We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Horizon Beach Resort

Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu Fiji
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 11 hostels in Nadi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located directly on the beach at Nadi Bay, Smugglerscove Horizon Backpackers offers a restaurant and bar, plus a swimming pool with sun deck. Free 24-hour airport transfers are provided. Facilities at Smugglerscove Horizon Backpackers Nadi include a barbecue area, 24-hour reception and luggage storage. The tour desk can arrange scuba diving, snorkelling, fishing, kayaking and golf. Guests receive continental breakfast each morning. Accommodation options range from dormitory rooms with shared bathroom facilities to private rooms with en suite bathroom. Some have ocean views. Cove Cafe offers pizzas, Fijian and European dishes, vegetarian meals and regular barbecue nights. The bar offers live entertainment every night. The local bus picks up and drops off directly in front of Smugglerscove Horizon backpackers throughout the day.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
83Reviews0Q+A20Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 21
  • 19
  • 11
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
daf57 wrote a review May 2018
Adelaide, Australia708 contributions241 helpful votes
I have stayed at Horizon Beach Resort, Smuggler`s Cove three times. It is a budget hotel and the cost is for the room (as opposed to "each"). Breakfast is included.The beach is about 50m away. A variety of aquatics activities are available. The quaint local bus stops out the front and connects Smuggler`s Cove, Nadi, Denaru and other local stops..........simply ask the usually obliging driver. Rooms are clean, reasonably spacious for two people, quiet and well priced at approximately $F50 per night. Horizon also has a restaurant and bar. Their meals are generous and well priced.........mostly under $F15 and drinks are also very affordable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Renting a car is an efficient way to see plenty of Fiji.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Katie B wrote a review Jan 2017
Adeje, Spain19 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed here in a private room and it was very clean with good facilities! We stayed at bamboo the first night we got to Nadi and after it being full on the second night we came over to horizon which was the same price. The air con was lovely after it being a fan room in bamboo and the room felt a lot newer. We enjoyed our stay that much we returned once we had finished our island hopping. The staff were lovely and the food was excellent. I'd definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort
Responded 19 Jan 2017
Bula Katie B, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Smugglers Cove . I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Vinaka Mary Vunakece
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark W wrote a review Oct 2016
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia157 contributions12 helpful votes
The staff are wonderful & that is what many of us have come to expect from Fiji. The air con works well & the mattress is comfortable so if a good nights sleep is all you are looking for then look no further. The facilities on the other hand are run down so if the aesthetics are important to you then this place is a bit of an eye sore. Wifi is slow to painfully slow if it works at all.Breakfast though included is a disappointment. Watermelon, bread & jam sum it up.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort
Responded 31 Oct 2016
Our thanks Mark W for your fair review following your stay. Horizon has one the best deals with accommodation around this vicinity and rates include the very basic breakfast with breakfast ala cart options available to select from. Yes if you are on a tight budget for a comfortable bed, this is the right place especially when you get access to all activities offered on the beach by sister resort Smugglers Cove. VInaka.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Macolo3 wrote a review Oct 2016
189 contributions48 helpful votes
Horizon is the same price as Bamboo but you get much less space, a lower level of cleanliness and if you're really lucky (like me) bed bugs. The staff at Bamboo are welcoming, upbeat and chatty. The staff at Horizon seem a bit moody. To be fair on Horizon, they dealt with my bed bug issue quite well and allowed me to use their industrial pesticide spray for my belongings & move room. I appreciate that it's hard for a budget hostel to keep the bed bugs out and I'm sure Bamboo have their fair share of problems too but their whole place is cleaner. Horizon offers breakfast in their price which Bamboo don't but the breakfast is nothing special. Literally some coffee, toast, jam and watermelon. You can get the same for $5 in Bamboo. Also, Horizon had no working wifi when I was there. I had to walk to Smugglers to use there's, which you could do just as easily from Bamboo. If you're looking for good value for money, an inclusive and friendly atmosphere and a clean space for the night - don't bother with Horizon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort
Responded 19 Oct 2016
We regret your stay was not as comfortable as you would have liked. Horizon is our more intimate and most affordable option and even the $5 makes a huge difference to many of our stayers that greatly appreciate the free breakfast. You easily obtained a combined deal, i.e. more quite with your own complimentary amenities if you need or, enjoy the free activities down on the beach and free amenities at our sister resort Smugglers Cove only a few minutes walk. Bugs issue is experienced everywhere as it is brought in by new travelers even with our rotation eradication processes and most places would not bother to assist you preferring to get rid of new findings. We trust you had a safe trip back home. Vinaka.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
melandmike2016 wrote a review Sept 2016
London, United Kingdom22 contributions12 helpful votes
The woman on the reception was very friendly! and was running the reception and restaurant all by herself! she was lovely! The bedroom however was terrible! The sheets were old and bobbly and the room had just been fumigated for bed bugs. The mattress was very uncomfortbale and the bathroom was disgusting! but it was extremely cheap!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort
Responded 19 Oct 2016
Our thanks melandmike2016 for your review following your stay. We offer better rooms than the standard however it is an option for the low budget travelers but it is kept clean and comfortable. It should not have been released if it had just been fumigated of which we apologise for. Vinaka.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Aliciachris wrote a review Sept 2016
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom28 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
I am someone that reads up on everything before I stay/eat there and I am shocked that people haven't written enough reviews for this place so I will write a truthful review on my experience here. Me and my boyfriend are travelling around for a year so yes we stayed here just for somewhere cheap but soon regretted it once we had arrived. The woman on reception was so rude and you know it's going to be bad when she pre warns you that once you see the room you cannot get a refund. We stayed in a private room with an en suite. Best way to describe the room would be to say it's like a prison it's extremely dated and so dirty!! I had to barricade the door and any holes in the wall etc as we had cockroaches lizards and ants everywhere we even saw a exterminator working in the rooms next to us!! There are dogs next to us which bark all night so sleep isn't the best and people are extremely loud we are young and like to have fun but we have respect! The kitchen that the food is cooked in looks disgusting so we never once ate there and for a hostel there was absolutely no atmosphere what so ever! Don't be fooled by free wi-fi only works at reception and again it's extremely slow so no point even having it to be honest. The breakfast is just watermelon and toast and the plates and glasses where dirty so I just bought cereal and ate the fruit. The only positives we had was you can use smugglers cove next door and Sue, Marcus and Mila the people that organise the trips for you were extremely helpful and always said good morning which was nice. I hope this helps some people on choosing this place unless you have no money and this is all you can afford I would NOT recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort
Responded 19 Oct 2016
Bula Aliciachris and our thanks for the feedback following your stay. I have to disagree about the room payment refund. You always have the choice to see the room first before agreeing to a purchase. You will of course be advised of cancellation policy at the time as well. Our standard rooms have ceiling fans and cost the lowest around this vicinity however it is kept clean and comfortable otherwise we would be liable to having it out on sale. You also have other options above the standard rooms to choose from. We are however glad you took advantage of the Smugglers Cove amenities as part of the deal. Vinaka.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NE_teacher wrote a review Jun 2016
Manchester, United Kingdom19 contributions8 helpful votes
I just got back from staying with my friend for 4 nights. The 8 bed girls room was exactly how we expected for the cheap price - beds were alright and come with a blanket. The shower was a bit grimy but expected from a hostel. Everyone working there was really friendly and breakfast of toast and fruit was great in the mornings. Nice little hostel and literally one minute from the beach and using the facilities at Smugglers next door is brilliant - Joe who runs activities is amazing, absolutely brilliant and you have a great time. If I come back to Nadi, I'd be happy to stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort
Responded 15 Oct 2016
Our thanks GirlOnHoliday for your great review of our product. Horizon is another option to save up. It has its own pool and facilities and you get access to amenities and activities on the beach at Smugglers Cove our sister resort as well. We have taken note of some of your comments for further improvement. VInaka.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
agnes a wrote a review Jun 2016
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Me and my friend was looking for a place to stay for only one night and we found this place cheap, safe and life savior people. Thanks to the lady and the guy (both Fijians) working on Monday night, 13th June for their great help and letting us to stay in there hotel for the night. (sorry I can't remember your names) Don't worry I will come back next week and stay there for the weekend before I fly to Samoa. Horizon is a cheap, quiet and convenient place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: higher floors room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort
Responded 14 Aug 2016
Many thanks Agnes A for your kind review following your stay. Horizon Backpackers and Travel Center is one of the most established backpackers in Nadi for the past 20 and so years. Convenient, affordable, and easy access to the beach and travel around Fiji due to the experienced staffs. Vinaka.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Meish Soon wrote a review May 2016
6 contributions3 helpful votes
We were (4 people) came to the reception to check the room availability on 25 and 26 May night.The reception lady Lucy told us there are girls dorm available so we decided to book it for two nights. PS: Lucy did inform us she wanted to offer us a 4 bed dorm room which is room 101 but unfortunately there is bed bugs problem so it need to shut down for 3 days spraying. So the next day when we check in, another reception lady Ula put us in room 101 which have bed bugs problem. They guaranteed there are no bed bugs left and we can sleep in the room, we feel bit unsafe as this is not what we heard from Lucy (Ula was been very rude and told us we can move to another hostel if we don't want the room) Anyway, we decided not to argue and take the room, and we are expected a two nights stay in the same room. The next day morning after breakfast, Ula told us to move to another room 206 as they have another guests wanna stay in this room for longer time. The last minute inform cause us delay our 8am day trip schedule as we got to check out and check in again and repack all our luggage. After we get back from our day trip,we noticed there are more than one bed bugs crawling on our beds and my friends was getting the bed bugs bite. They wanted to move us to another room again but we refuse to do so as we don't want to stay in Horizon anymore. Luckily the Duty manager made some arrangement and move us to Smugglers Cove's room. It was our last two nights in Fiji but it's our worst nights with all the attitude/bed bugs/management problems. Conclusion : PLEASE DO NOT stay here if you have another options.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort
Responded 14 Aug 2016
We duly apologise for the service you experienced whilst staying with us. Just wanted to let you know your comments have been taken up and proper measures have been taken to ensure clear and proper briefing is done in the future. We cannot avoid bed bugs in Fiji altogether as they are continually brought in by guests that travels with it in their belongings and we can only ensure put measures to attempt control with circulating room treatment every week especially in our cold weather. Vinaka.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Viki B wrote a review May 2016
88 contributions10 helpful votes
Cheaper that other hostels when we stayed but price went up after and I wouldn't pay the new price as other hostels in the area are a lot better. The large 14 bed fan dorm is like a sweat box , some fans didn't rotate and one didn't work. Man fell from top bunk and caught leg blood all over the floor took 5 times of asking staff and 2 hours later for them to clean the blood up. Breakfast was included Can't imagine the shower has been cleaned for years and the shower head was broken
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort
Responded 27 May 2016
We regret your experience Viki B. We are also very unhappy to learn of the accident nor our intention to delay treatment that was in dire need. We are not sure what eventuated but there's a patrolling security usually around to assist with emergencies. Dorms prices are most affordable from F$12.00 or varies according to availability as how the system works. We have taken up some of your comments for immediate attention. Vinaka.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nadi area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
horizon backpackers & travel centre hotel nadi, horizon backpackers and travel centre
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre
LOCATION
FijiViti LevuNadi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HORIZON BEACH RESORT - Hostel Reviews (Nadi, Fiji) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Horizon Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Horizon Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Fiji Culture Village (5.8 km), Sabeto Hot Springs and Mud Pool (7.9 km), and Port Denarau Marina (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Horizon Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Horizon Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Horizon Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Waitui Bar & Grill, Solis Restaurant & Suka Bar, and Bazaar Kitchen & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Horizon Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.