Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn

173 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233 Australia
Traveller (470)
View of Room
Room & Suite (213)
This is the dining area & the Kitchen area.
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

$226
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 9 motels in Apollo Bay
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
See why so many travellers make Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn their motel of choice when visiting Apollo Bay. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you. Rooms at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn include a Smart TV, a refrigerator, a kitchenette offering exceptional comfort and convenience, and some apartments with stovetop cooking. Guests enjoy free wifi, and if you are driving, free parking is available. While in Apollo Bay, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn, including Apollo Bay Fishermen's Co-op (0.9 km), Apollo Bay Hotel (0.4 km), and Dooleys Ice Cream (0.5 km).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Snorkelling
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Seating area
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

173 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 77 out of 100
77
Melbourne Airport
158.4 km
See all flights
2,043Reviews8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,514
  • 452
  • 68
  • 8
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cazchapers04 wrote a review Jan 2020
Newmarket, United Kingdom28 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a couple of nights and found the place great. Modern and up to date. The laundry room was great they only charge $2 for washing machine and tumble dryer free even had clothes line. Apollo Bay is a great place to stop to be able to explore the area or chill on the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Apollo Bay W, Front Office Manager at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Responded 14 Jan 2020
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and in Apollo Bay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JBSTITCH wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom77 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've just completed two nights stay at Apollo Bay Waterfront Inn as part of a Great Ocean Road trip. The room was clean, well-equipped and comfortable - important after a day exploring the beaches and coves along Great Ocean Road. The owners are really friendly and it was a nice touch to have fresh milk in the in-room refrigerator to make a cup of tea/coffee with. Onsite parking is convenient and it is less than five minutes walk along the main street to the shops and restaurants of the town. The beach is across the road. I would definitely return here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Apollo Bay Waterfront, Other at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Thank you for the fabulous review, glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Apollo Bay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guitarfish wrote a review Apr 2021
Eltham, Australia75 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for just one night in a spa room and really appreciated the spacious and bright, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable room.
The room was large, had a sofa as well as a bed, ample storage for longer stays in both main room and bathroom, aircon/heating and large sliding doors onto a balcony, so could be well ventilated in hot weather. There was a microwave and basic but thoughtful kitchen/dining essentials for simple self catering or dealing with takeaway food. The bathroom functioned perfectly with a great shower over spa bath, and was supplied with nice necessary toiletries.
The motel is in town, a very short walk to shops, restaurants, pubs and cafes, and the beach is just across the road. Reception staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We felt it would be ideal for a longer stay in future and would definitely choose to stay here again. Highly recommended and deserves it’s rating!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jerri N wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Like most people , there were no holidays in 2020 , so a return trip to to the Waterfront in summer ( our first stay was in winter) was a wonderful break. The room we stayed in had been fully refurbished and a few extra breakfast making amenities added which is a real bonus when you are staying more than a night or two. Our 7 night stay was great and a day or two of poor weather was no problem as the view of the ocean from our room and a good book together with great coffee shops saw us through !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: studio rooms with an ocean view are for two only, plenty of family options and still only 15-20...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Irene B wrote a review Mar 2020
Trentham, Australia20 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having done my research for accommodation at Apollo Bay, I chose the Waterfront Motor Inn because of their consistently high reviews compared to other locations in a similar price range which were inconsistent. And I can only add to their already enviable reputation in this most popular costal town. Attention to detail was obvious to me everywhere. The room was the one I booked (a balcony room overlooking the ocean as shown in the photo), the set up had been tastefully modernised, and I really couldn't fault anything other than I would have liked a small cutting board as part of the limited self catering set up. Everything was spotlessly clean. The lovely Mary who helped me with my booking was there to meet and greet and handled the checkin thoroughly and efficiently - her manner friendly but professional. In fact all the staff were excellent. Highly recommend this accommodation for its location, value for money and quality of product.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Apollo Bay Waterfront, Other at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Thank you Irene, for such a glowing review! We are so glad that you were comfortable here and had such a wonderful time. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelbugDelhi wrote a review Feb 2020
New Delhi, India787 contributions163 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here only for a night while on the GOR drive. We were'nt too happy that our room was on the first floor & we had to lug our heavy bags to the room. The room was fairly big & the attached bathroom was nice with decent toiletries provided. The room was clean & the parking was convenient just outside. The motel is hardly a few minutes walk to the main drag full of restaurants & cafes. The lady in the reception was friendly & chatty, apart from giving us a few recommendations she also suggested a route for the next day's drive which we ended up following.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Apollo Bay Waterfront, Other at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Sounds like you were pleased with your accommodation, our service and our location.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KMD wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia9 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my mum stayed here for 2 nights at the end of January (2-bed garden view apartment) and were really impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful, the apartment was spotlessly clean and well maintained, the location is perfect. The small touches also made it extra nice (toiletries, hair dryer, fresh milk). We could also sit outside on the armchairs and have a glass of wine.

Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ApollobayWaterfront, Front Office Manager at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Thank you Kiri for taking the time to leave us a review. We take great pride in keeping our rooms spotless and comfortable for guests. Yes, and a glass of wine outside on the patio sounds like the perfect end to the day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grace D wrote a review Jun 2021
Craigieburn, Australia15 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was perfect size . Beds were comfortable, room was warm.
The check in was easy and nothing seemed to be a bother .
All the things you need for a great stay are provided.
Microwave in room ,toaster ,kettle even chopsticks and a tub to wash dishes in instead of using the bathroom sink.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karan J. B. wrote a review Jul 2020
Melbourne, Australia22 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely property on the great ocean road. We visited this property during a long weekend when the COVID restrictions were lifted. The lady who owns/runs/manages the place was very polite and very organised. The room and the bathroom very very clean. The beach and the main shopping street are a short walk away. You can park your car right outside your room. I could see the staff taking the extra precautions to keep the rooms clean and sanitize them often.

Overall was a lovely experience. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wombat wrote a review Jan 2022
Melbourne, Australia46 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved EVERYTHING! Location, friendly hosts, easy & safe parking, walking distance to beach. The room was above our expectations. Degree of cleaniness is second to none. Very modern, attractive decor from bedding to bathroom and living area could not fault. Attention to detail was exceptional and everthing was in impeccable order. The little things were noticeably surprising particularly the soap,shampoo, etc., dispensers in the bathroom and finding green tea/raw sugar was a treat. Echo friendly, recyclable awareness was encouraging. Thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing stay, albeit for one night! Definately want to stay again and cannot highly recommend enough. Will not disappoint!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Apollo Bay Waterfront, Other at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Responded 25 Feb 2022
Come again for longer! Wonderful review thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Corey I asked a question Sept 2022
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
Is the internet free
Answer from Apollo Bay W
Apollo bay6 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes, we have free internet at Waterfront Motor Inn
Answer from Apollo Bay W
Apollo bay6 contributions3 helpful votes
Dear Guest, Thank you for your booking - you can arrive at any time from 2pm and your room will be ready for you. Our office hours are between 8.30am and 7pm. If Reception is closed when you arrive - there will be a note to the right of the Reception door addressed to you. This note will have all the information you need to access your room - including our after-hours phone numbers should you have any concerns or questions. Please be mindful that we are a small town and therefore our Restaurants and Cafe kitchens may be closed if arriving after 8.30pm. Enjoy the drive here - just beware of wildlife on the roads after dusk. Kind Regards, Anja :)
Answer from Russell T
Oldham, United Kingdom13 contributions22 helpful votes
not sure
Answer from Apollo Bay W
Apollo bay6 contributions3 helpful votes
yes we have free parking.
Corz79 asked a question Sept 2016
Melbourne, Australia43 contributions1 helpful vote
I'm staying here Saturday night... Does anyone know of any nice restaurants near by?
Answer from 848Jay
Perth, Australia23 contributions8 helpful votes
Fabulous Italian Restaurant Casalinga. The lobster ravioli with bisque delicious!
ShaunSharon wrote a tip 6 May
Brisbane, Australia30 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Early to rise and you'll enjoy the sunrise."
Read full review
Wanderer00270141222 wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a laundry for guests to use."
Read full review
Mary S wrote a tip Apr 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t forget your beach towel even if you don’t swim sitting watching the waves is so good for the soul. "
Read full review
scottie795 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Isle of Man, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking easy and right by the room."
Read full review
Robert P wrote a tip Jan 2024
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Always take a jumper and jacket."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Apollo Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
$132 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waterfront motor hotel apollo bay, waterfront hotel apollo bay
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaApollo Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APOLLO BAY WATERFRONT MOTOR INN | UPDATED 2024 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Great Ocean Walk (0.1 km), Apollo Bay Beach (0.1 km), and Great Ocean Road Trading Post (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dooleys Ice Cream - The Ice Cream Tub, Apollo Bay Bakery, and Casalingo.
Is Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Apollo Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Apollo Bay HotelsApollo Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Apollo BayHotels near Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire