We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tropic Star Lodge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (494)
Room & Suite (91)
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Pinas Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Tropic Star Lodge: World Class Fishing Adventures TROPIC STAR LODGE has been Rated the #1 Saltwater Fishing Resort in the world by the Robb Report. Fishing the legendary waters off Piñas Bay, Panama is an adventure of a lifetime for all anglers. Fulfill your fishing fantasy! Tropic Star Lodge has provided the ultimate in offshore and inshore fishing adventures for our guests for the past 59+ years. We invite you to discover why we’ve been named “the Best Fishing Resort in the world.” Tropic Star Lodge is a veritable paradise cut out of the side of a mountain at the edge of the Darien Jungle on the Pacific coast of Panama. The Lodge is situated 150 miles south of Panama City. It can only be reached by boat or plane, since there are no roads within a hundred miles. A charter plane lands on an airstrip in Piñas Bay. You then take a ten minute boat ride to Legendary Tropic Star Lodge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Free airport transportation
Spa
24-hour security
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Concierge
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Pinas Bay Panama
Tropic Star Lodge
Getting there
Bahia Pinas Airport
Jaque Airport
10.2 km
See all flights
238Reviews16Q+A73Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 217
  • 9
  • 5
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Casal wrote a review Feb 2024
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica4 contributions4 helpful votes
Dont waste your money . Despite the premium price they charge for black marlin season, Very few blacks to be found….apparently .for multiple, multiple weeks, so it’s a trend. 11 in our week total out of 17-18 boats.and I think that was higher than the previous week. Some boats caught multiple. So there is definately a difference in captains and mates. If we would have caught a lot of other fish, it may have lessened the sting a little of paying 21k, but one 30 lb tuna and 2 very small dorados, and 1 sail, was no consolation. We asked why they don’t post weekly fish counts, didn’t get a real answer…but you can figure out why….cuz they are so low they wouldn’t get customers. So many people were disappointed, I don’t know how the staff can look you in the eye.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ursula Marais, General Manager at Tropic Star Lodge
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Lb121564 We appreciate your feedback, as we always strive to meet our guests expectations and understand the disappointment when fishing and climate conditions do not always allow that to happen. Our black marlin season typically starts late December and runs through February when conditions are favorable as its the migration time of the black marlin at Tropic Star. Weather conditions this season have been unpredictable, one week a north wind would blow cooling the water down, the blacks would be on the bite and then it would drop off and the water temperatures would be back up, fish go down and marlin slows down, then before you know it, temperature changes back to good top water temperatures and fish come back up. El Niño is unfortunately causing extremely hot water temperatures from Central America all the way to Australia and Indonesia. I think we have been most fortunate that our wind has been on and off as it has which meant that we had some decent days and therefore some happy anglers. About 2 weeks prior to your stay we had some cooler water and therefore good marlin action and sailfish and dorado numbers were good as well creating good conditions and making predictions very hard. Unfortunately weather and sea conditions is something we can’t control. Last year during the same time we released over 78 Black Marlin in a single week from 15 boats. It is very tough for staff when fishing is difficult, they try their utmost to make sure that all our guests have a good time and our crews work very hard offshore trying to hook up on fish. Yours Sincerely Ursula Marais
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Todd C wrote a review Feb 2024
Dallas, Texas38 contributions20 helpful votes
A buddy and I planned a bucket-list trip to Tropic Star almost two years ago. We researched the best time to go and was told the week after the full moon during black marlin season in Feb. was a great time which, of course, was by far the most expensive time to come. In anticipation over the last 20 months, we watched every YouTube video and Big Water Adventure program and even bought the Guy Harvey book to prepare us for a trip of a lifetime. To say we were “hyped” and excited would be an understatement. The Good: The TS land operation was 5 stars. Everything was exactly as represented from the service in Panama City to the Lodge and all its amenities. We paid for an upgraded room that was Four Seasons nice. The staff was friendly, the food excellent and the dining
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge
Responded 19 Feb 2024
Todd C, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is very important to us, as we always strive for the excellence our guests have come to expect. It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed our land-based amenities and staff. All of us here at Tropic Star Lodge are very passionate about this lodge and the work we do. We absolutely understand your disappointment with not catching your Black Marlin during Black Marlin season and yes, the bite was slow for your week and this season in general. El Nino has been playing havoc with the sea temperatures and the weather which directly impacts fisheries including ours. Black Marlin is commonly known as the toughest Marlin to catch and can only be targeted in a few parts of the world successfully. We can expect a concentration of Black Marlin in January and February but, regretfully, can’t always predict the length of the season or season in general. The fleet of 17 boats only raised 16 Black Marlin and released 11 during your week. We raised 8 Blue Marlin and released 6. The crews managed two Grand Slams with two boats releasing a Blue, a Black and Sails in the same day. For this time of year, the bill fishing was slow for us and unfortunately something we can’t control. The time of year that you booked is considered our best time of year for targeting Black Marlin. Last year during the same time we released over 78 Black Marlin in a single week from 15 boats. We strive for perfection in our tackle and boats and take pride in them. Our tackle shop services our Shimano Tiagra reels every week and we put new fishing line on every reel for each new guest arrival. Unfortunately, even with this we have some human error, which is very uncommon but is not impossible. I checked the reel with you on the dock after you brought it to my attention, thanked you and apologized. When you and I tested the reel together it worked perfectly. In the shop we stripped the reel and found that a drag screw had sheared off and so I’m not sure if it was human error or a bad screw. However, that is exactly why the failure happened. With the AC going down on the boat we re-gassed it and then it was on the way. On your second day, the strainer picked up trash in the water while fishing and clogged it so we again had a problem. I am glad you enjoyed the upgraded boat after that. With regards to the crew, the captain you fished with is a highly decorated captain with many years fishing with us and is very highly requested, especially in Black Marlin season and so too is the mate. We rotate all our mates between captains all season long. The mate rotation is to ensure mates learn and work with all our captains. Most of our returning guests request captains and mates to fish with and we are always attentive as possible with their requests. I really appreciate that you brought it to my attention that there was an issue between your crew during your stay, so I was able to address it by swopping out your mate and inviting Duncan, our fleet manager, to fish with you. I make sure that I personally address fishing every day with guests and I felt sad for the couple you made friends with. They lost a big Blue Marlin on the second to last day after it gave an amazing display, but after around 15 minutes it got wrapped up in the line while jumping and broke off. On the last day they hooked up to a big 200lbs tuna just before 15:00 and after fighting it for over an hour the crew got the leader touch but then the tuna disappeared to the depths as big tuna do. The crew started putting the drag up as they were not getting closer to landing it. Our cut off for fishing after hours is 18:00 for safety as we don’t run boats at night. We all felt the disappointment for not landing the fish, especially during a tough week. I truly apologize that your experience at Tropic Star Lodge did not meet expectations. We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you back in the future to try and get your Black Marlin in the future. Tight lines and fair seas, Richard White
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mi S wrote a review Feb 2024
8 contributions4 helpful votes
The lodge, the staff, the food and the service is all great on shore. Unfortunately, it’s everything once you leave the dock that is below par. I’m a long time fish fanatic but had never gone for deep sea fish. My buddy talked me into it and I spent months waiting to go. Watched every YouTube video I could find and was looking forward to catching a wide variety of fish for the first time. I’ve fished long enough to know there are good and bad days. So I was not expecting them to just jump into the boat. But our entire week was bad. We saw no marlin at all. Caught only two sail fish and a handful of Dorado. What made it worse were things that could be controlled. Our first mate spent much of his time complaining about the captain and told me several times that he did not know
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge
Responded 21 Feb 2024
Dear 722mis, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we really appreciate your comments. It makes us all really happy that you had a great time at the lodge as we are very proud of it and this work is a labor of love that we all put in daily. January and February is our prime Black Marlin season. We don’t have a huge variety of species over this time of year and people generally come to target the Black Marlin specifically as it is the most difficult Marlin to catch and this time of year is the best time to target them. There are also Blue Marlin around in January but they start going away as the Black bite generally gets stronger in February. The same will happen with the Sailfish and Dorado over this period. This is why so many deep sea anglers join us to target their Black Marlin over this period. In regards to the AC going down on the boat on your first day- we re-gassed it and, after testing, we believed it was ready to fish. On your second day, the strainer picked up trash in the water while fishing and clogged it so we again had the problem. This was very unfortunate and I understand this makes things worse when the fishing is slow. We do try our best to rectify things that we can control I am glad you enjoyed the upgraded boat after that. We are very proud of the tackle we use. Our Shimano Tiagra reel are assessed every week and we put new fishing line on every reel for each new guest arrival. Even with this we have some human error unfortunately, which is very uncommon but is not impossible. I checked the reel with you on the dock after you brought it to my attention, thanked you and apologized. When you and I tested the reel together it worked perfectly. The next step, we took the reel apart in the shop and found that a drag screw had sheared off and so I’m not sure if it was human error or a bad screw. However, that is exactly why the failure happened. Our crews go through a lot of training here at the lodge. To become a mate, all trainee’s must go through two years before being allowed to fish with guests. Then after a minimum of ten years they are eligible to become a Captain but must again go through two years of training. We have all our mates change boats weekly to make sure they learn from as many different captains as possible. We also do this as many guests make good friends with different crews and so we do our best to make it possible to fish with their preferred crews. The Captain you fished with has been a captain for over 16 years and the mate has worked the deck for over 12 years. It is not normal at all for crews to fight and I really appreciate that you brought to my attention that there was an issue between your crew during your stay, so I was able to address it by swopping out your mate and inviting Duncan, our fleet manager, to fish with you. Thank you very much for your review, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that occured, we do genuinely try to go above and beyond to make your fishing experience amazing, but unfortunately sometimes there are certain aspects that are out of our control. Tight lines and fair seas, Richard White
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David B wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
WOW! Tropic star is truly a bucket list destination, I have dreamed about going since I first saw them highligted in a fishing show 25 years ago. The fishing was amazing 5 Sails, and 80 lb dorado topped the list, no marlin, but it is fishing. The staff is amazing Ross and Pat top the list, they are truly focused on the experience of the guest and they deliver. The Chief and kitchen crew are 5 star plus, to say the food was amazing is an understatment. Great week thank you TSL for the memories.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge
Responded 11 Feb 2024
Dear davidb07526JK, Thank you for sharing your review with us. It's wonderful to hear that a fishing show from 25 years ago led you to Tropic Star Lodge. Your praise for our staff, particularly Ross and Patt, means a lot to us. We agree -our food is top notch and we'll pass the compliments to the Chef and his team. Special congrats on the fishing and we hope to see you back for that Marlin. All the best wishes, Mallory and Richard White
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Randall K wrote a review Jan 2024
Orange Beach, Alabama23 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Finally made the trip that I have been drooling over ever since I opened my first Marlin magazine and it was more than I could have imagined! From the isolated, majestic jungle terrain to the Bahamian themed colors on the Classic 31' Bertram Sportfishers to the world class service of the Tropic Star staff, it is more than a "fishing trip", it's an experience or better described as an adventure! I have nothing but amazing things to say about the entire staff(there are just too many names to mention), but "hats off" to Richard(fishing director) and Ross(property manager), they are two of the hardest working, energetic, and most positive individuals you will ever encounter. We spent Dec 30th-Jan 6th at the lodge for beginning of Black Marlin season. Tropic Star pairs anglers
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Dear kemosabe_oba, We are so happy to hear that your bucket list adventure did not disappoint. Congratulations on your Black Marlin, Sailfish, and Dorado! Tropic Star is indeed a unique place in the world and an experience like no other. We’re glad that our fishing crew and staff were able to bring the pages of Marlin Magazine to life. Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the feedback very much. We hope to see you back again soon for your next fishing adventure. Best wishes, Mallory and Richard White
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ted T wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Amazing trip! A 5 star resort in the jungle. The service and food were impeccable. The fishing was incredible. 16 100 lb class swords plus 5 large Mahi in one day. Do not hesitate to make your reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear tedt458, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're happy to know that you had an amazing trip and enjoyed the fishing, service, and food. Congratulations on all those Sails and XL Mahi. What a day! We hope to see you return to the jungle soon. All the best wishes, Mallory
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
petregan wrote a review Dec 2023
new york29 contributions11 helpful votes
This is a stupendous lodge in a stupendous location. What really stood out was the fantastic staff and the attention to detail in our trip arrangements, flights, transfers in Panama City and day to day life at the lodge. The accommodations and meals were wonderful. The fishing was terrific with 5 dorado caught, 12 pacific sailfish and a 400 lbs. Black Marlin, a fish so incredible to see that I still see it when I close my eyes. An astounding sight when it leaps out of the water behind the boat. I had a captain and mate that were an outstanding team and they were relentless fishermen. We had no rain to speak of and no biting insects at all. Fabulous pool and bar. 4 amazing days in the jungle with amazing scenery.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge
Responded 12 Dec 2023
Dear bosque53, Congratulations on your beautiful Black Marlin! It's one of the most spectacular experiences. We're glad that you noticed our attention to detail and our passionate staff that want to make sure you have the best fishing vacation. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Can't wait to see you return for some more fishing adventures. All the best, Mallory and Richard White
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa M wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
My son and I traveled to the Lodge during Thanksgiving week. From the moment of arrival to the time of departure, everything about our stay was absolutely perfect! The accommodations and the property was beautiful. We were nestled up against a lush rainforest with tropical plants all bursting with flowers and fruit. The food was delicious and well-prepared. And the fishing was outstanding. We caught 7 sailfish and too many dorado to count during the week. My son also hooked up with a huge black marlin (who threw the hook). The staff and service was absolutely outstanding. I seriously can’t think of one criticism to make about any part of our stay. For us, this was a trip of a lifetime and the memories we made will stay with us forever. We want to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge
Responded 5 Dec 2023
Dear LisaM, It was great having you and your son visit us over Thanksgiving week. It was so special for us to be part of your mother-son trip. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Congrats on your fishing and we hope to see you both return for a Marlin rematch. All the best wishes, Mallory and Richard White
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael Z wrote a review Nov 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Absolutely world class experience, front to back. INCREDIBLE fishing but even more incredible people. Marlin, Sailfish, Mahi, Snapper, ALL were caught. Ross and Richard run a tight ship, but everyone and anyone that’s works for them believes in the mission. Service, drinks, dinner, all world class. Boats, captains, and crew as good as it gets! I was blessed to share this adventure with my wife, and ladies and gentleman are both treated exceptionally well!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge
Responded 27 Nov 2023
Dear michaelzH4097AL, We're very happy to know that your bucket list trip to Tropic Star Lodge was five-star and that Richard and Ross took great care of you. Congratulations on your special catches and especially that Marlin! We are happy to know that you found the fishing incredible as well as our on-land services. We very much enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you and your wife back soon! All the best wishes, Mallory and Richard White
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dmg wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This is the most epic fishing destination! Richard White and Ross Alford will make your stay and fishing experience the best ever! It was the best fishing of my lifetime! They have a fleet of 31 foot Bertrams and the captains/mates are very knowledgeable. The food and resort is great! In three and a half days of tagging dorado, we tagged 70 from 33 inches to 56 inches or about 60 pounds! We also released three sailfish and kept 4 yellowfin tuna. The resort is very remote and they manage everything in house! If you want epic fishing and great staff, go to Tropic Star Lodge!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge
Responded 23 Nov 2023
Dear novicetraveler55, We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent fishing trip with Tropic Star Lodge. Congratulations on tagging all those Dorado. Tropic Star Lodge is proud to be part of your research and ocean conservation effort. We're glad you enjoyed the food, staff, as well as the epic fishing. We look forward to seeing you soon. All the best wishes, Mallory and Richard White
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pinas Bay area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
tropic star hotel pinas bay
LOCATION
PanamaDarien ProvincePinas Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TROPIC STAR LODGE - Reviews (Pinas Bay, Panama) - Tripadvisor