Happy House Hostel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Happy House Hostel

Área da piscina
Traveller (217)
Balcony
Room & Suite (35)
Guests kitchen
Dining (31)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#5 of 125 hostels in Santiago
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese

Location

Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493 Chile
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 89 out of 100
89
Arturo Merino Benitez Airport
13.1 km
See all flights
Los Héroes Alessandri Rodriguez
5 minSantiago Metro
Los Héroes
5 minSantiago Metro
900Reviews18Q+A95Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 433
  • 315
  • 92
  • 43
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
annecaroline011 wrote a review May 2022
Sao Paulo, SP31 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a lovely stay, good size twin room, nice bathroom and cool casual atmosphere.
They managed to put us in contact with tour places and there was lots os things and bars to go close by.
I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ricardo Esponda, Director General at Happy House Hostel
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Guest, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
markotas wrote a review Feb 2012
18 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very Nice Place to stay! Confy and a very competent staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
saratreetravels wrote a review Feb 2012
El Bolson, Argentina3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Happy House lives up to its name in every regard. Situated in a gorgeous building, Happy House is full of brightly painted walls; sunny, high-ceilinged rooms; comfortable groupings of eclectic couches; and the friendliest staff I have ever encountered.

The neighborhood is full of fun little bars and restaurants, and the hostel is only a few blocks from the Metro. The hostel was so quiet, it practically begged you to relax... and relaxing was made even easier when done by the pool. I woke up every morning to an incredible view of the city from the enormous window in my dorm room. The price was incredibly reasonable (the cheapest we found!), and yet this hostel is the most beautiful we have ever stayed at.

¡Muchísimas gracias, Happy House, y esperamos que nos vemos otra vez! :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jarrod L wrote a review Feb 2015
Melbourne, Australia151 contributions93 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Happy House Hostel was our Vietnam War, chaotic, unorganised, and violent. Staff weren't what is to be expected when arriving to a hostel. After being moved several times in order to clean our rooms, although the people that had made the reservations werent coming until midnight, we had to move our bags from level 3 to level 1, three times in two days, in order for housekeeping to clean the room, when a simple room manoeuvre would have been sufficient. Management made an effort to meet us halfway although the following days more problems continued. When the fridge had no beers, coke or even water we were told we couldn't bring in our own beers to have with dinner. It was like we had done something wrong before we got there, it was strange.
In the final afternoon, things heated up. We decided to have a few drinks and were met with pure hostility, It must have been at least 2pm so I could understand why you can't raise your voice to laugh, theres people either sleeping in, or heading to be early, as you need to have 17 hours sleep before hitting the walking tour.
Needless to say that the evening was a disaster, they took our honest apology as sarcasm and held us responsible for around 20 people enjoying the afternoon sun.
Although there was a few downfalls and this hostel has run its race in my book. There are a number of things that are fantastic about the hostel that I should share. The building is magnificent offering a grand estate from the reception to upstairs, outside to the pool and bar area, and a clean kitchen.
The rooms are clean and quaint, and all housekeeping and some of the staff are extremely friendly.
the pool is clean and in a great area, a bit more of a relaxed attitude towards the night would be great. Breakfast is prepared extremely well and offered up at a reasonable time. The movie room is also comfortable, although no staff have any idea about the remotes, dvd player, or tv.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Somewhere downstairs as the wifi is horrible above the second floor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel
Responded 12 Feb 2015
Dear Jarrod, Not much to say about your comment here, I just going to write true story about your stay with us in a couple of sentences and the rest of the people can judge by themselves. The first day you arrived without a reservation we unfortunately couldn`t tell the kind of behavior you were going to show to annoy and disturb all our guests. We can understand that 4 young friends travelling around southamerica want to have fun, however, the lack of respect It is something we can not tolerate. You were yelling until very late the 2 nights you stayed without any consideration for the rest of the people sleeping in their rooms. You made a mess in your room, breaking several things in it and around the hostel too. You were jumping into the swimming pool from the terraces without thinking how dangerous it can be just for the fact your were totally drunk, showing also your "private parts" to the guests around. You were outside to bring more beers wearing underwear. We actually adviced you not to do that because you can be arrested by the police, anyway you didn`t care. We finally had to call the police at the same time that you recognized you were acting like "monkeys". We hope you remember you all owe us a glass, the one you broke with a fist when you left the hostel, being angry because we had to call the police because your horrible behavior. Please don`t come back ever ....
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
asaxtron wrote a review Jul 2011
Alexandria, Virginia13 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed in several hostels in Barrio Brasil and Stgo at large, and this was my first disappointment. The evening staff are rarely at the desk; we had to wait to be let in and at 1:30am another visitor had to ring and knock for 30 minutes, waking everyone but the staff. Shower was room temperature at best so I washed my hair in the sink, and the window panels in the door do not close well, so we had limited privacy. The towels had holes in them. Breakfast was also fairly sad, with white loaf bread rather than the rolls most hostels have, and sliced meat and cheese that had sat out long enough to get dry.

In Barrio Brasil alone there are several great alternatives at lower rates. If you like the idea of staying in a restored building, Casa Roja on Augustinas is equally beautiful without any drawbacks and a better atmosphere. The HI hostel a few blocks over is nice too, as is Hostal Santa Lucia 168, though they are in modern buildings. I'm not a picky traveller, and I've loved everywhere else I've stayed. Just wanted to warn people before you shell out like I did thinking it will be a higher quality hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam W wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at three Happy House Hostel for three nights in a private room. The hostel is in a very neat old building with nice amenities such as the pool, bar, and outdoor lounging area. The folks who work at the hostel were all very nice and accommodating and the guests were friendly as well. Highly recommend this hostel for travelers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel
Responded 13 Dec 2019
Dear Guest, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alexander wrote a review Nov 2019
Gaimersheim, Germany9 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect place for a visit of Santiago. Clean rooms. The rooms located to the street are a little loud! The hostal is near located to the center. Very good reachable with the airport bus. A lot of restaurants in the near.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't choose a room to the street.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel
Responded 27 Nov 2019
Dear Koe, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pedro V wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hostel was great! The area by the pool was quite nice and relaxing and the staff was very friendly. Nicolás who works at the front desk was extremely helpful and made our stay very easy. Among other things, he helped us book a tour to Cajón del Maipo under very short notice, which was awesome!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel
Responded 15 Nov 2019
Dear Pedro, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SKTraveler_59 wrote a review Nov 2018
Regina, Canada39 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was a matrimonial suite on the main floor near the reception desk. This meant that late check ins were very easily heard, enough to waken us at night. The floors in the place are very old and squicky and heard at night. The rooms were very clean and the shower had plenty of hot water. All of the outdoor patio spaces were smoking areas often with full ash trays. The continental breakfast was not fancy, but was adequate.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to stay away from front desk which is noisy with a late check in.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel
Responded 7 Nov 2018
Dear Guest, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ajax1971 wrote a review Jul 2018
Auckland, New Zealand26 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my second time staying at the hostel with a large group. The service that Ricardo offered before we arrived was most helpful, with clear instructions and many useful tips. We unfortunately arrived late to the hostel, due to LAN cancelling our flight. But the hostel rooms we had were very comfortable and well appointed. We all had a good nights rest. The rest of the group loved the place. The breakfast was simply superb and soo much too eat.

Thank you Ricardo for making our stay in Santiago a highlight of the trip.
Looking forward to coming in December.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel
Responded 30 Jul 2018
Dear John, It´s always a pleasure to me to be able to help you and your groups. It was nice to see you again and I hope you can make it in December. Thanks a lot for the excelent evaluation and comments. Warm regards from the entire Happy House Hostel team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santiago area.
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
happy house hotel santiago
LOCATION
ChileSantiago Metropolitan RegionSantiago
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAPPY HOUSE HOSTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Santiago, Chile) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Happy House Hostel
What are some of the property amenities at Happy House Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Happy House Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Happy House Hostel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Happy House Hostel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Happy House Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Portuguese.
All Santiago HotelsSantiago Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SantiagoHotels near Happy House Hostel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire