Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Traveller (603)
Panorama of the Economy Double Room at the Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (435)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#51 of 115 hotels in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Escape the hustle and bustle of the City Center and discover the hidden gem of Riga - Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel. Tucked away in a tranquil street of the enchanting Old Town, our 6-story Art Deco building welcomes you with its timeless charm and elegance. Immerse yourself in a world of sophistication as you step into one of our 116 beautifully decorated rooms. Each room exudes a sense of romance and comfort, making it an ideal choice for both leisure and business travelers. Adorned with classical furniture and antique items, our rooms offer a unique blend of old-world charm and modern convenience. With a capacity to accommodate 200 guests, our hotel is perfect for intimate gatherings, special occasions, or corporate events. Whether you're seeking a romantic getaway or a productive business trip, Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is the ultimate destination. Our prime location allows you to experience the best of both worlds. Enjoy the tranquility of our quiet street while being just a stone's throw away from the vibrant sights and sounds of the Old Town. Immerse yourself in the rich history, culture, and architectural wonders as you explore the nearby attractions. At Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, we strive to create a truly memorable stay for our guests. Our attentive and friendly staff is always on hand to cater to your every need, ensuring your comfort and satisfaction throughout your visit. Uncover the hidden charm of Riga and experience the perfect blend of relaxation and sightseeing at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel. Stay with us and embark on a journey of timeless elegance and unforgettable memories.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Latvian

Location

8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050 Latvia
1,507Review23Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 465
  • 600
  • 289
  • 91
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kruminaievaanna wrote a review Feb 2020
Riga, Latvia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is located in historic Old Riga, close to all of the sightseeing objects, but not in overcrowded place.
Breakfast was fine and rooms were clean.
We have stayed there for second time in row and will stay again.
Overall recommend!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gretagedg wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall the stay was pleasant, there were a few small negatives, such as we did not get a welcome gift, there room was definitely not 'light soaked' as per description, as there was only a tiniest window, so you had to keep the lights on from morning to evening. Breakfast was average - plenty of choices but the quality of products could be better. Also the only toiletries were soap and shampoo/shower gel. We could hear footsteps from the room above us quite loudly, thankfully the people did not walk a lot :). This definitely felt like a three star hotel, nothing extra, but the location was great, room cozy and clean, and price very reasonable. Also we were able to check in almost three hours before the check-in time which was super great for us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Happytravelllers wrote a review Jan 2020
Glenfield, United Kingdom406 contributions99 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great central location in the old town. Spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is great hot and cold options with a glass of fizz!
As it was our anniversary we upgraded to a design room, this for us was a mistake. The room is in the loft with a huge wooden wheel which takes up most of the room. You could not read or watch tv in bed as the elves are so low you can sit you had to lie down
We noticed there was an electric heater in the room we shortly realised why! it was freezing. We reported this to reception but it did not improve.
On arrival we had fizz and chocolates in our room with a lovely message wishing us a happy anniversary which was a great touch, it was such a shame about the room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Izabella J wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was incredibly dated and nothing like the photos - very drab and half of the appliances did not work. There was also a unpleasant lingering smell in the bathroom.

When we turned up there was no hot water, which the staff showed little interest or urgency in sorting and took a bit of time to resolve.

The breakfast was terrible, particularly the hot options, so we ended up visiting the hotel opposite where you can get a breakfast buffet for 12 EUR which was far superior and recommended.

Unbelievably, the staff did not mark our room as checked in, which resulted in another guest being given a key to our room and attempting to enter at 3AM one morning whilst we were sleeping. I immediately spoke with reception about this at the time - and I was absolutely astounded about how rude, unapologetic and unhelpful the man was there after I explained what just happened. We did not feel safe or confident that nobody else had access to our room for the remainder of the trip. We were promised “compensation” which ended up being a bottle of champagne that cost 7 EUR!

The location and levels of cleanliness were good, but aside from this it was a very disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
minna2 wrote a review Oct 2022
salo2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the hotel is good, but unfortunately that’s the only good thing about it.
We had a design double room, which was kind of cute with old brick walls, but it was awfully small and had some ceiling beams which were dangerous to your head.
The heated towel rack in the bathroom was not warm, the minibar on the other hand was not cold and it took three complaints before it was changed to a working one.
Cleaning of the room was non-existent. On the first day the explanation for not cleaning the room was that it wasn’t cleaned yet, so on the second day we stayed out till 5 pm, but it did not help. They sent someone from the house keeping to do the cleaning, but the lady didn’t have anything to clean the room with, no vacuum, no detergent, just a dry cloth which she used to wipe the bathroom floor. At least we got the clean towels which we needed.
The bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom sink was partly blocked and there was clearly mold in the bathroom. They claim on their web page to have a lobby bar, which they don’t.
The reservation was made several months ago, so I did not see the latest reviews. If I had, I probably would have picked another hotel. Obviously, the management doesn’t care about the bad reviews, so I recommend avoiding the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bud wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a Double Standard room for 2 nights for June 2022, paying the extra to have more space. On arriving in room 503, it was obvious that we had been given a Small Twin Room. On approaching the receptionists about the mistake they were almost rude in the way they insisted we had the correct room. We have since emailed both the hotel and the parent cpmpany, twice on both accounts, requesting the difference to be refunded. No answer from either.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book the room when you are actually there, so you are not ripped off.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joy A wrote a review Aug 2023
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia8 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my wife had prebooked a double room with a/c and minibar at this hotel and had also mentioned that we are senior citizens and I am a physically handicapped person. But they didn't consider this and gave a room in 5th floor without a/c. They made us pay the full amount for our stay as we booked earlier before checkin itself. When we entered the room we found out the ac was not working and the mini bar was not there, then we complained and requested for change of room but they said there was no room available and they kept a pedestal fan for 2 days, as we were tired and elderly with a physically handicapped person we had to compromise for that day. Second day also they dint bother to change our room.as we had made the payment in advance we dint have any other option. During our check out we mentioned about their poor service and requested to do some compensation but they dint bother. We think they took advantage of our situation and really felt so insulted.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If possible do not pay your room rent before Check -in
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jānis Vīnerts, General Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2023
Dear Joyarakkal, I want to extend my deepest apologies for the poor experience you had during your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is essential, and we are deeply sorry that we did not meet your expectations, especially given your special circumstances as senior citizens and with a physically handicapped person. It is inexcusable that you were not provided the room type you booked and that the air conditioning and minibar were not in working order. We understand how frustrating and uncomfortable this must have been for you, and we deeply regret that you were not offered a suitable solution during your stay. We take your comments seriously, and we will use this feedback to improve our services and ensure that such issues do not recur in the future. I assure you that your experience is not reflective of our usual standards of service and guest satisfaction. If you would consider giving us another chance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly so that we can personally ensure your stay is comfortable and up to the standards you expect and deserve. Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced during your stay with us. We hope to have an opportunity to regain your trust.Agnese Decimane Quality specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suffdoc wrote a review Jun 2022
england93 contributions70 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is well placed on the southern edge of Riga old town within an easy 10 minute walk into the centre of the old town, and 8 minutes walk to the central market. The road is quiet.
The room was extremely small with nowhere to properly open a standard size suitcase. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the en suite shower room good.
Breakfast was OK, but very little fruit and the coffee was weak.
Stayed for 2 nights
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SonnyCash1 wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom213 contributions179 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was there for a night to check out the old city. The hotel, is on the outskirts of the old city so the train station/shopping mall is not far away and there are also a bust stand about 3 min walk away so your are well connected.

The room probably needs updating and when I look back I should have gone for the more newer options in the same are that are a few pounds more

Breakfast was good with coffee, juices (not fresh), cold meats (if you’re inclined) and salads and cereals and they did there best to be as Covid free as possible

Proabbaly would stay again but the hotel was functional
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camper540651 wrote a review Dec 2022
Marrakech, Morocco91 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Budget hotel near the central market with bus stop to and from the airport nearby, rooms are basic on the small side Hotel does not have bar . Breakfast was very good with excellent choice from hot and cold.food The staff were very helpful lent an unbrella as it was snowing. I would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jaimie b asked a question Oct 2019
Selby, United Kingdom170 contributions57 helpful votes
Do the rooms have hair dryers in them ?
Answer from Andrzej116
London, United Kingdom357 contributions193 helpful votes
Our room did have a hair dryer -
Answer from Svetlana Jusupova
Riga, Latvia
Dear Janeliz, Construction works are still ongoing, but at it's current stage there no noise/dust. The only way works affecting us is a view (net around construction site). Hotel Manager
Answer from Joandniges
17 contributions9 helpful votes
A cab from the airport is only €10, this is what we did. Cab drivers seemed quite friendly. Hope this helps.
Answer from Ramsfriend
Nottingham17 contributions5 helpful votes
Sorry, yes tea and coffee is provided.
Louise L asked a question Dec 2015
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, How much are the spa treatments at your hotel please?
Riga, Latvia174 contributions
Dear Stefan A, Thank you for your interest in our hotel and your question! The treatments in our Beauty & Wellness centre for one person are in a price range from 20 EUR to 85 EUR. Unfortunately, TripAdvisor don’t allow us to put a link in our answer, but you can find reservation department phone number on our home page and they will provide you with any necessary information. Thank you once again! Kind regards, Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel
Brit S wrote a tip 5 May
Holbaek, Denmark103 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember shampoo and hand soap"
Read full review
Joy A wrote a tip Aug 2023
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If possible do not pay your room rent before Check -in"
Read full review
UHA wrote a tip Jul 2023
Dorking, United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"How did this hotel ever get 4 *?"
Read full review
Alan J wrote a tip May 2023
Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom182 contributions39 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not accept rooms ending in '16'"
Read full review
Leena wrote a tip Dec 2022
Alicante, Spain1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you mind noise at night and would like good night sleep, this is not your choice."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Riga area.
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old riga palace hotel riga
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel
LOCATION
LatviaRiga RegionRiga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIXWELL OLD RIGA PALACE HOTEL - Now $94 (Was $̶1̶2̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Latvia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel?
Nearby attractions include OldTown Archery Riga (0.3 km), Old City Riga (Vecriga) (0.3 km), and Jauniela (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Two More Beers, The STAGE by Two More Beers, and Dilettante.
Does Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Riga.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
All Riga HotelsRiga Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RigaHotels near Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire