We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
130 Wharf Road Pigeon Bay, Akaroa 7583 New Zealand
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 28 Speciality lodging in Akaroa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Annandale's four unique luxury villas are set in a captivating landscape of rugged hills and private bays across 10 kilometres of dramatic coastline on working NZ farm. In addition is our unique catering concept 'We Create You Serve' where you finish the bespoke restaurant quality dishes in your villa or requesting our award winning private chef with the cuisine all created from our farm and within a 50km footprint. Activities such as swimming with the protected hectors dolphin; a private kayaking picnic trip; cooking class or a fishing trip on our boat are just some of what we can offer
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot bath
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Romantic
44Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LRMAC wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions
Worldclass architecture, every comfort, and a nice concept to get the food delivered and one heats it up (very good food, too). A beach to swim from, and a glorious hottub. A few minor fixes will make this new property altogether perfect: adding reading lights by beds and sofas, removing strip lighting in ceiling (too harsh), a few more electrical outlets. Nice to see a small patch of planted native bush: otherwise the land is scraped down to the bone, with plenty of erosion. A kinder management, fencing off steep cliffs and gullies, and planting native trees, would make this station far more beautiful without productivity loss, and give visitors more birds to see. It is gloomy to see such rundown, overexploited land (of course much of NZ is rundown, but staying on a station really brings it home).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Truman wrote a review Oct 2019
14 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
My family and I had the pleasure of staying at the Homestead. It is utterly amazing. This was the most special family vacation we have ever experienced. The home and gardens are utterly incredible. We stayed for two nights and didn't want to leave. Our young children were as enchanted as we were by the magnificent gardens. In a lifetime of travel, this is the most spectacular place I have ever seen. Every luxury and detail was available. The gym and pool are amazing. The gym has top quality Life Fitness machines. The food is the best and all of it is organic and delicious. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed a cooking class with a teriffic world class chef. The staff went above and beyond to cater to our every need. The scenery and views are breathtaking. This is an absolute jewel and we are already contemplating a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Any room or cottage would be a once in a lifetime pleasure.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from AnnandaleNewZealand, Manager at Annandale
Responded 13 Oct 2019
Thank you kindly for taking the time to post a review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and your wonderful family at Annandale. We look forward to meeting again on your return. The gardens are indeed magical- a credit to our incredible garden team led by Dave Hole and the food impeccable- a credit to our wonderful kitchen team led by Craig Martin.
Read more
LilyfromSydney wrote a review Apr 2019
Sydney48 contributions50 helpful votes
My partner and I spent 3 nights at Shepherd's cottage in April and it was a lovely stay. The cottage is set in seclusion with views over the bay and animals roaming the grounds and is the perfect place to relax away from city life. The house is self contained with all the amenities you are likely to need for a couple of days away. The food is delivered each day and is restaurant quality, easy to prepare and also showcases some lovely local produce (including what we were told were vegetables grown in their own garden). My only negative around the food was that I did mention that I did not like fish and we got salmon on the first night so make sure you are clear about your dietary requirements, in particular if you have allergies). The house itself is rustic and feels warm and cosy when you enter. We were generally very comfortable throughout our stay and had a great night sleep each night we were there however the lounge in sitting room is need of an upgrade. We found it very hard to sit there comfortably for a period of time and as you are likely to be in the house for a lot of your stay (as there is nowhere to go!) this was a bit disappointing. The house has books and games and also has wifi which was handy The grounds around the house are great for walks, though it was hard to decipher where the walking tracks were from the maps provided. We ended up just walking along the road and then stumbled across one which went in the direction we wanted to go. It's great to see all the cows and sheep but it's also probably a good idea to keep an eye out and make sure you don't end up with the bulls. The views from the Shepherd's cottage are absolutely stunning and looking out into the night sky was one of the highlights of our stay. A great place to unwind and relax for a few days
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
AJFfinch wrote a review Apr 2019
Shropshire, United Kingdom92 contributions102 helpful votes
We spent three nights at Shepherds Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed our stay: The staff were very friendly and the “reception experience” (including a guided tour of the kitchen garden) was excellent. Location was exactly as expected – remote with stunning views and great walks. Shepherd’s Cottage was lovely, well furnished (though a couple of comfy chairs in front of the fire would have been preferable so the slightly uncomfortable bench) and we loved having a roaring log fire on the one evening that required it. Food, too, was very good – of a high standard and showing imagination and flair on the part of the chef. But was it good value for money? We think not. We have had poor value for money at inexpensive venues and experienced excellent value for money at very expensive ones, but Annandale fell short on the VFM test. We knew that we would leave our car “at the gate” and be driven (about half an hour) to Shepherd’s Cottage and – had we stayed for the minimum 2 nights – probably would not have expected need of additional transport, but since we were there for three nights we decided to take a trip to visit Akaroa on day three … and were charged $140 (about £72) for the return “taxi” journey between our car and the cottage. I can appreciate that they have to legislate against the “taxi” service being abused, but you would think that additional nights would warrant one additional “ferry” to reception (after all, you are hostage to their taxi fares). That smacked of greed – and made us analyse the VFM ratio a little more closely: After-all, at $1500 per night you should expect perfection (and that is what their website promises). We reported that the blue tooth speaker was faulty, but it wasn’t repaired or replaced. We asked for additional milk (the breakfast milk bottle is miserly considering that it has to last until the following morning … and you can hardly pop out to the shops) this was delivered on day two but forgotten again on day three. My wife is 5’4” (not an unusual height) but the complimentary mountain bikes supplied wouldn’t adjust to anywhere near a suitable saddle height, so were useless. Considering that the primary leisure pursuit at Annandale is to walk and explore the estate, we weren’t provided with a map on arrival (because their printer was malfunctioning) and then were given a wholly inadequate low resolution A4 copy of a map which didn’t really help us to make the most of walking on the estate – although we thoroughly enjoyed our coastal walk, a decent map would have significantly enhanced the experience. We’re not serial complainers (our other TripAdvisor reviews demonstrate this) and these might seem like petty criticisms (there were a few more minor irritations, too), but that $1500 per night price tag (and that additional transfer charge) suggests that Annandale should deliver perfection and makes me less inclined to turn a blind eye to its shortcomings. Although we enjoyed our stay Annandale, it is overpriced for what is delivered – hence the average rating.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from AnnandaleNewZealand, Manager at Annandale
Responded 11 May 2019
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We are very appreciative and utilize all feedback to continue to provide exceptional service here at Annandale. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the points you have made, please find our responses below: 1. Couch comfort: We are reviewing this, along with all villa furnishings over winter. 2. Transfer fee: We are very transparent about the transfer fee both before and during our guests stay. We only wish that you had discussed your displeasure whilst with us, as we would have happily waived it considering you were staying with us for three nights. We take this point into consideration and agree that we could formalize a free transfer for a three-night stay. 3. Blue tooth speaker: We carry spare bluetooth speakers in stock in case of such situations. Please could you email us directly on: reservations@annandale.com so that we can look into what occurred on this occasion. 4. Milk: We have taken this feedback into account and have increased the base level of milk for all villas. Please note, we would have happily driven you out some extra milk on day two had we known. 5. Map: A basic walking map is available in the guest compendium in the villa. We visually show guests the best walking tracks on the way out to the villa and find this is the best way to get this information across. We are working on upgrading our map, with track descriptions over winter also. In closing, if we had been made aware of these small discomforts during your stay we would have gone above and beyond to rectify them. We only wish we were given the opportunity to do so. We do hope to host you here at Annandale again in the future.
Read more
Melanie569 wrote a review Mar 2019
San Anselmo, California9 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at Annandale’s Seascape studio home in January 2019. The location on an large working sheep farm on Banks peninsula south of Christchurch is stunning.Seascape is a modern dwelling tucked into a hillside on a private rocky cove. It is 45 minutes from the farm’s entry. The location is peace and beauty. The staff will arrange activities, and provide food daily. We hiked along the coast and deserted tracks from our doorstep in all directions, with only sheep and birds in sight. No question , splurge worthy .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$895 - US$2,939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionAkaroa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Annandale
What are some of the property amenities at Annandale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Annandale?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Annandale?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Annandale?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Annandale?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Annandale?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Annandale offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Annandale?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Taylors Mistake - Awaroa / Godley Head Walk (14.6 km).
Is Annandale accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.