Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Fiji Orchid

Saweni Beach Road Saweni, Lautoka, Viti Levu Fiji
Traveller (271)
Panorama of the Bure Three at The Fiji Orchid
360
Panoramas (34)
View from bed to outside garden
Room & Suite (86)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
Breakfast included
$451
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 5 hotels in Lautoka
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
A sanctuary near Nadi where travelers relax and refresh before or after a trip to their remote Fijian island paradise. With six villas, Fiji Orchid is very private and exclusive. Incorporating restaurant, bar, lounge, boutique and swimming pool, the hotel also offers day-rooms for those awaiting connecting flights from nearby Nadi International Airport. Stay either end of your island escape and discover Fiji as it should be. Full concierge service including complimentary airport transfers available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Massage
Adults only
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
186Reviews12Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 29
  • 16
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pat H wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand23 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When I booked this resort I had no idea what a delight was waiting for us. From arrival to departure it was 5 star all the way. Just 20 mins from the airport and you have arrived in paradise with six bures set amongst the most beautiful garden setting.The room is just gorgeous with all the amenities provided. Meals are served at the main house where the chef and the team serve the most delicious foods. All the staff are wonderful and while at dinner the bed is turned down and the mosquito net draped around the bed. A quiet pool was the icing on the cake. Many thanks for the great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DanO68 wrote a review May 2022
Alexandra, New Zealand661 contributions474 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing stay at the Fiji Orchid, capping off a fantastic 2-week trip in Fiji. We chose this place for the last few days of our trip as it seemed to be unique and different than the typical Fijian beach resort. The setting is amazing – beautiful, modern canvas and glass bures hidden away in an oasis of jungle gardens. The resort only has 6 bures so it feels very private and exclusive, a verdant oasis from the hustle and bustle of Nadi and Lautoka. It’s about 20 minutes from the Nadi airport and 15 minutes from Lautoka.

The bure was amazing – roomy and airy with full length glass panels looking out into the gardens. Even the shower had a glass wall with jungly vegetation outside for privacy. The bed was very comfy and the room had mod-cons like AC, fridge, coffee maker, and free in-room Wifi, as well as plenty of storage space. The pool and fountains, set in the gardens, were absolutely beautiful and we spent many hours cooling off and laying by the pool. The onsite restaurant at the main house served some of the best food we had in Fiji. There is also an excellent waterfront restaurant about 10min drive away at The Boatshed Restaurant at Vuda Marina – great place for sunset. The staff and owners were all super – very welcoming and friendly – and we enjoyed our frequent conversations over breakfast.

It’s best to have a rental car as there is not much right around the hotel. It’s possible to walk to the nearby beach, however it’s not all that appealing, especially if you are coming from or going to the beautiful beaches on the outer islands. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this place if you’re looking for a unique and relaxing place to stay on either end of your Fiji holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jarrod Whittington wrote a review Aug 2022
Brooklyn, New York5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Fiji Orchid for 2 nights upon arriving in Fiji (our first time ever!). It was the perfect place to relax and recover after our 20-hour travel from NYC, prior to heading out to the Mamanuca Islands. All of the staff at the Orchid were super friendly and extremely accommodating. Even though our flight arrived at 5:45 am, a driver was there to pick us up from Nadi airport, and the hotel was able to give us an early check in so we could rest and refresh! Our bure was clean and private, and we really enjoyed the glass-wall rainforest showers. The restaurant food was beyond excellent and they gave us many vegetarian options upon request. We took advantage of the large outdoor pool, ordered a couple's massage, and were able to arrange some site seeing through the hotel as well, including the Garden of the Sleeping Giant, zipline waterfalls, and the Nadi markets. Keep an eye out for Pirate Molly, the one-eyed cat, who became our BFF during our stay. Even though we had a lot more of our trip planned elsewhere in Fiji, we really didn't want leave the Orchid! Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alisi P wrote a review Jan 2020
Suva City, Central, Fiji59 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a dinner reservation for 5. We were celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary and wanted to go some place we hadn't been to but heard so much about. It was a half an hour drive from where we were. Adi Mitimiti who manages the place was oh so hospitable and gave us the history of the place and lots of interesting information. The dinner was a buffet of vegan dishes which we thoroughly enjoyed with a bottle of sauvignon blanc. Compliments to the chef!The orchids planted around the place are just gorgeous. We were there at night so the views and beauty of the place would probably be more breathtaking during the day. Highly recommended. 😊
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VictoryRock wrote a review Dec 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom9 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When in Fiji, it became apparent how much the big brands advertised and dominated the market. From what I could see, they were just places to rest your head for massive prices.

Fiji Orchid is somewhere Ian Fleming would stay. These glass bungalows that are kept immaculate by the housekeeping team (honestly, I would go for breakfast and when I returned, the whole Bure was rearranged to perfection).

The team manage to pull off things like this because they communicate so well. This organisation wasn’t by chance but was intentional to deliver exceptional customer experience.
Talking about exceptional customer experience, I had the great pleasure of being greeted by Jenny and Peter on my first day. After that; whenever I saw Jenny, we had great chats and after a month of travelling solo, this was greatly appreciated.
Deepika and Ledge were always ready to support with any advice, organising taxis, you name it. If the team could do something for you, they would.
Kesho, Orchid’s driver, and Deepika went above and beyond on my first day by inviting me to tag along with them to town to sort out my local SIM and go around the market whilst Kesho shopped for ingredients.

Don’t get me started on the food. All locally sourced ingredients, delivered at high quality.

All in all, if you’re looking for somewhere a bit magical, with a personal touch, you’ve found it.
Whether you want to have chats or be left to your own devices, the team adapt really well to each guest from what I saw (I was there for nearly a week).

You might be thinking, this is an over the top, positive review. I know but I work in customer experience and it’s rare to find somewhere with this level of customer experience in this beautiful setting so treat yourself!

I’ll definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin M wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This boutique hotel is a real treasure. My partner and I stayed here at the end of our two week trip to Fiji. It was a perfect place to rest and refresh before our trip home. (Wish we had booked here at the beginning of our trip as well) Jenny and her staff are authentically inviting and made sure we were comfortable and accommodated. They picked up up at Port Denarau and also made sure we had transportation to the airport in Nadi. They accommodated my food allergy to gluten which is always a point of anxiety when I travel. The gluten free toast was homemade and delicious! The burre was pure luxury. Complete with air conditioning, robes, mini fridge, kettle, tea, coffee, milk, water etc. It was immaculately clean and stylish. The shower was incredible too! We are definitely planning to stay here on our next trip to Fiji.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: When you book you can easily email them to arrange airport pickup or anything else you need. They...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary Snidal wrote a review Nov 2023
Nanaimo, Canada5 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
5 star prices, 3 star quality. Our bure was lovely, but not 5 star. The overall appearance was worn. The mosquito Net was cheap and had numerous holes. The garbage can in the bathroom was dented and rusty, the canvas roof was filthy…all not a big deal but when they are charging $720 FJ per night, it should be pristine.
We had booked the Fiji Orchid for two nights to celebrate my 65th birthday, which was to be the second night. This was a highlight of our trip to Fiji. We planned on having my birthday dinner at the Orchid, after eating there our first night, we changed our plan. I ordered the consume ($26) it was a small serving with a few veggies in it, tasteless and bland. I ordered the creamy curried prawns as my main ($40) the prawns (several small prawns or large shrimp) were over cooked and tough. And they were not in a curry sauce, rather a sweet seafood like sauce. The exact sauce was served as a condiment at the Boatshed where we ended up for my birthday dinner.(and had an excellent meal)
The worst part of the evening was the service. I realize that our server was “in training”, she was lovely, but over anxious. She hovered, walked by, constantly checking on our progress and ready to whisk away items finished with. Mid meal I put down my fork to take a sip of my drink, she was immediately there asking if I was done. It was not a relaxing meal, I left the meal feeling stressed and unhappy with the food and service. I told my husband, I will not go back for my birthday dinner!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pretty much summed up in my review.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Bourke, Owner at The Fiji Orchid
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Bula Mary, thank you for taking your time to post a review of your experience with us. Firstly I must point out that The Fiji Orchid is a small, unique boutique hotel and while we do not claim any star rating, we are rated by the whom-evers as four star. We do not claim to be five star and our pricing is certainly not five star. In fact, as per Expedia, F$720 per night is spot-on the average price for a room night in Fiji. Five star resort accommodation in Fiji is F$2,000 upwards. Glad to hear that you found your bure to be lovely and that the drawbacks were not a big deal. But I am concerned about your comments on our food and restaurant, an area where we pride ourselves as being well above average. The kitchen and restaurant staff have read your review and are understandably upset with their performance on that night. Thank you for saying that you were not relaxed and were stressed and unhappy. I apologise to you, as do my staff who were on duty that evening, especially our trainee. It was certainly not their intention to make you feel that way. I hope your husband was okay. As a boutique hotel, we pride ourselves in delivering friendly, individual service to each and every guest,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rcp-ontour wrote a review Aug 2022
Newcastle, Australia13 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped over at the Fiji Orchid after our family holiday on Nukubati private island.
Being only a small establishment, we were able to continue enjoying our intimate family holiday.

Our transfers were waiting for us at the airport & once again we were able to enjoy true Fijian hospitality.
With only 6 spacious bures spread out amongst beautiful gardens, it was a wonderful location to enjoy our last night in Fiji.

The history of the Fiji Orchid in itself is very interesting - being the home of the Canadian actor Raymond Burr.
His love for orchids is on full display in the beautiful, private gardens.
His guesthouse which now accommodates the dining & the lounge areas where we enjoyed our meals & cocktails is spacious & beautifully appointed.

The Fiji Orchid is a wonderful option for a stopover before or after visiting the other Fijian islands or to simply relax for a few days.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spargirl wrote a review Feb 2024
Maple Ridge, Canada13 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Fiji Orchid enroute to NZ for a stopover during a long flight and again on the way home, and it meet all our needs. The boutique hotel with only 6 Bures allowed for a very private and relaxing stay. The biggest win was the kind and attentive staff. Deepika the Manager was a real pleasure to work with. We very much appreciated the rides with Kesho. We also had the pleasure of joining them on Market day in Lautoka which was a great experience. Having access to Raymond's restaurant onsite for our meals was very convenient, They accommodated our food allergies including a wonderful gluten free bread and baba ganoush which was delicious. Asenaca was very sweet and worked very hard to ensure we had everything we needed during our visits.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paula W wrote a review Jul 2023
Sydney, Australia53 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful, peaceful location with wonderful staff, nothing is a problem to them, they are there to please.
Accommodation, very comfy bed, rainwater shower, and good pressure. Food was magnificently presented. We had breakfast room service, such a luxury whilst on holidays.

Figero, the resident cat, will come and visit while you are having meals. He is sociable and wanders in to say meow! He is not a problem.

Two things I would like to mention, with having both knees replaced and a hip, I had difficulty getting out of the swimming pool, getting in was fine as I jumped in at the deep end. A handrail at the steps would be welcomed. With boardwalks either side of the bures, a fold out clothes line would be handy to hang wet bathers.

Special mention to Meme, Emily, "flashlight Johnny" to guide us back to bed.

Love to all, Paula & John Bure 6 😚😚
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannahelr asked a question Jan 2023
Brisbane6 contributions8 helpful votes
Is this an adults only hotel?
By_Amanda_Jayne asked a question Feb 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates207 contributions72 helpful votes
What activities are around ? Also can you hear planes from there ?
Answer from Tami W
Lake Villa, Illinois355 contributions101 helpful votes
No, no plane noise. Wonderfully friendly staff, beautiful tiny houses. There really is nothing directly around. You can take a taxi to the tourist attractions but they are kind of far away. However, this place is really relaxing and quiet. Your "room" is a tiny house all yours. The one room is the living room/bedroom and the other room is the bath/shower. We also had massages which were in a lovely hut on property and were very relaxing. We would recommend this place!
rjmahony asked a question Jul 2018
Melbourne, Australia39 contributions41 helpful votes
How far from the airport is this hotel?
Answer from HOOKED ON FIJI
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia14,143 contributions331 helpful votes
About 15 -20 mins. From the airport. They offer free return airport transfers. Also seem to have best rate to go to Denarau Marina too.
Akb asked a question Apr 2018
London, United Kingdom35 contributions34 helpful votes
Hi is the breakfast included in the package?and if it is,is it served in the room?
Answer from peterbourke
Nukubati Island, Fiji
Bula Amal Breakfast is included in our rates and can be served to your room if you request. The Fiji Orchid
Answer from Joel Love
Gold Coast, Australia119 contributions55 helpful votes
No snorkling here. No snorkling anywhere near Nadi. You need to head out to an island or around to the coral coast. Denauru has no snorkling either.
Mary Snidal wrote a tip Nov 2023
Nanaimo, Canada5 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pretty much summed up in my review."
Read full review
Villa 2 At Tairua wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the restaurant is outstanding but book early. It has become popular with locals"
Read full review
Kim wrote a tip Jul 2023
Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just book it :)"
Read full review
Michael S wrote a tip Apr 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a driver for a day trip ask for Alee, he was amazing!"
Read full review
Erin M wrote a tip Oct 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"When you book you can easily email them to arrange airport pickup or anything else you need. They are very helpful."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lautoka area.
PRICE RANGE
$447 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the fiji orchid hotel lautoka
LOCATION
FijiViti LevuLautoka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE FIJI ORCHID - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Lautoka) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Fiji Orchid
Which popular attractions are close to The Fiji Orchid?
Nearby attractions include Tivua Island Fiji (6.4 km), Vuda Point Marina Fiji (3.6 km), and Indulge Wines Fiji (saweni) (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Fiji Orchid?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Fiji Orchid?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Fiji Orchid?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Fiji Orchid?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Fiji Orchid?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Boatshed Restaurant and Lifeboat Bar, First Landing Resort Restaurant, and Blue Ginger Cafe & Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Fiji Orchid?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does The Fiji Orchid have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Fiji Orchid offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Fiji Orchid have airport transportation?
Yes, The Fiji Orchid offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Fiji Orchid?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire