We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Neemrana's Tower House

Traveller (138)
Room & Suite (29)
Pool & Beach (12)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house which has given it the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. This scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship and indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock! Since 1982, it is owned by Peirce Leslie. The character of The Tower House lies in its unpretentious yet proud bearing, almost grandfather like, it sits looking out over the sea, a spirit of adventure surrounds it even today, taking one back to stories of high seas told and retold over centuries. Stately colonial pillars hold up its vast, high-ceilinged halls. The generous arched doors welcoming one to step in to another world where time stretches, pauses to watch the sun set, and then moves ever so lightly towards dawn. Yes it’s the magic of spaces that have seen more history than we will ever see, spaces that we know will still be there to delight those who come long after us. The furniture is an eclectic mix with no attempt to recreate rooms of any one era or type because the residential structure was added on to. It’s the light pouring in through the windows, skylights and the vastness of the indoor spaces that make for an unforgettable experience. Most of the rooms have large four poster beds, and bathrooms that happily accommodate large tubs. The windows have views of the trees or the sea depending on where they are located. Restored to be compatible with present-day needs while maintaining its structural integrity, it reflects different periods rather than artificially being faithful to any single one. It takes you back in time, as moods and memories woven together create a fabric that is strong but sits ever so lightly. The above uncompromising principles of practical use of material and form dictated The Tower House renovation too and its adherence to these very values of being honest to the time we live in while respecting the past that has set new standards in heritage tourism. Discover the old world charm where, sailors, travellers, traders, planters feasted and danced under chandeliers, suspended from high wooden ceilings.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
304Reviews
201Photos
7Q+A
69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 104
  • 135
  • 48
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed here for three nights after Diwali to escape Delhi’s pollution. The stay left a lot to be desired and we almost decided to cut our stay short and move elsewhere. Our room kept having power cuts late at night and the bed was not the most comfortable. However once we let
Read more
Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is disappointing that your visit did not measure up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay from 8 November 2018 to 10th November 2018 and thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer an explanation for the lapses. We have investigated the matter with the hotel manager, please accept our heartfelt apologies for the trouble that you had to face due to the electrical issue happened in the particular room. As per the feedback received from the team, they have upgraded you in the Noronha grand suite located on the first floor from the Albuquerque grand room located on the ground floor. Please be assured that we do arrange regular pest control and take all the necessary precautions to prevent the mosquitoes as the property is located in the heart of Fort Kochi facing the Chinese fishing nets. Please note that as we do not have an all-day dining restaurant hence as per the standard procedure of the hotel we serve meals on fixed timings. However, we have noted your observations and have shared with the hotel manager and the rest of the team to ensure that similar feedback does not recur in the future and guests are comfortable at the hotel. It is our endeavour to constantly improve and feedback such as yours helps us do so. We do hope that you will not hold this against us and will give us a chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one. Warm Regards, Team Neemrana feedback@neemranahotels.com
Read more
Elegant heritage Property located in Fort Kochi area which is walking distance from the beach and adjacent to Princess street, Old Harbour Hotel and other attractions in Kochi. It is a small propert with around 10-12 rooms. The rooms though simple give the heritage feel. There
Read more
Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi, Kerala. We are glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the location of the property which dates back to the 17th century and is one of the few hotels in Fort Kochi that sits facing the Chinese fishing nets. The property offers 13 rooms, most of the rooms have large four poster beds and bathrooms that happily accommodate, large tubs and windows that have views of the trees or the sea depending on where they are located. We would like to inform you that there is television available in the selected rooms as in the Mateu grandest suite, the Mascarenhas room and the Wayermah suite. There are multiple look-out points to discover near the property e.g. the guests can visit the Chinese fishing nets, the St. Francis Church, the Indo-Portuguese Museum, The Paradesi Synagogue, The Mattancherry Palace, the Kathakali Dancing Theater and the Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica. We are happy to receive your kind appreciation about the services offered. We have shared your positive words with the Chef and other team members. We thank you for your visit and hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you'll certainly find more to tell us about ! Warm Regards, Team Neemrana feedback@neemranahotels.com
Read more
What a beautiful place to stay and experience and explore the colour and vibrancy of this lovely area of India and all that it has to offer. The staff bent over backwards to be helpful , nothing was ever too much trouble. The food was without exception delicious and extremely
Read more
Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We thank you for your kind and appreciative feedback about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi, Kerala. It is rewarding to know that you had an enjoyable stay at the 17th century property in the heart of Fort Cochin. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with the services provided as our team goes the extra mile to look after the guests. It is great to learn that you relished the food. The Chef is happy to receive your comments. We are pleased to receive your kind appreciation about the architecture and the location of the property. It is great to know that you were able to explore the nearby vicinity using The Tower House as your base. We thank you for your visit and hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you'll certainly find more to tell us about ! Warm Regards, Team Neemrana feedback@neemranahotels.com
Read more
Honestly, this is my own fault - I read the reviews but chose to ignore them. This hotel is horribly overpriced for what you get - the rooms are nice, but the service is non-exsistent - and it goes throughout the whole hotel - I think this is a problem of the hotel owners - they
Read more
Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to receive your kind appreciation about the rooms but it leaves us disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your experience and your visit did not turn out as expected. As per our investigation with the hotel manager, you have checked in on 18th Feb at around 2:30 PM and booked from the online portal. The team has allotted you the Breekopt room which is located on the first floor. Next day on 19th Feb you had breakfast and checked out at 12:00 Noon. As per the feedback received from the hotel, the team had not received any complaint or feedback about the services/hotel during your stay. You had also given the positive feedback in the feedback book during the check-out. If we could have received any feedback regarding the services, we could have taken the requisite actions to make your stay comfortable. However, you can email us if you would like us to look into any particular service at the below given email address. We shall be happy to convey your feedback to the team members at the hotel. We have noted your observation regarding the breakfast and have shared the same with the Chef who shall ensure that similar feedback does not recur in the future. It is our endeavour to constantly improve and feedback such as yours helps us do so. We do hope that you will not hold this against us and will give us a chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one. Warm Regards, Team Neemrana feedback@neemranahotels.com
Read more
My first but definitely not my last visit to India. We stayed in this wonderful old hotel with real character and friendly staff. A lovely pool to cool down in and a garden to sit in. Delicious food eaten outside in always warm temperatures. Lots of space for yoga and
Read more
Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your overwhelmingly positive feedback about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi, Kerala. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay at the17th century property and is one of the few hotels in Fort Kochi that sits facing the Chinese fishing nets. It is great to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the pool, the gardens, the food, the Sunset and were able to explore the nearby vicinity using The Tower House as your base. Your words act as a huge motivator for each team member that aims to create memorable experiences for each of our guests. We are grateful for your encouragement and look forward to welcoming you at our other properties for many more memorable getaways ! Warm Regards, Team Neemrana feedback@neemranahotels.com
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementNeemrana's Tower House
The Souza room
Shower Room
Mossel Room
PreviousNext
123456
Hello - do you have a license to serve beer and wine?
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback about The Tower House hotel in Cochin. This is to inform you that we do not have a bar facility at this hotel. You can also connect with our reservations team for any enquiry and immediate assistance. Contact details are available on the website as we are not able to share the details here due to the guidelines. Warm Regards, Team Neemrana
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear Guest, Thank you for your enquiry about The Tower House heritage hotel in Cochin. Please note that the prior reservation is mandatory. You can connect with the reservations team for the booking. Please check the contact details of the hotel on the website. We are looking forward to welcoming you to the property soon ! Warm Regards, Team Neemrana
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello, do you have TV’s in the rooms?
Dear Guest, Thank you for your enquiry about the Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi. Yes, we do have a television but in selected rooms only. For more details, you can connect with the reservations team. Details are available on the website. Warm Regards, Team Neemrana
0 votes
hi is there air-conditioning in rooms ?
Dear Guest! Thank you for your inquiry about The Tower House heritage hotel. Please be aware that all the rooms are air-conditioned in the property. You can connect with our reservations team for any further inquiry. Warm Regards, Team Neemrana
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Guest, Thank you for your enquiry about The Tower House heritage hotel. Please note that the Albuquerque room is located on the ground floor and has two entrances, one by the side of the swimming pool and another by the main entrance of the hotel. It has one double bed and a single bed, a study corner, and two sitting areas. The verandah has a stunning view of the pool. The hotel team is extremely concerned about the cleanliness. Our service team cleans the swimming pool on daily basis. Please be assured that your guests shall be very well looked after at the property as our team always strives hard to make each guest’s stay memorable. We would be delighted to welcome your guests at the property ! Warm Regards, Team Neemrana
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"The first floor suites are all absolutely wonderful"
"Get a room at the rear for a quieter nights sleep. I had the Mossel room to the front - loved it"
"If you are large family choose Mateu."
"the two big heritage rooms are truly beautiful"
"Take the rooms with view to Chinese Fishing Net"
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Neemrana's Tower House
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaErnakulam DistrictKochi (Cochin)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing