SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie

My room
Traveller (97)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#12 of 43 hotels in Albany
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value

SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Albany, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Shaker Heritage Society (2.5 mi), located nearby, makes SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Albany landmark.

Albany has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Athos Restaurant, Reel Seafood Company, and black & blue Steak and Crab, which are serving up some great dishes.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than American Italian Heritage Museum (0.6 mi), which is a popular Albany attraction – and it is conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Albany!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

8 California Ave, Albany, NY 12205-2806
445Reviews5Q+A84Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 199
  • 160
  • 48
  • 19
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michael H wrote a review Sept 2021
Barrington, Rhode Island41 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm an athletic director at a prep school and we travel often. We have been staying at hotels for the past 25 years and I value these reviews.
I was reading various mixed reviews about this hotel and was worried about booking. However, we do try to stay at Springhill Suites if there is one available in our travel area. The room are perfect for teams as they hold 3-4 kids comfortably and have a separate bathroom and shower areas. They offer a terrific breakfast and have a pool. Most times, they are located in an area where there are things to do. We really love the Springhill Suites!
From the time i got in touch with Sales Director Elizabeth Redmond for a contract for 12 rooms for our soccer team to our final check out, it was nothing but professionalism and outstanding service. Our rooms were ready upon arrival and they had a conference room available for team functions. The front desk staff (especially Nina!) was extremely profession and helpful. They recommended an outstanding pizza place which delivered 15 pizzas to us at 11pm. The rooms were all clean and spacious offering comfort for our kids. The breakfast was terrific and fed a lot of people. Our check out was effortless and we won the game! Thanks you Springhill Suites for an outstanding time!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
steve y wrote a review Jun 2022
Buffalo, New York937 contributions169 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival, find a sign on the front desk counter indicating that this location reopened in July 2021 under new ownership & was purchased "as is" and that you will find bleach stains on the furniture. Additionally, hotel is due for renovation in 2022.
To date, nothing has been done of what I can see & specifically our room was dated, a ton of caulking used for repair & attempting to cover up sins. Wallpaper seams peeling open/off everywhere.
Our door deadbolt would stick open when entering the room & had to play games to get it back in to allow for to close.
The pool water was very cloudy & uninviting looking.
On the plus side, bed & pillows were comfortable & had a decent continental breakfast. The kitchen worker was hustling to keep everything stocked & hot.
Lastly, awoke this morning with a large moth flying around in our room.
Likely will not stay here on our return trip home.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Judy G wrote a review Sept 2023
New York City, New York138 contributions77 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had to find a hotel last minute because of flooding that interferes with our trip home.
This chain generally gets good reviews, but this location is the exception.
We were charged an exorbitant amount for a less
than mediocre room. The furniture was old, worn and spotted from spilled bleach. There was limited lighting making it dark. The breakfast was barely edible. And the clerk who checked us in was surly- doing a reasonable imitation of a robot.
We expected more from a hotel that charged $300 for a room
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JAHSAUN JONES, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie
Responded 1 Oct 2023
Thank you for your feedback and we are aware that we are need in renovation we are in process and waiting for approval now and there is a sign explaining that our staff still works very hard to make sure hotel is clean and in order, sorry for any inconvenience you may have been caused.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kenneth C wrote a review Jul 2021
Monroe, United States3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I checked into the SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie on a Thursday night at about 8:00 PM, and was given a key to Room 426 (No greeting or thank you for being a loyalty member). I unloaded my family and all my luggage from my car, onto a bell hop cart and brought up the elevator to Room 426. It was obvious that someone had been in this room before me (The TV was on some random channel, towels were moved) It was also obvious that the AC unit was not on in the room. When I went to turn it on, it was clear that it was not functioning and it was over 80 degrees in the room.
I went to the front desk to notify them of the broken AC. The person at the desk looked at a piece of paper and confirmed that the AC was not working in my room. She then told me that I had the option of opening a window. (I mean really?)
I told her she would need to give me another room as this was not going to work for me. She informed me that the hotel was fully booked and this was not possible. While I was waiting in the lobby for my wife pack up all of our belongings, another guest asked me if there was a problem with my room. When I told them, they said that they checked into their room and it was obvious no housekeeping had been done (dirty towels, unmade bed, etc). Clearly this hotel has problems.
The front desk person was unable to find me a room in that hotel, or any other hotels in the area. Another guest walked in the doors and said “I am here to check in” and the front desk person said “Maybe”.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barq wrote a review Jul 2021
12 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We attempted to stay at this hotel on June 3, 2021 but arrived to find it closed. The parking lot was empty, most of the lights were off, there was no movement inside and we were unable to call the hotel. We had made the reservation weeks in advance and received no phone call or email telling us the property would be closed. Fortunately we were able to find a nearby Fairfield property with available rooms, however we've been unable to get in touch with Marriott via email or phone to rectify a completely unacceptable customer experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joe&Cynthia wrote a review Oct 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
At 1:45 in the morning, I called the front desk to complain about the loud noises coming from a room on my floor. The clerk who answered the phone indicated that the guests were having a birthday party and told me they had the right to party. She suggested I was unreasonable to expect quiet. She told me the people paid extra for their party and the hotel was full. When I asked to speak with a manager, she hung up. When I called back and asked for her name, she did not respond. This place doesn't look like a bad hotel. Before you make a reservation here, however, I suggest you call and ask if they have guests who paid extra for a party.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JAHSAUN JONES, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie
Responded 15 Oct 2022
I'm so sorry for your experience and will definitely look into this matter as we strive to please each of our guest ill will touch base with the necessary departments to ensure this never happens again, sorry again for any inconvenience this may have cause you and your family.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geminican wrote a review Dec 2021
San Jose, California2,101 contributions623 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great room design, a small kitchen with a drainable sink, a microwave, a refrigerator, a living room area separated from the sleeping area.
In a convenient location. Quiet. Easy parking.

The price could have been a bit lower.

But overall, still happy with our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3ChrisT14 wrote a review Jun 2022
Los Angeles, California32 contributions48 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for two weeks and liked our stay. The entire staff was courteous and helpful. A special shout out to Tarwanna for helping us at 3:00AM in the morning when our scheduled taxi pick up to the airport never showed up. She waited with us and found another taxi company for us. Although the room and furniture were a bit old compared to other Marriott Hotels, hopefully with the upcoming renovation this will not be an issue in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Conveniently located to shops and restaurants
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ieasha Odle wrote a review Nov 2021
Mountainside, New Jersey2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What was good would be a shorter write up. The room was not cleaned to the Marriot standard. There was a horse fly in my room. I also found a bug that I did not recognize in my bed.

Here is the worst part: the fire alarm went off at 3:30am. All of the guests gathered in the lobby. Hotel management never said anything to inform the guests about what what was happening. The hotel manager did not have the key to the alarm panel which frustrated the firemen. It took two hours to locate the alarm panel key and the alarm finally went off at 5:21am. We endured the ringing sound for two hours. I had a major headache and I lost two hours of sleep. Thankfully I only booked for one night because this was a horrible experience!!!!
1/20/21 - 1/21/21
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JAHSAUN JONES, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie
Responded 22 Nov 2021
Thank you for your feedback and I do apologize you your experience at the Springhill suites I will look into the cleanliness issue, and as far as the alarm system a guest pulled the alarm and we do have the key but when we tried to reset system, we then found a guest had pulled their smoke detector down which would not allow the system to reset, I truly apologize for any inconvenience this has called we were trying our best to get the necessary parties here to shut the system down.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bettie B wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The beds and the linens were of good quality. The breakfast was plentiful, tasty, and well-prepared; however, it lacked variety. It was quite clean.
The major problems were the following:
The pool had way too much chlorine in it. The lighting over the bed was not accommodating. The TV offered little, and the channels didn’t match up to what they said they were. The sofa bed was miserable in every way, No where to put unpacked clothes (spent 10 days there).
Couldn’t access the network for school computer work, because the network wasn’t secure. And the freezer door was missing on the fridge.

Our major criticism and reason for the low rating, was the night manager’s surly and confrontational interaction with a paying guest. He should be a bouncer at a low-class strip joint.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JAHSAUN JONES, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Dear Guest We thank you for staying with us and we apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and your family our staffed works very hard to make sure that all of our guest are happy and satisfied which you told the GM you was happy with all the staff and every one was great and you was also explained about the sofa being vandalized we are so sorry you did not have a pleasant stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Albany area.
PRICE RANGE
$246 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
springhill suites albany-colonie hotel albany
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkAlbany
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPRINGHILL SUITES BY MARRIOTT ALBANY-COLONIE - Now $236 (Was $̶2̶4̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (NY) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie
Which popular attractions are close to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie?
Nearby attractions include American Italian Heritage Museum (1.0 km), Regal Cinemas Colonie Center 13 & RPX (0.7 km), and Northway Shopping Center (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cheesecake Factory, Ralph's Tavern, and Hong Kong Bakery and Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie?
Many travellers enjoy visiting New York State Capitol (7.4 km), Shaker Heritage Society (4.0 km), and Albany County Historical Association (7.2 km).
Is SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Albany HotelsAlbany Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlbanyHotels near SpringHill Suites by Marriott Albany-Colonie
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire