Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area

Hotel view
Traveller (117)
view
Room & Suite (74)
Lobby & breakfast corner
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#9 of 43 hotels in Albany
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Hilton Garden Inn Albany/SUNY Area hotel in Albany, New York, is in the SUNY/State Office area, directly across from the SUNY Polytechnic Institute and SUNY Albany. Our hotel is 1/4-mile west of the Harriman State office Campus, with easy access to downtown Albany and the Albany International Airport. When guests are ready for dining or shopping, many options are just down the road on Washington Avenue or at the nearby Wolf Road area. More restaurants are along Western Avenue, just south of the hotel. The 126-room hotel features The Garden Grille & Bar - serving breakfast and dinner, plus evening room service, a fitness center and 3,000 square feet of meeting space. Hilton Garden Inn has a 24-hour business center, complimentary to all guests. The 24-hour Pavilion Pantry is stocked with snacks, drinks and anything forgotten at home. Each guest room is equipped with a spacious work desk, Herman Miller desk chair and complimentary high-speed internet access.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
986Reviews9Q+A78Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 515
  • 263
  • 98
  • 66
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MainlyMaine wrote a review Aug 2023
Kew Gardens, New York
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A relatively good value in this area, at least when the university is not in session; if we can grab a room for about $165 these days we feel blessed, Good location just off I-90 on its "no-toll" section through Albany, a highway which easily connects with the NY Thruway and the Mass Pike. Clean nice rooms; nice lobby. The trick with Hilton "GARDEN" hotels is NO FREE BREAKFAST; that's just the way the chain does it. There is a perfectly good made-to-order breakfast available in the $9 range, and a "breakfast buffet" for $10. At least when we were there, they were offering a two-for-one breakfast for Hilton Honors members, which makes the hotel an even better value.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherrene Zachow, Other at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Responded 11 Aug 2023
We hope this message finds you extremely well! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Albany SUNY/Area! We appreciate the time you took to leave us an amazing review! We are elated to see you had a 5/5 stay! We hope to see you the next time you find yourself in the Albany area!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cassandra P wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is only a 25 minute, $1.50 bus ride from downtown, but when in town for a big conference, I can avoid all the associated hubbub, yet be close enough to the conference activities. Having some quiet, non-conference downtime is important to me.

The staff here are quite personable, and because it's a smaller property, the vibe is very friendly.

I got some wings here one night that were better than the wings I'd tried at two major chains, and they easily customized a salad to my liking.

It smelled like someone had been smoking in or around the room, but it wasn't so bad that I needed to change rooms. The cleaning staff, like everyone else, was just outstanding. I expect to return to another conference in Albany next month, and will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HGIAlbanySUNYGenMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Cassandra P. You are SO awesome for giving our team so many kudos! We are very happy that our Hotel created the welcoming vibe you were looking for! We will be sharing this with housekeeping, food & beverage, and front desk so they know your appreciation from your stay. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review! Warm regards, HGI Albany/SUNY Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shastio wrote a review Feb 2020
Buffalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived 5 minutes too late to have a well-earned drink after a long drive in the dark, and the bartender takes pity on us. Tanya at the desk is warm, super accommodating and sweet as hell. We wake up waaaaay too early and head down to eat breakfast sharply at six and everything is spotless and ready. We have to hit the road almost immediately for a four hour drive and I ask the chef if breakfast sandwiches are on the menu and she says cheerfully, “Nope! But I can make you some! Do you want them to go?” (They are huge and delicious) My daughter is freaking out because we’re going to see colleges for the first time, and the waiter brings her a ginger ale on ice, and makes sure that I have all the utensils and napkins I need, plus little jars of condiments. We are on the road, on time (quite unusual for us)! Thank you for everything, wonderful staff. One note, though: those are some weird pillows.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HGIAlbanySUNYGenMgr, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Hi shastio! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'm so glad to hear you received a warm welcome and our team was able to accommodate your needs during your stay. Best of luck with your college visits and we hope to have you stay with us again for any future travels in the area! Warm regards, HGI Albany/SUNY Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
beeare wrote a review Aug 2020
Albany, New York
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed two days in August. The rooms were average. But you had to request if you wanted the room cleaned every day because of the pandemic. The free breakfast was the worse breakfast I have had in 60 years of traveling and was totally inedible.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: handicap accessible rooms are much larger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandie Vogt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Responded 21 Aug 2020
beeare, I'm so sorry to hear about your experience during your stay! Due to covid, we are still trying to limit housekeeping entering any guest rooms just to when guests are comfortable having someone come to provide service. We apologize that we are unable to have our usual breakfast selection available at this time, but hope you will consider staying with us in the future when we can fully reopen our restaurant! Best, HGI Albany/SUNY Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bsk20212021 wrote a review Jul 2021
Valrico, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst Hilton experience I have had to date. First room offered on 4th floor smelled like a dirty gym shoe, we were offered a different room on the 7th floor. Hotel was dirty, (example, discarded q-tip laying on floor near elevator for three days it was still there when I checked out) No water pressure in shower on 7th floor, tub would not drain. Carpet in room did not feel or look clean would soil socks or feet when walked in. Cleaning services for room had to be requested 24 hours in advance, this was not disclosed during booking or upon check-in. 5 night stay was not worth the price paid.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherrene Zachow, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I am sorry this has been the worst experience you've had at a Hilton hotel. Due to the current employee shortage we found ourselves with the difficult decision to limit housekeeping stay-over service upon request only. We try our best to make all guests aware of this at the front desk and with signs in the lobby. I hope you give us another chance in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Getaway310988 wrote a review Apr 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite my prior request they did not have a disability room available. When I Signed in I was informed that I could not use Hilton honors points because I had not reserve directly with Hilton they also informed me that housekeeping was available only upon request 24 hours in advance. They booked me for housekeeping two days later but when I got back to the room it had not been cleaned. The television stations did not work properly because they said they were in the process of an upgrade. Despite promises that hotel was sanitary there was no liner available for the ice bucket. Also There was no safe in the room despite advertisement to the contrary. I could have stayed somewhere else and in the future I will.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t rely on famous name or take amenities for granted. Confirm details directly with the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel Quintana, Other at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Responded 18 Apr 2022
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I am unaware if you booked an ADA room or just requested it, but we try our best to accommodate guest requests. However, specific rooms are not always available. As with Hilton Honors, in order to to book with points, it has to be done directly through Hilton. This is not a policy specific to this hotel, but all Hilton hotel in general. You can always add your Hilton Honors number to a third-party reservation and get credit for the stay, but it will not qualify for points. As for the television, we indeed were in the process of an upgrade and so the TV Guide was not listing shows, but most channels we were able to confirm were working fine. The signs in the hotel mention that we have a space at the front desk for guests to use. I'm not sure if you brought all of this to the attention of management, but I believe we could have made your stay much better. If you need to stay in the area again, please reach out to us directly so we can book a room with your Honors account and reserve the room type you need!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jberkman21905 wrote a review Jan 2022
Malone, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hard to believe this hotel has the name Hilton. The front desk manager goes out of her way to treat everyone she comes in contact with poorly. She is rude, disrespectful, unprofessional, sarcastic, demeaning, hateful, and uncaring. She hates her job and it shows. The rooms are only cleaned 1 time during a 5 night stay and that’s only if you request it when you check in.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: January 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel Quintana, Other at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Responded 11 Feb 2022
I'm so sorry you feel this way. We are currently reviewing these statements with management. As for the rooms, we are asking guests to request service 24-hours in advance in order for us to arrange with our housekeeping team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nicolebb80 wrote a review Jun 2023
Alden, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Front desk was always empty, thank goodness I used the app to check in. There were no snacks in the snack and dine room but could not ask due to no one at the front desk. My bathroom door could close all the way, if it did you had to throw yourself at the door. They provided thin dollar store paper plates for breakfast and plastic silverware. The workers never washed the floor near the waffle maker so your feet stuck where syrup was split. I would not go back to this hotel for the price. Save your money go to the Courtyard Marriot next door. That’s where I’m going next time for sure.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherrene Zachow, Other at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Responded 14 Jun 2023
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Albany SUNY/Area! We appreciate the time you took to leave us a candid review. We sincerely apologize for your less the stellar experience. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and regret that we were unable to accomplish that during your stay. We hope you will afford us another opportunity to make it up to you, the next time you find yourself in the Albany area. Thank you again, and have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ginger W wrote a review Apr 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Service was horrible! I called Hotel prior to booking online, to ensure that the restaurant & bar would be open d/t COVID, and to inquire of any restrictions. I booked our room, just to find out that the bar & restaurant was NOT open. Was told that we could have a 45 min blocked time for 7:00am...... for the jacuzzi, all to find out it opens @ 8:00 am. No notation that she put us on the list. The manager’s response was that’s what you get when you book with a secondary booking company. I tried to explain that I had called the hotel prior. She just told me to stop talking- and granted us 20 min for the jacuzzi! Seriously...... we were treated horribly. I will never go to another Hilton again!!!!! Bunch of rude, liars!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandie Vogt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Responded 12 Apr 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize our restaurant and bar were closed amid Covid. I am so sorry to hear about the negative interaction you had with our team. This is not the standard of our service. Please reach out to myself at Sherrene.Zachow@hilton.com and allow me the opportunity to make it right. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
crnd wrote a review Dec 2021
Clarksville, Tennessee
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very solid offering in every way. Check in was friendly, asked for and was granted a Diamond upgrade. Great room, clean and spacious. Breakfast service was speedy and friendly, check out was a breeze. Right off I-90. Parking was free, plentiful, convenient and well lit, rates were lower than most comparable properties. A perfect Hilton Garden stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel Quintana, Other at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Responded 28 Dec 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience staying with us at the Hilton Garden Inn SUNY! Our team is very happy you enjoyed everything we had to offer!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from tarajoan
wantagh ny19 contributions11 helpful votes
Yes there was coffee in our room
Answer from Creed M
Albany, New York
The jetted tubs are exclusively in our One Bedroom King Suites, in which we have 6 on property.
PaGuy asked a question Nov 2016
Berwyn, Pennsylvania22 contributions26 helpful votes
Is breakfast included in the room rate?
Answer from Creed M
Albany, New York
It is not. Breakfast is $9.95 per person for a full cooked to order breakfast. We do have A la Carte items that you can purchase for a nominal fee.
Andrew asked a question May 2016
Burlington, Vermont12 contributions9 helpful votes
How much is parking per night ?
Answer from 155happycamper
Geneva, New York11 contributions4 helpful votes
There is no separate charge listed for parking on the hotel bill. The onsite parking is included in the charge for the room.
Ann S asked a question Dec 2015
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States18 contributions5 helpful votes
Do you have a fireplace in the lobby?
Answer from EmpireState39
Rochester, New York68 contributions26 helpful votes
Yes on the other side next to the front desk.
David H wrote a tip Oct 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom60 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room service menu needs to be improved"
Read full review
J'Halin M wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I recommend this hotel to anyone, very nice people and rooms are nice too."
Read full review
Salvatore C wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the food"
Read full review
Julia wrote a tip Feb 2023
Simsbury, Connecticut1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Read the fine print"
Read full review
Getaway310988 wrote a tip Apr 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t rely on famous name or take amenities for granted. Confirm details directly with the hotel, get the name of the person you speak to."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Albany area.
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton garden inn albany / suny area hotel albany, hilton albany
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkAlbany
NUMBER OF ROOMS
126
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILTON GARDEN INN ALBANY/SUNY AREA - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (NY) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area?
Nearby attractions include USS Slater DE-766 (7.4 km), New York State Capitol (6.2 km), and New York State Museum (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mr. D's Restaurant & Lounge, Villa Di Como Ristorante, and Iron Gate Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area?
Many travellers enjoy visiting New York State Capitol (6.2 km), Schuyler Mansion (7.0 km), and Shaker Heritage Society (5.7 km).
All Albany HotelsAlbany Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlbanyHotels near Hilton Garden Inn Albany/suny Area
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire