We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dolphin Island

avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#64 of 100 hotels in Viti Levu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located just 20 minutes by boat from shore, on the tip of Viti Levu, Fiji, Dolphin Island nestles like a precious jewel, surrounded by crystal-clear waters. Following arrival at Nadi International Airport, guests can travel for 2.5 hours by private car (included within tariff), or choose to transfer by float plane or helicopter to Dolphin Island. The island's own private boat will then transfer guests to their own private island retreat where on arrival, they will be immediately enveloped by the beauty and luxurious accommodation that awaits.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Infinity pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Kids pool
Spa
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Walking tours
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour check-in
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Room service
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Seating area
Separate living room
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English

Location

20 Minutes Off Rakiraki, Viti Levu Fiji
11Reviews2Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Stewart H wrote a review Mar 2024
Hamilton, New Zealand17 contributions23 helpful votes
We went to Dolphin Island for our 30 th wedding anniversary. 6 nights of luxury and we cannot recommend the resort enough. Dawn, Maxine, Bunny and the crew looked after us so well, attentive to our needs but not overly so. The food was truly excellent, the only problem being we ate too much of Dawn’s cooking, and probably put on a number of kilograms. The accommodation and combined areas are lovely, sunsets, snorkeling and the serenity cannot be matched. We loved it so much we’re going back next year.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Magi, Marketing at Dolphin Island
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Stu, we are thrilled you both had such a great trip. It was a pleasure to welcome you, thank you for the review and yes Dawn's cooking can be a problem, a good problem to have - we would love to welcome you back for your 31 ST year, kindest regards Susan and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Darren E wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Starting with the booking process, the service was great. They organized memories that no one can ever take away from us. The Nabelasere Waterfall, the diving and especially Dolphin Island. All very special. If you want a first class vacation where you will be pampered and cared for, this is a great place to do that. However. that description does not do the Dolphin Island experience justice. It is authentic. There are so many places in this world that you can just throw money to get great service surrounded in a bubble. The experiences at Dolphin Island embrace not only the beauty of Fiji but also the inner beauty of its people. Dawn and her team are amazing and real people. They made my daughter feel like the smartest and most beautiful young woman on this planet. If you want real and not just a place to throw your wallet, this is the place. If you treat the people with kindness and respect, you may he amazed at what you get back-something that money cannot buy. Thank you Dawn, Susan and the team.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Magi, Marketing at Dolphin Island
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Darren and Emily thank you so so much for your very kind world it was wonderful to welcome you to the island and work with you form the beginning to make this a special holiday for you both. Take care and look forward to seeing you again in the future, kindest regards Susan, Dawn and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kalistef wrote a review Jan 2019
16 contributions6 helpful votes
Spectacular location and very nice acommodation! We absolutely agree that the star of the place is Down, with the help of Andie, Te and La. we loved every minute despite the rain! We felt so cozy here we didn't pay attention to alything else. A home away from home! The food was fantastic - fresh, and I mean really fresh fish with locally grown vegetables, lovingly prepared. We couldn't wish for more!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
golfatola wrote a review Apr 2018
phoenix13 contributions3 helpful votes
But the star of the show is Dawn. She runs the place and nobody does it better. Whatever you want, Dawn will make it happen. Loved the paddleboards, snorkeling, and little sailboat. Right out your front door. The island had been hit by a severe hurricane and foliage had been greatly impacted. But by now it is surely back. We visited in November 2016!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tash L, Sales and Marketing at Dolphin Island
Responded 22 Apr 2018
Dear Golfatola, Many thanks for your kind feedback, we truly appreciate you taking the time and will be sure to pass this onto Dawn and the team at Dolphin Island. We look forward in having you stay again at Dolphin Island. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
islander02 wrote a review Aug 2017
Australia2 contributions24 helpful votes
We chose Dolphin Island over other Fiji destinations with high expectations given it's association with Huka Lodge NZ. It did not deliver though. The staff were lovely and attentive, the interior decorating impressive, but it stops there. The owners of the island seem happy to receive income without commitment to their Huka Lodge standards. Gastroenteritis/food poisoning on day 6/7 made the situation worse and plans to travel home impossible. Very disappointing and we will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tash L, General Manager at Dolphin Island
Responded 29 Aug 2017
Dear islander02 We thank you for your review and honesty we were surprised by the content given that we have always had such positive feedback about experiences at Dolphin Island; reinforced by a loyal number of return guests. Whilst we do have a sister property in New Zealand we are proud to offer at Dolphin Island an authentic and truely Fijian experience which showcases the very best produce, seafood and service that Fiji can offer. I also understand that you were unwell on your last night with us, of course this was unfortunate and I am gratified to hear that we were able to secure a doctor at short notice. Although the nature of this illness may never be determined, we trust it was a quick recovery. In closing I have observed that your review history, notes similar comments in what we consider a similar level of quality property in Fiji. I would like to politely suggest that if you are considering a future stay you contact us so that we can determine the best way to deliver the experience you desire. Kerry Molloy General Manager The Huka Retreats
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leah W wrote a review Nov 2016
Los Angeles, California39 contributions71 helpful votes
Dolphin Island is a magical place. It is a private island paradise, with a max of 8 (4 rooms) total. The magic of DI, is the staff - namely Ms. Dawn, who is an absolute gem of a General Manager. She takes such amazing care of the guests and makes sure that every details is managed to create a perfect experience for you. The rooms are wonderful - well furnished, comfortable. The bathrooms are wonderful too. Large tubs, outdoor shower option. The food is exceptional and the decor of the main living area (public area) is just exquisitely decorated with artifacts and tasteful decor. There are wonderful water activities included on property and a lovely traditional performers that come the night prior to departure to entertain. Dolphin is truly a wonderful getaway for those seeking privacy and small, intimate setting. Perfect for family reunions or couples that want to get away - and have a 'buyout" of the property. It's amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There are 4 rooms! None is a bad room! All heavenly!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Traveler400584 wrote a review Nov 2016
10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We began our honeymoon at Huka Lodge then headed to Dolphin Island. We stayed with Dawn and her crew for 4 days during our honeymoon. We have been all over the world and this was our best experience to date. Dawn and Vulo were true gems. Between the amazing lobster tails at every meal to the over the top breakfast display, this team makes you feel blissful and relaxed. If you are looking for a perfect getaway Dolphin Island is for you. Highlights: -stunning rooms that are cleaned and maintained multiple times a day -tapas fabric making class -food! Food! Food! -hand-line fishing experience -island snorkeling and kayaking -friendly and welcoming staff that makes you feel right at home -weather -Fiji dancers performing -we could go on and on We will be back next year for our anniversary!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Doug L wrote a review Sept 2016
Sydney, Australia6 contributions8 helpful votes
My Wife and I have recently returned from Dolphin Island and trying to explain it to other people really does not do it justice, in fact trying to write a review will probably not do it justice but here we go. Arriving by seaplane we were greeted at the jetty by the delightful Dawn and the rest of the staff. I enquired as to how many other guests were staying on the Island only to find out that we had misunderstood the situation and we were the only guests on the island !!. Dawn explained that we were "home" and to treat the resort as such. Suffice it to say after we had been taken to our absolutely exquisite room and had then sat own to a beautiful prepared lunch and subsequently had kicked back enjoying a very nice Chardonnay staring out across the bay we really started to get our minds around the situation. Dawn explained that breakfast was when we wanted it, lunch was when we wanted it and dinner was when we wanted it and anything we wanted in between was by no means a problem. We stayed at the resort for 4 days and 5 nights and the days just rolled beautifully along with exquisite meals, beautiful wines, fantastic service and just a general dose of Fijian charm at it best. My wife and I have been fortunate to stay in some very fine resorts and hotels all around the world but this place is something else. The attention to detail is as good as it gets, the accommodation is absolutely first class as is the main Bure at which you take your meals, relax on the lounge, make a menace of yourself around the kitchen and lounge by the pool. All of the staff were lovely and I wish I could have taken Vulo home as I got very used to the endless glass of wine served with a smile and a laugh !!. On the last night we were treated to our own private Fijian dance display and a fabulous traditional feast which really topped off what was a magical magical stay. Noone could write a review about this place however without making special mention of Dawn. What a host. Gracious, professional, warm, hilariously funny and the most amazing cook.................she's got the lot. Not a lot more we can say other than just go there and find out for yourself. You simply could not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
marisaforestry wrote a review Aug 2016
London, United Kingdom8 contributions7 helpful votes
To stay at Dolphin Island you basically book the whole island out - it can fit up to 8 people but I stayed with just one other person and had it all to ourselves. The rooms are brilliant - we stayed in a gorgeous bure which was beautifully decorated in turquoise, white, washed wood, shells and had a huge bed. The bathroom was also fantastic as it has two sides with incredible mirrors made out of shells, a bath in thee centre which allows you to look out onto the sea and an outdoor shower as well as indoor. The central building is both gorgeous and cosy with huge sofas inside, dining both in and out and then it goes out into a private infinity pool and soft bed sun loungers. Nothing was disappointing about Dolphin Island - they were still recovering from the major cyclone in terms of land repair but that did not detract from the beauty - turquoise sea all around, mountains in the distance, great look outs with views for miles and lots of different places to sit and take it all in. Everywhere you go there are towels, drink coolers filled and equipment for snorkelling etc. The best bit is the hospitality all run by a last called Dawn who is charming, organised and seems to telepathically know what you want. She is an excellent cook even managing to cater for my vegan diet despite late notice and my companion had the best fish, prawns and so on and endless amounts of it. We felt like we did not stop eating for our entire stay! Dawn was brilliant at knowing when to be around and when not to be so we felt like we had privacy and yet she catered for us consistently. Dolphin Island is not cheap but it fully lives up to expectations and if you spend the money you will come back feeling it was well spent and that you have created some unforgettable memories. I would fully recommend a night here so you can experience living like royalty in your own island with everything you could wish for.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jason G wrote a review Aug 2016
1 contribution5 helpful votes
We chose Dolphin Island as the place to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary along with some close friends. It was an unforgettable experience, one that will truly be remembered for years to come. The accommodation is first class, the food unbelievable but most of all the staff and attention to detail is second to nothing I have experienced before. I can not speak highly enough of the resort and its people. Stunning in every way..........!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Viti Levu area.
LOCATION
FijiViti Levu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOLPHIN ISLAND - Hotel Reviews (Viti Levu, Fiji) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dolphin Island
What are some of the property amenities at Dolphin Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Dolphin Island?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, extra long beds, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Dolphin Island?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dolphin Island?
Yes, guests have access to an infinity pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dolphin Island?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Dolphin Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.