We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tambua Sands Beach Resort

avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (773)
Pool & Beach (218)
Room & Suite (108)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 12 hotels in Sigatoka
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tambua Sands Beach Resort is an extraordinary boutique resort in Fiji Viti Levu Island that offers a gorgeous white sandy beach, 25 secluded private villas with either garden or ocean view.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Snorkelling
Airport transportation
Massage
Public wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Concierge
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
586Reviews40Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 314
  • 179
  • 61
  • 19
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Chrisxkx wrote a review Mar 2024
Brisbane, Australia61 contributions16 helpful votes
We had a Beach Bure, certainly was right on the beach. We arrived 10.30pm, so we practically dumped the bags and went to bed. The resort is very tired. The Bure, bathroom had a lot of mould in the tiles, the plastic soap dish hasn't been cleaned for quite a while, and it had dried soap in the dish from the previous stayers. The shower screen was covered in a white soap scum, the basin tap was filthy as well with soap marks and dried drips. So disappointed, but overlooked it. The room is very basic with King Bed and 2 singles, tiny empty bar fridge, kettle and sachets of coffee, milk and sugar. The window sills were covered in dead flies, wasps and bugs. We had a few days of torrential rain and the rain comes under the door, so we had a spare towel we put up against the door. The rain leaked down the wall and puddled under the bedside tables. Gecko's reside in the room, so our pillows and sheets were covered in poop. They crawl on the bed as well. The weather was extremely humid, and the poolman took 3 days (Fiji time) to clean the pool, we had to wait for high tide to go for a dip. Can only go for a dip as it is a coral beach, when the tide goes out all the coral is exposed. On a positive note, the Staff and food is amazing. Only breakfast is supplied in the cost of the stay. They call it a continental breakfast, but it is very basic - 3 cereals, tea/coffee, fruit and white bread toast with packet condiments. You can choose from a small menu that you have to pay for if you want omelet's etc. Everything is in FJD, so the omelets etc start from $22 and the toppings are an extra cost (just one example). They have an Al La Carte Menu available which you choose your lunch and dinner from. Food is lovely, with a special board available every night with one item on it. Eg. a Jack Daniels and Coke is $20.50 and a juice is $9.00 (FJD) Wifi is only available in the reception area, where couches are available for you to sit on. It is only a Adults Only Resort, but due to the "quietness" of the resort, in a couple of weeks they are changing it to Family Friendly. It is certainly a very relaxing stay, (Sleep, Eat n Relax) there is alot of road noise as it is the main and only road to the main towns. The resort is 1.5hrs from the airport, if you arrive at night - be very cautious driving as there are no street lights, roads have a lot of pot holes and cattle and horses are on the roads. We stayed for 9 nights, and didn't hire a car. I suggest if you do stay here to hire a car as there is nothing around close-by. There was an incident whilst we were there with a couple behind us staying in a Garden Bure, they had an intruder enter their Bure whilst they were sleeping. They had an adjoining room (for families) that they were not using, and the cleaners must have left it open, this particular night they forgot to check it, and he entered through the adjoin door. Luckily she was a light sleeper and Ex Police and confronted the gentleman that ran off into the night, the situation was reported to Reception, and then the flood lights were left on around the property at night. There is 24/7 security at the front of the resort, but the intruder came in through the 2nd unmanned gate at the back of the property. There is quite a few stray dogs that come into the Resort at dinner time to see if they can get a feed, so once it is 'Family Friendly" the kids will have to be advised not to touch them, there is also a stray cat. Overall, we did return back relaxed, but we certainly wouldn't return. (We booked through Flight Centre)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pack an umbrella
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
heatheryone wrote a review Mar 2024
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates63 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
Our stay did not get off to a good start when we arrived at 11pm to find no food, drinks, reception, or even water available to us. after we had traveled all day and finally arrived, we expected at minimum to find a small bottle of water in our room. But there was nothing, just a wilted flower on our bed. We felt just as wilted as the flower. The bar and restaurant was empty, no staff and everything padlocked. It was 30 degrees and very humid. We begged a drink of water from the security guard at the gate, who kindly gave us one. The continental buffet breakfast was bread and fruit and coffee or tea and a type of fruit juice. (Not orange and not fresh.)!To get anything else, Eg. Egg, bacon etc was $20+ The breakfast was the same everyday. Unlike the dinner menu - from which we ordered the same dish -3 days in a row and got 3 different dishes. None of which included the sautéed mushrooms which was what we wanted. All of the food served was tepid in temperature. Generally the food was just about adequate. I only sent 1 dish back to the kitchen in the week we stayed (greasy lukewarm calamari’s which I could neither cut with a knife or bite). The property is a $20 car or taxi ride from any other food outlet or supermarket and the bar and restaurant prices are very high. Eg. A litre of Water that retails for $1.80. - $3.80 in the supermarket was $12 in the resort bar. The accommodation was also just adequate. Its saving grace was lovely beds and good a/c plenty of hot water and it was spotlessly clean. - which is the basics of what you need. You got nothing beyond those basics. No TV No Wifi (only in dining room where you have to contend with constant very loud music being played by the staff if you need to use video calling) the WIFI in the dining room was intermittent and weak I could connect my phone but not my laptop. The receptionist said that there is none at all when it is raining! The best thing about this location is snorkelling in the lagoon on the doorstep (available 2 x a day only deep enough at high tide) it’s beautiful and felt safe. The worst was nothing to do other than that - I read a few books but take your own there is none to borrow or buy. No book library or anything. There are tours available to book at the resort at a huge mark up - the same tours are available to book at less than 1/2 the hotel price on trip advisor. We went on 2 they were both good but I was painfully aware that we were paying $500 + as a couple for a 1/2 day out. IMHO Far too expensive - as I like to tip the staff directly but these huge prices were cleaning me out!! The staff were always friendly and welcoming. 👍 My top tip if you stay there is don’t get in a taxi without a meter fitted. Or hire a car. Everything is far away. Buy lots of food and snacks and drinks before you arrive. We are not party animals- we used to live in the middle of the desert but even we found it a bit dull sitting around waiting for the high tide to snorkel. We left early and spent our final night elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
nikki wrote a review Jan 2024
Whangarei, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for 4 nights, great location on the coral coast. Snorkeling was amazing. However, that was about it. Poorly managed and breakfast included was very disappointing compared with other 2 resorts we stayed at for same price. This place is not good value for money. I wouldn't recommend and won't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Bula Vinaka Camper01871258616, Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback. We have noted your feedback on our breakfast. Tambua Sands offers continental breakfast as part of their package which is complimentary however guests are more than welcome to upgrade their breakfast at minimal cost. Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home. Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael B wrote a review Dec 2023
Geelong, Australia143 contributions89 helpful votes
My wife and I just sent 9 days at Tamboua Sands. We stayed in a deluxe beach front bure. The room had a king bed and 2 singles. The room was clean and a good size. The bathroom was also a good size and appeared to have been recently upgraded. The bure was only 20 mertes from the beach. The coral just off the beach was amazing, and the fish life was fantastic. The staff at the resort from reception to the housekeeping were fantastic and couldn't do enough to assist with any need or question. The best way to get around is via taxi. The resort staff would contact the local village for a taxi. The taxi was a flat rate, $25 return to the Maui supermarket, $20 return to the Berapi market, and $60 return to Sigatoka. The driver was prepared to wait at no extra cost. We enjoyed the majority of our meals at the resort. There was a great selection of food from Fijian to Western. The seafood was a great surprise, caught and prepared daily from the village fisherman. Highly recommend this resort for a quiet relaxing holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Recommend the beach front bures. We didn't have the chance to stay in the plunge pool bure, but I...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Bula Vinaka MichaelB104, Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality. Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home. Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
leocastrophotography wrote a review Nov 2023
Gold Coast, Australia100 contributions26 helpful votes
What can I say the minute you arrive you feel like your in Fiji, very relaxing and great location for doing not much. Staff are great and very accommodating. Now the down fall, Management are non existent, the restaurant is not layed out for service so you are constantly having to ask for menus and pricing. also DO NOT book the airport transport from the hotel it costs about 150 FJD and the car is not safe or worth that much. In the resort there is no activities what so ever there is things just ad hoc and very random not like the other resorts. it states continental breakfast but its food at least there is not much choice and lacks like most resorts there is no choice just toast cereal two fruits and one juice not a choice just what ever juice is out that day. there is a cooked breakfast but you have to pay and that's not advertised either. also there is nothing around the nearest grocery store is 1.5 hour walkk not 15 min like reception tells you so catch a cab. My suggestion, stay there 2 nights to relax then go else where. I stayed 6 days and would not do that again. stay in the room with the lap pool tottaly worth it and the only thing that saved my holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Bula Vinaka Leocastrophotography, Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback. We have noted your feedback, however, transfers are contracted and we will ensure we share your feedback with them. At our resort, we only offer continental breakfast however guest are more than welcome to upgrade their breakfast at minimal cost. Once again we thank you for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ultramouse wrote a review Oct 2023
Shailer Park, Australia42 contributions32 helpful votes
Tambua Sands is a small, tidy resort on the Queens Road just past Namda village on the Coral Coast. I say that because Google Maps and Booking.com place it further west, which can be confusing. Indeed, Booking.com’s lat and long put it so precisely as to pinpoint an iPhone’s on button on an empty stretch of beach east of Korotogo. Anyway, we found it. Don’t be put off by it’s proximity to the road. Most accommodation is in beach front bures where the sound of waves on the offshore reef easily drown out any traffic, which is light anyway. I would strongly suggest having a car, like we did, as otherwise it can be a little isolated. The on-site restaurant doesn’t really cover all your needs. Perhaps not a place to take your teenagers but we are oldies whose teenagers have grown up so it was perfect for us. Very friendly, clean and relaxing with beautiful sunsets and impossibly romantic looking coconut trees. I could stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hire a car
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Bula Vinaka Ultramouse, Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality. Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home. Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kug2@hotmail.com wrote a review Oct 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
BEAUTIFUL resort, the bungalows are so cute. The staff is so kind and helpful. There are a couple drivers who can take you places for a fee. ALL the food was delicious. The beach is quite rocky/coral so you can't really swim, but the pool is wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Bula Vinaka puckles2, Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality. Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home. Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Quest53808558866 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Fantastic place and the amazing people that work here made it a dream holiday for our family. They organised games and activities for our children to help keep them entertained and to give Mum and Dad a break. One day my youngest appeared with her hair beautifully braided with flowers all though it that one of the staff had done for her. The rooms were immaculately clean and comfortable and everything worked well. Lots of planting and renovations happening so this place will just keep getting better and better. After a relaxing stay and being so well taken care of we would love to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Bula Vinaka Quest53808558866, Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality. Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home. Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Abbykat wrote a review Aug 2023
Wollongong, Australia1216 contributions404 helpful votes
A lovely quiet resort on the Coral Coast, 90 minutes from Port Denaru. Liked · Resort is improving it's facilities in leaps and bounds. The well kept grounds are lovely. This is a very quiet resort, catering to adults. It's a place to just relax, swim or snorkel. 2 kayaks are there and are free. All rooms are renovated or in the process of being so. Clean freshwater pool with comfy new banana lounges and cushions. Colourful dining area. New activities guy Tooi was great, and has plans for activities. Good snorkeling in the Marine Park nearby. You need to do the $59 Fijian village tour which includes access to the Marine Park. Money goes to the village and must be prebooked. New icecream chest selling Cadbury and NZ icecreams. If you want a busy resort with lots happening all the time, look elsewhere, but if you just want to relax, this may be the place for you. Disliked · Their lack of response to 4 emails I sent after we had checked out. We were there for 4 nights, and had booked a full day/night tour through their tour desk for our last day. On the morning we were to go, I woke with stomach cramping and diarrhea, but not from eating at the resort. We had eaten out for both lunch and dinner the previous day. As we had to cancel, I requested a simple letter stating that, so I could claim the deposit on my travel insurance. I eventually got the letter by emailing Warwick resort. We booked our transfers with their 'taxi's', a comfortable car driven by the driver from the local village. We presumed they would put the cost of $150 Fijian onto our account, but when we arrived the driver asked for cash. We had exchanged some money and paid him. Again, lack of communication, even though I had asked them about this prior to leaving home, but I never got a reply. You need Fijian cash for the taxi if you want to go anywhere, including paying to be taken to an ATM. That said, they aren't rich people, and we could afford an overseas holiday, so didn't mind paying. The continental breakfast is served to you and was adequate. A hot breakfast is available for an extra cost. Meals at the resort are only ok/good. We found some guests went to eat out at local restaurants. We did this twice, again paying for the taxi. The driver was more than happy to stop at the local supermarket on our way to the resort, where we purchased water. $13 Fijian for a box of 12 x 1.5litre bottles. A bargain! So take plenty of local currency. If you do book tours, you'll need to give them 20% commission in cash, with the remainder of the tour paid to the tour company. Our tour balance could have been put on our card, but we never got to go on it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Bula Vinaka Abbycat, Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality. Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home. Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lewis P wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Words cannot explain how beautiful this resort is and how personal, accommodating and welcoming the staff are here! From the minute we arrived which was around 10pm we instantly felt appreciated as the kitchen had stayed open knowing we were scheduled to arrive. The kitchen has a great menu full of cultural dishes, snack food and restaurant food. In complement to that is the bar which we chose to have cocktails most days before/after a massage. The villas we stayed in were exceptionally clean and had recently been renovated. With the friendly team accomodating us with having our rooms next to each other. We participated in a hosted Kava session to learn about Kava and Fiji history, which again was something we will remember for a long time. On our last day today it felt like leaving family. The staff all knew us by name and put in there 150% to make our experience as great as it was. We will definitely be back at some point soon as I have stayed in places multiple other high end resorts before, this is the first one that I will remember for a life time. Bula Vinaka Thank you Lewis Pollock
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring sunscreen so you can catch a great tan by the pool!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Hassan, General Manager at Tambua Sands Beach Resort
Responded 23 Jul 2023
Bula Vinaka Lewis, Thank you so much for taking time out for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had the best stay ever. It is wonderful to hear about the team of Tambua Sands as they do stand out with great Fijian hospitality. Thank you once again for choosing Tambua Sands as your holiday destination. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home. Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sigatoka area.
PRICE RANGE
$185 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tambua sands sigatoka, tambua sands hotel sigatoka
LOCATION
FijiViti LevuCoral CoastSigatoka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAMBUA SANDS BEACH RESORT - Now $187 (Was $̶3̶3̶6̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Sigatoka, Fiji) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tambua Sands Beach Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Tambua Sands Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Tambua Sands Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tambua Sands Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tambua Sands Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tambua Sands Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Tambua Sands Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Tambua Sands Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.