Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul

Traveller (456)
창밖 풍경
Room & Suite (69)
help yourself to beverages in the lobby (prices not to high for hotel service)
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#77 of 517 hotels in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located in front of Euljiro 4-ga subway station, Travelodge Dongdaemun, Seoul is only a 10-minute walk from Dongdaemun Design Plaza, Gwangjang market and the two subway stations at Myeongdong. It offers modern and comfortable rooms with our signature Bed. The hotel features a restaurant, bar, gym, free WiFi and meeting rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean

Location

359, Dongho-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04547 South Korea
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 94 out of 100
94
Gimpo Intl Airport
18.2 km
See all flights
Incheon Intl Airport
50.5 km
See all flights
Euljiro 4-ga
5 minSeoul Metropolitan Subway
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,081 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul garners appreciation for its prime location, which guests find convenient for exploring nearby markets and attractions with ease, as well as the hotel's proximity to public transportation. Reviewers frequently laud the staff's friendliness and proficiency in English, enhancing the service experience. While the rooms are often described as clean, their size and occasional maintenance issues have been points of concern. Despite some remarks about musty odors, the overall cleanliness and value are generally well-regarded by travelers.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Helpful
Amenities
Convenient

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,081Review29Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 681
  • 308
  • 65
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Laras P wrote a review Nov 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
swift check-in, centrally located and squeaky clean! Provided basic amenities and very helpful English speaking staff.
Huge plus for me was the laundry room on second floor, which was cheaper than other coin laundry in Seoul and Busan (it takes paper notes!).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ethan M wrote a review Jul 2023
Taguig City, Philippines
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We just visited Seoul for the first time and didn't know what to expect so we just googled places and hotels that still had rooms left because most of the hotels were fully booked because of the worldwide 25th scout jamboree being held. And this was one of the few hotels left that had a room good for 2 adults and a kid. Anyways, it was a blessing in disguise since right outside the hotel you can find the underground mall for Dondaemun where you can actually walk to different subway lines. It's also walking distance to the Gwangjang Market (around a 15min walk only) and around 10-15min walk to DDP complex and shopping center/subway to line 4 and 2. You can walk to the line 4 subway station and take that to go to Myeongdong station. There's also a 7-11 within walking distance, coffee shops, and CU convenience store too. The rooms are clean, showers hot and strong, and you can hang out on the 21st floor to eat or just look at the surrounding area of Seoul. Overall a fairly good hotel and pricing was right on point. Staff was friendly and helpful, and their English was ok. The only thing I could say would be that the room was fairly small but that was to be expected for a hotel in Asia.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get an upper floor room for the view. Get the biggest room you can afford.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul, Owner at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Dear Ethan, Thank you for your stay and feedback about our hotel. You will be always welcomed to stay again in our hotel. Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Johnny K wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Usually, when I travel overseas, I always seem to be on the fence about where I choose to lay my head at night. There are a couple of things I like to consider: 1) The location of the hotel that is conveniently located next to the subway stations and bus stops, cafes, popular restaurants. 2) I like to be centrally located in whatever city I am visiting, in this case, Seoul. I had chosen to stay at Travel Lodge (Dongdaemun), and it was one of the best decisions I have made in terms of lodging. Not only was the hotel receptionist very beautiful, but the service they provided is also unparalleled. Their attitude and work ethic was nothing like I've ever experienced before. They truly excel in facilitating every need of their guests. One of the receptionists Claire was my favorite! She is captivating and was able to speak multiple languages. She certainly has made my stay at the hotel a 100 times more relaxing and welcomed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travelodge Dong... S, 제너럴 매니저 at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Dear johnny, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Travelodge Dongdaemun, Seoul. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jin Operation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole L wrote a review Nov 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was very convenient to the subway station and local bus lines. The airport express bus stops down the street from the hotel so it was very convenient. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to Gwangjang Market and DDP museum is a short bus ride away. There was a CU convenience mart next door to the hotel which was great for late night snacks. The staff was very helpful when we asked for more toilet paper and how to use the laundry machines. There is only one washer and dryer so plan accordingly. The dryer is not very strong so you'll probably have to run it twice. Our jeans were still damp once we took it out.

The room for a glance looked nice but the carpet was disgusting with so many set in stains. We didn't dare to touch the carpet without wearing the slippers provided. I stayed in the room with my significant other and friend. Be aware when staying in the room with just friends. The sliding door that separates the bathroom and bed area reveals a slightly frosted glass that does not hide much when someone is showering. The same goes for the frosted glass between the toilet room and the shower, as well as the door to the toilet and the sink area. We brought newspapers and tape to block out the frosted glass to prevent any uncomfortableness. We like that housekeeping only comes if requested. The walls are also very thin. The first night we stayed there were children screaming around 11 pm. The following nights the neighbors would come back drunk and talking very loudly around 1-2 am.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if they changed out the carpets and cleaned the bathrooms a little better, it smelled slightly musty. The room had just enough space for the three of us to move around but I just wished there was a seating area in the room. We had a view of Namsan tower from our hotel window.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul, Owner at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Dear Nicole, Thanks for your stay and comments about your stay in our hotel. And we are so sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We immediately checked related room for the carpet and the cleanliness of bathroom. And we raised its issues to housekeeping to improve their cleaning works with deep vacuum. We wish your next stay in our hotel with our improved hotel services soonest. Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flyer39381387187 wrote a review May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Price is very reasonable, with the location being very central, within 10 mins walking to DDP while being in a quiet area away from tourist noises. Room size is very compact, aka not big enough to have your luggage open all the time but that is very normal. There is a pay to use coin laundry on site, and a convenience store downstairs. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tnzlbkk M wrote a review Nov 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Basic services
Room was clean / in a good condition
AC was centralised so we couldn’t control the temp while in the room. However they gave us a fan so it helped a bit.

Would have been nicer if anyone could help with the luggage because my key didn’t work and I needed to carry all back and forth after a long journey
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
K J wrote a review Nov 2022
Seoul, South Korea
1.0 of 5 bubbles
How is anyone meant to sleep in a hot stuffy room at 27.5’C /81.5F ?
Two nights ago the room was freezing. (Temperature controls do not work in each room).
Quite a few people complained that it was too cold, so management responded by turning off all air conditioning in the rooms & building.
The result was last night’s temperature being an unbearable 27.5’C (81.5F).

I have stayed in this hotel before three years ago and it was the same ridiculous situation with the temperature being freezing or way too hot.

Opening a window does nothing as there is no air flow through the room.
Pollution outside is terrible so one would not want to open a window if it did help.

Management will reply to this with a smarmy apology saying that each room has individual AC controls which is incorrect and is just a brush over.

I suggest that they remove air conditioning from the list of amenities that they advertise. Do not stay at this hotel should you want a decent nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul, Owner at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Responded 20 Nov 2022
Dear KJ, Thanks for your comments after your stay in our hotel. And we are really sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stays. As our air-conditioning system is centralized, we could not adjust your requirement individually due to the limit of system. However, many hotels' air-conditioning system is still centralized and it is quite limited to allow individual control. So, we would like to understand about it. Thanks again for your stay in our hotel. Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
justcris wrote a review Jun 2023
Faro, Portugal
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Room is spacious enough for luggage! Good location, close to metro lines. Great shower pressure which felt great after a long day, and complimentary water was also much appreciated! Free wifi worked well too
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul, Owner at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Responded 19 Jun 2023
Dear justcris, Thank you for your stay and good comments about our hotel. We hope that you will visit soon our hotel again. Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irfan A wrote a review Dec 2023
Singapore
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not stay here. The carpets look disgusting and heavily stained. The first room that I got had very dirty looking carpets. It was so disgusting I asked for another room. The other two rooms we looked at were as dirty looking as the other, but marginally better.

But then when I try to sleep at night and turned off the bathroom exhaust fan, the room started reeking of something bad, like a fish market. So I had to leave the bathroom exhaust on and had a very uncomfortable sleep.

I chose this hotel because of the location, reviews, price and the fact that there’s a gym. But the room is not worth the price at all. The gym has NO WEIGHT MACHINES, only cardio machines and dumbbells with only 1 pc per weight. How can anyone use that to exercise. The photos of the gym uploaded by the hotel is fake.

The stars this hotel has gotten through Google reviews is fake.

The worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in my whole life at this price point. Never. Again.

Oh and if you want more bottles of filtered water, it’s 1000krw per bottle after the first 2 complimentary bottles.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid staying in this hotel. Especially if you’re paying any more than 100usd per night.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moonwha K wrote a review Nov 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Staff: very attentive, nice, kind professional and outstanding
Hotel Room: extremely small room sizes with the price are likely expected. There is no hair conditioner not only in my room but about 200 people of my group said the same thing. Hair dryer was broken between the head and the handle exposing the wires and too fragile to use it. No plastic bag for the garbage cans in the rooms. There are 6 or 7 bins in the hallway right next to the elevator with categorized labels on each, such as waste, plastic, bottles, etc. So the customers need to dump garbages out of your room and dispose in the bins on your own.
Price: definitely overpriced
Breakfast: low quality and they charge extra. I recommend to have brunch outside in the neighborhood
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: I will avoid this hotel in the future and recommend to avoid this place at your best. The coffee...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul, Owner at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Dear Moonwha, Thank you for your stay in our hotel and let us your comment about your stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. We immediately checked your stayed room for broken hair dryer and no plastic bag for the garbage cans. We replaced broken hair dryer but we don't provide plastic bag for the protection of planet but we wash garbage can once we empty trash from trash can. And we requested also to improve the quality of breakfast with regular change of menus. We wish your next stay in our hotel with improved services. Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea1 contribution
Dear Анастасия В, Thank you for your intention to book our hotel for your future visit to Korea. Please let us know your wished staying information by emial as below. - Staying person's name: - Arrival date: - Departure date: - Number of Staying Persons: - Room Type: - Breakfasts: to include or not Our hotel's email address: ENQUIRY.TLDS@travelodgehotels.asia Once we make booking for you, we will send to you booking confirmation letter. Then you can reply to this email with your credit card details for booking guarantee. This credit card information will be kept only for booking guarantee. Then you can pay directly your room to the hotel upon arrival. Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Seoul, South Korea1 contribution
Dear DayTrip350417, Thanks for your booking to our hotel and we are sorry for this delayed reply. You can use the same debit card or credit card upon your check-in. Or you can also change the payment method during your check-in process. Please check with our receptionist upon arrival. They will help you. Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Answer from Jenny T
Singapore, Singapore301 contributions27 helpful votes
you have to write to the hotel directly fod this special arrangement. The luggages normally line up at the reception area. I am not sure if they have such dtorage service. So far the management and staff are helpful.
Answer from addie
Singapore, Singapore559 contributions180 helpful votes
Airport Bus Limo 6001. Alight at Acacia Hotel and cross the road, then turn right. The hotel is at the traffic junction.
Tom PJS wrote a tip 18 Jul
Seongnam, South Korea348 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a CU convenience store right next to the hotel but I recommend going to the GS25 on the other side of the street which is better."
Read full review
Tass P wrote a tip Apr 2024
5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid big luggages. Probably not suitable for families with kids and have lots of bags. They allow late check-out if you leave a review on Tripadvisor."
Read full review
Peter R wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good "
Read full review
소연 이 wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The location is good and the price is cheap, so be sure to use it!"
Read full review
arnieazr wrote a tip Jan 2024
Kuantan, Malaysia18 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If travellers more than two adults, even if you have todlers with you - do take the triple room or bigger"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Seoul area.
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
ibis Ambassador Seoul Dongdaemun
LOCATION
South KoreaSeoulEuljiro-dong / Jung-gu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
242
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE DONGDAEMUN SEOUL - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (South Korea) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul?
Nearby attractions include Kwangjang Market (0.5 km), Jungbu Market (0.1 km), and Bangsan Market (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunine Bindaetteok, Food Exchange - Novotel Ambassador Dongdaemun, and Woo Lae Oak Jugyo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gyeongbokgung Palace (2.6 km), Changdeokgung Palace (1.7 km), and Seoul City Wall (1.4 km).
Does Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Seoul HotelsSeoul Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SeoulHotels near Travelodge Dongdaemun Seoul
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire