Ounuwhao Harding House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ounuwhao Harding House

16 Hope Avenue Matauwhi Bay, Russell 0202 New Zealand
Townsend Room Ensuite
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining Room and Kitchen
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#3 of 12 B&Bs in Russell
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Ounuwhao Harding House their bed and breakfast of choice when visiting Russell. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Newspaper and baggage storage are some of the conveniences offered at this bed and breakfast. In addition, Ounuwhao Harding House offers free breakfast, which will help make your Russell trip additionally gratifying. If you are driving to Ounuwhao Harding House, free parking is available.

If you’re looking for an Italian restaurant, consider a visit to Hone's Garden or Bayside Restaurant and Bar, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Ounuwhao Harding House.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular art galleries such as Just Imagine Gallery.

At Ounuwhao Harding House, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Russell.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Spa
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Dishwasher
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

16 Hope Avenue Matauwhi Bay, Russell 0202 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Kerikeri Airport
17.1 km
See all flights
Whangarei Airport
60.2 km
See all flights
159Reviews0Q+A38Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 144
  • 10
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Richard C wrote a review Feb 2020
Taunton, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an outstanding B&B. Ideally positioned in Russell with large, comfortable and extremely clean and well appointed rooms. Certainly one of the best places I have ever stayed with the hosts, Liz and Gordon are so helpful and accommodating scrummy breakfasts.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ounuwhao Harding House, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Thankyou for coming to stay with us and we would love to have you back in the Bay! Regards Liz and Gordon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne W wrote a review Feb 2020
34 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Liz and Gordon are fantastic hosts. Their home is charming and very comfortable. Liz gave us a great breakfast everyday each day different from the last and it was truly special and delicious. The verandas and the lounge provided beautiful places to relax and from the veranda views over the sea. We had a wonderful and magical time there close to Russell itself which again is a wonderful place to be. Definitely a place to go to highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ounuwhao Harding House, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Thankyou for coming to stay with us and we would love to have you back in the Bay! Regards Liz and Gordon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HumanTraffic0863 wrote a review Jun 2020
Red Beach, New Zealand10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for a short notice place to stay in Russell and were taken with the look of the house and its location - on lovely Matauwhi Bay and a short walk into town. We were not disappointed by the house or surrounds, a beautiful and homely place to stay with its turn of the century appointments and sympathetically modernised interiors. The truly lovely thing however are Gordon and Liz, great hosts who made us feel at home from the first minute and like friends as we bade goodbyes. Very pleased we took the decision to stay at their lovely home and the breakfast is great, different each day, proper size portions and superbly prepared...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ounuwhao Harding House, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Thankyou for coming to stay with us and we would love to have you back in the Bay! Regards Liz and Gordon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ron J wrote a review May 2020
Havelock North, New Zealand4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ounuwhao Harding House is a beautifully restored historic kauri villa located just on the outskirts of Russell. The property looks out onto a calm bay full of sailing ships, yet is only a short 10 minute walk into the heart of Russell. Liz and Gordon are great hosts who enjoy people, and sharing their love of the Bay of Islands. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We slept soundly both nights in the large comfy bed. Indulge yourself with a bit of luxury, while you spend time in this scenic part of NZ with wonderful hosts.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ounuwhao Harding House, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Thankyou for coming to stay with us and we would love to have you back in the Bay! Regards Liz and Gordon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scot5lass wrote a review Jan 2020
17 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This historic house is beautiful and the decor is in keeping with the style. I felt really at home and peaceful there. The hosts were friendly, generous and very helpful. Fabulous breakfast. The bay is across the road and the town centre a short walk away
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ounuwhao H, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the nice review, when you're next in Russell be sure to give us a call! Regards Liz and Gordon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LilyMc wrote a review Jun 2020
68 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Can’t believe our luck, this place was such a perfect spot for us. Peace & quite, amazing service by our wonderful hosts, nothing was a problem!!! The homestead is steeped in history & the decor is in keeping with the history, this place has “great bones”. Rooms are well appointed and spacious. The hosts are a dab hand in the kitchen!!! There’s lots of love being put into the gardens and outside areas.
Next time we are back in Russell this is where we will stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ounuwhao Harding House, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Thankyou for coming to stay with us and we would love to have you back in the Bay! Regards Liz and Gordon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ingrid G wrote a review Feb 2020
Seguret, France24 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This B&B is a very old and charming house, very closeby the village of Russell. just a short walk. Nice room, good breakfast and a warm welcome from the owners Liz and Gordon. they rrserve for you at the restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ounuwhao H, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Thank you Ingrid for your kind review, we loved having you both to stay with us and are glad you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Bay of Islands. We look forward to coming to your part of the world and staying with you sometime! Safe travels Liz and Gordon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo wrote a review Jan 2019
Stockport, United Kingdom873 contributions469 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The new owners clearly have no experience of running a guest house, customer service, or catering.

The breakfast is very low quality. If you are attracted by the breakfast reviews from the previous owner then you will be very disappointed. It was the most bizarre and worse breakfast we have ever had. The cereals are low quality, you make your own coffee, the cooked breakfast is poor. Bizarrely you can't have fruit with your cereal if you are having a cooked breakfast!! Milk is a real issue...on both morning we had to ask for milk...and then one pint of milk arrived to cater for all the guest. The owner seem to be making an issue of guest not having cereal and/or milk!!

The room are not tidied or refreshed each day despite being listed on the booking.... so we arrived back to wet towels after a day's of sailing.

Overpriced and poor value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ounuwhao H, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded 3 Apr 2019
Sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay with us but we are more sorry that you didn't come and talk to us personally at the time so we could have rectified the problems for you. We offer a full breakfast special of the day as well as a continental breakfast selection which we have had great reviews on other booking platforms and invite you to have a read of. We would certainly have offered to make you coffee or tea but we do have a Nespresso machine for coffee lovers that we invite guest to use as they please. We service the rooms daily on request, some guest prefer privacy and do not want this which we respect so maybe you left early to go sailing and we were unaware you wanted this. We hope the rest of your stay here in New Zealand was a great experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allan B wrote a review Feb 2006
Javea, Spain2 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we were greeted by our hosts, Allen and Marilyn, with tea and home made cakes. They are a very talented couple with Marilyn making all the beautiful quilts on the beds as well as the delicious food and Allen doing all the woodwork throughout the house and keeping everything in amazing order.
The breakfasts were superb and innovative. It was a friendly and relaxing experience and our room overlooking the rear garden was spacious and had a good-sized bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda F wrote a review Apr 2018
Richmond, Australia39 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
With no prior booking, we stumbled across this picture pretty 1930's home with a separate cottage. Marilyn runs a B and B with several rooms in the house all with ensuites and a cottage for families . Nothing is lacking . Set on a beautiful block, the house was brought in from a forest block in 4 pieces. It is a stunning historical home filled with homemade quilts that Marilyn makes . She even teaches quilt making.
Breakfast was amazing . Homemade preserves,macerated fruits,everything from the garden,pancakes, zucchini fritters, home made Bircher muesli and hot cross buns. All made with a real passion and energy. Well worth the $240 .
A lovely find.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded 6 Apr 2018
Great review and another VERY happy guest. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it's lovely to have our efforts so appreciated. Safe journeys and hope you find other "gems" like ours. All the best, Marilyn,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
DREGS wrote a tip Feb 2018
Grafham, United Kingdom361 contributions139 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If we were staying longer the cottage would be fabulous"
Read full review
Monte49 wrote a tip Apr 2017
Wiltshire, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on ground floor, easy access."
Read full review
z1bby wrote a tip Mar 2017
Auckland, New Zealand145 contributions83 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the room that backs onto the kitchen may not suit a light sleeper"
Read full review
Kevin L wrote a tip Feb 2017
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom148 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They are all quiet."
Read full review
cathy1_10 wrote a tip Jan 2017
Vancouver, Canada3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Families want to stay in the seperate house and the Garden suit is perfect for couples wanting privacy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Russell area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionBay of IslandsRussell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OUNUWHAO HARDING HOUSE - B&B Reviews (Russell) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ounuwhao Harding House
Which popular attractions are close to Ounuwhao Harding House?
Nearby attractions include Pompallier Mission and Printery (0.6 km), Christ Church (0.5 km), and Russell Museum (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ounuwhao Harding House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Ounuwhao Harding House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a dishwasher.
What food & drink options are available at Ounuwhao Harding House?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Ounuwhao Harding House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ounuwhao Harding House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hone's Garden, The Gables Osteria & Enoteca, and Duke of Marlborough.
Is Ounuwhao Harding House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Russell.
Are there any historical sites close to Ounuwhao Harding House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pompallier Mission and Printery (0.6 km), Waitangi Treaty Grounds (4.3 km), and Flagstaff Hill (1.4 km).
Does Ounuwhao Harding House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Russell HotelsRussell Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RussellHotels near Ounuwhao Harding House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire