ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

ibis budget Singapore Emerald

Traveller (93)
Superior Family
Room & Suite (35)
The Fragrance Hotel - Emerald (PRE-RENOVATION)
The Hotel (PRE-RENOVATION) (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#179 of 345 hotels in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Finding an ideal quiet hotel in Singapore does not have to be difficult. Welcome to ibis budget Singapore Emerald (formerly known as Fragrance Hotel - Emerald), a nice option for travelers like you. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as ibis budget Singapore Emerald offers guests free wifi. The hotel features a 24 hour front desk, 24 hour check-in, and baggage storage. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. Close to some of Singapore's most popular landmarks, such as Arab Street (1.4 mi) and Haji Lane (1.4 mi), ibis budget Singapore Emerald is a great destination for tourists. If you’re looking for a steakhouse, consider a visit to Cut by Wolfgang Puck, Bistecca Tuscan Steakhouse, or Lawry's The Prime Rib, which are all conveniently located a short distance from ibis budget Singapore Emerald. Looking to explore? Then look no further than National Stadium (0.7 mi) and Singapore Indoor Stadium (0.5 mi), which are some popular Singapore attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel. ibis budget Singapore Emerald puts the best of Singapore at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

20 Lorong 6 Geylang, Singapore 399174 Singapore
139Reviews27Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 73
  • 31
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Hayley P wrote a review Feb 2020
Brighton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night as our flight was cancelled and we needed a bed. Beds were very firm, uncomfortably so. Shower was good power but needed hot water turning on in advance so went cold quickly. On the plus side there was complimentary water, a kettle and a hairdryer, but no fridge. Small but clean room and did job for a night and was a good price at £45. We wanted to book a taxi back to the airport but were told the hotel would charge us to ring them up, so we hailed one from the main street. Would only go back if we had to.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GlobalPremiumHotels, Owner at ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Hayley, Thank you for staying with us at ibis budget - Emerald, and appreciating our high standards of housekeeping services. I'm sorry to hear that our beds were not to your preference. Unlimited hot water is available all the time, and just needs to be turned on using a switch positioned right outside the bathroom. This is in line with Singapore's effort for energy conservation. Please be advised that our hotel does not charge for ordering a taxi on behalf of our esteemed guests. The taxi company levies a booking fee starting from SGD $2.30, of which our hotel does not receive any commissions. We hope to serve you again. Best Regards, Thaddaeus Guest Experience Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jenmito wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I don't quite remember why I picked this hotel but everything was a further walk than expected. The walk to Kallang MRT station is too long. The walk to the two "nearby" hawker centers is also too long.
just enough space to open your suitcase. The towels also have their name on it. I guess to remind people where they are staying.

My laptop has very high security settings and I was not able to connect to the hotel wifi on it. My phone could connect though. This happens quite often for me on public wifi.

The hotel itself is no frills. You have a clean double bed, a small bathroom and bomb is also set off. There were two things that were annoying. The toilet paper must be the cheapest possible toilet paper. It's like the paper you see wrapping oranges or something. The second is that when the room is cleaned a perfume bomb is also set off. I could barely breathe in there afterwards. I declined housekeeping after that.

There's an orange juice vending machine if you're so inclined.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike W wrote a review Mar 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cheap. Clean. Rooms on city side are very small, rooms on road side are larger. A bit away from tourist sites but it is less than 10min walk to MRT. We found it easier to use buses.

As for food and cafes the choice is authentically local. If you like frog porridge you will find it easy to eat, if you are looking for a Starbucks you will have to travel! There is a fresh orange machine outside the hotel which was pleasant.

Would I stay again? Maybe. If it was only option available. In a city with few decent budget hotels it is ok.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GlobalPremiumHotels, Owner at ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Responded 22 Mar 2020
Dear Kians, Thank you for finding great value during your stay with us at ibis budget - Emerald, and appreciating our great accessibility, proximity to a wide range of affordable and delicious local dining options, as well as loving the fresh Orange Juice offered by the vending machine! As Singapore is pretty small, most buildings (including hotels across our city) are affected by the land constraint, which results in generally more compact configuration of hotel rooms. Nevertheless, our room offerings have been designed to provide a delightful environment for our guests without compromising comfort. Best Regards, Thaddaeus Guest Experience Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rajat K wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was surprisingly clean and the toiletries were replenished at regular intervals.
The hotel is located in Geylang and it is a bit far from the main city but it is ok if you are willing to travel by bus.
The hotel staff is a little bit cold on their expressions and gestures but they do help and guide whenever asked
Although a bit expensive to everything but recommended option for a short stay
Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go for Delux, Superior rooms are a bit too small
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GlobalPremiumHotels, Owner at ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Dear RK, Thank you for choosing ibis budget - Emerald to set up your base camp to explore Singapore, and loving our high standards of housekeeping services! Many guests have thoroughly enjoyed staying with us as our hotel in Geylang is well located - in the midst of many dining options, and accessible by Bus, Foot or MRT. We are committed to providing a pleasant ibis experience for all of our esteemed guests, and I have submitted your feedback to the manager for their review on how we can provide better hospitality services for our guests in the near future. Our room rates are competitively set. Some of our guests have even commented that our rates are the best within the same price range. We look forward to welcoming you back with us again the near time you return to explore Singapore! Best Regards, Thaddaeus Guest Experience Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew Harvey wrote a review Jun 2022
Mount Gambier, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a well situated budget hotel. It is situated less than 10 mins from the MRT station and there a numerous different buses passing the top of the road. The rooms are not large but recently refitted to a high standard and more than adequate. The shower works well and there is complementary tea and coffee in the room. Excellent value for money and we will be using again next year when we come to Singapore again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stanley Koh, Other at ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Dear Andrew, we are elated to receive your kind comments regarding your hotel stay. it means a lot to us to hear that you had an amazing stay in our hotel and we are pleased to know that our hotel and its accessible location had met your needs as a traveller. We can't wait to welcome you back next year for another memorable experience at our hotel! Warm Regards, Stanley Guest Relations Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Jul 2023
Lille, France
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Emerald Ibis budget for 3N whilst in Singapore.
I highly reccomend it, good price, pretty convenient location - a short walk from Kallang station.

Room in good condition and with all the necessary features. The shower was very powerful! So much so that the spray is essentially Horizontal! But certainly hot enough, so no issue.

Staff were able to arrange an early check in for me at short notice on arrival, which was much appreciated after a long flight.

Corridor of the floor I was on was well overdue a vacuum, but no issue with the cleanliness of the room, which was spot on.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jack Chee, Other at ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Responded 7 Aug 2023
Dear David, The Hotel Team is grateful to receive your very strong recommendation for ibis budget Emerald and to learn of your wonderful stay with us. Our hotel is indeed very well located and very attractive to many tourists looking to vacation in Singapore. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed our comfortable rooms and hot shower facility. We look forward to welcoming you back for another splendid stay! Warm Regards, Roland Guest Experience Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oscardog16 wrote a review Jun 2023
Adelaide, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a short walk (under 1km) from the Kallang train station which is on the train line from the airport. There is one train change, but it is directly across the platform. The room was clean and quiet. Bed was a bit firm but a relief to break the flight from Australia to Europe at a reasonable price point. There is a large selection of restaurants and hawker stalls within walking distance. We would definitely stay again to break up a long journey.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jack Chee, Other at ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Responded 23 Jun 2023
Dear Oscardog16, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your layover in Singapore. Our hotel is indeed very attractive to many tourists looking to vacation or have a stopover in Singapore with our easy access to airport and city center. You are indeed correct to point out that our hotel is in the vicinity of some really great food. I hope you have had enough time to explore all sorts of local foods! The Hotel Team looks forward to be of service to you again. Warm Regards, Roland Guest Experience Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gavinxyz wrote a review Nov 2023
Penang Island, Malaysia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is 10 to 15mins walk from Kallang Station. Good is nice road is with covered walkway. It is located at Geylang area, so those feel not comfortable, should avoid it. But, no a problem to me as the area is with eating places and convenient shops. It is only half hour from Airport.
Room is good size and all things work well in the room. Wifi is fast and no breakfast included. Room is with window.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jack Chee, Other at ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Responded 26 Nov 2023
Dear gavin, The Hotel Team really appreciates your detailed and helpful review of your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed our fast Wifi and convenient location with the close proximity to public transport, eateries and convenient amenities. Singapore is one of the safest cities in the world and soliciting is not allowed in Singapore. Hence, there is no cause for concern due to our hotel's location. We hope to have the pleasure of inviting you through our doors again. Warm Regards, Roland Guest Experience Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N G wrote a review Mar 2023
Mauritius
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel does not repond to messages sent on booking.com after you have paid them . I need a no show letter for insurance purposes but they are now ignoring me. I would not book with them if i were you. bad customer service and they lie.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Do not book with them. arrived late and missed one night, now they dont want to send me a no...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phillip C wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights, rooms and small but clean. Location is not bad, 10 minute walk to MTR, 4 stops to marina Bay area.

Location is quite, one block away from some shops and restaurants. Was good for a 3 night stay, as we spend most of our time exploring the city and only went to hotels to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GlobalPremiumHotels, Owner at ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Phillip, Thank you for your great review for ibis budget - Emerald, and loving our good location, compact and clean rooms, as well as our hotel's proximity to a wide range of amenities and facilities! As you have mentioned, small rooms are a common feature of budget category accommodation in land-scarce Singapore. Many travellers have found our hotel to be value-for-money. In fact, they appreciate the savings, given that they are out of the hotel for most of the day, spending their time with fun-filled activities here in Singapore. Please come back again soon! Best Regards, Thaddaeus Guest Experience Executive
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions2 helpful votes
We are the Managing Operator for ibis budget Singapore Emerald. Thank you for your interest in this property. No worries, our hotel is manned 24/7 and there is always a staff to attend to your check in registration at any time of your arrival. Given your late night arrival, all the buses and trains had stopped operating by midnight. As such, you may consider the following transportation options to travel from the airport to our hotel: 1) You may take the airport shuttle (Available 24hrs) at the cost of SGD9 per adult and SGD6 per child. Kindly note that this service operates at every 15 or 30mins (For non-peak hours). 2) Alternatively, you can take a taxi directly from the airport to our hotel. It will take about 25mins and costs about SGD30. 3) Ride-hailing services such as Grab and Gojek are also available and you would need to head to the designated pick-up point at the arrival hall of the terminal.
dewi hong asked a question Aug 2019
Medan, Indonesia
Do i need to deposit money for staying? How much?
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions2 helpful votes
We are the Managing Operator for Fragrance Chain of Hotels. Thank you for your interest in Fragrance Hotel - Emerald! We wished to clarify that no deposit is required for the hotel incidentals during your stay with us. Regarding the hotel payment options, TripAdvisor Contributors, Petie3109 and Peter D had indeed both offered some great advice for your room reservation.
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions2 helpful votes
We are the Managing Operator for Fragrance Chain of Hotels. Thank you for your interest in Fragrance Hotel - Emerald! Our TripAdvisor Contributor, Peter D, is correct in his response and we wished to clarify that all the room categories in this property do not offer a fridge.
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions2 helpful votes
We are the Managing Operator for Fragrance Chan of Hotels. Thank you for booking your stay at Fragrance Hotel - Emerald! We wished to clarify that our hotel check in time is 1500hrs. Complimentary early check in can be granted from 1300hrs, subject to the hotel's availability. In the event the room is unavailable, you are welcome to use the hotel's complimentary luggage storage service and return later for your check in.
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions2 helpful votes
We are the Managing Operator for Fragrance Chain of Hotels. Thank you for your interest in Fragrance Hotel - Emerald! We wished to clarify that our hotel check in time is 1500hrs. Complimentary early check in can be granted from 1300hrs, subject to the hotel's availability. In the event the room is unavailable, you are welcome to use the hotel's complimentary luggage storage service and return later for your check in.
N G wrote a tip Mar 2023
Mauritius3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book with them. arrived late and missed one night, now they dont want to send me a no show letter and ignoring my messages."
Read full review
Rajat K wrote a tip Feb 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for Delux, Superior rooms are a bit too small"
Read full review
Roxanne wrote a tip Oct 2019
10 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"near mrt station,budget,comfortable,clean"
Read full review
Peter Y wrote a tip Aug 2019
Melbourne, Australia186 contributions83 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A bed with a fabric covered mattress."
Read full review
Peter D wrote a tip May 2019
Fujairah, United Arab Emirates25 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"the whole area is quiet. We had second floor room and no outside noise."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Singapore area.
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fragrance emerald singapore, fragrance emerald hotel singapore
LOCATION
SingaporeSingaporeAljunied / Geylang / Red Light District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
126
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IBIS BUDGET SINGAPORE EMERALD - Now $139 (Was $̶1̶6̶2̶) - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Which popular attractions are close to ibis budget Singapore Emerald?
Nearby attractions include FunEmpire (0.3 km), Masjid Haji Mohd Salleh (0.2 km), and Agarwood World Singapore Gallery (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ibis budget Singapore Emerald?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at ibis budget Singapore Emerald?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at ibis budget Singapore Emerald?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at ibis budget Singapore Emerald?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ibis budget Singapore Emerald?
Conveniently located restaurants include G7 Sin Ma Live Seafood Restaurant, Geylang Lor 9 Fresh Frog Leg Porridge, and Jalan Sultan Prawn Mee.
Are there any historical sites close to ibis budget Singapore Emerald?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chijmes (3.2 km), Lau Pa Sat (4.4 km), and NUS Baba House (5.7 km).
Is ibis budget Singapore Emerald accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Singapore HotelsSingapore Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SingaporeHotels near ibis budget Singapore Emerald
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire