Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Picton Yacht Club Hotel

Basic at best
Traveller (345)
Park Regis Picton Marlborou
Room & Suite (142)
The bar area.
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
$141
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#11 of 15 hotels in Picton
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Sitting in a prime location with spectacular views of Marlborough Sound and wine region, Picton Yacht Club Hotel is a perfect destination for either a holiday escape or business event. With 48 comfortable spacious rooms and contemporary apartments to choose from, Picton Yacht Club Hotel has rooms to suit every guest's preference.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Street parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English
629Reviews1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 112
  • 193
  • 174
  • 72
  • 78
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SpiderMonkey31 wrote a review Jan 2020
Whanganui, New Zealand38 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is in a good location, close to the main heart of Picton town and a short walk to the ferry. We stayed in a modern king room overlooking the harbour which was nice and the view was beautiful. Room was modern, clean and made over each day. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast each day and found it to be a good full breakfast and fairly priced.

There are however a few small touches that are missing as expected basics when paying $310NZD per night. Tea, coffee and milk supply was basic and there was no mini bar/snacks. Bathroom supplies are also basic and a limited amount. We were disappointed with the quality of pillows, and the fact that they didn’t have washable protectors over them (it is not a major expense to have decent pillows)
The elevator is out of order (but to be fair I’m sure someone would help with bags up the stairs if needed) the carpets in the halls are needing a good wash and paint work on walls and doors is very worn. As I understand the hotel is having or about to have some renovations done this year which I think most people can be understanding of but your price needs to reflect this until sorted. People are always happy if they feel they have a room that is value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pictonyachtclubhotel, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. Building renovation is being scheduled soon in 2020 which will definitely resolve majority of the issues that you have mentioned. Thank you. Have a nice trip Regards KC
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandee wrote a review Nov 2020
15 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived we were told as we were staying 4 nights our room would not be serviced but we could get clean towels from reception when required. Took a bond off credit card even though we had prepaid. Our room was a good size and was one of the renovated ones. Good view. Our friends got a suite (expensive) in the area not renovated and it was very dated. The view was the side of a building and no sun. They complained and got moved. No breakfast included and didn't bother with the restaurant. Bar was closed. Did get room service, sometimes bed was made and towels left. Very handy to restaurants, shops and waterfront.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
starblade25 wrote a review Sept 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand15 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed overnight before travelling to Christchurch. Signage to parking areas needs to be added to make it clear where to park, was raining heavily when we arrived and if you don't know the area it is very frustrating. Night manager was super friendly and helpful, he really made checking in super easy. Finding the room was tricky as the room nr signage for each floor is not very clear. We came down to find out about dinner only to be told that neither of the restaurants at the hotel were operating even though COVID alert levels are at 2 so shouldn't have been an issue. The lovely night manager suggested we try one of the restaurants nearby and was trying to direct us when he was interrupted by another staff member. Although she came out to show us where to go i found that VERY unprofessional - as the guest it made me cringe, can't imagine what the other staff member felt like. Breakfast was supposed to be included but all we got were 2 slices of dried up cold toast and a pottle of cereal with no milk. The yoghurt was too thick to make it palatable - very disappointing and we are not happy considering the price. House keeping staff also need to be trained better - we had a 10am check out and at 9.45am a staff member knocked loudly and asked if we were done yet! Honestly that is the first time I have experienced that on any travels and was really annoyed. On the positive side, the room was super clean and comfy with a lovely view over the pool and could see the harbour when standing on the balcony. For a 4 star facility it was not really what we expected.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Great views - choose from pool or harbour views when booking.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Morie G wrote a review Feb 2020
Brisbane, Australia7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night in a one bedroom apartment. Superficially, the room looked like the website photos, but close up everything was tired looking. The pillows were incredibly thin, and the king size bed was two singles pushed together( ridge in the middle. There were no bedside tables so nowhere for a glass of water. The grey carpet had white spots in all the rooms, not sure what from, and the dining chairs were dusty and had breadcrumbs on them. We paid $340NZ a night without breakfast, but had booked about 3 weeks earlier and there weren’t many options. When we checked out we tried to say we were not happy, and the reaction was astonishing. The person at reception agreed that the room was not worth the price we paid but said the price was high because it was tourist season, and the price was much less in the off season. Effectively, tourists are gouged because they can get away with it. Next we were told, that they knew about the issues, that was why a multimillion dollar upgrade was planned and we were shown a framed newspaper article about it. Clearly they are prepared for.negative comments - why else would you have an article about the planned upgrade on the reception counter as guests checking out don’t care about such things, only the current state to the hotel.

They are trading on location, the lack of competition and don’t seem to care about the fact the price does not reflect the quality of the room. A tariff of $150 would have been more realistic.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don’t pay extra for an apartment, it is not worth it
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin wrote a review Oct 2020
Wellington, New Zealand10 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff are pleasant and professional, with nice facilities such as shared decks with chairs for each room with a large swimming pool. A nice outdoor area is also a plus. However, the rooms are all on an outside back deck (not a problem) but this is very narrow, making it difficult for two people to pass each other. The door that leads inside can be unlocked by the room key, and is self closing. Too self closing. The door slams really loud each and every time someone goes through it. A literal nightmare for trying to sleep, and a most unwelcome wake up alarm. Particularly if you’re in a room close to the door.

Our shower looked nice until you turn it on and realise that half the water leaks out at the joint to the head, leaving a very weak water pressure coming out the shower head and water everywhere you don’t want it.

The only kitchen facilities are a fridge and kettle (fine), but there’s only Lipton tea or some very weird coffee in the room, with very unsustainable tiny plastic single-use milk pottles in the fridge. There’s not even hot chocolate unless you want to go to the restaurant and pay five bucks for one. No thanks.

BEWARE - the ‘buffet breakfast’ is only continental and features one type of bread, a triangle of wrapped butter (not bad), cornflakes and Wheetbix. That’s it. If you ask, they’ll give you some jam. They also have Raro and instant coffee. Again, no hot chocolate unless you bay five bucks for one. Cannot say even the continental breakfast was the slightest bit enjoyable.

The cost-benefit of the nice views for all rooms is that everyone looks into each other’s rooms. Tinting your windows would solve this problem. Even just some lace curtain or something.

The parking situation is diabolical. We couldn’t find any and had to park on the street even though our room apparently came with a park. This is an issue you need to get on top of ASAP. I recommend making parks numbered according to room.

Overall, I thought the already overpriced room was horrible value and deceiving in what you get. They try to get every last extra dollar out of you by doing the bare minimum in everything and charging exorbitant prices for anything and everything else. To slap an egg and canned baked beans on a slice of toast for you, they’ll charge $15 for the privilege. This has been an experience I certainly hope never to repeat again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bipendra KC, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. In regards breakfast, we offer complimentary light breakfast to all our hotel guest without charging them any extra. The hotel is going with 5 star renovation after Xmas 2020 and we will take your suggestions in regards car park and balcony space. Hope I am able to clarify your concern. Thank you for staying with us. Regards KC- General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Competonions wrote a review Mar 2020
Whitianga, New Zealand33 contributions62 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night as part of a multi-week tour of both New Zealand islands. Arriving on the train from Kaikoura, this was a convenient place to stay before heading off to Marlborough.

It must be our lucky day! We managed to land one of the very few rooms without a balcony, and no air conditioning. We have a poky corner room with a tiny window with an angled view of the harbour. The whole hotel appears to need a full refurbishment. The corridor carpets are grubby, the walls are scuffed and the bathroom, although having been well cleaned, needs resealing as the silicone is black in places. The bare minimum of toiletries has been supplied; three small tubes for two people.

For a three star hotel, it is just about acceptable. We don’t feel that we are valued as clients, just tolerated as one nighters.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cgane2017 wrote a review Mar 2020
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Agree with comments about the lack of cleanliness. However we were obliged to stay 2 nights as other hotels shutting down due to Covid 19 virus which also necessitated eating in house with room service as the restaurant was closed. The breakfast menu was limited but good but dinner was a disaster. We ordered 2 Scotch fillet steaks which were comprised almost entirely of gristle and fat the actual amount of meat amounting to no more than a teaspoon full. I notified the desk who said they would investigate but when time came to pay next morning the manager claimed that he had no authority to reduce the full charge of the steaks and that he had to go through proper procedures and speak to the head chef who wasn't there at the time. In the meantime he insisted that I pay the bill in full and trust him to speak to the head chef. I pointed out that once I had paid the bill it was highly unlikely that I would receive a refund but the manger refused to budge. After a long argument he took off the price of the side plate of vegetables ($8.50) and gave us 2 coffees which I didn't want. I told the manager that I could not believe that a manager of a big hotel did not have discretion to deal with something like this but he insisted that he did not and he had to follow "correct procedures". I know that it was a difficult time for all hotels but that does not excuse ripping off guests by charging $59 for two pieces of meat which I would hesitate to feed to my cat. I would never ever stay in this hotel again and certainly would never recommend its restaurant for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter S wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked the room online over a week out and paid what I consider top money. On arrival and check in they wanted another $50 which I would have paid back into my bank account within 3 - 4 days of check out. They are quick to take it and slow to pay it back. The room was not worth the money we paid for it when compared to other places we had stayed at in the previous 10 days and what I would normally expect to pay.
Beds were a good size but needed a valance to give them a good tidy look.
Cutlery and Crockery needed to be sorted out and updated. Need wine Glasses.
Luckily we only wanted the 1 night
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
timekeeper71 wrote a review Oct 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand20 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Originally booking for 2 nights, we enjoyed our stay so much, we extended to a 3ed night.
Excellent location, close to the Picton waterfront.
Staff were knowledgable in the local area and very helpful.
Breakfast consisted of a range of cereals, fruit, yogurt, toast, juices/teas/coffee.
Hot food could also be ordered at a charge.
The room we had was spacious and well presented. Bathroom was modern and very clean.
We enjoyed an oceanview room which overlooked the harbour so we could watch the boats coming and going.
Excellent value for money!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie S wrote a review Feb 2022
Palmerston North, New Zealand162 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
our sea view room was a perfect resting place. we didn't book just called in they were very very welcoming and accommodating found us a lovely room at a good price.10/10
bathroom clean and modern easy to move around in 10/10
sheets white and crisp , lovely pillows 10/10
weather was hot had sliding doors open, little noise from surround area..
provided a fan. no air conditioning
slept well
right in the township, free parking, moments walk to restaurants, 5 mins to the ferry.

all the things that matter were great, thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jackson Simon, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Kia Julie, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We value our guests feedback Nga mihi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
virajmehta16 asked a question Sept 2015
New Delhi, India31 contributions24 helpful votes
Does the rooms have air conditioning? Viraj
Answer from
Melbourne, Australia
Unsure, best to contact the hotel direct We were there in winter, it had heating Enjoy
Macca wrote a tip 9 Apr
Bunbury, Australia22 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid hotel as there’s cleaner out there. This place doesn’t get basics done before you arrive. No towels and dirty sheets."
Read full review
ronjulz wrote a tip Feb 2024
Taupo, New Zealand28 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a top floor room and enjoy the views.."
Read full review
ellen5181 wrote a tip Feb 2024
New York City, New York222 contributions90 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its a quirky hotel and may not be the best place for travelers with mobility issues or concerns about certain accommodation standards."
Read full review
Nancy L wrote a tip Nov 2023
Blenheim, New Zealand15 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It was a nice hotel in a great location, but their customer service took centre stage. Thanks to Fiona!"
Read full review
CrazyShopper23 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Sydney132 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Car parking available, the continental breakfast included was basic but did the trick for a few morning snacks"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Picton area.
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure picton marlborough sounds hotel picton, the yacht hotel picton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Park Regis Picton
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandMarlborough RegionPicton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PICTON YACHT CLUB HOTEL - Now $168 (Was $̶2̶1̶6̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Picton Yacht Club Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Edwin Fox Maritime Museum (0.4 km), Picton Sound (0.2 km), and Tirohanga Track (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Picton Yacht Club Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Picton Yacht Club Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Picton Yacht Club Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Picton Yacht Club Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Picton Yacht Club Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Seumus' Irish Bar, Picton Village Bakkerij, and The Barn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Picton Yacht Club Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Picton Yacht Club Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Picton.
Does Picton Yacht Club Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Picton Yacht Club Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Edwin Fox Maritime Museum (0.4 km).
Does Picton Yacht Club Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Picton HotelsPicton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PictonHotels near Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire