Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Moana Sands Beachfront Villas

Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (44)
View from in front of Villa
Pool & Beach (27)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 1 small hotel in Takitumu District
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the heart of the enchanting tapere (‘village’) of Vaimaanga, and tucked away amongst lush tropical gardens with stunning views of the turquoise lagoon, is the charming Moana Sands Villas & Apartments. The property offers ten spacious self-catering villas, apartments and studios. Each Villa incorporates both traditional Cook Island and contemporary design, with local paintings and Polynesian inspired décor. With spectacular views overlooking the pristine swimming pool (built in 2019) and breath taking lagoon, this is a stunning location. All rooms are self-catering with air conditioning, spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen (studio has microwave), safe, flat screen TV, private balcony or patio. Kayaks, guest laundry and a BBQ are available for in-house guests, and Wi-Fi vouchers are available for purchase at reception. A baby-sitting service is also available on request. This delightful property is the perfect choice from a few nights, a week or a long stay!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Snorkelling
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
26Reviews1Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Falofasofa wrote a review May 2022
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand34 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved our stay at Moana Sands! The very spacious villa had everything we needed including bathrooms in both bedrooms and the beach right outside our room. This is hands down the best snorkelling on the island and filled our very relaxed days with fish, octopus, turtles, rays and moray eels!

The pool is perfect to relax by and the cafe out front has amazing food. Rooms are cleaned and plenty of towels, snorkelling gear and kayaks available - an evening or morning sunrise/sunset kayak is a must.

Would 100% stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moana Sands Group, Owner at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas
Responded 4 Jul 2022
Meitaki (thank you) for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and had a relaxing time making friends with our neighbours in the lagoon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mozak wrote a review Mar 2020
Vulcan, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My first trip to Rarotonga was amazing. A group of 3 of us stayed at the Moana Sands Villas for a month. It was the perfect location. We were right across the street from Wigmores grocery store where we were able to get everything we needed. Also the bakery delivered fresh baking several times a day. Go Cook Islands was a great place to rent a car and the owner, Jaret, was very helpful. The bus stop was right outside our door and we were about the same distance to town as we were to Muri beach.
The apartment we stayed in was on the bottom level. We were only steps to the water and to the pool. We had access to the kayaks and snorkeling equipment. I think the beach where we were had the best snorkeling on the island. Lots of fish to see.
Our apartment was perfect. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms, air conditioning, a kitchen and plenty of room made it a perfect month. An added bonus was the daily maid service. The girls were always singing and smiling. Also Yoga, the maintenance person and grounds keeper. He was so helpful - even when we needed his help one evening!!
At the helm of these villas was Claire. She was in the office and seemed to take care of everyone. Claire gave us great advice on what there was to do on Rarotonga. Her assistance was invaluable and we appreciated her help. It was always nice to see her happy smile when we went by the office or popped in.
If we were to return to Rarotonga - Moana Sands Villas would be our first choice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explorer795373 wrote a review Jun 2021
11 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fabulous, spacious, clean accommodation with amazing staff. Loved everything about Moana Sands Villas from the delicious and generous breakfasts to the amazing snorkeling just a stones throw from our villa. Stayed for 11 nights and loved every minute of it. The stunning outdoor area was kept immaculate and the pool was lovely. Liked that the deep end was 1.7m. Wigmore’s supermarket across the road was very handy with delicious ice creams and meals for sale at lunchtime if you just wanted to spend the day at Moana Sands Villas. We would be greeted in the morning by the very, friendly staff bringing us the most fabulous breakfast, relax the day away by the pool and enjoy the fantastic snorkeling. In fact the best snorkeling I have experienced with so many different fish to look at. Fabulous, friendly Claire, from the office, gave us maps and recommendations of places we might like visiting, which were extremely helpful and absolutely perfect for the type of vacation we were wanting. Cannot recommend highly enough and definitely the best relaxing holiday ever! Loved meandering along the beach to Vaima Restaurant and Bar, or along the road to Yellow Hibiscus Restaurant. Caught the bus right outside our villa into town to explore the island. Enjoyed evenings sitting in our outdoor patio area and was impressed to find they had even provided mosquito coils! Other handy extras were the umbrella and torch for our evening strolls. There were also kayaks and reef shoes available so they really had thought of everything! Cannot wait to return again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moana Sands Group, Owner at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas
Responded 2 Aug 2021
Kia Orana Explorer795373 Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas & Apartments. Wigmores supermarket across the road is indeed very handy for all your vacation requirements, offering an array of products and the wonderful Yellow Hibiscus and Vaima Restaurants are indeed just a short walk away and a lovely way to spend your evenings under the stars. Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Cook Islands! Meitaki ma'ata e kia manuia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tofel wrote a review Jan 2024
Auckland51 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good snorkelling resort
I stayed for 7 nights in the beach front villa 503 which is very easy access to the beach and very private. The two bedroom villa is very spacious with two ensuites which is very good. House keeping comes daily except Sunday. Plenty of towers to use. The swimming pool is the bonus my kids loves it.
Snorkelling is best in the morning or late afternoon I saw sea turtle and ray around 5-6pm. Plenty of fish to see and is very safe to snorkel.
There is a very good restaurant just two minutes walk - Viama.
The only issue is that room 503 has no wifi even I bought hot spot voucher from the supermarket cross the road it is impossible to use it. My 4G data is very slow in the room as well. I have to go outside room to stream videos.
In summary I would come back but really hope that resort has stable wifi connection in the future.
I also visited sister hotel Moana sand hotel which has very nice beach to swim but snorkelling is not good as the villas.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: No stable wifi in room 503 not sure about other rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PinotNoir wrote a review Feb 2024
Grass Valley, California105 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As a couple, we stayed in one of the beachfront villas for two weeks. The view from our patio was excellent. A couple of dozen steps to the water. Very nice water. Tropical fish abound with your first steps into the water. Each and every day we would do a snorkel from there and see thousands of fish and beautiful coral.
Across the street is the 24 hour Wigmore Supermarket. It is an excellent market. The takeout side of it has DELICIOUS takeout. We ordered there several times and took our meals across the street and enjoyed our beautiful view with a bottle of wine purchased at Wigmores.
But as a couple, we were outnumbered by the families with children. So we felt a bit out of place. Not a dealbreaker but something to consider if you are a couple staying in one of the two studios.
As others have mentioned this place needs decent Wi-Fi and provide it to guests as part of the room cost. We purchased over NZD $160 for WiFi over two weeks and it wasn't enough. There is a nice Smart TV in the room but one needed to use Wi-Fi to use it and we couldn't afford it. So we hardly turned it on.
There was a nice stovetop hob and microwave for cooking but the place is sorely in need of better cookware and utensils. A sharp knife and a few more bowls would have helped. An oven would have made cooking easier too. The BBQ grill was in need of help. Guest laundry dryer wasn't working but we found a place in Muri that did our laundry for not much more than we would have paid to use the 'guest' laundry.
All things considered, as a family, you'll be very happy here. A couple might want to check other options but if you find that this place wins greatly on cost, go ahead and book it.
PS We had a huge hassle/issue on the last day of our stay and management was generous in offering a solution to our problem.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryn S wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful location. We had 2 units to accomodate ourselves & daughters & granddaughter. Unfortunately our units weren’t ready for us on arrival & we were given one night at a nearby resort which was not beach front & in our view not of the quality we had been expecting. Hence we effectively had one day less at the beachfront accomodation that we had paid for, which for us was very disappointing. Neither we nor our travel agent have received a satisfactory explanation as to what was the reason for the units not being available on our arrival, nor were we offered any form of compensation. Other than that issue, we loved our stay in Rarotonga & the Moana Sands Villas.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moana Sands Group, Owner at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas
Responded 4 Jul 2022
Kia Orana Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas overall. We do regret that while we did not have your confirmed reservations on file at the time of your arrival, we could arrange alternative accommodation in a 4.5 star resort for the first night, and that we were able to accommodate you for the rest of your stay in the Cooks. Again we thank you for your kind words regarding the time spent at the Villas and that you enjoyed the property overall. Meitaki Ma'ata
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coetzee Family wrote a review Feb 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't say enough about this place and actually want to keep it quiet and not make everyone aware of this amazing place - I need to keep a spot open for my next booking :):):)

Can't explain the experience we had staying here!!! .... and the excellent reviews are spot on - from location to cleanliness to the staff. Kieran and the housekeeping staff are the most friendly and helpful people ever and made us feel like family. We highly recommend this place and will definitely be back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We loved the top floor as we had an amazing view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moana Sands Group, Owner at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Kia Orana Coetzee Family. Meitaki for such a wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to a return to the beautiful Cook Islands and Moana Sands Beachfront Villas...we will make sure to keep a spot for you! Warm Regards The Moana Sands Beachfront Villas Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WreckLassRach wrote a review Mar 2022
Whangarei, New Zealand57 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a great property to stay in while on holiday with my husband who was travelling to Raro for the first time. Bring my third trip a big part of my goal was to convince him that we should return to Raro regularly… it worked!!

We had a fab & friendly welcome & all staff that we met throughout our stay were always helpful & friendly.

The room was everything we needed & its location was FANTASTIC! Absolutely beautiful location with a pool a few steps away but also the beach literally within maybe 20 steps of our front door. We spent most days snorkeling literally right there.

Having the amazing VAIMA’S just a stroll up the beach, Wigmores straight across the road & the Village Eatery right out front (with gluten free food!) was an absolute bonus!

Thanks for an awesome holiday :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The beachfront studios are great for couples!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moana Sands Group, Owner at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas
Responded 4 Jul 2022
Kia Orana Thank you for your amazing review, we are glad your plan coaxing your husband back to the beautiful Cooks worked a treat! We hope to welcome you back when you both return. Meitaki Maata
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allie F wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A fabulous place to stay with the family. We were in the three bedroom apartment with a view to the pool and sea, and it was amazing. Very spacious, clean and had everything you needed. Being across the road from the 24 hour supermarket made life very easy, and the cafe out the front made great coffee! Kids enjoyed playing in the sand out the front, or swimming in the pool most days. The service from the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return, and recommend to other travelers.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Tap water is safe to drink, and villas are serviced daily except Sundays. Staff very helpful...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moana Sands Group, Owner at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas
Responded 3 Dec 2023
Kia Orana Allie. Meitaki for your lovely words! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your tropical home away from home!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan W wrote a review Jul 2022
Cambridge, New Zealand48 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 5 nights at the Moana Sands Villas in a studio unit. 20 steps to the beach and 10 to the pool. Great patio looking out to the gorgeous lagoon. Perfect for afternoon drinks.

Our unit was spacious, had a fresh coat of paint and was spotlessly clean.

With only 10 units you almost felt you had the place to yourself.

Supermarket and takeaways across the road. The Village Eatery cafe out front and walking distance to Vaima Restaurant. Go Cook car rental across the road.

Great snorkelling beach.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moana Sands Group, Owner at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas
Responded 4 Jul 2022
Kia Orana Susan w858 Meitaki for your kind words! Our maintenance team was hard at work during the lockdown freshening up the property so we are glad you enjoyed the outcome of their labour and we have such a stellar housekeeping team who keep our villas in tip top shape. The team hopes to see you again in the not too distant future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tofel wrote a tip Jan 2024
Auckland51 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No stable wifi in room 503 not sure about other rooms"
Read full review
Allie F wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tap water is safe to drink, and villas are serviced daily except Sundays. Staff very helpful with any requests."
Read full review
WreckLassRach wrote a tip Mar 2022
Whangarei, New Zealand57 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The beachfront studios are great for couples!"
Read full review
Coetzee Family wrote a tip Feb 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved the top floor as we had an amazing view"
Read full review
Carol F wrote a tip Dec 2019
Tauranga, New Zealand30 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Villas have sea views and a private beachfront locality."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Takitumu District area.
PRICE RANGE
$399 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaTakitumu District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOANA SANDS BEACHFRONT VILLAS - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Takitumu District, Cook Islands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Moana Sands Beachfront Villas
Which popular attractions are close to Moana Sands Beachfront Villas?
Nearby attractions include Tik-e Tours (9.6 km), Aroa Marine Reserve (6.8 km), and Cook Island Christian Church (CICC) (8.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moana Sands Beachfront Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mooring Fish Cafe Rarotonga, Beluga, and The Waffle Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moana Sands Beachfront Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Moana Sands Beachfront Villas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wreck of the Matai (7.6 km).