Darwin House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Darwin House

Traveller (76)
Wildlife abounds just outside the garden
Room & Suite (27)
Full English Breakfast
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 guest houses in East Falkland
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Darwin, East Falkland F1QQ 1ZZ Falkland Islands
Getting there
Mount Pleasant Airport
33.8 km
See all flights
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
82Reviews4Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 19
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
997Scotty wrote a review Feb 2020
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent the night here whilst completing the circular drive around East Falkland. This lodge is situated in the rather quirky settlement of Darwin. Darwin House has achieved high standards and the owners will make every effort to make sure that you will have a pleasant stay. We did enjoy a relaxing time in the conservatory looking out over the water, drinking red wine. If you do decide to stay here then you should visit the rather forlorn and isolated Bodie Creek Suspension Bridge. Pop into the Gallery Cafe in Goose Green for a cup of tea. Well worth a visit. The 15 minute drive was over rough terrain but on arrival you will have seen the most southerly suspension bridge in the world. The bridge spectacularly stands out in the desolation around you. Darwin House is situated near to Goose Green. Further along the gravel road you should make a stop at San Carlos. There are poignant memorials along the way that remember the brave servicemen who died whilst liberating the islands.
The hinterland of East Falkland is very remote. Distances are deceiving. Make sure that you are properly equipped and enjoy 'the moment'.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
holidayfan55 wrote a review Jan 2020
Romford Essex
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our second stay at this lovely lodge. The conservatory has to be the jewel! So nice to sit with a pint of the local brew and watch all manner of wild life in the lovely garden. The location is so peaceful. The honesty bar is, as ever, well stocked. Anton and Dolly really do offer a warm and friendly welcome. Food was nice but could be improved upon and my only observation about the room was that there were very few sockets, which in this day and age are a must. Also the shaver socket in the bathroom didn't work. The dressing table had a large mirror but nowhere close to plug a hair dryer into.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HilaryMay wrote a review Dec 2010
Vina del Mar, Chile
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent a week in the Falklands Islands and our last two nights were at Darwin House, currently being run by Fiona and Graham Didlick. The accommodation was fantastic - clean, comfortable and cosy - it felt like home. We ate very well, all Fiona's home cooking, plus tea and cookies, squares and tarts every time we came in from our excursions. The only tiny improvement would be a softer bed :) We are already planning to return to the Falklands for longer as we felt we didn't get to see everything the Islands have to offer. The wildlife was amazing, and everyone we met was warm and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BostonBotany wrote a review Apr 2011
Boston, Massachusetts
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I could not discourage people from staying here enough! I had a wonderful trip to the Falklands with amazing experiences, unfortunately I cannot count my experience at Darwin House among them. My problems with this establishment began when I made a reservation, and, like a fool, paid for the reservation before I actually stayed here (fyi rates are very expensive compared to comparable lodging in the Falklands). My plans changed and when I needed to cancel my reservation (well in advance of the date) they told me they were keeping 100% of my money.
My need to return home unexpectedly meant that I had to cancel or alter other reservations. No other establishment even asked for a cancellation fee. What makes it worse is that Darwin House has no written or available cancellation policy. Not only did they keep all of my money, I later found out they double booked part of my time. I was told they were keeping my money because my cancellation had cost them other business, which turned out to be bogus. Stay here at your own risk and know that you may be subject to such arbitrary and, in my opinion, predatory "service" like I received. How else to describe a hotel that has kept nearly $600 of my money when my cancellation violated no policy and apparently cost them no business?
There are a wealth of wonderful lodging options in the Falklands - THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM!!!!! Expect the customer service of a corporate chain and rudeness to boot!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DarwinHouse, Owner at Darwin House
Responded 22 Apr 2011
This reviewer made a booking and paid a deposit to a travel agency that has a clearly stated cancellation policy. When he cancelled his tour the agency applied this policy to funds that they held. We know that the reviewer is furious that his funds were retained but this is a contractual issue between him and his travel agent. This has been explained to him previously in email correspondence. He has asked us for cash in exchange for withdrawing his review. To correct some of the points made: we did not double book the reviewer's room; our rates are comparable to other similar establishments in the Falkland Islands; we have a cancellation policy that applies to bookings made directly with us. To visit the Falkland Islands is an amazing experience and can be done safely and with confidence in the local tourism businesses and accommodation providers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MMartinda wrote a review Feb 2018
Camden, Maine
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My first visit to the Falklands, and I made all the bookings on my own, via the internet. I found the Darwin House on the Falklands main website. Anton and Dolly, the current caretakers of this very comfortable B&B, were terrific. I stayed 2 nights. They picked me up at the airport, and, when I left, they drove me around the corner to the local grass airstrip for FIGAS - the Falklands air taxi service that flies amongst all the islands. Darwin itself is picturesque. The house is on the water, with very few farmhouses nearby, a good road, and views from every window. It is very well-appointed for travelers — I’m in my 50s, traveling alone, and found it as comfortable for me as visitors older and younger (including a young couple and baby) than me. There’s a big living room, lots of books, TV, and internet access (this is available throughout touristic places in the FAlklands by buying cards that have access codes. I spent one day hiking and climbing Mt Usborne - Anton packed me a great lunch, and provided plenty of water for me to take there. Their assistant came with me to show me the way, at my request. Everything was very easy. Other visitors spent their day(s) exploring the history of the island, and reported that those tours were outstanding, informative and fun. At the Darwin House - and what really made it excellent for me: strong water pressure, plenty of hot water, incredibly comfortable beds and lovely bedding, big spacious room, insulated walls — the sounds did NOT travel! The house is really solid and comfortable. There are big windows opening out onto beautiful views with lovely light breeze billowing the curtains in the evening (I could also close the windows - airtight - if I wanted, of course), and really really good food. Anton spent about 5 hours preparing slow-cook lamb — lamb is a specialty of the Falklands — and this was just absolutely priceless! I’m sure that special dietary requests would be respected, too, if the caretakers are informed ahead of time. Great breakfast - hot, cold - and there are drinks such as tea, coffee, etc available all day anytime. There were 2 adorable sheep hanging out and a flock of flightless birds, and some upland geese on the property. I visited an old suspension bridge - the most southern suspension bridge in the world - and it was worth seeing, for the bridge but more for the birds on the water around it. Anton was very responsive to my many questions prior to my arrival - including an accurate local weather report - and I found he and Dolly and their assistant so very helpful — without being intrusive, overbearing, or overly chatty. Loved it. When I go back to the Falklands, I’d stay at Darwin House for my first stop off the plane. A couple of nights there makes a really good base from which to travel to the outer islands, and would be a good place to use as a “home base” if I were going to be in the Falklands for longer than the week I spent there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask for the corner room upstairs- but all rooms are good and there is a 1st floor room available...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jangus55 wrote a review Jan 2013
Birmingham
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights at Darwin House and they were the the most disappointing of our 8 days in the Falklands . The house is in a lovely location in a small settlement . Our room had an excellent view over the water.....but... The whole house is seriously in need of refurbishment . Our rooms were cold and dreary with no comfort whatsoever. The bathroom was well past it's best with only a Bath.....my husband had to use the communal bathroom down the hall as he prefers to shower. The walls were paper thin as we could hear our fellow guests talking in their room .I never felt comfortable whilst in the house. I enjoyed my breakfasts there but I found having to share a table with other guests and there being no choice with the menu very stressful. All evening meals were 3 courses .The first evening we were served for our main course...Sausages and Mash..a bottle of Wine which was ordered came out in a very fancy decanter but was wine from a tetra pack! It tasted like cooking wine. Obviously in the Falklands there are few choices for travellers and that night my husband ,son and myself all retired to bed feeling rather deflated.and still hungry !. On the second day we arranged to go out in the afternoon with Graham in his 4x4 on a Battlefield Tour. This was excellent and away from the house Graham was an informed and animated tour guide. The second night we were the only guests staying at the Lodge. We had a much better meal and only drank a G&T from the Honesty Bar . I was glad to drive away from Darwin House.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Only 2 rooms have a en suite bathroom.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PolarBear wrote a review Feb 2018
Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice welcoming B&B. Arriving from Chile, we were taken straight to Dawin which was a good idea. Only stayed one night, comfortable, newly renovated room, good food (fudge dessert too big portion and much too sweet, though) but otherwise just to our liking. Our next day transfer to Bleaker Island worked well. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peter b wrote a review Feb 2016
Manchester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the welcome at Mount Pleasant airport, to the interesting and informative drive to Darwin House with Alex?, I felt immediately at home for my first night on the Falklands. Freshly made tea and coffee, not to mention the mountain of home made cakes and biscuits greeted us we relaxed in the lounge/conservatory overlooking the magnificent waters and distant mountains.
Pre dinner, I walked to the monument commemorating Colonel H Jones. Do take waterproofs/good boots.. what started of as a bit of drizzle did not let up!
The food was excellent, plentiful and to be commended. Drinks were available and reasonably priced... as they were most of the Island's accommodation.
The room too was warm, comfortable and clean with a roomy en-suite. The 'shoes off' on arrival is an appropriate way to ensure the dirt stays outside.
Departure was an experience. Bags weighed, 'phone call received from the aeroplane coordinators checking on the weather conditions, and the grass field cleared of sheep for the landing, enabled a brief glance at the village of Goose Green. It was here that I learnt that Al, the host, was ex military. If I return, my visit will be longer, and I will take advantage of Al's battlefield tour.
Even after one night I was sad to leave such a warm and welcoming family of hosts... if only I had known this pre booking..
Many thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teruce wrote a review Jan 2015
Hong Kong, China
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was not my preference when I was planning for my Falklands trip but I was told by my travel agent that it was good and so I took it. Eevntually I found that my agent was right and I was wrong. The food quality was superb overall and the staff serving me all had a heart to perform a good job at all times though they were all extremely busy given the small staff size relative to the number of visitors and rooms. I managed to take nice shots of birds through my windows overlooking the sea and the sunset scenes were just unforgettable and attractions on top of the birds and hares that people could see from the house and outside. My room was very very spacious, cosy and clean though the only little complaint is that the house has a no-key-to visitor policy which was quite an nuneasy thing for me during my short stay. The excursions the house offers tend to be more expensive than those offered by other lodges in the Falklands, and that is the only other thing that may need improvement somehow.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good and spacious.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angeles wrote a review Feb 2012
Burien, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came back to Darwin for our last night for our three weeks in the Falklands. What a wonderful way to finish the trip. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful. Having stayed in Stanley several times, this was a much nicer way to spend our last night on the Falklands. Very nice setting. Lovely house. Food was over the top. We met some interesting guests while we stayed here including a film crew doing a film on the Falkland wars and a veteran from the Falkland war. Everyone was as happy with the place as we were. We were picked up promptly at the local airstrip and delivered timely to Mount Pleasant for our departure on the LAN flight.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Maybe because we are Americans, we had been booked in a room with a private bath. If I had booked...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from DarwinLodge
East Falkland, Falkland Islands
Dear Gail Frost Sorry about the delayed answer We have rooms available from 26.12.15 to 02.01.16 If you need more information or if you'd like to make booking, please e-mail us Thank you Elena Darwin House
47 contributions11 helpful votes
Hola, El Manager se llama Anton. Tel +500 31313
Mark & Lou wrote a tip Oct 2019
Falkland Islands9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have great views in varied directions but room 6 has 3 different directions, all over-looking the water. It also has a spa bath."
Read full review
Teruce wrote a tip Jan 2019
Hong Kong, China268 contributions146 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose the direction you prefer, eg whether you want to see pink to orange clouds for sunset from your windows."
Read full review
Stuart220 wrote a tip Dec 2018
Canberra, Australia56 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms have great views over the bay."
Read full review
Peter S wrote a tip Dec 2018
Canberra, Australia346 contributions278 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 2 has the best view of the 1982 battlefield"
Read full review
MMartinda wrote a tip Feb 2018
Camden, Maine8 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the corner room upstairs- but all rooms are good and there is a 1st floor room available also."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East Falkland area.
LOCATION
Falkland IslandsEast Falkland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DARWIN HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews (East Falkland, Falkland Islands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Darwin House
What are some of the property amenities at Darwin House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Darwin House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Darwin House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.