We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel

    11 Hekerua Road, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Traveller (9)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Dining (3)
    Overview
    • Excellent54%
    • Very good22%
    • Average11%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible7%
    Travellers talk about
    “private room” (8 reviews)
    “long term” (6 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Kitchenette
    Multilingual Staff
    Pets Allowed
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    We're sorry, there are no rooms available on TripAdvisor. Please change your dates, or view all Oneroa hotels with availability
    Write a Review
    Reviews (168)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 150 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    What a great place to stay is the Hekerua lodge! Very good vibe, place is really clean and the staff so helpful and friendly. Location is also perfect. We extended our stay twice, didn't want to leave!

    Thank Nadja5678
    Response from TomOosterwegel, Manager at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers HostelResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you for your review. Glad you had an amazing time and you extend your stay twice. Our housekeeping team works hard to keep the Lodge so clean as possible.We hope to see you again!

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Doesn't have washing machine and the manager was really rude. Is a beautiful Place and the backpacker is well located, good environment, the people is friendly and the kitchen was always clean. (A bit tiny for the amount of people who is staying)More

    Thank Gabriela H
    Response from TomOosterwegel, Manager at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for your review. We don't have a washing machine for guest because we are not allowed to have one from the Auckland council. Because we are on an island we have to reduce the water usage. That's why we advise our guest to...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    There's no place quite like Hekerua! It has such a great community atmosphere and quickly felt like home away from home. With a pool, hottub, outside deck, and plenty of communal space, it was super easy to meet other travelers. Tom was welcoming and very...More

    Thank Rachel H
    Response from TomOosterwegel, Manager at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for your amazing review! Glad you had a great time at the Hekerua Lodge. For a lot of guests our place feels like home away from home. Glad to hear you also experienced this. We always try to give our guests personal advice....More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Almost stay 1 month here and had a great experience. Really nice staff, woofers are awsome and there is always someone to give you the best tips on Waiheke. Really clean and welcoming place. I strongly recommend it!More

    Thank marieami0t
    Response from TomOosterwegel, Manager at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for your review. You have been an amazing guest. All our staff always want to help our guest and have a good time together. Our housekeeping time works hard to keep the lodge so clean as possible. Glad you experienced this. We hope...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    very nice place, with nice people to have fun and spend nice moments.... the place is surrounded by nature and is very well located, close to little oneroa and palm beach..... is a nice Hostel to meet new friends from all over and have fun...More

    Thank Nico S
    Response from TomOosterwegel, Manager at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for your review! Good to hear you had an amazing time in the Lodge. It's a good place to make friends from all over the world as we always have a mix of nationalities. We hope to see you back soon!

    Midway Motel Waiheke Island
    42 reviews
    #5 of 5 hotels in Waiheke Island
     
    The Boatshed
    244 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Waiheke Island
     
    Waiheke Island Resort
    93 reviews
    #3 of 5 hotels in Waiheke Island
     
    Te Whau Lodge
    101 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Waiheke Island
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Hot Tub
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$22 - US$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 11
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • North Island >
    • Auckland >
    • Waiheke Island >
    • Oneroa
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (9)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Dining (3)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (13)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Nearby
    The Boatshed
    244 reviews
    .44 km away
     
    Waiheke Island Resort
    93 reviews
    2.08 km away
     
    Te Whau Lodge
    101 reviews
    3.83 km away
     
    Midway Motel Waiheke Island
    42 reviews
    2.49 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Frenchot
    46 reviews
    .88 km away
    The Oyster Inn
    744 reviews
    1.19 km away
    Vino Vino
    308 reviews
    1.20 km away
    Solar Eating House
    148 reviews
    1.34 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Waiheke Executive Transport
    9 reviews
    .78 km away
    Headland Sculpture on the Gulf
    64 reviews
    1.53 km away
    Whittaker's Musical Museum
    24 reviews
    1.52 km away
    Goldie Estate
    50 reviews
    1.47 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Pam K
    28 January 2015|
    Answer
    Response from Offshore34 | Property representative |
    Sorry guys but we have no road access to our camping area... You are more than welcome to bring a tent. The rate is $18pp/night with full use of lodge facilities..
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "4 bed share rooms good value for only +NZD$5 per night on standard dorm rate when I visited. Book ahead."
    Read review
    "Upstairs, on the opposite side to the pool/deck as it's noisy at night there."
    Read review
    "There is a swimming pool and yacuzzi and a big kitchen."
    Read review
    "Take first floor of rthe double-decked beds because the upper part is shaky :)"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing