We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (58)
Storyboard
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good11%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“free pancakes”(7 reviews)
“adams morgan”(14 reviews)
“lovely kitchen”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
67
9
3
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
67
9
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree pancakesadams morganlovely kitchenbed female dormfree tea and coffeeliving roombars and restaurantsfree pasta dinnerbathrooms and showersduvet covermemory foamcomfortable bedsthe nearest metro stationcommon areasnight staylocation is fantasticcleaning staff
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Its a great place to meet new people. The food was good. They had free pasta night which was amazing. There was a person in my room whose laundry was smelling. Despite repeated requests to do something about it the staff paid no attention to...More

Thank Abhi07-12
Property's Favourite Review
Reviewed 8 January 2018

I went travelling back in May/June of 2017 and stayed for 2 nights at HighRoad on 30th May and 31st May. Hostel is in a great location in Adams Morgan, main street has great shops including niche outlets. Quirky, fun and friendly. The Circular bus...More

Thank Rachel S
Reviewed 8 March 2018

What a great place to stay in the DC area. Very clean. Well lighted. Great kitchen facility and breakfast options. Friendly staff. We enjoyed the local restaurants. Our room was on the #rd floor - so be prepared for flights of stairs.

Thank Ginny G
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

I love staying in hostels, because of the social atmosphere and usually much nicer prices. HighRoad did not disappoint. The showers and bathrooms were clean, and I never had to wait in line to shower or use the toilet. The kitchen is clean and the...More

Thank jam_travelz
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Set up a reservation and called plenty ahead of time to cancel. Called to dispute it and they said to bad so sad. They charged me the entire price and gave no refunds. So i didnt even stay there and paid 150.00 dollars for nothing....More

Thank jr4670
Response from HighRoad_Hostel_DC, Manager at HighRoad Hostel DCResponded 9 February 2018

Hi John, Please accept my sincere apologies for any confusion relating to your reservation. And, we are so sorry to hear that you weren't able to stay with us for both of your reservations for two people. You did not cancel either reservation at all,...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$44 - US$320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$44 - US$320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (12)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Andrea B
27 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from thehebrewhoya | Reviewed this property |
they can give you advice but they don't actually set up tours... that said, they have plenty of info to give out and may even save money bit helping you make your own plans
1
Vote
KLois94
2 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Alex G |
They provide a lot of useful information on airbnb. Parking a the nearby garage is $20 a day but you can also just park at a nearby metro station for free and ride in.
1
Vote
Tiffanyess
13 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HighRoad_Hostel_DC | Property representative |
Hi Tiffany, Yes, the shower stalls lock for privacy and they are segregated by gender. We have women's only bathrooms and a keycard is required to access those bathrooms. Also, we have individual private bathrooms on... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"We chose a private room which had enough beds for our entire family. The shared bath was super clean and..."
Read review
"Try and request the dark corner bed if you want to sleep and your roommate(s) don't"
Read review
"Ask for a bottom bunk that is as far from the door as possible."
Read review
"Staying on a top floor will save you from using the bathrooms in the common area"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing