We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Palm Beach Bungalows

77 Hill Road, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 6 lodges in Waiheke Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rustic, comfortable, kiwi "bach"-style accommodation, set in a bush-clad section. Each of our bungalows has its own individual character and its own private space - and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Bored with bland chain hotel rooms? We are a family owned and run business, offering self contained, self catering accommodation in your own little slice of Waiheke. A perfect space to relax and wind down, 5 minutes walk from one of the best beaches on the island. Waiheke Island itself is a must for anyone visiting Auckland. Beautiful beaches, clear water, vineyards, restaurants, art studios and galleries and much more to explore. Palm Beach Bungalows is an un-staffed property so we will not be on-site during your stay, and the cottages are well separated and private. This is an ideal place for people who are looking for a place to retreat and recharge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free internet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Hiking
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
190Reviews0Q+A27Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 35
  • 8
  • 6
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Terry C wrote a review Oct 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand75 contributions11 helpful votes
Will definitely go back and stay at The Treetops. A lovely little place nestled in the bush with a balcony that is surrounded by bush and wildlife. A weekend stay here was amazing and an experience not to be missed. Book ahead and the rates are cheaper, and would definitely recommend a wine tour on the island to complete a weekend you wont forget!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Check their website for the different themed bungalo units available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anne wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Positive,ok bed,shame about stains on mattress protector Good water pressure until the non disclosed commercial laundry attached to hut kicked into gear. Cluttered with old junk,could hardly move. Superficially clean, but on closer inspection needs thorough clean,dont think flyscreen over window has ever been cleaned.place has whiff of sewage when closed up and no it's not the smell of the bush outside. Not even a small container of milk, and fridge was so loud it woke me up so I turned it off, needed defrosting anyway. Could only stand two nights although booked for three,couldnt stand it anymore.and no it wasn't good value for location as friends were staying across the road in a very nice apartment with sea view for very little extra money. Clearly managed from a distance. Needs to be rebranded palm beach huts. I dont usually like to give negative feedback, but I advise people to look elsewhere when booking a place on waiheke.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tristan wrote a review Oct 2019
4 contributions
Cramped...smells of mould...not well insulated if at all...The roof certainly isn't...don't stay here in summer it would be horrific. It gets fairly cold at night. The mattress has no springs, which sucks. Shower floods the bathroom. Unfortunately, the builders musn't have given it much thought and in spite of the shower curtain it just runs everywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows
Responded 8 Oct 2019
We're genuinely sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but feel disappointed that you didn't get in touch. I could have explained to you that the smell you mention is the bush when it's as rainy as it was before and during your stay. The room itself is definitely not mouldy, although I agree that it is compact. I could also have told you that there is extremely good insulation in the room, as we renewed it ourselves so I know, but that you stayed during a cold snap. The mattress is a high quality solid latex mattress which most people find gives them an excellent night's sleep - I'm very sorry it wasn't to your taste, and I could have moved you to a room with an innersprung mattress if you'd let me know it was a problem. And yes, the shower curtain does need to be tucked into the shower - we have a new shower door on order to solve this problem which was caused, as you say, by builders placing too shallow a tray in the room. In the meantime, we ask guests to take care with that curtain. I'm sorry you didn't see that note, and I'll make sure it's displayed better. We're always sad when our guests are disappointed but we know our place isn't to everybody's taste. It's old and quaint, and the units are compact, and we know it isn't perfect but we keep it up to the best standard we can whilst preserving its unique qualities, and we charge less in recognition of that. Completely private, separate, fully self-contained units on Waiheke, in a central location near public transport and restaurants, and a short walk to the beach are generally much more expensive and less flexible, as I'm sure you'll find if you return to our lovely island.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mybellMelbourne wrote a review Mar 2019
melbourne30 contributions37 helpful votes
I stayed in Treetops Bungalow and loved its uniqueness the moment I arrived. It is very cute. I overlooked the outside light that didn't work and was covered in spiderwebs, the "sharp" knives that I couldn't persuade to cut tomatoes, the cobwebs as I reached my hand in to get a plate, and the brown water that splirted and spluttered from the hot water tap on the first night, indicating the bungalow had not been used for some time, because the location and feel of the bungalow was so wonderful. It is set right in the bush and is very peaceful, the balcony catches the sun from the morning til late in the afternoon which was beautiful. Unfortunately when I booked, my fat fingers must have selected an incorrect date and I hadn't noticed the wrong days written on the confirmation email due to various distractions. So I was very surprised to receive an email on my 2nd night advising me I was being charged an extra night because I had booked the Wed & Thu rather than Thur & Fri nights. I had attempted to book a day earlier than I did however couldn't put it through as my pay hadn't been credited which was explained to the owner after they enquired whether there was a problem with their system which prevented the booking. The owner had seen I had selected the Thu & Fri on that attempt (& I had written a small note of my plans to be on the island Thur late morning so it was clear I planned to arrived Thu and not wed). So I was surprised to have my account debited immediately without even having a conversation or any empathy to a mistake made. I understand business has to run, but I didn't expect that from Waiheke. This unexpected expense meant the rest of my 5 day stay in NZ (and attending a friend's B-Day celebration at the weekend which was why I came to NZ) was limited by lack of funds as I am a student. I wouldn't stay here again as it and the follow-on effect has left a sour taste.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows
Responded 27 Mar 2019
I can only assume that this review was written before this guest saw my email letting her know that I had given her a partial refund for that mistaken extra night, spontaneously, without her requesting it, before I knew about this review, and simply on the basis that it was an honest mistake, and we try to be kind and fair. I could not give her a full refund because her mistake had cost us money and a subsequent 2-night booking. (The Bungalow, counter to her suggestion, is almost continuously occupied by appreciative guests at this time of year). The small issues she lists are either things she could have mentioned to us (the light bulb, which was actually replaced two weeks ago, so who knows?) or things which are normal for a property in the bush - cobwebs (which we clear away every single time) and natural water from a bore rather than town water (actually very well-filtered but this happens occasionally). We were courteous and helpful to this guest from start to finish, including when staff turned up on the afternoon of her supposed departure to find the room still fully occupied, and it's extremely disappointing to be reviewed so unfairly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paula wrote a review Nov 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand3 contributions
A nice peaceful setting in amongst a bush. The cabin has everything you need but is very dated and jaded. Windows are stuck and the amenities are serviceable but basic. The place is clean but not spotless. The bed is nice and clean and comfortable. No SKY. For $310 for one night I was expecting it to be more modern with a little more luxury. Palm Beach is within walking distance and is very beautiful. Great cafe also.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alison C wrote a review May 2018
Salisbury, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful week in the Old Boatshed Bungalow. Great amenities, such a comfortable bed and as for the bath - wow. It was a fantastic place and we absolutely loved our time there. So easy to stroll down to the beach, and so relaxing. We didn't want to leave! Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Old Boatshed is the largest of the rooms and was extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
RMP2222 wrote a review Mar 2018
Bath22 contributions31 helpful votes
I was here for 3 nights in early March and I really enjoyed my stay. I was in Driftwood and I loved how rustic it was. The deck is fab for enjoying a nice glass of wine in the evening while listening to the birds. I liked the window cover by the bed so I could open the window and listen to the birds without worrying about any insects coming in. The chalet is well equipped but in my opinion actually contains too much equipment! It made it feel a little cluttered and left very little space for my own belongings, although this wasn't a big issue for me while travelling alone and only for 3 nights, I would imagine it may be problematic for a couple who were staying for a week or more. There was one empty shelf just inside the door on the right which became "my space" so this was fine. I liked the selection of DVD's as due to jet lag I was waking up at 3am every morning and it was great to have a movie to watch in bed while waiting for the sun to come up. I was however slightly annoyed that neither of the tv remote controls worked so I could only change the volume etc on the TV itself. I tried replacing the batteries of both remotes but this didn't work :( But hey, if it wasn't for the jet lag, I'm not sure I would have used the TV at all anyway so no big deal. The shower was lovely and powerful, however I'm not sure why it has the longest shower curtain I've ever seen! All in all, I loved it here and would return despite the little quirks. It felt very homely and I wish I could have stayed here longer. My rating would have been Excellent if they replaced the old curtains, removed enough stuff from the kitchen area to enable the glasses and mugs etc to be stored away from the window (as I didn't like having to keep moving stuff every time I wanted to open/close the blind or windows), and provided working remote controls as keeping dud ones in there seems strange. Oh, and I loved the fact that you just check yourself in and out because the key is made available without needing to report to a reception. That made my arrival and departure very straight forward. This is a perfect place to stay for walking as Oneroa and Onetangi are both within very comfortable walking distances (well comfortable for me which is about an hour or 2 each way with hills). If that sounds like too much hard work, print off a map of the local bus services on the island and get the bus from the stop just up from the accommodation to wherever you want to go. Each trip will cost $3.50 no matter how far you go and I found this form of transport to be highly convenient while on the island. Any questions, please just ask :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows
Responded 22 Mar 2018
So glad you enjoyed our Driftwood Bungalow! Sorry about the TV remotes - it's always frustrating when people don't let us know there's a problem, so thank you for telling me so I can get it sorted. The shower curtain is long because the shorter one that used to be there let water underneath from that powerful shower, and it got as far as flowing into the kitchen - so the long shower curtain tucks in and prevents the overflow! As far as providing equipment is concerned, it's really hard to get this right for everyone, as you can probably imagine :) Some people just love having everything provided, and since it's such a compact space (hence the really reasonable rate for a self-contained unit within 5 minutes of the beach and on Wonderful Waiheke!), it does mean that things are a little densely packed. I'm glad you managed to find your way around that without too much trouble, nonetheless! Thanks for the kind words, and do come visit us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John C wrote a review Mar 2018
1 contribution
Our particular room - The Treetops - was small but comfortable and romantically set out in the bush. The amenities were also suffcient. Personally we had all that we needed so the stay was awesome.The Bali Room was awesome and just around the corner from our bungalow.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Excellent for a couple's weekend away.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows
Responded 22 Mar 2018
Thanks John. It was a real pleasure to have you guys stay at our place, and I'm so glad you had a lovely time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bedg33 wrote a review Mar 2018
Sonoma, California1 contribution
What we liked: funky small cabin with a nice little kitchen, close to the beach, and private. What we disliked: two electric bug killers were injecting poison into the interior of the cabin, the air was polluted. Walkways to the cabins were steep, narrow, and overgrown. Getting luggage down was difficult, parking was a problem, and we felt the units were overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows
Responded 6 Mar 2018
Hi there Glad you liked the place. The bug killers are a real dilemma for us - they're usually just plugged in and people have the choice whether to use them or not. We do have mosquito nets on the windows and some guests are very happy just to use those. However, we have also had feedback that people wanted another option if any bugs got through. Personally, we'd prefer not to use the poisons, but it's there for anyone who is really bothered by mosquitos and wants a second line of defence. I'm very sorry it wasn't your preference and I do hope you just turned them off. Unfortunately, we can't do very much about the parking or the pathways, although I will say that the most of the pathways were renewed last summer. However, the contour of the site is what it is, as is our interface with the road. There is some parking, and usually it's enough as few people bring cars. Again, I apologise if this was a problem for you. We do try very hard to be clear about what people can expect when they come to us, and our prices are carefully set in accordance with similar properties in such a premium location, as you say so private and close to the beach. I hope you enjoyed your stay, nevertheless!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
annalieseleonard wrote a review Mar 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
We loved our stay at the Palm Beach Bungalows. The location is great, it's set in the quiet lush tropical bush just above the beautiful Palm Beach. Our bungalow was well provided for with great attention to detail. Loved the comfy cotton bedding and thick towels. Kate was really helpful with quick responses to my questions when booking, we will certainly stay here again. Thanks for a great place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows
Responded 6 Mar 2018
Thanks for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we'll be delighted to see you again any time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Waiheke Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$184 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
palm beach bungalows hotel waiheke island
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandWaiheke Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PALM BEACH BUNGALOWS - Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Waiheke Island) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Palm Beach Bungalows
Which popular attractions are close to Palm Beach Bungalows?
Nearby attractions include Wild on Waiheke (2.5 km), Oneroa Beach (4.0 km), and Rangihoua Estate (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palm Beach Bungalows?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and complimentary tea.
Which room amenities are available at Palm Beach Bungalows?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Palm Beach Bungalows?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea, free instant coffee, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Palm Beach Bungalows?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palm Beach Bungalows?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casita Miro, Tantalus Estate Restaurant, and The Heke Waiheke.
Are there any historical sites close to Palm Beach Bungalows?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stockade Hill (15.9 km).