We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
77 Hill Road, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#8 of 42 Speciality lodging in Waiheke Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rustic, comfortable, kiwi "bach"-style accommodation, set in a bush-clad section. Each of our bungalows has its own individual character and its own private space - and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Bored with bland chain hotel rooms? We are a family owned and run business, offering self contained, self catering accommodation in your own little slice of Waiheke. A perfect space to relax and wind down, 5 minutes walk from one of the best beaches on the island. Waiheke Island itself is a must for anyone visiting Auckland. Beautiful beaches, clear water, vineyards, restaurants, art studios and galleries and much more to explore. Palm Beach Bungalows is an un-staffed property so we will not be on-site during your stay, and the cottages are well separated and private. This is an ideal place for people who are looking for a place to retreat and recharge.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free internet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Beach
Hiking
Adults only
Baggage storage
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Desk
Dining area
Private balcony
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
190Reviews0Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 35
  • 8
  • 6
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Terry C wrote a review Oct 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand75 contributions9 helpful votes
Will definitely go back and stay at The Treetops. A lovely little place nestled in the bush with a balcony that is surrounded by bush and wildlife. A weekend stay here was amazing and an experience not to be missed. Book ahead and the rates are cheaper, and would definitely recommend a wine tour on the island to complete a weekend you wont forget!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Check their website for the different themed bungalo units available.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Anne wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
Positive,ok bed,shame about stains on mattress protector Good water pressure until the non disclosed commercial laundry attached to hut kicked into gear. Cluttered with old junk,could hardly move. Superficially clean, but on closer inspection needs thorough clean,dont think flyscreen over window has ever been cleaned.place has whiff of sewage when closed up and no it's not the smell of the bush outside. Not even a small container of milk, and fridge was so loud it woke me up so I turned it off, needed defrosting anyway. Could only stand two nights although booked for three,couldnt stand it anymore.and no it wasn't good value for location as friends were staying across the road in a very nice apartment with sea view for very little extra money. Clearly managed from a distance. Needs to be rebranded palm beach huts. I dont usually like to give negative feedback, but I advise people to look elsewhere when booking a place on waiheke.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Tristan wrote a review Oct 2019
4 contributions
Cramped...smells of mould...not well insulated if at all...The roof certainly isn't...don't stay here in summer it would be horrific. It gets fairly cold at night. The mattress has no springs, which sucks. Shower floods the bathroom. Unfortunately, the builders musn't have given it much thought and in spite of the shower curtain it just runs everywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows
Responded 8 Oct 2019
We're genuinely sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but feel disappointed that you didn't get in touch. I could have explained to you that the smell you mention is the bush when it's as rainy as it was before and during your stay. The room itself is definitely not mouldy, although I agree that it is compact. I could also have told you that there is extremely good insulation in the room, as we renewed it ourselves so I know, but that you stayed during a cold snap. The mattress is a high quality solid latex mattress which most people find gives them an excellent night's sleep - I'm very sorry it wasn't to your taste, and I could have moved you to a room with an innersprung mattress if you'd let me know it was a problem. And yes, the shower curtain does need to be tucked into the shower - we have a new shower door on order to solve this problem which was caused, as you say, by builders placing too shallow a tray in the room. In the meantime, we ask guests to take care with that curtain. I'm sorry you didn't see that note, and I'll make sure it's displayed better. We're always sad when our guests are disappointed but we know our place isn't to everybody's taste. It's old and quaint, and the units are compact, and we know it isn't perfect but we keep it up to the best standard we can whilst preserving its unique qualities, and we charge less in recognition of that. Completely private, separate, fully self-contained units on Waiheke, in a central location near public transport and restaurants, and a short walk to the beach are generally much more expensive and less flexible, as I'm sure you'll find if you return to our lovely island.
Read more
mybellMelbourne wrote a review Mar 2019
melbourne30 contributions37 helpful votes
I stayed in Treetops Bungalow and loved its uniqueness the moment I arrived. It is very cute. I overlooked the outside light that didn't work and was covered in spiderwebs, the "sharp" knives that I couldn't persuade to cut tomatoes, the cobwebs as I reached my hand in to get a plate, and the brown water that splirted and spluttered from the hot water tap on the first night, indicating the bungalow had not been used for some time, because the location and feel of the bungalow was so wonderful. It is set right in the bush and is very peaceful, the balcony catches the sun from the morning til late in the afternoon which was beautiful. Unfortunately when I booked, my fat fingers must have selected an incorrect date and I hadn't noticed the wrong days written on the confirmation email due to various distractions. So I was very surprised to receive an email on my 2nd night advising me I was being charged an extra night because I had booked the Wed & Thu rather than Thur & Fri nights. I had attempted to book a day earlier than I did however couldn't put it through as my pay hadn't been credited which was explained to the owner after they enquired whether there was a problem with their system which prevented the booking. The owner had seen I had selected the Thu & Fri on that attempt (& I had written a small note of my plans to be on the island Thur late morning so it was clear I planned to arrived Thu and not wed). So I was surprised to have my account debited immediately without even having a conversation or any empathy to a mistake made. I understand business has to run, but I didn't expect that from Waiheke. This unexpected expense meant the rest of my 5 day stay in NZ (and attending a friend's B-Day celebration at the weekend which was why I came to NZ) was limited by lack of funds as I am a student. I wouldn't stay here again as it and the follow-on effect has left a sour taste.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows
Responded 27 Mar 2019
I can only assume that this review was written before this guest saw my email letting her know that I had given her a partial refund for that mistaken extra night, spontaneously, without her requesting it, before I knew about this review, and simply on the basis that it was an honest mistake, and we try to be kind and fair. I could not give her a full refund because her mistake had cost us money and a subsequent 2-night booking. (The Bungalow, counter to her suggestion, is almost continuously occupied by appreciative guests at this time of year). The small issues she lists are either things she could have mentioned to us (the light bulb, which was actually replaced two weeks ago, so who knows?) or things which are normal for a property in the bush - cobwebs (which we clear away every single time) and natural water from a bore rather than town water (actually very well-filtered but this happens occasionally). We were courteous and helpful to this guest from start to finish, including when staff turned up on the afternoon of her supposed departure to find the room still fully occupied, and it's extremely disappointing to be reviewed so unfairly.
Read more
Paula wrote a review Nov 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand3 contributions
A nice peaceful setting in amongst a bush. The cabin has everything you need but is very dated and jaded. Windows are stuck and the amenities are serviceable but basic. The place is clean but not spotless. The bed is nice and clean and comfortable. No SKY. For $310 for one night I was expecting it to be more modern with a little more luxury. Palm Beach is within walking distance and is very beautiful. Great cafe also.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
palm beach bungalows hotel waiheke island
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandWaiheke Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Palm Beach Bungalows
Which popular attractions are close to Palm Beach Bungalows?
Nearby attractions include Waiheke Island (1.1 km), Wild on Waiheke (2.5 km), and Oneroa Beach (4.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palm Beach Bungalows?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Palm Beach Bungalows?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Palm Beach Bungalows?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Palm Beach Bungalows?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palm Beach Bungalows?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casita Miro, Tantalus Estate Restaurant, and Mudbrick Vineyard & Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Palm Beach Bungalows?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stockade Hill (15.9 km).