River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort

Traveller (1354)
Floating Raft Room
Room & Suite (361)
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

$162
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 special resort in Wang Krachae
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
River Kwai Jungle Rafts. The original floating hotel or Floatel since 1976 in Kanchanaburi Thailand. It was recognized as UNSEEN PARADISE in Thailand and welcoming people around the world. The River Kwai Jungle Rafts is selected as one of the best for floating hotels in the world by The Telegraph UK in 2011.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Boating
Canoeing
Kids stay free
Foot massage
24-hour security
Mosquito net
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate

Location

Baan Tahsao, Wang Krachae 70150 Thailand
Name/address in local language
1,431Review30Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 637
  • 506
  • 183
  • 68
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Deb & Dave wrote a review Mar 2024
Australia173 contributions35 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely a great experience, very friendly staff, very relaxing, great food and people, Would highly recommended going, went to the Mon village, feed a elephant, can swim in the river, current is strong but managed to swim okay, can’t wait to go again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Agency / Consultant at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Responded 11 Mar 2024
Dear DavenDeb222, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a valuable review. We are glad that you had a wonderful time while enjoying the hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, River Kwai Jungle Rafts
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim R wrote a review Nov 2020
Bangkok, Thailand1,610 contribution31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly, the location of this resort is just incredible, on the River Kwai in the middle of the jungle, 40km from Kanchanaburi town. It's idyllic, quiet, scenic and just perfect, and the boat trip there is part of the experience.

The resort itself is really nice, built entirely of wood & bamboo (though older guests might find it difficult to walk in some areas). Rooms are basic but comfortable & have a private deck with hammock at the back, and a shared terrace with sunbeds on the river in front.

We also loved the Mon tribal village next to the resort, the service was fantastic, and the evening dinner was good, hearty, home cooked Thai fare.

A few negatives though. I get the whole eco concept and lack of electricity, but at the same time having absolutely no lighting means that after dinner there's nothing to do except sit in the bar drinking their overpriced beer (wasn't expecting Bangkok booze prices here!), or go to sleep. The village has solar powered lighting so surely the resort could do the same.

The breakfast, as is usually the case in Thai hotels, was awful - cold fried eggs really are not nice at all.

We were encouraged to swim in the river but there was a constant stream of garbage pouring down it from further upstream both days we were there so this wasn't an attractive option.

All in all a great experience for no more than one night.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SERENATA Hotels, Agency / Consultant at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Responded 25 Nov 2020
Dear Tim, Thank you for your recent stay at River Kwai Jungle Rafts and we are pleased that you had a good stay overall. We are thankful for your expressed opinion about your experience with -cold fried eggs. We understand the situation and how you feel. Your feedback helps us to improve our skills and keep up a good service However, we apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay and we will try our best to rectify the situation. Best regards, River Kwai Jungle Rafts team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KirstyEkua wrote a review Jul 2020
Bangkok, Thailand126 contributions92 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I had a wonderful two days relaxing at this resort. Our room was comfortable, clean and cosy with a decent shower and mosquito nets. There’s no electricity but each room is equipped with candles and kerosene lamps are used to light the restaurant and outside areas making for a beautiful tranquil atmosphere. It’s the perfect place to switch off from the temptations of social media and WiFi! There are hammocks and sun beds on decks overlooking the river; the scenery is stunning and you can spend hours river jumping and floating down the river. There’s a Mon village which is easily explored by foot and the hotel offers bamboo rafting and kayaking. The restaurant has a decent bar and the food is tasty and copious; definitely worth paying for half board. The hotel is easily reached from Nam Tok train station (a beautiful journey from Bangkok) and from there a long tail boat from Phutakien pier. Definitely recommend for something a little different!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SERENATA Hotels, Agency / Consultant at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Responded 26 Jul 2020
Dear KristyEkua, Thank you for your recent stay at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort and giving us such an ideal appreciation. We at Jungle Rafts feel pretty terrific to know that our latest client had incredible experience during staying with us. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, River Kwai Jungle Rafts
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harveygillis wrote a review Jul 2020
Bangkok, Thailand5 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a special trip that was so beautiful, experiencing nature at it’s finest. You have everything you need and can really relax, loved it. Very accommodating with vegetarian requests, remember you are away from it all so if you need any emergency snacks take them with you, the meals were delicious
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SERENATA Hotels, Agency / Consultant at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Responded 26 Jul 2020
Dear realhousewifepattaya, Thank you for your recent stay at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort and giving us such an ideal appreciation. We at Jungle Rafts feel pretty terrific to know that our latest client had incredible experience during staying with us. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, River Kwai Jungle Rafts
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyn D wrote a review Feb 2024
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia296 contributions218 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Be prepared for a great experience. We went in blind without much research.

It was a 20min boat ride from the jetty to Jungle Rafts Resort. Upon arrival, we were given our room keys and briefed on meal times, jump into the river activity SOP, house rules etc

No electricity at all, so don’t forget your power bank(s) and headlamps / torchlights. Each room came with a battery operated lamp and candle but it might not be sufficient for some.

Each room has a double bed + single bed complete with mosquito netting, comes with an attached bedroom, has a back balcony as well as a front area complete with lazy chairs and hammock. Weak mobile coverage.

If you really need to charge your devices, a short walk to the “charging tower” is possible. WiFi coverage available at lobby area only.

Quite a number of activities can be done - day trips to nearby attractions, walk to the nearby Mon Village or just laze around.

We purchased a package which comes with breakfast + dinner + 1 complimentary activity per day. Lunch is separate.

Had a great time and would return if had the chance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring power bank, torch or headlamp. Try to arrive before sunset to make orientation easier.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Agency / Consultant at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Dear LynD827, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a valuable review. We are glad that you had a wonderful time while enjoying the hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, River Kwai Jungle Rafts
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Execbear wrote a review Jul 2020
Pattaya, Thailand15 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Went with friends to this great place to get away from the craziness of the world. The hotel is, indeed, built on rafts on the river and you get the feel of the currents and tides. You can either lounge in a lounger on the attached raft to your area or relax in the hammocks outside both the front and back of your room. As fitting an eco-friendly experience, the rooms are minimalistic, as is most of the resort, but not having a cell signal made us relax and enjoy the sheer beauty of where we were. Food was good and plentiful. Only complaint was because of no electricity, had a bit of trouble getting to sleep without a fan to keep air moving. But having said that, wished for one more day to enjoy this place!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SERENATA Hotels, Agency / Consultant at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Responded 26 Jul 2020
Thank you for your recent stay at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort and giving us such an ideal appreciation. We at Jungle Rafts feel pretty terrific to know that our latest client had incredible experience during staying with us. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, River Kwai Jungle Rafts
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LittleTraveller03 wrote a review Aug 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom141 contributions62 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place with cute accommodation in floating raft houses. The staff were friendly and always helpful, especially Sam who took us up to the Mon village. They catered really well for gluten free and vegan requirements, we had the half board option and were given lots delicious food. They don’t have electricity, but you get used to the kerosene lamps quickly (bring your own battery packs).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SERENATA Hotels, Agency / Consultant at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Responded 5 Aug 2020
Thank you for your recent visit at River Kwai Jungle Rafts and complimenting us very highly. We will send your compliment to Sam. He will be happy to hear it. He is our star indeed. We are absolutely pleased to learn that our latest guest received a pleasant experience during spending memorable moment with quality accommodation and foods. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, River Kwai Jungle Rafts
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
penkonn wrote a review Oct 2021
13 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The view is magnificent and staffs show high hospitality level. These’re only good things I found here.

If you want to relax here, that’s impossible. People talking yelling with no respect to each other and hotel take no action.

If you want to relax on the sunbed as front page hotel image, you have to fight for it.
There are 4 rooms per raft (8 persons), but only 2 daybed so you really have to fight hard!!!

During night time, since the rooms are inter connected and the room connected to us snore really really loud, I didn’t get any sleep that nigh. And the hotel did nothing for us.

The food taste general, neither bad or good.

We booked an activities package which include 1 hour massage for two night. When we arrived at the property, they said there was no message just picked another activities. This is unacceptable!!!! We booked this package because of massage which pricey than the regular package. If they don’t provide the service, the shouldn’t post it on the website.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t come here if you want to enjoy nature in the quiet environment!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SERENATA Hotels, Agency / Consultant at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Responded 3 Dec 2021
Dear Khun penkonn1234, Thank you for your kind support and valuable comments. Certainly, we will do our best to better serve every clients by taking your valuable comments into consideration. We also regret that the Thai massage was not in service which is mainly due to the Covid 19 pandemic and it is the Governor policy not allowing any Massage during this crisis. Sincerely yours, Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raghavendranrs wrote a review Feb 2021
Bangkok, Thailand15 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked our stay during Feb with mixed expectations. The resort was best in everything.
We are group of families visited with small kids - we were little concerned because of the safety. This property seems to be renovated multiple times and well maintained. Food is good and they were accommodative for our food choices and made kid friendly.
Really relaxing and peaceful stay. You can still hear that river flowing sound.
Don't miss the Star gazing in the night - If you live in concrete jungles, its a good time to relax in a nature gifted jungle in this era.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SERENATA Hotels, Agency / Consultant at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Responded 2 Mar 2021
Dear Raghavendranrs (Nature Lover Family) Thank you for choosing River Kwai Jungle Rafts as your family holidays destination. We all are proud to have all of you with us, particularly at a very difficult times for tourism business. It is great to hear that all of you had an enjoyable time. Thank you again for your fabulous feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Manager River Kwai Jungle Rafts (The Original Floating Hotel Since 1976)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert f wrote a review Jul 2022
28 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great adventure to stay, lovely hotel, friendly staff and good food. The setting is beautiful and the float in the water from start to end with a life jacket on. The rooms are basic and without electricity but that is actually part of the charm. The only downside is that everybody walks along your room and lounge area since the walking path is in front of your room and there is a lot of foot traffic from people that are floating from one side to the end. It would have nice if the path was situated at the back of the rooms instead of crossing your lounge area. The food was great too. We visited the dancing performance form the Moon people which was sweet.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: get a room all the way at the end, less foot traffic there across your lounge area
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SERENATA Hotels, Agency / Consultant at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Responded 24 Nov 2022
Dear Robertf5011, Thank you for your recent stay at River Kwai Jungle Rafts - Floating hotel since 1976. We are always delightful to hear that our latest client had a pleasant experience while staying with us. Thank you again for your fabulous feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely yours, Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from ozy63
Ozolnieki, Latvia169 contributions42 helpful votes
Yes You can easy. Please to the hotel.
PNWer asked a question Oct 2019
5 contributions10 helpful votes
Does anyone know how the toilet system works in this hotel?
Answer from TheSerene
Thailand38 contributions
Dear PNWer, We are glad you ask about this. We install septic tanks under the raft. You can imagine something like over-the-water hotels in Maldives. It works the same way. We worked one of the Thailand's top manufacturer of septic tanks. They helped us designed the tank that can fit under the rafts. Our 2 floating hotels, River Kwai Jungle Rafts and The FloatHouse River Kwai are the only hotel with such septic tank installed as per our knowledge. Thank you for asking and wish to welcome you to our floating resort in the near future. Regards, River Kwai Jungle Rafts
Answer from SerenataHotels
2 helpful votes
Dear Brian G, Thank you for informing us the matter. We have certainly acknowledged your inquiry and this has been passed on to our team who is directly in charge of your booking. Expectedly, you would receive the responded update from River Kwai Jungle Rafts soonest. Regards, SerenataHotelGroup
Noor M asked a question Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom64 contributions9 helpful votes
Hi, does the restaurant cater to halal/vegetarian diet requirements?
Answer from Thomas travel
Bjorkelangen, Norway55 contributions55 helpful votes
They’ve only simple traditional Thai food .
Meghan P wrote a tip Mar 2024
Langley City, Canada17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is so air conditioning or electricity so be prepared for hot night and using flashlight to get around"
Read full review
Lyn D wrote a tip Feb 2024
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia296 contributions218 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring power bank, torch or headlamp. Try to arrive before sunset to make orientation easier."
Read full review
Tim S wrote a tip Jan 2024
Whitehorse, Canada79 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get to the boat transfer as early as possible so that you can spend lots of time enjoying the resort."
Read full review
Z V wrote a tip Jun 2023
7 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware of the many mosquitos !! Don’t forget your spray! And don’t forget your flashlights…"
Read full review
shannon Silverson wrote a tip Apr 2023
73 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this resort!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wang Krachae area.
PRICE RANGE
$99 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
river kwai jungle rafts hotel kanchanaburi, river kwai jungle rafts kanchanaburi
LOCATION
ThailandKanchanaburi ProvinceSai YokWang Krachae
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIVER KWAI JUNGLE RAFTS RESORT - Specialty Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Wang Krachae, Thailand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Which popular attractions are close to River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort?
Nearby attractions include Rock Valley Hot Spring & Fish Spa (6.4 km), Kaeng Lawa Cave (2.3 km), and Mon Tribal Village (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort?
Top room amenities include a mosquito net, a view of the mountains, and a separate dining room.
What food & drink options are available at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bite Of Heaven, Off Road Kitchen, and Baan-Aaya.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Does River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.