We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Portage Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (253)
Room & Suite (55)
Pool & Beach (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 15 hotels in Picton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
**NOTE: From September 1st 2023, Portage Resort is under NEW MANAGEMENT**. Base yourself at The Portage Resort and experience the best Marlborough has to offer. We are an ideal 2 or 3 night stay so that you can enjoy cruising the Marlborough Sounds, walking New Zealand's famous Queen Charlotte Track, wildlife eco tours, or sea kayaking, fishing and sailing on Kenepuru Sound. Let us know your favourite adventure activity when you book and we'll assist with arrangements for you. Food options range from quality restaurant dining featuring seafood in The Portage Restaurant and Bar to the more casual Snapper bar for a relaxed evening of dining, socialising & catching the amazing sunsets with pub-style fayre. Popular with the locals. Located 10 minutes walk from the acclaimed Queen Charlotte Track, The Portage Resort offers a selection of accommodation from our premium Kereru suites to two story villas and hillside sea view rooms as well as our budget Weka rooms. The Portage Resort is only accessible via water taxi - 15 minutes from Picton or 45 minutes from Havelock. Blenheim Airport has multiple flights from the major cities of Auckland, Wellington or Christchurch, every day. The Portage Resort is your Marlborough accommodation base to explore the magic of the Marlborough Sounds top of the South Island of New Zealand.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Canoeing
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
597Reviews1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 180
  • 159
  • 123
  • 90
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
NevyE wrote a review 1 Apr
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions
+1
The scenery is exceptional! Reminds me to stop and appreciate the beauty of nature. Portage is nestled beautifully amongst the Queen Charlotte Sound with views that can be enjoyed with a wine or two on the balcony. Thoroughly enjoyed all our dining too. The breakfasts and dinners were absolutely delicious! Yes the rooms might be slightly outdated but one never tires of the view! Also the staff were amazing. A special mention to Ben who helped me greatly with getting our bikes and then helping me with the first hurdle. We really enjoyed our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
aml888 wrote a review Mar 2024
San Francisco, California418 contributions221 helpful votes
If you're hiking the Queen Charlotte track, the only other option after a very long Day 3 is a backpacker hostel. The Portage has its issues but it's the better option and is fine for one night. The setting is gorgeous, like pretty much everything on the QC. The restaurant and bar, both in the main building, overlook a beautiful bay and the views are stunning. There's a terrace off the bar which is a great place to have a cold beer or glass of wine. The restaurant's pretty good and even has some decent vegetarian options. The staff were all very friendly. A big plus was the guest laundry. We were able to wash our stinky trail clothes for $4 NZD. Our room, however, was pretty disappointing. We stayed in one of the "budget friendly" Weka rooms. It was pretty bare bones, like a Motel 6 with much nicer towels and a comfy bed but without AC or a TV. There was a really grotty, stained old arm chair in one corner and the bathroom was functional but weird. There were lots of dead bugs around. Overall, it's overpriced for what it is but for one night on the trail with cold beer, a shower and a comfy bed, it delivers.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It's definitely worth having a drink on the terrace.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Trek54598328899 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Such a great location. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Storms in the region from a few years ago has caused some significant issues to the road network in the region and the fact The Portage is still providing a great service is a credit to them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David H wrote a review Feb 2024
Melbourne, Australia51 contributions28 helpful votes
Last stop on the Queen Charlotte Track for us, and great to cool off in the pool. Lovely big rooms facing the sea. Exceptional mussel entree for dinner but fish and chips were more ordinary. Drinks are expensive. Liked the shuttle up to the track in the morning. Staff were backpacker friendly but not particularly skillful. The packed lunches were part of our package and very good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Get the shuttle back to the Track.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
annie_bananz wrote a review Feb 2024
Porirua, New Zealand1 contribution
Me and hubs stayed just one night, had the best view from our room, so peaceful and clean, hubs said his steak was one of the best he’s ever had, cooked to perfection, I had Thai curry vegetarian, it was so so good the flavours and amount was perfect, would love to come back and bring friends too, wish I had my Hansel’s to have a swim in the bay, sea life was super sharp, our porter that took us from boat to resort was awesome very friendly everyone was
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rob wrote a review Feb 2024
Christchurch, New Zealand13 contributions16 helpful votes
After a walk on the Queen Charlotte track decided to pop into the Portage for a cold drink. BIG MISTAKE!! 1 glass of beer (Tui which is a basic cheap beer) was $21 and a small can of coke $6.50. When I quizzed the price the poor bartender looked embarrassed and said sorry I agree, but they have recently put up the prices. Well they lost our custom as we would have had more drinks and food if they did not gouge customers. I warned others walking down the road and luckily the decided to not go in.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Portage Resort
Responded 8 Feb 2024
Hi there, we are really sorry that you had this experience. There was indeed a pricing error on this occasion which has now been rectified. We hope you will consider dropping by to see us again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Resort821150 wrote a review Feb 2024
Nelson, New Zealand3 contributions
+1
We were unsure what to expect after reading some mixed reviews, but come on people...this is paradise!! All the staff from maintenance/grounds to housekeeping,FOH, bar and waiting staff were just lovely. We appreciated having a little fridge and coffee machine in our room (Tui Terraces) and there was heaps of hot water at good pressure in the shower. A nice deep balcony meant you could be in the sun or the shade. The restaurant was fine (mussels in cream sauce were REALLY good). Prices were what you should expect for the location. Did some walks and took a double kayak to The Gap. No problems there either. Even had a float plane come in near us, and that's something you don't see every day. Loved our 2 nights at The Portage thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Portage Resort
Responded 8 Feb 2024
Thanks for this great review of your stay with us. We think it's paradise also!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Helen wrote a review Dec 2023
Picton, New Zealand12 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Just had an amazing stay. Lovely to have the portage open again - location is stunning. But - the new staff made the stay so enjoyable. They really went to the extra level. And the food - well clearly they have an extremely good chef. We were hoping for 3* and were stunned and so happy with a 5* stay! Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Portage Resort
Responded 8 Feb 2024
Thanks so much for your kind review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
maxtedandlily wrote a review Dec 2023
Melbourne, Australia382 contributions165 helpful votes
This was the last night on the queen charlotte walk and I was keen to see what this hotel would be like compared to Furneaux and Punga. The hotel itself was pretty nice , quite big compared to the others but my room was nice. The shower was really hopeless in terms of water pressure but it was clean. Staff were friendly enough - all these hotels are full of backpackers working so friendly but not polished. My walking friends and I all complained about the cost and quality of our walkers lunches - at $29 they were all appalling and so we talked at length at checkin and agreed we did not want salami. The beach is pretty awful here and certainly not somewhere I wanted to swim but there was a pool. Mince on toast for breakfast was lovely and off we went. Sandwiches all had salami and were awful and went in the bin. I actually wrote to the hotel to complain as I was fed up with spending that money and throwing food out. They apologised but no refund. The walkers lunches are a real failure of the walk.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Portage Resort
Responded 8 Feb 2024
Hi there, thanks for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your comments around some of the less than special parts of your stay and take feedback seriously in order to improve our offering. I am sorry that you had cause to complain to the hotel on this occasion.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bushcat1 wrote a review Dec 2023
Pietermaritzburg59 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
We had been tramping the Queen Charlotte Track and stayed at this lovely resort three quarters of our way down the track. Great welcome by the staff and the beer nice and cold! Great food offering which was enjoyed by all. The pool and watersports equipment also appreciated ! Comfy beds and clean rooms. Nice place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Portage Resort, General Manager at Portage Resort
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Good Day! Thank you kindly for the lovely review of your stay with us at Portage Resort. We're thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and all the facilities we offered. We hope you have a fantastic New Year, and visit us again in the future. We will pass our message on to the staff who have been working exceptionally hard to make everyone super happy! Warmest Regards, Portage Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Picton area.
PRICE RANGE
$194 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the portage hotel picton, portage hotel picton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Peppers Portage
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandMarlborough RegionPicton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PORTAGE RESORT - Now $187 (Was $̶2̶6̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Picton, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Portage Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Portage Resort?
Nearby attractions include Lochmara Marlborough Sounds (4.3 km), Karaka Point Walk (6.6 km), and Lochmara Lodge Arts Centre (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Portage Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Portage Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Portage Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lochmara Cafe, Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar, and The Portage Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Portage Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Portage Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Edwin Fox Maritime Museum (10.0 km).
Does Portage Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.