Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Picton Beachcomber Inn

Traveller (160)
uitzicht
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
$156
Fully refundable before Sat, 4 May
Get rewarded with One Key
$140
Fully refundable before Sat, 4 May
No fees just great deals
$127
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#6 of 15 hotels in Picton
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Picton does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Picton Beachcomber Inn, a nice option for travellers like you.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Picton Beachcomber Hotel offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a minibar.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including room service, express check-in and check-out, and baggage storage. Guests of Picton Beachcomber Inn are also welcome to enjoy a pool and a lounge, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

Picton Sound (0.2 mi), located nearby, makes Picton Beachcomber Hotel a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Picton landmark.

While you’re here, be sure to check out Thai Panda, one of the Chinese restaurants that can be found in Picton, which is a short distance from Picton Beachcomber Inn.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Edwin Fox Maritime Museum (0.3 mi), which is a popular Picton attraction – and it is conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

Picton Beachcomber Inn puts the best of Picton at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Street parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Sun terrace
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
373Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 165
  • 32
  • 13
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Greg F wrote a review Sept 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand997 contributions178 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Picton Beachcomber in Early September. The location is excellent with about a 3-5 minute walk to the Water Taxis and restaurants in Picton.
Even though we arrived at about 9 PM and the reception was close, they left our keys in an envelope with directions to our room. The room itself was just the right size, with a small kitchenette (Stove top, Microwave, Kettle, Coffee, hot chocolate and milk).T he bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom on the whole were spotless.
Would definitely be staying here again, as it's good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret Rawlings wrote a review Jan 2020
20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great facilities, cooking well catered for. Excellent location which was easy walking distance to the township. The best shower, and liquid dispensers for consumables, so very little waste. Plus points for eco friendly. Enjoyed sitting outside in the afternoon and great harbour views.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Excellent location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn Clark wrote a review Jun 2020
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a room the an amazing view over the marina. It was awesome to sit and watch the Ferries come and go. Very comfortable and warm room. The shower was not so good though. Very hard to get in and out without getting water every where. Would help if it had a removable shower head or one that changes direction. Good facilities, was great to be able to do washing. Easy walking distance to town.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Prudence wrote a review Apr 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointing stay. First impressions were not good. The owner of the hotel could not even acknowledge me. A nice 'hello' and 'Welcome, enjoy your stay' would have been nice! I was completely blanked!

At breakfast the next morning, there was absolute chaos. They obviously could not cope with the volume of guests. Used plates and cutlery piled up on the breakfast tables. No clearing away! The receptionist appeared and spent time just pushing salt and pepper pots around the tables. I watched her racing around doing nothing! I overheard a couple ask for the tables to be cleared so they could sit down. The reply was 'I'm the receptionist'. 'I don't care who you are, I would like the table cleared' was the gentleman's reply. What sort of attitude is that. We were told that this hotel is family owned and the company we were travelling with had high regards for them. We were not the only ones to be disappointed here. They really should drop this hotel from the agenda!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Suzette Muller, General Manager at Picton Beachcomber Inn
Responded 29 Apr 2020
We are sorry that this is the experience you perceived you had at our Hotel. It is not how we normally operate but due to COVID 19 circumstances at the time, we had only one staff member available that day to do cooking, waitressing and bags for the whole Hotel - 2 Tour Groups. Staff that usually work in these positions had underlying medical conditions that meant they could not come into work safely. As you can appreciate it has been an unprecedented situation, not just for us to be dealing with but for the whole world, I think some consideration needs to be given to management at these times as they were under incredible stress. It is to the Receptionist's credit that at least they attempted to assist in an area that is not their normal expected work duties. Stay safe, be kind.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert Martelletti wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we are told the kitchen is closed and there will be no breakfast or dinner. This is not indicated on their website. The room cost $330 per night which was $60 dearer than booked on the computer. The room had no airconditioning and a fan that was too noisey to have running whilst sleeping. Cleaning of the room was good and everything in the room was in good condition. This Hotel appeared to be well over priced.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the Hotel have the view of the harbor. Close walking to restuarants, centre...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Suzette Muller, General Manager at Picton Beachcomber Inn
Responded 23 Jan 2021
Hi we do advertise our restaurant is not currently open on site, renovations are being done at the present time. The staff have been relocated to another premise in approximately 200m from the hotel to accommodate. Guests are advised of this again at check in. Our room rates have never been $330 per night - did you maybe stay 2 nights or did you maybe book 2 rooms????? We have not had any complaints about noisy fans in rooms - all work perfectly well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chrissyB wrote a review Jan 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Agree 100% with11Washington review after our recent stay, exactly the same. Add to that the pool was filthy, unswimmable with dirty bottom and cloudy water. Management blamed on leaves and wind but next door hotel's was sparkling clean and being used!
"On arrival we are told the kitchen is closed and there will be no breakfast or dinner. This is not indicated on their website. The room cost $330 per night which was $60 dearer than booked on the computer. The room had no airconditioning and a fan that was too noisey to have running whilst sleeping. Cleaning of the room was good and everything in the room was in good condition. This Hotel appeared to be well over priced".. Very noisy from road behind..assume not double glazed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Not recommended for a stay...find better value elsewhere in Picton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Suzette Muller, General Manager at Picton Beachcomber Inn
Responded 23 Jan 2021
As was explained at the time we had 3 days of wind- strong gusts, plus rain and hail the previous day therefore there was leaves in the pool. We have plantings and trees around our pool area, next door hotel does not. Our pool gets commercially cleaned, but wind and rain is out of our control as explained. We are unsure why you have copied the other review of 11Washington as you never got charged that rate or mentioned any issues to reception about the fan or heat. All windows are double glazed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RandomUncle wrote a review Jan 2020
Singapore, Singapore23 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our ferry journey started promptly at 4 pm and that brought our arrival at Picton close to 8 pm. All worn and tired as we the sleepy town of Picton, wanted to hail a grab /cab BUT none in sight.

The Summer daylight offered some respite. Armed with Google Map we soon set our feet towards our destination .

Picton Beachcomber's Inn. Do not expect someone to be behind the counter 24/7 BUT with a ring of the BELL, you will soon be entertain by a friendly motherly voice. She was so kind to hold the train/kitchen as we fill our stomach with some more delicious gargantuan serving for dinner cum supper.

Soon we retire to our room for 4 to recharge for our journey ahead.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wellyburgh wrote a review Jan 2021
Wellington, New Zealand101 contributions35 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Positives first - the rooms are nicely appointed, the shower and spa bath were great, and the beds are comfortable, so the basics are done right.
No air con which could be a problem in the summer.
The building itself is a wee bit shabby, and has not aged well. The rooms themselves are better.
Negatives, well there is no privacy between balconies and anyone smoking on a neighbouring balcony will really annoy the surrounding rooms. Smoking is in a way encouraged by the hotel - each balcony has an ashtray. Which is a bit odd these days.
I was really disappointed that the restaurant was closed for refurbishment. It’s great that the refurbishment is happening and I wish the hotel success with their investment.... the problem is you have to tell your customers! Either put it on the website or tell us at the time we book. The restaurant is the point of difference between choosing a Hotel over a Motel. The Beachcomber makes a point of advertising itself as a Hotel, so no breakfast, no dinner or any other foodservice on site is significant if you have chosen a Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leaysh wrote a review Aug 2022
Gold coast17 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would recommend to all.
Lovely room with very comfy bed, large in room spa and beautiful views across the harbour and sounds.
This hotel is in a handy location walking distance to the town centre, and I really appreciated the extremely accommodating staff to myself and my two little girls.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ngaire b wrote a review Feb 2021
Arrowtown, New Zealand236 contributions114 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for two nights. Our room was spacious, clean and had a good view.
The big problem for me was that nobody had told us that our room was directly below the restaurant which was being refurbished. In the morning I needed to do a zoom meeting and write a report after it. Builders started drilling directly above our room. It went on and nobody could hear anything so we had to give up!

The staff are very nice, but someone there needs to think about their reservations system. It is not rocket science, if you have people staying for more than one night you should put them as far away from the builders that you can, or not use that room at all.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night, don't stay in room 207 unless the building...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya B asked a question Dec 2016
2 contributions
do you have secure parking for motorbikes
Answer from Suzette M
Picton, New Zealand
We only have off street parking. No lock away garaging on site, sorry
Answer from Lynne B
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand184 contributions54 helpful votes
We had a king size bed when we stayed and on their website they say they have super king size beds.
LynR wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"long walk uphill from the ferry - no taxis at ferry terminal. "
Read full review
Michael A wrote a tip Aug 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand48 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"great choice of meals and so good do not miss out orange Ruffy great well done "
Read full review
RogerQ992 wrote a tip Aug 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand102 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Any room has a view"
Read full review
Kiwigaff wrote a tip Mar 2021
New Plymouth, New Zealand156 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"room 301overlooks the harbour from the room"
Read full review
ngaire b wrote a tip Feb 2021
Arrowtown, New Zealand236 contributions114 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are staying for more than one night, don't stay in room 207 unless the building renovations are finished."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Picton area.
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
picton beachcomber hotel picton
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandMarlborough RegionPicton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PICTON BEACHCOMBER INN - Now $147 (Was $̶1̶8̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Picton Beachcomber Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Picton Beachcomber Inn?
Nearby attractions include Picton Sound (0.3 km), Tirohanga Track (0.3 km), and Heritage & Whaling Museum Picton (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Picton Beachcomber Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Picton Beachcomber Inn?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Picton Beachcomber Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Picton Beachcomber Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Picton Beachcomber Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Seumus' Irish Bar, Picton Village Bakkerij, and The Barn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Picton Beachcomber Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Picton Beachcomber Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Picton.
Are there any historical sites close to Picton Beachcomber Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Edwin Fox Maritime Museum (0.5 km).
Does Picton Beachcomber Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Picton Beachcomber Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Picton HotelsPicton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PictonHotels near Picton Beachcomber Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire