Portmans Motor Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Portmans Motor Lodge

Traveller (18)
Huge bathroom vanity in Room # 19
Room & Suite (20)
Motel Swimming Pool
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 11 motels in Hastings
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Portmans Motor Lodge features an outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry, ample parking in front of your unit, a Conference/Display Room and Free Fibre Broadband Wi-Fi access. It is situated just 5 minutes walk from the cafes, restaurants and bars of Hastings City Centre. All units at Portmans Motor Lodge Hastings are ground floor, spacious and modern and feature a kitchenette, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Electric blankets and satellite TV are provided. Some rooms also have a spa bath. Continental and cooked breakfasts can be delivered to the guest rooms. Guests can charge their meals at selected local restaurants back to their room. Hawke's Bay Opera House is just 750 metres from Portmans Motor Lodge. A 5 minute walk to Hastings Racecourse and Splash Planet water theme park is 8 minutes drive away. Attractions, such as wineries, golf courses, Te Mata Peak Trust Park a 15 minute drive. Hawke's Bay Golf Club and Hastings Golf Club are within a 15 minute drive from the Motel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

401 Railway Road, Hastings 4122 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
Hawkes Bay Airport
19.8 km
See all flights
130Reviews0Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 46
  • 5
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kate L wrote a review Jan 2020
Worcester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is in a good location close to the centre of town. The proprietors were friendly and accommodating. The unit had a kitchenette with necessary cutlery, plates, etc. There was washing up liquid and tea towels supplied. The bed was comfortable, there is a two seater table and chairs and two other chairs. The rooms are of a good size and there are privacy curtains as well as the usual curtains. The room I was in was quiet despite the property being on a main road. I also had a table and chair set outside so I could eat breakfast or have a drink outside and enjoy the sunshine. The unit had parking right outside too. The laundry was very welcome! My only slight criticism is that although the room was clean it had a slight ‘care home’ smell to it. Not sure if that was down to the cleaning products they use or not.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are appreciated. The business owner will probably be in a care home soon so that smell is probably him trying to get used to the idea.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kilmore_12 wrote a review Jan 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in room # 19 which was away from the main road meaning road noise was minimal. Our room was a good size with heaps of kitchen bench space, had a very large bathroom and bedroom (bigger than we have at home). The kitchen had no oven, but did have a hotplate and electric frying pan. Or room was clean. Sound proofing between rooms is not great you can hear people in the room next door as is often the case. The motel is in a good location on the fringe of the CBD meaning you can walk to the CBD. Each unit has its own allocated carpark which has easy access. You are allocated what seems like a low 10 GB of WiFi data per room per week, this possibly rolls over when used up with our reservation stating “free unlimited WiFi”. Whilst the property has a pool we never used it is it is relatively small and usually overrun with children.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ideally avoid a room backing onto the busy main roads, the majority of rooms do not back onto...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Doyle, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge
Responded 19 Feb 2022
Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated. Free unlimited WiFi is provided. Vouchers are provided from Reception. Each voucher is limited to a huge 10Gb and additional vouchers are available from Reception. Our rather large pool is very popular and we enjoy seeing lots of children having fun it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vendella wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband I and our two teenage sons stayed for a few nights at this motel in January. We stayed in a one bedroom and our sons were in a studio room next door. The rooms were spotless and the beds were super comfy. It had all the amenities we needed - the air conditioning was a big plus given we were staying in summer, free wi-fi included which was excellent and the added bonus of a swimming pool to use as well.

Kaye and Brian were fabulous hosts, very knowledgeable about the local attractions, extremely helpful and friendly.

I would highly recommend staying here and we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Doyle, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge
Responded 1 Apr 2021
Many thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to having you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C Lane wrote a review Feb 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I originally booked because it was centrally located and this is a plus. The decor is nice modern with sky television. There's a swimming pool which looked great.
However the person who was on the desk is the first point of impression for the premises. And it wasn't good. He was unfriendly. actually off putting. Other issues were about the cleaning. The introduction folder had food residue on it.
The spa bath was dirty. Black long hairs in the bath and on the floor. I specifically requested a room with a spa but didn't use it because of the hygiene standards. The cleaners are not doing a proper job and there shouldn't be hairs and I mean multiple hairs in the shower or bath.
Actually after that experience I wondered how clean the rest of my room was. I think the hosts should check the standard d of the rooms after the cleaners have done their job. Second be friendly on the desk because honestly if you can't be welcoming to your guests why are you doing that job. In the times of covid motels are struggling, and guests are paying a premium to stay there and motels are not cheap. One more thing, this is a recommendation for all motels who purchase those crappy cheap hot chocolate sachets and coffee. For 195 a night or more. how about investing in quality brands. The way to attract customers and stand out from other motels is exceptional presentation, nice friendly person on the desk, and better tea, coffee and hot chocolate brands. Would I book again no.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Doyle, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge
Responded 19 Feb 2022
Thanks very much R99999000000000, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
claudyrocksit wrote a review Aug 2022
Whakatāne, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When leaving I was charged an extra $60 for an " extra" person. I said no I booked for 2 adults one child. Showed them my booking with agoda. They said no and showed my sign in and highlighted 2 adults only and I was told quite rudely I should take it up with agoda . I showed them my booking in form with Agoda on my email and refused this as "proof" and was told to pay the extra $60 in costs. The manager told me it was my fault for not querying the sign in on arrival not theirs. I went to my car and tried to contact agoda, but got the manager of portlands,, I apologized and told him I thought I rang agoda . The manger was abrupt, rude and as I was alone with my two kids without my husband I felt unsafe. I was.so embarrassed and made to feel foolish and paid against my better judgement. I left to get my kids breakfast 10 mins later I got a text from Portlands that they refunded the $60 as maybe agoda only put two adults and excluded the child. (Again this was not the case on my Agoda booking). I think this is not an isolated incident. . ALWAYS check your booking against the checking in numbers Portlands makes you sign on arrival, We will never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Always check your booking in numbers on arrival.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Doyle, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge
Responded 18 Jan 2023
Yes ALWAYS check your booking and yes ALWAYS check what you are signing at check in. The error in your reservation was not one made by Portmans but is between you and the awful Agoda website. We appreciate errors can occur however in this case it was not our error and we now regret having refunded the perfectly valid extra cost.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Casey G wrote a review Feb 2021
Cambridge, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely! Clean and comfortable! We had to check in after hours due to a road diversion but this made made very easy and they even had the Heatpump turned on to warm up our room on the unexpected cold night. The housekeeping staff were so lovey and did an amazing job. We throughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Doyle, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge
Responded 1 Apr 2021
Thanks very much. We are very pleased with the response to putting heat pumps in all our units.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
malaenam wrote a review Oct 2020
Auckland, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent two nights at this lovely hotel, arrived, checked in and settled well. We were welcomed by the owners into a lovely spacious unit with great parking right outside the unit. As we arrived before the Labour weekend the swimming pool was not yet opened, to our children’s disappointment and probably a good thing as we may never have left the motel. Comfortable beds, loved the two tvs in the main room and also bedroom. A very spacious bathroom. The kitchen had all the equipment we needed to cook and eat. The heat pump/ air conditioner unit and also a fan was placed in the unit which we used. We were in unit 19 and it was very quiet - we tried to make sure our voices matched the environment 😊. We actually selected this motel based on the owners response to previous reviews which we found to be quite honest and hilarious therefore we knew this would be a great place to stay! If ever your in Hastings definitely consider Portmans Motor lodge. We will definitely be booking at Portmans again. Thank you for a great accomodation to end our family road trip for the school holidays.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Doyle, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge
Responded 1 Apr 2021
Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. Sorry the swimming pool wasn't open but I can guarantee you it would have been very icy!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nicmikemikalah wrote a review Mar 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Brian and Kaye are very accommodating and pleasant hosts. We were able to add an additional room at the last minute, which was much appreciated. Clean, warm, tidy & well appointed rooms. Hosts even added additional blankets due to the cooler evening and provided additional towels and bathroom supplies for our large family group at not additional expense.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Doyle, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge
Responded 1 Apr 2021
Thanks very much. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MitzyNewZealand wrote a review Sept 2020
Wellington, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Motor Lodge is conveniently situated near main roads and close to a petrol station. There is an easy walk to the shopping and cafe/restaurant area. We received a friendly reception and were made to feel very welcome.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Doyle, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge
Responded 1 Apr 2021
Thanks very much. The Hastings CDB is at the beginning of a renaissance which we hope will see it revitalized.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adie052021 wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here a few weeks ago and returned again last week. I was so impressed with Portmans it will be my preferred accommodation on business from now on.

The service on arrival was excellent, the rooms are warm, spotlessly clean and comfortable and they make the best breakfast ever!

The location is brilliant for me as I usually arrive after a long day at work and its close to the centre of Hastings and only one block from our Hastings office.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaye Doyle, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge
Responded 24 May 2021
Thank you very much. We will pass on your feedback to our housekeeping staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
mark s wrote a tip Apr 2023
preston344 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its Perfect."
Read full review
claudyrocksit wrote a tip Aug 2022
Whakatāne, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Always check your booking in numbers on arrival."
Read full review
Kilmore_12 wrote a tip Jan 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand182 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ideally avoid a room backing onto the busy main roads, the majority of rooms do not back onto these two roads."
Read full review
Finona68 wrote a tip Jun 2019
Wellington, New Zealand208 contributions116 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just ask- they seem very helpful."
Read full review
Carla B wrote a tip Nov 2018
New Zealand208 contributions110 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"room on the left side as you drive in away from the road"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hastings area.
PRICE RANGE
$221 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western hastings
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionHastings
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PORTMANS MOTOR LODGE | UPDATED 2023 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Hastings, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Portmans Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Portmans Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Common Room (0.4 km), Hastings City Art Gallery (0.2 km), and Nga Pou O Heretaunga (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Portmans Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Portmans Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Portmans Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Portmans Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Portmans Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sazio Pasta Bar, Currizza's, and Focal Point Cinema and Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Portmans Motor Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Portmans Motor Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Portmans Motor Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Portmans Motor Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Hastings.
Are any cleaning services offered at Portmans Motor Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Portmans Motor Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Otatara Pa Historic Reserve Walk (10.4 km).
All Hastings HotelsHastings Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HastingsHotels near Portmans Motor Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire