Madeira Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Madeira Hotel

Restaurant
Traveller (15)
Restaurant
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#5 of 5 hostels in Akaroa
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Property amenities
Bar / lounge
Restaurant

Location

48 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520 New Zealand
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 84 out of 100
84
Christchurch Intl Airport
49.6 km
See all flights
17Reviews0Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jaki C wrote a review Mar 2015
Taupo, New Zealand97 contributions23 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Grateful for the room as there were not many available in the town.
Group of 10 booked in as couples and couple singles. The three single bed room had the beds in an odd arrangement and all with the head of the bed on a downward slope.
Showers either cold or barely more than a drip.
Yea making facilities in the centre of the area for all rooms only had three cups, no milk and no glasses for water.
One of the rooms that we did not occupy had dirty linen and towels outside the door for the entire stay.
Getting to the rooms was difficult, as the entry to the stairs was market as "staff only"
At $50 per person - very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Outrageous wrote a review Mar 2013
Irby, United Kingdom316 contributions209 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I arrived in Akaroa in the late afternoon on a Saturday at the beginning of March. Everywhere was booked up and couldn't find a room anywhere - not even a few miles out of town. My wife noticed the Madeira Hotel and so we went inside to enquire if they had any rooms available. We couldn't find a reception so ended up going to the adjoining pub at the rear of the hotel. The man behind the bar said that he thought that there might be a room available but, since he couldn't leave the bar unattended, we would have to wait until another staff member arrived, so we bought ourselves a drink and waited.

About 45 minutes later a woman arrived and showed us the room. It was small and had a wash basin but was clean and so we decided to take it. There were shared bathroom and small kitchen facilities on the landing. The small kitchen area comprised a sink, kettle, toaster and a fridge which looked as though it had been there since the 1950s.

The whole place looked like something out of a Hitchcock movie and the staff (although friendly and helpful) were very disorganised. In fact it was one step up from a backpackers hostel. However, we were in desperate need of a room and it wasn't too bad for one night.

The big advantage of this hotel is the fact that it is attached to a pub. Akaroa is like a ghost town after 7pm but the pub at the Madeira was heaving. There was a live pop group on that evening but, unfortunately for some residents, they didn't finish playing until around 2am. We were lucky as our room was on the opposite side of the hotel from where the group were playing but, the next morning, some of the residents (on the opposite side of the landing) said they couldn't sleep for the noise until the group stopped playing at around 2:15am.

I would like to reiterate though that the place was central, clean and there was ample parking space. It was also reasonably priced. There was no wi fi.

I would not stay here out of choice but you could certainly do a lot worse than the Madeira.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nyree13 wrote a review Feb 2013
Guildford, United Kingdom200 contributions95 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Seriously. This small settlement was buzzing with visitors, and in the Trading Rooms there's two very tired, shrivelled bagels in the display cabinet, and nothing available for lunch. At 1pm on a Saturday in the height of summer!
We'd had a very bad time getting over the hill road into Akaroa - be warned before venturing to this place, the hill road is one of the steepest, most winding, and BUSIEST in New Zealand, with insanely aggressive motorcyclists and 4WDs towing large boats urging one on to ever more dangerous speeds, and overtaking on BLIND BENDS - we're both very experienced drivers, but we came down into Akaroa quite shaken by the disregard for road safety and commonsense shown by the other users of this road.
There's not a great deal here, anyway - the streets have French names, and apart from that, it's just an ordinary little NZ coastal village. A few souvenir shops and cafes, and that's about it.
We'd booked to spend the night in Akaroa, but that road - and the prospect of having to tackle it again the next morning on our route - combined with our chosen accommodation being (a) not ready (b) very much right on the road, as it turns into the village, and (c) not particularly nice, meant we just drove out again and on further up the coast.
Read more
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
zhuhai2007 wrote a review Mar 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand52,240 contributions231 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When they say “gastro pub” they really mean it. Menu is simple with a daily Chef’s Special & pasta dish etc. Presentation is beautiful and prices are very reasonable for a tourist hot spot
Pleasant outdoor drinking/dining area, popular with locals, which says a lot.
Wine list is adequate for most palates.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ratings apply to restaurant only.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pinzarella wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A pleasant hotel with better than expected meals for a very reasonable price. Searched plenty of Akaroa eateries before choosing The Madeira Hotel for lunch. First lunch we tried was the pasta of the day’Blue Vein Cheese & Walnut Sea Shell Pasta’. Made by the Gods it was perfect & looked as though each & every sea shell had been hand filled with its own walnut. The serving was generous & we both required a doggy bag. $18 a serve.
The next day we were drawn back to The Madeira Hotel to try the Lamb Salad. Perfectly cooked lamb fillet sliced atop mesculin, haloumi, roast kumara, pumpkin seeds & homemade dressings. Devine!
Kid you not, we went back for lunch again on our 3rd & final day at Akaroa. This time we differed in our choices. The Blue Vein Angus Beef burger with caramelised onion was too much for me to resist, and it was spectacular. A feast of flavours, succulent beef. My friend tried the Blue Cod & chips which was declared beautiful, melt in your mouth, nice batter, perfect!
Nobody returns again and again unless they are completely satisfied with an establishment. The staff were friendly, charming and unpretentious. Inadvertently left my cap there the 1st visit; they kept it behind the bar & handed it back at my enquiry.
The Madeira Hotel would be our local if we lived at Akaroa.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Didn’t stay here, only ate at the restaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tarsha wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had top service tonight from the friendly staff and our meals (5) were all on point. I'd totally recommend this pub for a fabulous meal. Husband said his Med/rear steak was perfect.
Thankyou team. This will now be our goto as were here in Akaroa alot.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John M wrote a review Aug 2016
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely terrible place to stay,,it's not a hotel it's a very ran down backpackers!!!
Had to wait 90 minutes for a very average dinner and the staff didn't even acknowledge the fact that we were waiting so long.
Music playing all night outside my window really topped off my experience!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
76drrl wrote a review Jan 2016
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After a week on the road camping in a tent my partner and I decided to get a room somewhere in Akaroa as rain had set in and we needed a good rest. Not surprisingly everywhere seemed booked out. One last try for a room at the Madeira Hotel was an ill fated error.
They had most rooms available, now I know why!
Firstly we had to change rooms as it hadn't been serviced and we were shown a couple more rooms also not serviced with bedding in piles. The room we finally got, with a made bed, was directly above the bar. I was told the bar closed at 11 however a very noisy private party carried on after this keeping us awake until around 2pm or more! Finally it seemed to go quiet with the music off until the rowdy staff and their friends noisily came up to the adjacent rooms calling out and banging doors and generally disregarding the fact that there might be paying guests trying to sleep.
At the crack of dawn the loudest emergency alarms I've ever heard startled us out of sleep. I ran outside the room. A member of staff had emerged from his room looking worse for wear and some random bloke stuck his head up from the stairs and announced he'd climbed through the bottle store to get in and set the alarms off and then disappeared. The bar guy withdrew into his room without a word and that was it, no further explanation. Obviously the emergency alarm procedure notices in the rooms can be disregarded.
And to top it all off after leaving extremely annoyed and with little to no sleep for $40 each we discovered we now had contracted bed bugs!!! and were bitten all over. After an otherwise lovely trip around NZ we were disappointed to have ended it with scratching all the way back to Aus on the plane the following day. Bed bugs are the worst and so is this hotel. I usually wouldn't write reviews particularly negative ones but I seriously would rather have slept in the car than to have stayed at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't use the fridge or tea making area. Unclean.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Razoo65, General Manager at Madeira Hotel
Responded 11 Apr 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Madeira Hotel, as a last resort, having been on the road for a week camping in your tent. Unfortunately January is an extremely busy time for all hospitality providers in Akaroa. We apologize for not having a serviced room available to you when you called but it seems like the staff have done their best to accommodate your needs. Our bar generally closes at 11pm however we are licenced till 3am and this can change over the events of the evening. Yes we do have staff living upstairs and there was indeed an incident, that they were reprimanded for and removed from the hotel premises. The behavior you described is not acceptable and can be difficult to manage especially when paying guest are involved. ...as for the bed bugs, our hotel has had no complaints in 4 years of any such things nor have we had any since. All beds are changed when vacated and all laundry is sent off site to a professional laundry service provider.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony F wrote a review Dec 2014
Sydney, Australia44 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this hotel in November 2014. The staff, including the publican were very pleasant and the food was above average standard.
Good service in clean premises.
Much better than the Grand hotel towards the Northern end of town where the publican is a real grump.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Did not stay here. Don't know about the rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jdblack89 wrote a review Mar 2014
Christchurch, New Zealand2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
While staying in Akaroa, a friend and I decided to drop into this pub for a night-cap in the beer garden on our way home, and although it was a little late (around 11pm) the bar was still open to the public, lights on, with around 20-30 odd people still happily drinking and socializing. All seemed well, however this is the first pub I have ever entered to order a drink at the bar only to be told by the bartender that he "only wanted to serve his friends tonight" and been asked to leave because we were not part of the barman's "crew" of local mates. Some of his friends that were there we had been drinking with/chatting to at another bar for hours and they even tried to shout us a beer to no avail. If we had have shown up hammered and making idiots of ourselves I could understand the refusal, but having worked in seasonal towns myself for 7 years, as far as I'm aware hospitality is about making money from selling stuff...? The best nights in small towns are always the ones where the locals invite you in, offer a good yarn and as a result you are most happy to support their businesses and spread the good word. Unfortunately this is not the case for this little pub. Harbar on the waterfront on the other hand did just that and the staff were amazing! Go there instead for a delicious cocktail :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Nathan wrote a tip Jul 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not purchase alcohol at the bar"
Read full review
Pinzarella wrote a tip Jan 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Didn’t stay here, only ate at the restaurant"
Read full review
zhuhai2007 wrote a tip Mar 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand52,240 contributions231 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ratings apply to restaurant only."
Read full review
76drrl wrote a tip Jan 2016
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't use the fridge or tea making area. Unclean."
Read full review
Tony F wrote a tip Dec 2014
Sydney, Australia44 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Did not stay here. Don't know about the rooms."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Akaroa area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionAkaroa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MADEIRA HOTEL - Hostel Reviews (Akaroa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Madeira Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Madeira Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Akaroa Museum (0.2 km), Akaroa Lighthouse (0.3 km), and Banks Peninsula War Memorial and Grounds (0.2 km).
What food & drink options are available at Madeira Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Madeira Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mandala Restaurant, The Little Bistro, and Ma Maison Restaurant & Bar.
Is Madeira Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.01 km away from the centre of Akaroa.
All Akaroa HotelsAkaroa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AkaroaHotels near Madeira Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire