The Magpie Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Magpie Motel

1122 Karamu Road North, Hastings 4122 New Zealand
Downstairs Studio units, one queen bed and one single per room.
Room & Suite (15)
One outdoor area
Dining (2)
Our pool area.
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#7 of 11 motels in Hastings
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Magpie Motel is a small motel that prides itself as being at the heart of the Hastings/Hawkes Bay area. Close to CBD, close to restaurants, tourist activites, beaches and outdoor areas. Great value for money. We offer Ensuite units, one bedroom, family room and studios. NEWLY INSTALLED AIR CONDITIONING.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Water park offsite
Babysitting
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Parking
Wifi
Fence around pool
Breakfast in the room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1122 Karamu Road North, Hastings 4122 New Zealand
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 44 out of 100
44
Hawkes Bay Airport
18.5 km
See all flights
44Reviews0Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 21
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Katherine C wrote a review Mar 2019
Owen Sound, Canada97 contributions102 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel met our expectations of a clean and simple budget accommodation. The owner gave us a friendly reception and we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room with it's couch, full sized table and two chairs. The kitchen was outfitted enough to make a meal, which we did, the bed was comfortable and the towels were of decent quality. This appears to be an older facility, so some of the fixtures are dated, but I got the feeling that the owners are in improvement mode. There is a nice grassy area out back with a pool and picnic tables;. It was nice to hear the sound of the kids splashing about. This place isn't fancy, but it's certainly a decent budget option in Hastings.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel
Responded 7 Mar 2019
Thankyou we really appreciate your review. It is exactly what we are and we are proud to provide clean facilities
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S_Kiwi_guy wrote a review Feb 2018
Masterton, New Zealand55 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly efficient reception, quiet room, good air conditioning, clean, good parking. However the fixtures were old, probably 25 years or more. It was Art Deco weekend so no motels were available in Napier, otherwise I would have chosen a better place. There is a swimming pool which seemed OK but we did not use it and the setting of it was nothing special.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Back away from road = quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel
Responded 21 Feb 2018
Thank you for your review. You were very lucky to find a room as we everyone had a very busy art deco weekend. There are no secrets as to what our motel is and how we present ourselves. We are proud of our little part of Hastings. We make no claims to be fancy we only claim to be practical and affordably priced.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane L wrote a review Jun 2016
Waikanae, New Zealand13 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely friendly and helpful owner. Our unit was very clean and well equipped. Kitchen / Bathroom dated but very clean and excellent value for money. Nice looking pool and children play area. We really appreciated that our small dog was able to stay and we felt very welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rooms at front have no one above and easy parking. Was not noisy. Nice to have grassy area at...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel
Responded 24 Jun 2016
Hello Jane, Thank you for your review, it is nice to see our efforts being recognised. We pride ourselves on how we are able to keep all our guests comfortable down to the four legged cute ones. Kind Regards Greg & Lisa Lomas THE MAGPIE.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FamilyNMJ wrote a review Jan 2015
Auckland, New Zealand30 contributions20 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Good Bits: Close to Splash Planet and Town. 5 Mins to everything. Has a play area for kids with swings and trampoline. Good outside area for sitting on warm days. Staff were friendly. Pet friendly.

Bad Bits: No air con in the room so heat was unbearable. Nearly suffocated in the heat and couldn't open windows as owner advised us to keep front door and windows closed at all time due to theft. Shower is tiny as...seriously tiny!!!! Lighting in the rooms was horrible. Beds were uncomfortable. Rooms and carpet look seriously old and worn out. Kitchen utensils are old, Had second thoughts on using the kitchen thinking how clean they were. Stove in our room was not working. There were fleas in our room which was the worst bit. Just a old worn out, everything old and dirty looking inside the rooms. The rooms were $130 a night which had 2 single beds in the living area and 1 queen bed in the room. Was not worth $130 a night at all and would not recommend anyone to stay there unless you are desperate of a place to stay in.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel
Responded 28 Jan 2015
Really shocking unexpected review. We let them bring their dog for no cost, which they let in places we did not agree to. We treat our property for fleas after each dog, you have to in this industry. We know who this group was,with out embarassing you, the room was left disgusting. You had no respect for anothers property. Our Carpet is brand new again how can new carpet be this? Unreasonable at all?. It probably is not even a year old. We have a strong return customer base. 80 of our business is return business. We are just shocked and feel it is strongly unwarranted this review. To accuse us of saying to keep it locked up is ridiculous, Obviously secure property at night you have to anywhere you live. We have fans and its true no air conditioning. Thats why we have fans. Air conditioning would not come at a room rate this reasonable. As for the oven, We thought it was working well. Normally customers let you know if something is not working. The only reason I can think of why this person wrote this was because this guest was asked to keep their noise down as they disturbed other guests. We also had to ask them to take glass out of pool area for safety reasons. We will not apologise for being safe. We believe this review was done in retelliation as these guests were loud and disruptive. They were also asked to take dog out of swimming pool area as it was not hygienic. They were also wearing clothing in pool, which we had to ask them to wear togs. Also drinking in pool alcohol which is not tolerated and against the rules which they were not happy about. We offer clean comfortable tidy rooms.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katey L wrote a review Jan 2018
Browns Bay, New Zealand3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On check in was met with an unpleasant welcome from the host, despite using booking app using search for 2 adults 1 child, on booking came through without my knowledge as 2 adults only and got stung with an extra fee for my four year old. When first walked in I was greeted with figured as much, then scolded over extra child costs more when I made a comment that I thought (as why else would I look for extra beds in room) I'd booked correctly via booking app I got snapped at that she didn't NEED attitude. At that stage mentioned I could of booked elsewhere, she was incredibly rude and putting myself in defence mode, but choose the booking over bedding configuration she again snapped at me I did not have to stay there. Now this is after I have just driven 6 hours with tired children in the car to be meet with such aggressive attitude is really disappointing. Having no other options at 5.30pm I paid the extra fee. Now this motel is not worth $160 a night. The rooms are tired, the beds uncomfortable with stains on bases, the toliets and walls are in dire need of a fix and paint. The free WiFi is non existent with little to no coverage in our room. The carpet needs replacing as do the curtains. The laminated signs around the room are passive aggressive about cleanliness and extra fees will be charged. The walls are thin and we listened to our neighbors snore the whole night. I've traveled nz extensively and this whole motel is by far one of the worst stays to date. I'm thinking perhaps I was discriminated against for being and Aucklander with visable tattoos. Either that or the host needs to find a new job she actually enjoys.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel
Responded 3 Jan 2018
First of all our interaction between this guest and ourselves was perfectly fine until she told us she had her 4 year old child with her, which upon being told their would be an extra charge for an extra person she flew into almost an instant rage for having to pay for the child. At which point I said, if you do not want to pay for the extra child I can refund your deposit if you do not wish to stay here and pay for your child. At which point again she threatened our business by saying she would do exactly what she has done, by putting a false harsh review of our property just so she could have the last say. Really do not understand the comments about discriminating because she was an Aucklander or tattoos, for one we have thousands of Aucklander's stay here each year and we love being able to provide their accommodation needs. As for the Tatttoo comments, I did not even see any Tattoo's, I don't know what she means by that.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
claireEFnz wrote a review Jan 2018
Auckland, New Zealand7 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had problem after problem with this place, the worst by far being the way we were treated by the staff. Very rude, abrasive and unhelpful.
I’m not going to sit here and complain bit by bit of the small things not ideal with this place because all that could have been overlooked if the staff/owners had not been so terrible to deal with and rude to myself and my partner on several occasions. Really disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel
Responded 30 Jan 2018
This person had to be evicted from our premises as they we out of line. No person ever has to be treated like these people treated us and think they were in the right. Warning to other motelliers, be wary of these people.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2huks wrote a review Jul 2014
Rotorua2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights, and received a hot deal that was available online. The room itself had everything you need. Great outdoor area right next to the playground and BBQ table.

Was very clean and tidy. It is a little outdated but the price we payed reflected on that so we didn't mind.

We got nothing but great service from the lovely lady at reception who was always helpful.

Our room was closest to the road and to our surprise was not noisy at all.

The only minor problem we had was the kitchenette had only around 2 power points. So when you were using the stove, jug and toaster etc you had to wait for one thing to finish. Became slightly annoying when you were cooking a meal. Maybe a digital clock would be handy for the time.

All in all highly recommend and would return again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa L, Manager at The Magpie Motel
Responded 13 Nov 2014
Thank you for your candid review. We pride ourselves on our service and our cleanliness, we feel this is crucial in our industry. We will make sure more plugs are available. Plus we put a extra in for fridge. We look forward to you revisiting us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarkZ28 wrote a review Sept 2013
Wellington, New Zealand52 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't think I was sleeping on clean sheets when I stayed here. That or the washing machine doesn't remove hair in the wash cycle. Motel was otherwise tidy and clean for an old place and it had a pool and a nice outdoor area. Despite being right on a main road it wasn't too noisy and location is OK. Check for specials as I wouldn't want to pay full price. Stay only if you are on a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel
Responded 6 Jan 2014
I would like to assure the public that we wash our sheets and take pride in the cleanliness of our motel. We take great care to present and prepare all our spaces for guests enjoyment. We have also updated many beds since we took over ownership.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megan HK wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Three adults and a 2yo were booked into Unit 1. Unfortunately this unit was directly under the proprietors accommodation so there was lots of footsteps overhead (mostly children) and we could hear their ablutions. The unit was cramped, the air conditioning noisy. The bins were not emptied nor toilet paper replenished even though the motel booklet said the units were serviced daily.
On the upside the pool area was nice.
I would not stay there again nor would I recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel
Responded 5 Jan 2019
The units are affordable units expecting luxury and massive rooms in a older motel is a little over the top. We pack alot into a affordable unit and we let people know this is our most modern updated unit. We will talk to our cleaners as we do a very professional daily service. This is definately going to be fixed. We have a silent mode on air conditioner so wish you found it that would of fixed this for you instantly. It is a brand new panasonic, top of line so really bewildered by your statements. Really really wish you asked. Sorry you did not know.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Campbell R wrote a review Apr 2017
Hamilton, New Zealand47 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this unit with a second bedroom as we were 2 couples. The website was generally good to use but I couldn't work out how to book the other couple for only one night. That was well resolved when we arrived with a refund being put back into my account as soon as I booked in.
The unit was roomy, especially the second bedroom, but was only just what you would call clean. Then the electrical socket we plugged our multi board into to charge phones etc. caused the board to flash and kick out the overload but didn't trigger the circuit breaker in the room. This was a concern so we raised it and felt as if we were at fault rather than trying to ensure this didn't happen to others.
Overall a bit of a disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel
Responded 10 Apr 2017
Thank you for sharing your review. We are surprised at comments as when they told us about the flash, we acted immediately we got a electrician there within 30 minutes. Electrician checked sockets, timers, electric boards and electrician found the multi board to be faulty. We offered to replace multi board and customer did not feel that was warranted. We always make sure customers are safe, I felt they were insinuating we were at fault which is why we used an electrician so they had peace of mind. Thank you for mentioning the room and how it was roomy. Also thank you for mentioning how we worked out your internet error very fast.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Jim F wrote a tip Mar 2019
Upper Hutt, New Zealand6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"check out rooms before booking in"
Read full review
Daisy girl wrote a tip Mar 2019
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go upstairs"
Read full review
S_Kiwi_guy wrote a tip Feb 2018
Masterton, New Zealand55 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Back away from road = quieter."
Read full review
Bob M wrote a tip Nov 2017
Cameley, United Kingdom35 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground floor, furthest from the road"
Read full review
ianpatt wrote a tip Feb 2017
Wellington, New Zealand11 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ease of access from the car"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hastings area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionHastings
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MAGPIE MOTEL - Reviews (Hastings) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Magpie Motel
Which popular attractions are close to The Magpie Motel?
Nearby attractions include Hawkes Bay Farmers Market (0.8 km), Splash Planet (1.2 km), and Hawkes Bay Farmers' Market (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Magpie Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and shuttle bus service.
What food & drink options are available at The Magpie Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Magpie Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Magpie Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Star Of India Authentic Indian Restaurant, Thai Silk Restaurant, and Cafe Anatolia Hastings.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Magpie Motel?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Magpie Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Magpie Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Otatara Pa Historic Reserve Walk (9.5 km).
All Hastings HotelsHastings Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HastingsHotels near The Magpie Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire