Waiheke Island Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Waiheke Island Resort

4 Bay Road, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1071 New Zealand
Dining view
Traveller (77)
Two Bedroom Villas Lounge
Room & Suite (13)
Palm Deck - Event dinning
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#5 of 6 hotels in Waiheke Island
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
An island of spectacular beauty, Waiheke is renowned for its award winning vineyards, unique art, stylish cafes, and stunning beaches. Waiheke Island Resort and Conference Centre is the island’s foremost accommodation venue. Only 35 minutes from Auckland, this unique resort is set in subtropical gardens overlooking Palm Beach with a beautiful ocean vista.Our facilities, relaxing atmosphere, commitment to quality and outstanding customer service have made Waiheke Island Resort a popular retreat for both business, and leisure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Mini golf
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Manicure
Pedicure
Waxing services
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
153Reviews2Q+A38Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 37
  • 37
  • 21
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lamca274 wrote a review Oct 2022
Auckland, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were pleasantly surprised by how nice this supposedly 3.5 star place. It had two bathrooms and bedrooms a pool and even a whole 18 hole mini golf course. Our hotel room was really beautiful and we had a great view of the ocean. But I would recommend going out for breakfast because my poached egg was more boiled than poached.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go during the off season. Be prepared for lots of steps.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trail16156874120 wrote a review Oct 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This felt like it aimed for a nice hotel experience but was run like a backpackers hostel. Pros were clean room and nice cocktails. Cons: nice but very inexperienced staff and messy, unmanaged swimming pool area. There was a public party on the Sunday evening but the swimming pool area was still absolutely disgusting by noon the following day which is pretty unfair for the guests who were paying a considerable amount of money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire wrote a review May 2023
Louisville, Kentucky
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, this resort is not on the Hop On Hop Off bus route, but it is near a local bus stop. Very confusing. We used the Hop On Hop Off Explorer bus and ended up walking along the road for 25 minutes with some pretty good inclines, so we learned the hard way that Waiheke Island is NOT for pedestrians. In hindsight, we should have just taken a taxi from the ferry terminal. The hotel room itself was lovely. If you can, splurge for the sea view balcony. Since most places on the island close at 5 or just after dinner, the balcony is a nice place to enjoy the rest of your evening with a bottle of wine from one of the island’s many vineyards.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The hotel is far from the Hop On Hop Off Explorer bus, and the island is not safe for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kiwisteve001 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a room at the resort for one night to cope with overflow at our beach house, and it was ideal. Room came with a terrace and fantastic views over Palm Beach, and everything you need including small kitchen and tea/coffee facilities. Very good bed and linen. The reception team were extremely helpful, including letting me preview the room before booking. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parke MacKay, General Manager at Waiheke Island Resort
Responded 8 Apr 2021
Thank you for the kind feedback :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TNTonTour wrote a review Oct 2023
Jersey, United Kingdom
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
In an idyllic setting unfortunately the resort was not of a good standard. The room was dated but clean.
The cocktails were good as was the view.
Some of the staff were friendly.
The pool area was tired and in need of maintenance. The spa for general use was filthy.
As it was Labour Day weekend, the hotel hosted a Rose party and the admission charge was NZ$10 but this was little compensation for the noise for hotel residents and the filthy pool changing room and toilet which still hadn’t been cleaned by 11:30 the next day. We used the pool area that morning and asked for towels which they didn’t bother to bring us.
When we complained about being left with nothing to dry ourselves and the dirty changing room, they staff just shrugged (absolutely my favourite response to a complaint).
Apparently breakfast was included for a Saturday night stay but they didn’t tell us until Monday. As we complained they let us have a breakfast but we still had to pay for coffee which isn’t included in their breakfast.
Whilst I would stay in this island again, it definitely wouldn’t be here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Summer is busy here apparently but Spring and Autumn. Food is excellent as was the wine tour we...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
grant T wrote a review Dec 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Small cosy units with double bed and balcony overlooking the famous Palm Beach. My unit had a narrow view of the beach but it was enough and the various trees on either side of the view had 2 kingfisher resting in them. The facilities were standard but good and room was very clean. The shower was hot and goo pressure which was great to wash the sand away. Hot tup was hot and view from pool was great. Only downside was bistro was closed for 4 nights of the week and breakfast was from 10 am due to shortage of staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Monday on Waiheke have only 2 restaurants open for dinners. All other places are closed Mondays...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Beach House W wrote a review Jun 2020
St Heliers, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the resort, the room was warm, well equipped and immaculately clean. Even over a wet weekend on Waiheke the room was super cosy and seemed to hold the heat without even using the air conditioning. The views from all over the resort speak for them self, they’re truely incredible.

Communication from the staff was on point, and they were friendly and accommodating.

Great stay, would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parke MacKay, General Manager at Waiheke Island Resort
Responded 8 Apr 2021
Thank you for your kind feedback. Do visit again soon :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessi wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ll start with the positive, and unfortunately there’s only one. The view from our room was absolutely incredible.

Unfortunately it goes downhill from there…

The room was ok, but very tired. There were AirWick plug things all over the place and we were fairly certain that our room had some smoke damage.

The pool was disgusting and I wouldn’t even go near the spa. There were kids doing bombs into the pool and no staff around to manage this.
But wait, it gets worse. When I asked the (polite but fairly clueless) bartender where the towels were for the pool, he looked so confused. There are no towels for the pool. You need to use your bath towel.

When I asked for ice in my drink, he had to go out the back which makes me think that bar is not well managed and probably unnecessary anyway as there were no patrons anyway.

The restaurant was closed both nights we stayed which is so bizarre for a ‘resort’. We stayed on a Wednesday and Thursday. There were absolutely no offers of suggestions of where we should go for dinner.

The room was down about 50 steps and the staff won’t help you with your luggage.

There was a van with the resort logo on it, presumably a courtesy van but no offer to be taken anywhere.

The staff were pleasant enough but really didn’t have much of a care factor. When we asked to use the E-bikes, we were told there was only 3 charged (there was 4 of us). I call BS, I would imagine that none were charged. When I asked for the receptionist to call us a taxi van, it really did seem like I was asking for a lot. Quite laughable.

Lastly, when we came back after a day out, our room had not been made up. There is no ‘do not disturb’ sign, so I hadn’t accidentally put this up.

We decided to get some ice from the bar at 7pm as we had an early dinner in town. The bar and reception was closed and locked.

This is not a resort, it’s a motel with an epic view. I wouldn’t recommend staying here but if you do, you need to be self sufficient in regard to food, drinks, excursions and be able to tackle the stairs/hills.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StephanieAnna wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The view is amazing and the staff were great - the room was such a let down and in serious need of a spruce up. It was so dated and run down. The bathroom smelled of urine and the bathroom vanity was actually coming away from the wall. No toilet roll holder. The headboard of the bed had a horrible smell coming from it and hairs stuck in the material. It's such a shame that the room doesn't match the 5-star sea view. Other things that were a bit odd is that it costs $25 to use the pool? Restaurant wasn't open during the hours that it was meant to be. It seemed the management of this resort is a bit all over the place to be honest. Mini-golf course was great.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parke MacKay, General Manager at Waiheke Island Resort
Responded 5 Dec 2021
Hi Stephanie, You were charged $25 to use the Resort Pool because you were not a guest of the Resort, but rather staying in a privately owned Unit that has nothing to do with our business. We do not have headboards in any of our Units, & we certainly would not allow any of our Units to be left in the state you have described. We're not sure what info your provider gave you concerning our restaurant hours, but Guests of ours receive accurate restaurant hours of operation upon check in - these hours are also on our website. Glad you enjoyed our views, our staff service & our MiniGolf Course - next time we love the opportunity to also provide your accommodation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
calstockphil wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland, New Zealand
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic Easter weekend at the WIR. Great room which was comfortable and clean. The team, led by Parke, and just wonderful. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. Food and beverage service was top quality. Highly recommended for couples, families, singles and businesses.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerard N asked a question Jun 2016
Driggs, Idaho12 contributions3 helpful votes
do you have wheelchair accessible rooms available nov 3rd depart nov 7th 2016
Answer from Careful_One
Ottawa, Canada81 contributions35 helpful votes
You should contact the hotel directly. The hotel is a series of apartments down the face of a steep hillside so while there may be a room near check-in the facility itself has MANY stairs and no elevator. It is a stunning property with excellent food but it seems to me to be ill suited for wheelchair access
eatdunthinkc wrote a tip Apr 2024
19 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel you won’t want to be treated inhumanly "
Read full review
TNTonTour wrote a tip Oct 2023
Jersey, United Kingdom80 contributions48 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Summer is busy here apparently but Spring and Autumn. Food is excellent as was the wine tour we did with Waiheke Island Tours."
Read full review
Claire wrote a tip May 2023
Louisville, Kentucky7 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is far from the Hop On Hop Off Explorer bus, and the island is not safe for pedestrians, so take a taxi for time and safety."
Read full review
Dreamer41979323523 wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask not to be located near a renter and not in a room below anyone. "
Read full review
grant T wrote a tip Dec 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand68 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Monday on Waiheke have only 2 restaurants open for dinners. All other places are closed Mondays and some even Tuesdays are closed too"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Waiheke Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waiheke island resort and conference centre hotel waiheke island, waiheke island hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandWaiheke Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WAIHEKE ISLAND RESORT - Now $147 (Was $̶1̶8̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Waiheke Island Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Waiheke Island Resort?
Nearby attractions include Wild on Waiheke (2.4 km), Oneroa Beach (4.1 km), and Rangihoua Estate (3.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waiheke Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Waiheke Island Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Waiheke Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Waiheke Island Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waiheke Island Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casita Miro, Tantalus Estate Restaurant, and The Heke Kitchen, Brewery & Distillery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waiheke Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Waiheke Island Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waiheke Island Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Waiheke Island Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stony Batter Historic Reserve (3.7 km).
Does Waiheke Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Waiheke Island HotelsWaiheke Island Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Waiheke IslandHotels near Waiheke Island Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire