Fairmont Motor Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Fairmont Motor Lodge

1120 Karamu Road North Mayfair, Hastings 4122 New Zealand
Traveller (9)
Studio unit
Room & Suite (19)
Bathroom (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 11 motels in Hastings
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
On 1 July 2016 we changed our name to Fairmont Motor Lodge (from Comfort Inn Fairmont). Same great place, same great owners, just a name change. Located less than 2km to city centre. All units have kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms with large corner spa baths or walk-in shower (wonderful for elderly or disabled people). An out door (summer only) swimming pool and ample free car parking. Cooked or continental breakfast delivered to each unit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast in the room
Golf course
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Kitchenette
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1120 Karamu Road North Mayfair, Hastings 4122 New Zealand
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 45 out of 100
45
Hawkes Bay Airport
18.5 km
See all flights
43Reviews1Q+A14Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 10
  • 4
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rickey_T wrote a review Oct 2012
Sydney52 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Fairmont Motor Lodge is on one of the main roads heading north-east out of Hastings. It is on the edge of town, about 2 kilometres (just over a mile) from the centre of Hastings. So about a 20 minute walk into the heart of Hastings.

The Motel is in good condition. Reception was friendly and helpful.

Our room was a 1 bedroom twin (2 singles in the bedroom and a queen bed in the living area). The room was clean and was a comfortable place to be. The living area had a reasonable amount of room but the bedroom was small. Everything in the room worked satisfactorily.

Our room cost NZD $220 which I thought was on the expensive side.

Although I had a car, I like to be within 5 minutes walk of cafes, restaurants and bars. So while I have no complaints about the Fairmont, if I am in Hastings again, I would probably choose something closer to the Town centre. Having said that, there seem to be only a couple of motels that are on the edge of the Town centre and are of the same standard (or better) as the Fairmont.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susanne M wrote a review Jun 2016
Hastings, New Zealand76 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this Motel on line. The Booking service was quick and very efficient. The pricing for this Motel is very reasonable. Our welcome at Reception was very efficient and friendly. We were greeted by the Owners in a friendly manner and welccoming manner. Reception staff were very helpful. This Motel is very accessable, clean and comfortable. Rooms are very clean and refreshing. Bed was very comfortable. Shower had very good water pressure. A very enjoyable place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Enquire with Owners with information of your needs and they will be very happy to help you.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Packaj, Owner at Fairmont Motor Lodge
Responded 13 Jun 2016
Thank you Susanne for your kind words - we appreciate that you appreciate our work. Regards, Carole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Whakat1k1 wrote a review Feb 2015
Wellington, New Zealand219 contributions112 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a 4 night stay here in a one bedroom unit. The hosts are lovely friendly people, greeted us very warmly on arrival and explained a few points about the room, parking and where the supermarket was located.

The room was spacious and the decor clean & tidy. The bathroom had a large new spa bath & the rest of the bathroom was to be updated soon. The wifi dropped in and out but we figured out it was usually at high usage times of the day.

There's a handy wine shop & Indian restaurant on the corner but otherwise its a bit of a drive to the town centre.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nikkz wrote a review Dec 2015
Wellington, New Zealand2 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would not recommend this motel to anyone our holiday was ruined due to the owners.
We are a young family who decided to take our kids away who aged 4 and a 10 month old baby for a family holiday arrived from Wellington checked in to hotel prior to a booking my partner had made. We went up to our room unpacked and set up, about 20 minutes later the lady owner came storming up to our motel and said we had made a double booking, this was a genuine mistake, she wanted to charge double I clearly stated we could not afford to pay twice, she went away and tried to charge my credit card the whole amount for a double booking which never went through the owner then came back up accusing me and my partner of being fraudsters without even getting her facts right, discussion became heated this lady got very aggressive and rude and raised her voice infrontt of my children, my daughter ran off scared into the motel room and tired to hide under the bed, I asked the lady to leave 3 times as she had made my daughter cry she was saying she doesn't give a s### or dosent give a S### that we were a family and that she wanted her money, I tried to close the motel door and she stood in the way and prevented my from closing it at this stage I had to call the police due to my children seeing all this, while we were awaiting police the owners husband came out and got his car and parked it right infront of ours to prevent us from leaving, they were ringing our motel phone demanding payment saying were illegally on their property and they were going to trespass us, yet they were blocking our car in stopping us from leaving, police arrived and they had to move car we left without staying any nights. I should not have had to call police because we felt so intimidated by these people my children should not have had to see or hear this and the fact that she upset my daughter is not acceptable of someone that's in business they should be in business, this was so unprofessional, Police said they had no right and were not allowed to blocky our car in, they did not even apologise they were all about money and not about their customers or customer needs whatsoever
The room was very overpriced as well
Shame on you both Comfort Inn
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Nothing good to say here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Packaj, Owner at Fairmont Motor Lodge
Responded 30 Dec 2015
Niki, While we do not condone some of the language used by our temporary manager your behaviour did not meet our expectations either. Either you or your partner booked a room by phone and also made a booking via booking.com. After you were put into your room the manager realized that there was another room booked under your name as well and came to your room and asked if you had booked that room too. The temp manager explained to us that your two comments were 1. that you didn't book a second room and 2. that it was a mistake. She told you that as the property was full (all rooms sold) you would be charged for one night for the second room unless it was sold, and asked that you come and pay for the room you were occupying (a stay of several nights). When the two credit cards declined and your refusal to accept that the mistake of booking two rooms was yours, along with your comment that you couldn't afford to pay for three nights accommodation as well as your refusal to come to the office and pay for the room you were occupying rang alarm bells as to your ability to pay for any accommodation. The manager rang us and we heard the conversation about ringing the police and supported her decision to have you removed from our property. You could have avoided all the tension had your acknowledged your mistake in booking two rooms and come to the office to pay for your accommodation when requested. To all other guests considering staying at our property, please do not be discouraged by this unhappy customer, there were too many circumstances going on to explain in this reply, but it is the opinion of both the permanent management as well as the temporary management (who have over 10 years experience running their own motel) that when guest behaviour does not meet our expectations we have to consider our other guests experience first (and that includes paying for their accommodation).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda W wrote a review Jan 2012
Townsville, Australia10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a pleasure to stay at Fairmont Motor Lodge,Hawkes Bay in January 2,3, 2012. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and I found the unit to be very clean and comfortable. The owner was personable and knowledgable about the local area. She showed us to our room and gave us complimentary magazines and information about a terrific local restaurant "Off the Track". I would definitely stay here again and wish it could have been longer.Thanks Carole!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John wrote a review Jul 2019
9 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Fairmont for two weeks , advised the manager about the infestion of German cockroachs and nothing was done about them , woke up to them crawling on my bed , they were in bath room aswell , my spa bath didn't work at all...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
claireEFnz wrote a review Jan 2018
Auckland, New Zealand7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed while in Hastings area for work. Clean, comfortable and good wifi. Everything I needed! The Topped off with friendly staff too. The place is also in a sweet location. Short drive in the main town and easy to head out of town too as it’s on a main road (but didn’t sound like it!) Definitely would stay here again without a second thought.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amary1510 wrote a review Jan 2018
Western Australia, Australia102 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are travelling around NZ with family and friends and Stayed in Hastings at the Fairmont motor lodge. The accomodation was very clean and tidy and all amenities were provided. A little deli located directly door had everything we needed. Couldn’t fault the motor lodge at all. The location was around 4kms from city centre which we didn’t mind as it was a place to rest before driving to wellington.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
155richard81 wrote a review Dec 2017
Tauranga, New Zealand557 contributions106 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good clean basic motor lodge. Very helpful manager. Rooms were tidy and clean with good size Queen bed, TV and small kitchen area containing double ring hob, small microwave oven, toaster and cutlery/plates for three people.
Bathroom had a spa bath, sink and toilet and was supplied with all necessary toiletries and towels.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosemary, wish I could edit spelling wrote a review Nov 2017
Sydney, Australia26 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Some times you plan ahead, other times you just take a chance and this was the best chance by far. The room was quiet, clean, had all the facilities to make the stay a very pleasant experience. I found that most places we stayed in had something not quite right with them but this was not one of them. From can opener to swimming pool, this had the lot, and on top of that very friendly hosts.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Even though we were in the front of the motel, it was super quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole_Cropper, Manager at Fairmont Motor Lodge
Responded 17 Nov 2017
Many thanks for taking your time to write such a lovely review. We all work hard to provide good accommodation at a good price.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ROHNDA J asked a question Feb 2017
AKRON1 contribution
Phone number?
Answer from Carole_Cropper
Hastings, New Zealand1 contribution
06 8783850
Sydney, Australia26 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even though we were in the front of the motel, it was super quiet."
Read full review
cptblack wrote a tip Nov 2017
Perth, Australia9 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not road sie"
Read full review
Juressa L wrote a tip Jan 2017
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you plan to cook meals I suggest checking in advance the provisions in the room being allocated to you."
Read full review
Susanne M wrote a tip Jun 2016
Hastings, New Zealand76 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enquire with Owners with information of your needs and they will be very happy to help you."
Read full review
Mistmaiden1st wrote a tip Apr 2016
Hastings, New Zealand6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"for a family i suggest the top balcony"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hastings area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn Fairmont
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionHastings
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FAIRMONT MOTOR LODGE - Motel Reviews (Hastings) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Hawkes Bay Farmers Market (0.8 km), Splash Planet (1.2 km), and Hawkes Bay Farmers' Market (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Star Of India Authentic Indian Restaurant, Thai Silk Restaurant, and Cafe Anatolia Hastings.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Motor Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Motor Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Fairmont Motor Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Otatara Pa Historic Reserve Walk (9.5 km).
Is Fairmont Motor Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hastings HotelsHastings Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HastingsHotels near Fairmont Motor Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire