Albany Backpackers
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Albany Backpackers

Corner of Stirling Terrace and Spencer Street, Albany, Western Australia 6330 Australia
Distance to beach and city centre
Traveller (12)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (8)
Dine Room
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 4 hostels in Albany
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value

Located in the centre of Albany, overlooking Princess Royal Harbour 1 minute walk from the visitor centre and bus stop, Albany Backpackers newly renovated hostel offers the most private dormitory style accommodation in Albany. All our dorm beds are fitted with custom made privacy screens. If you are just looking for a room by yourself we have cosy private rooms at a very competitive price. Our hostel features free WiFi, free basic breakfast and free parking. Albany Backpackers has two guest lounges on two levels, one big movie theatre room and one cosy lounge room. Perfect for those days where you can use a rest from your travels. Both rooms have reverse cycle heating and cooling in whatever the weather may bring.

Winner of the 2015 tripadvisor excellence award, our property offers two kitchens for our guests to cook up a scrumptious dinner or we are conveniently located to Albany’s best restaurants, pubs and cafes. Our guests can relax and recharge in our courtyard and take advantage of our free BBQ facilities. For your entertainment we hold free open pool table nights on the weekend.

All rooms at Albany Backpackers offer access to shared bathroom facilities, laundry facilities and client computer terminals. When booking ask for a room on the Southern wing which features beautiful views over the harbour and the entertainment centre at night. Perfect if you come to Albany to catch a show, as it is in short walking distance to our hostel.

As the longest running backpacker hostel in Albany we have the best local knowledge and inside information on where to go and what to do during all weather conditions. Ask our friendly staff for a complementary map and their recommendations for things to do in Albany.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Corner of Stirling Terrace and Spencer Street, Albany, Western Australia 6330 Australia
83Reviews0Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 56
  • 18
  • 4
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Koko wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the hotel for 8 months. It was a very memorable time. It is as warm as home, but free because of the large public area. The location is close to the supermarket IGA, shopping is very convenient, and 5 minutes walk to the beach to watch the sunset. I will definitely miss the people and the place!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SimonCheu wrote a review Jul 2014
Albany1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi,
Btw, I am a backpacker. The reason I stay in Hostal I need a job, so I decided to leave my friends for awhile and come down to south to look for a job alone.

Now I am staying in Albany Backpacker and I have been staying for few months already.

This Hostal has it's own style like giving the traveller and backpacker a nice safety place to live. Rooms, toilet, bathroom and kitchen are clean and tidy.

Especially, they look after of backpackers like us. they offered an opportunity for me to working the farm or factory. To be honest to say, I am quite enjoying this experience of life and thank you for the opportunity to share my experience here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joydeep G wrote a review May 2014
26 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has good mix of people and facilities. Table tennis, pool table offer a good way to pass the time. The location and pricing is good. The large room with multiple bunker beds helped 7 of us get accomodated in one room only. Good deal..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eiges_Es wrote a review May 2015
Perth, Australia65 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May be this only happen on me. Late respond on flooded toilet has ruined the most affordable yet amusing accommodation in Albany!. You understand that people are different. But, let the toilet flooded because they left "the thing" and it can't sink, plus late respond from the accommodation personnel, can you feel it as an "okay"?
Well, may be. Do not take second floor male toilets room. They are stuck on something sometimes.
The accommodation is located in a very good position. Nice atmosphere. Clean bed sheet, but thin pillow. You may not need a thick and soft pillow, but hey ... it is a backpacker accommodation. What kind of pillow do you expect?! Close to ANZAC Beach Park, Albany Entertainment Centre and CBD. Stay in eight bedroom. Very friendly roommate. Personal things? Among friends? Great. But, you can imagine it is not as cool as stay a night in eight bedroom with friends if you stay with other people in one room. Suit yourself then.
The staff is quite "stiff". Short hours of work. You may find it difficult to get a complete information when you arrive at break hours. But, again, no worries, they are helpful. Stay fairly with limited budget but remarkable accommodation? This is the place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don't use male toilets on 2nd floor. Stuck on something sometime. Hot water in showers are...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dinah R, Owner at Albany Backpackers
Responded 2 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us. From time to time foreign objects end up in the toilets ( sorry it happed with you :-), We got this sorted out at the earliest possible time as we needed to get a professional in to have a look. ( Im not one :-( and again it is a very rare situation. Our bedding including our pillows get replaced on an ongoing basis and we have just purchased brand new pillows for all our beds. If you had let us know that you would have liked a thicker pillow (or even two :-) at the time, we would have loved to swap it over straight away. We have instant gas hot water to ensure a good consistent flow of hot water that only needs to be adjusted (sometimes tricky :-0 ) to suit your personal taste. Our hostel provides lock away storage upon request if needed for those important items and we are happy to store things if you want to stay around after check out waiting for a lift or bus. Our opening times at the hostel for our quieter months are 9-12 and 3-7pm. Our staff are happy to answer questions and try provide as much information as they can about Albany and anything else you would like to know during our opening hours. We wish you all the best for your travels Albany Backpackers Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alberto T wrote a review Nov 2014
24 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
They really find you a job. I spent there 6 weeks and I never saw someone to wait more than 1 week for a job. Is a bit dirty and there's no a good organization. But a lot of people stay there for a long time so is like a big family. 4 points!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from StefB199, Owner at Albany Backpackers
Responded 22 Dec 2014
Hi Alberto, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel and we are glad you had a great time staying with us. Sorry to hear you were disappointed about the cleanliness of the hostel. The hostel gets thoroughly cleaned from top to bottom from our team of cleaners every day. The cleanliness of the hostel is our main priority and we endeavor to keep the standards high at all times. We currently have a policy of allocating a dishes set to each guest which are managed by each guest and from time to time they are left uncleaned and we collect them up, clean them and put them away. Thanks again for your review. Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to welcome you again sometime at the Albany Backpackers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr_Lupo wrote a review Nov 2016
Netherlands21 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Long time ago I was there, and now I was back again. And it is still a very nice place to be.

Some things have changed. Where there used to be internet terminals, there is now free Wifi, and some of the bathrooms have been renovated. There used to be only one kitchen. Now there are two! Back then the hostel was beautifull allready because of the various murials artists made over the years, and I found some new art was added to this place.

Some things have not changed. The staff is still the same and they are friendly an know how to run the place. They are close to the bus station and to the big IGA supermarket as well as the town center.

A picture from good times in the past of me and fellow backpaxkers was also still on the wall!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I think room 7 is very nice. It is a 5 bed dorm, and the famous pinacles are painted on the walls...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chr1SsM wrote a review Nov 2016
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dirty and messi rooms, unfriendly personal, very old house, kitchen is very old
Would not recommend
The only good thing is the free breakfast...
But thats only toast and jam

Worst hostel i've ever visited.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RyanLloyd92 wrote a review Jun 2015
Albany, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In a great location overlooking some beautiful sights, Albany backpackers is a great hostel that places you in the centre of the Albany and everything the city has to offer. The staff are some of the most helpful people you could hope to meet when travelling on your own. Really can't recommend this one enough if you plan on staying in Albany for a while.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Js B wrote a review Apr 2015
Western Australia, Australia29 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Albany is a really nice place to visit if you like to do outdoor activities (surfing,fishing,trekking,chilling...) and Albany backpacker is the perfect location. Surrounded by all the town business' with a IGA at 5 min walk. the backpacker it self is clean and has all what it needs for a good stay and the staff is very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: take a private room or a 4 bed room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael N wrote a review Jan 2014
Hamburg, Germany3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I like! This hostel gets cleaned every day, kitchen utilities are provided and the staff shows a lot of passion to keep it a good place. The bathrooms are clean, storage, laundry and WiFi is provided. I don't really have anything to complain! The hostel manager always gave me very useful advises to go fishing. The service itself was excellent and the people I met were fabulous. They also offer a bike rental.

The hostel is located in the centre of Albany, within 2 Minutes you can reach main street offering everything you need. It has all mayor shopping facilities, good value restaurants and a priceless view over royal princess harbour.

The surrounding is amazing. Albany has heaps of beautiful places, nature and wildlife. I can highly recommend 'whale world'. It's an old whaling station at Torndirrup Natinalpark. Nowadays it's a museum and you have an amazing view over the Ocean - if you're lucky you can even see some whales out there! Two Peolpes Bay is also rated in the Top 10 of Australias most beautiful beaches. Albany has a lot to offer. At nighttime there are few pubs with live music, clubs and neat cafes very close to the hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Room 10 has a beautiful view! You can see Royal Princess harbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Mr_Lupo wrote a tip Nov 2016
Netherlands21 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I think room 7 is very nice. It is a 5 bed dorm, and the famous pinacles are painted on the walls all around you."
Read full review
Alexandra N wrote a tip Dec 2015
Greater Perth, Australia35 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sometimes a lot of people, so as long as you are cool with good company, you'll love it!"
Read full review
Eiges_Es wrote a tip May 2015
Perth, Australia65 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't use male toilets on 2nd floor. Stuck on something sometime. Hot water in showers are poor. Gone sometimes"
Read full review
Js B wrote a tip Apr 2015
Western Australia, Australia29 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"take a private room or a 4 bed room"
Read full review
Bjoern A wrote a tip Apr 2014
Sydney, Australia7 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We got a 5 bed dorm."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Albany area.
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaAlbany
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALBANY BACKPACKERS - Hostel Reviews (Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Albany Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Albany Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include The Church of Saint John the Evangelist (0.4 km), Albany Entertainment Centre (0.2 km), and Blush Retail Gallery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Albany Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Albany Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Albany Backpackers?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Albany Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gourmandise & Co, Albany's Indian Tandoori Restaurant, and Dylans on the Terrace.
Is Albany Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Albany.
Are any cleaning services offered at Albany Backpackers?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Albany Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Albany Convict Gaol & Museum (0.5 km), Princess Royal Fortress (2.3 km), and Old Farm, Strawberry Hill (1.5 km).
All Albany HotelsAlbany Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlbanyHotels near Albany Backpackers
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire