We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Street Living Motel

Save
Share
45 High Street, Picton 7220 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (18)
Pool & Beach (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#10 of 18 hotels in Picton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of Picton, High Street Living Motel offer ten ground-floor units: four studios sleeping 2, and six two-bedroom apartments sleeping 4-5, including one dedicated pet-friendly unit with fenced courtyard. All rooms include a flat-screen TV, microwave, toaster, refrigerator, and tea- and coffee-making facilities, and private ensuite bathroom. Two-bedroom apartments also feature full cooking facilities. Unlimited free Wi-Fi and free off-street parking is provided. High Street Living Motel is situated within easy walking distance of shops, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants. The motel is just 750 metres from the Interislander and Bluebridge ferry terminals and 350 metres from Picton railway station.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
52Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 13
  • 5
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ruth wrote a review Jul 2021
Sydney, Australia20 contributions
I hardly write negative reviews but there it goes. What sometimes seems nice - can be very different once you get to experience it. Long story short; stayed at the High Street Living Motel for x4nights. The owner, sounded nice when I first rock up while staying elsewhere in Picton. Needed more place with the kitchen and shopped around few “motel” business to see what’s and where. I am extremely low maintenance and very clean person and could stay in most expensive hotels 🏨 however I find this waste of money as I only need the shower/ bed/ wifi as am travelling for work and kitchen , so I can cook in the evening if i feeling so. On the second day the owner asked me Not to burn candles as apparently they not insured for it. I have politely smiled back and said “sure thing”. Now, let me tell you about NZ insurance policies. All house holders get automatically insured for carpet burning/ damage and many other things. What contradicted with this weird owners request that they have electric bed blankets (can that make fire electrical damage )? , yes off course. Two heaters (if accidentally drop paper or clothing), massive fire properly damage!!! I hardly sleep and let me tell you if someone would wake the neighbourhood because of any accident that would be me! And save you for that matter! My advise to grumpy and unhappy owner if you got bad morning- don’t let your negativity to go out on your customers! Furthermore buy not China made electric extension cords 🔌 the one you got in unit number 4 was heating up more then the heater itself and fix all electrical sockets as it’s damaged and doesn’t apply NZ standard! Call electrician to fix all! Also the master bed is so soft that when you go to sleep - the mattress sinks all the way to the floor. Better to sleep in the single rooms in the second kids bedroom. And lastly Smile as it’s priceless! And always remember there is a light of any dark tunnel! Don’t appreciate negative people. Would rather camp 🏕 Would never stay nor recommend !!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Laydan Mortensen, Owner at High Street Living Motel
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Thank you for your review. Shocked when you said to the motel owner that this place felt like home. We don't know any motel that allows naked flames in their rooms. The motel owner's father and many brothers were volunteer firefighters for many years, and have attended many fatal fires caused by misuse of candles. The motel owner does not feel she was not grumpy or unhappy, just direct. Th electrical socket was damaged when you rearranged the bedroom to your liking. We found it the day you left and have had it repaired. All our electrical work is inspected by a qualified electrician and complies with AS/NZS 3000 wiring rules. Bedding firmness is a personal preference and our beds may not suit everyone. Good luck camping around the rest of New Zealand.
Read more
Ezra710 wrote a review May 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand1366 contributions106 helpful votes
What a lovely surprise to be upgraded from studio to 2-bedroom unit on arrival. Thank you! While dated [one of the units still to be refurbished] the unit totally meet our needs in every way, allowing for one to sleep in while another read or worked. Very damp but problem solved with a dehumidifier [nothing was a problem!]. Off-street parking was tight but totally workable. Though a softer need than our preference we were comfortable and slept well. Apart from a little noise from early leavers, the unit was quiet and private. Outdoor seating to watch the world go by. Brilliant central location, close to shops, cafes and ferries, as well as walks and museums. As a budget motel this was well priced and ticked every box. Thanks again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jane&Eugene S wrote a review May 2021
Clifton Beach28 contributions6 helpful votes
Coming from Australia we were in Picton for just one night. We were very fortunate to choose High St Living Motel. What a delight to stay, very friendly & helpful owners, the motel room was amazing, wonderfully clean and equipped. we were sorry that we could not stay longer. Would highly recommend this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Traveller wrote a review Apr 2021
6 contributions
We need places like high street living motel with operates that now what hospitality actually means and can deliver. Nothing is a problem in the dark of a Friday night when turned away from others. Highly recommend this place so friendly
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Slothmonkey wrote a review Apr 2021
Wanaka, New Zealand17 contributions18 helpful votes
If you are in Picton and not sure where to stay... this is the spot. Friendly hosts and they’ll go above and beyond to help with emergency situation. Highly recommended. We will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$48 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tourist Court Motel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandMarlborough RegionPicton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about High Street Living Motel
Which popular attractions are close to High Street Living Motel?
Nearby attractions include Edwin Fox Maritime Museum (0.4 km), Picton Sound (0.2 km), and Heritage & Whaling Museum Picton (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at High Street Living Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at High Street Living Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
Is parking available at High Street Living Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to High Street Living Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Picton Village Bakkerij, Gusto, and Seumus' Irish Bar.
Is High Street Living Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Picton.
Are there any historical sites close to High Street Living Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Edwin Fox Maritime Museum (0.4 km).
Is High Street Living Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.