentis. as janelas dos quartos dão para a praia e o fundo do hotel já é a praia. Espero ter ajudado de alguma forma
0 votes
Show all answers
Olá A reforma está prevista pra acabar quando?
Boa tarde! Não vi nenhum informátivo nas dependências do hotel sobre o término da reforma, porém no meu ponto de vista existe melhores hotéis em João Pessoa, de uma olhada nos hotéis que ficam no bairro de Cabo Branco, lá tem excelentes hotéis na orla e com um preço bem abaixo do cobrado pelo Tambaú. Me hospedei no Tambaú pensando que seria uma estrutura de resort, porém me decepcionei bastante.
1 vote
Show all answers
Olá! Nosso hotel tem uma estrutura histórica, porém, conservada. Ficamos em uma localização privilegiada e disponibilizamos de uma grande área de lazer. Quando estiver em nossa cidade, o nosso hotel estará a sua disposição. Atenciosamente
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234568
"Avoid the ones with a dangerous bathroom as described above."
"Ask for a renovated room and an ocean-view."
"No good rooms, all are old fashion, the price value is not good, it is 2* hotel."
"All the rooms are Old fashioned, but some rooms with sea view are relatively better, like 3* hotels standards."
"Get an Ocean view room on the second Floor!"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tropical tambau joao pessoa
LOCATION
BrazilState of ParaibaJoao Pessoa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing