We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI Washington DC Hostel

Visit hotel website
Booking.com
US$80
View Deal
Hostelworld.com
US$95
US$48
View Deal
SAVE US$47
Expedia.com
US$95
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$95
TravelocityUS$95
Hotwire.comUS$95
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (177)
360
Panoramas (10)
Dining (54)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
Staying at HI DC is like visiting your friends in the nation's living room! As a non-profit organization dedicated to cultural understanding through travel, we're excited to warmly welcome everyone. Our dorm-style and private rooms bring together budget travelers from around the world in a safe, clean, and fun environment. We have a long list of FREE amenities and an unbeatable location - just 8 blocks to The White House and The National Mall (home to world-famous monuments, museums, and galleries), 4 blocks to China Town, and 3 blocks to the Metro. We're Gold Level Certified by Trip Advisor's Green Leaders Program, too!
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
172Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
16Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
742Reviews
339Photos
26Q+A
65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 240
  • 336
  • 111
  • 29
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
neat & clean, friendly staff, best hostel in DC, stayed for 14 days, good food in breakfast & dinner night games night many activities held day by day. near to white house, national mall, near to city center, easily available for Lyft rides!
Read more
I was not happy with my experience. During the check-in I was left there waiting for a long time watching the receptionist answer to few calls. When I finally got some attention the guy lied to me about becoming a member of the hostel. He promised a discount but when I was about
Read more
Response from HIWashingtonDC, Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel
Responded 3 days ago
First of all, we're so sorry for any miscommunication. To be clear, everyone who stays must be a member of Hostelling International. It is each guest's choice to get either a daily membership for $3 per day or an annual membership for $18. If your stay was less than 6 days and you're not planning to stay at another hostel this year, probably best to just get the daily membership - the annual membership will only save you money if you're here for more than 6 days. I'm really sorry if it was presented to you in any way other than that, and I've initiated a conversation with the team about how this is discussed with our guests. All in all, we're very sorry that you were not happy with your stay and we hope you'll give us another chance next time you're in DC.
Read more
Quite good location, very friendly staff, basic breakfast, and clean bathrooms. Fresh fruits at breakfast buffet would have been appreciated. Dinning area is a great spot to meet fellow travellers. Events organized by the hostel sounded good but all happened a little too early
Read more
Response from HIWashingtonDC, Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks so much for your feedback! We're so glad that you liked the location, staff, and facilities. Fresh fruit at breakfast is definitely a good idea - we were a little disappointed by the quality of the apples we were ordering, so we moved to mandarin orange slices, but I can certainly see the appeal of something different and I'll discuss it with the manager who handles breakfast. It's a shame you didn't get a chance to attend one of our events - guess that just means you'll have to come back and visit us again :)
Read more
I stayed at this place for three nights. I had high expectations that it would be an exciting and pleasant stay, especially coming from the HI Hostel in Boston. aside from the convenient location, I feel like this hostile lacked in hospitality. I feel the only person that I
Read more
Response from HIWashingtonDC, Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. I'm very disappointed to hear that our team wasn't as welcoming to you as you should be able to expect from our hostel, and I have shared your review with them as a reminder of the importance of warmth toward our guests. As for the construction, I agree that it was bummer to have to shut down some of the common areas and the elevator for a short time, but luckily that project is done and the lobby looks great now. I hope you get a chance to come back and see it!
Read more
The hostel was very safe and the location was amazing . It was very close to most of the monuments in Washington DC. The management offers free tours which I think was a really good thing but the tours to Georgetown one had to pay for their own transport which was like 2$. That
Read more
Response from HIWashingtonDC, Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your balanced feedback. We're really glad that you liked the location and the breakfast so much! We do require that all guests be members of Hostelling International, either for $3 per day or $18 for the year, and this is what provides the support for all the tours and events we offer. We're glad that you got to go on the Georgetown tour - after the monuments tour and the pub crawls, that's one of the most popular. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHI Washington DC Hostel
The Private Room with Double Bed at the HI Washington DC Hostel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHI Washington DC Hostel
The Ten Bed Economy Dorm at the HI Washington DC Hostel
Private room, alas bunk beds
Photo provided by managementHI Washington DC Hostel
Our dorm rooms are spacious and comfortable
PreviousNext
12345619
MARC Penn train 427 get off at Washington union station Transfer to metro and get red line towards shady grove and get off at metro centre. It’s a 1/3 mile walkfrom there. Hope that helps Caroline
2 votes
Show all answers
Are there any markets or grocery stores close by?
I believe there is a market a few blocks down from the convention center,plus a few restaurants and stores. Cool district to hang out at. Theres a whole food market near the Logan's circle and a giant foods on 7th st. near the Kennedy Rec. center.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hello Apologies for the delay in replying.The best thing to do is contact the Hostel directly by phoning them or go to the HI Washington site on google.Also it would be wise to apply for an hi membership as you get discount with it Best, JIm
1 vote
Show all answers
The hostel offers a variety of actives that they post on a bulletin board in the lobby.There is a pub crawl, a visit, to George Town and the Lincoln Center.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hello, Sharon! This is Mark, and I work at HI Washington, DC (HI DC). Addison B had some very helpful advice. We have groups, large and small, stay with us from around the world, including Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts. If you have 10 or more travelers, you'd want to speak with our Group Sales Manager, Nich. I'd enter his phone number here, but Trip Advisor does not allow that. However, you can click our dial the phone number at the top of HI DC's Trip Advisor page, next to our address. Have a great trip to our nation's capital! ~ Mark
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"10 dorm rooms are well laid out"
"Next time if there is one, I’d get a private room."
"Probably best away from the busiy street side but not sure"
"7th floor was nice and quiet."
"Any bunkbed room is comfortable."
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$28 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hostelling international - washington, dc hotel washington dc
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DC
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing